divine -just worry n wonder. 1.Most of the cronies share fly high but this share still low 2.PE also very low at the moment 3.Net asset @ 0.87 4.Construction stock still hot with BN So this share short or mid-term chances very high,just need to monitor the next Q report. (my personal view,i might wrong-accept or leave it,dun argue :})
You can actually check for yourself by reading the full report. To me it clearly shows that there is no turnaround. The so-called "profit" was the write back in liquidated and ascertained damage, not some kind of profit. MTDACPI has not been making any profit for 10 years already.
I am not in any position to prove you wrong. I just follow the financial report blindly.
I buy this stock based on technical analysis and also some fundamental I extract from financial report blindly. I have to admit I am not FA expert.
I had monitored this stock for a long time, I dare not enter trade because the financial result is not good until last month.
I entered this trade base on technical analysis as follows :-
1. There is a gap up on 29 May 2013. To me a gap up is a super bullish signal. I will select this stock if I spot it. 2. There is a symmetrical triangle breakout. 3. The Return of Investment (ROI) in my technical system is high, it means the up trend is strong and also up trend momentum. 4. I like this stock very much because I had made 5 times big profit from this stock. The profit is so huge and it is a few hundred % gain. This is one of the stocks that I had made the most profit in my life. I traded this stock previously, I am so lucky that I won all the times.
I will continue to stay with this stock unless the stock price drops below 0.43 which is a strong support at the upper part of gap up rectangle. It means I will cut loss below 0.43. I am willing to bet on 12 cents lost against a few hundred % gain. This is a risk to reward ratio I am willing to bet on.
I will trade cautiously on this stock since you said that FA is not good. I will wait until the next quarter financial result (end of August) out before I change my strategy and trading plan. Thank you for your good feedback.
Dear Ooi Teck Bee, I read your posting and noted that you trade base on technical analysis. From what you wrote I gathered you know how to read chart. I would like to learn how to read charts. Can you recommend a book or something. Thank you.
Ooi, My comments are all based on fundamentals; it is all about the business of a company, never or seldom about its share price.
I never have doubted you make a lot of money based on technical analysis. I believe you are sharing your view truthfully and your conviction of what you do.
It is just that we have different ways of trying to make some excess return from the market. But I have to say that my way is investing and you way is trading, though you are also investing in some companies.
Nothing wrong with trading as long as one knows what he is doing. I do even more risky stuff, punting in call warrants as you know, but that is based on probability, not just simply punt. Few believe I can make some money (I never say I made money in my posts) even in this uneven playing field. But it could be because I am lucky. However I strongly discourage anyone here to punt call warrants.
You will notice i make comments totally out of self-interest. Yes, I too sometimes talk a little bit more of stocks I have because I too have conviction of them. Nowadays I mainly response to requests of my comments of stocks, most of them I never heard off, and hence never owned. There are also many seeking my comments purely on education purpose which I gladly provide. Most of the time, they feel thankful about it, so one gets satisfaction from there. In the process I learn something which is valuable, some which I have misconception before.
This world is filled with all kind of people. Suck it up that not everybody will appreciate you. There are a handful of people also attacking me for which I don't really know why. Most of the time, I just ignore them and not waste my time on them. You know what, a number of them even become my cyber friends after a few sparring between us.
Many will notice that I won't let just one particular attacker of mine get away. He is the only one in i3 now. This guy once and while try to ridicule me. I find he is so shallow (but yet want to attack me frequently), I also try to have some fun sparring with him.
something not right, even after lth cease to be substantial shareholder, still holding 8,155,300 shares, lth continue dumping but will not report to bursa, might take a while to stabilise Cut loss at 0.555 Lost 0.015 or 2.6%
Posted by kcchongnz > Jul 20, 2013 09:19 AM | Report Abuse
Ooi,
You can actually check for yourself by reading the full report. To me it clearly shows that there is no turnaround. The so-called "profit" was the write back in liquidated and ascertained damage, not some kind of profit. MTDACPI has not been making any profit for 10 years already.
I will be glad if you an prove me wrong. ____________________________________________________________________
Hohohoho , the turnaround profit was arised from the Accounting Entry Adjustment.
Fantastic , not the real cash inflow to the Co..
So , Maths Expert , kindly prove to us , how its can turn around ?!?!
Oohsp ,, can said u overlook due to poor english as an excuse. ____________________________________________________________________
TA:- The Bearish trend , just begin , enjoy the show , I go back to sell my MHB ...HOHOHO
Based on how i interpret the current chart without bothering about the financial report, the real support is 0.55. Price broke out from recent high 0.59 to the new high 0.615, it tended to throwback like Alam & THHeavy. If support 0.55 is not strong, then reversal starts to begin so i m still holding until it breaks down the support. Only choice i can do now..Cheers!
The one made the most money in stock market is always quiet, the one talk rock or talk cock, cannot afford to buy many stocks is making the most noise because he is retarded mentally. He gets so jealous others made a lot of money.
no one can buy low in the market except he buys at RM0.00 ,, In share market, we buy high/low which cant be evaluated unless both parties compare to each other's price. We say we sell higher bcos we want to sell higher than the price we bought, so it calls sell "higher"..
In this share market, whatever price it goes, there is someone who will buy & when we say u buy the highest, it means there is no one else buying price more than that guy.... We cant say we buy low bcos there is someone who owns lower than u..
As long the 0.55 is not broken, there will be an upside protential as it broke recent high & price tends to "throwback".. this is TA point of view. The price will sink further to break the support is 29% based on the survey done. THe price wil move upside after "throw up is 40% if it doesnt break the support...
Since Ooi has clarified in regards to the LAD, then i "hope" the price wont go lower bcos i m still holding... Cheers & Happy Trading
As we all know, between the FYE of 31/03/09 to 31/03/12, MTDACPI has been incurring losses. However, between 1/4/12 to 31/03/13, it announced a profit of about RM36 miliion of which about RM35 million is from LAD writeback. To me, it depends on how you define "turnaround". In a way, it is not wrong to say that MTDACPI has "turnaround" as at 31/03/13 which was mainly attributed to LAD writeback of RM35 million. Although it is quite common to have LAD claims in the construction industry, it may be uncommon to have LAD of RM35 million to be declared as 97% of the company's profit. Perhaps, it may be appropriate here to classify the LAD writeback of RM35 million as "one off gain"/"extraordinary gain". In any case, the LAD writeback RM35 million is history but more importantly, moving forward is to track the company's financial performance ie the coming quarterly report as at 30/06/13. Although Tabung Haji has been dumping its shares for some time, it will soon run out of shares to dump. Hence, the RM0.55 support is crucial in light of Tabung Haji's action until the next quarterly report is out of which MTDACPI's share price may then take a new direction depending on how the market perceive the company's performance.
this is the first time i see mr Ooi used such harsh replies...to the detractors... bravo Ooi, sometimes u need to give them a little bit of punches...hehe
[I am sorry to say that "they all said that you are wrong".]. Please don't be. Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Jul 23, 2013 08:40 PM | Report Abuse
Dear Kcchongnz, I did the following things here :- 1. I called up MTDACPI, the financial accountant told me that in Q4 financial report, 35 million is LAD write back, 7.12 is actual net profit. This company had made money and it is turnaround in Q4. 2. I do not believe, I called up the auditor, the auditor also confirmed that "LAD write back" is considered as net profit. 3. I do not believe, I called up KLSE, the accountant also confirmed that "LAD write back" is considered as net profit. 4. I still do not believe, I called up my good friend who is the Financial Director of a listed company (construction)in KLSE, he also confirmed that "LAD write back" is considered as net profit.
I am sorry to say that "they all said that you are wrong".
Who am I ? A small investor, not an accountant by profession, learn FA from you all the times. I respect you as my FA sifu, I am not in any position to prove you wrong. Thank you. Ooi
Ooi, since you choose this forum to prove that i am wrong. So I have to give my opinion here to justify what I have said.
Yes, you have proven that I was wrong to say that those 43m MTDACPI made last year are profit in term of financial accounting of financial statements. Fully agreed. As I have said, I am not a professional accountant.
But let me ask you this. As investor like us, are you just interested in the so-called "profit" in accounting term, or should you be more interested in looking behind the numbers to see what the "real" profit is? There is a huge difference here. The almighty Enron made increasing profits every quarter for years in the 90s without fail until the last few quarters just before its share price plummeted from $90 to $2 within weeks and went into bankruptcy.
Before I go further, I have to tell you something about what is it to be a contractor like MTDACPI.I have worked as a civil engineer for more than 20 years,10 years in a public listed construction company where I have been fully in-charged of an operation overseas.
The construction industry is a dog-eat-dog world. It is full of all kind of competitions and problems. It is cyclic and you encounter different problems during different stage in the cycle. In the good time, there are plenty of jobs and contractor should make money (Did MTDACPI make money during the good time in 2005-2008?). What does it show on the part of its management when the company can incur huge losses even during construction boom time? But you will encounter problem like shortage of labour, skilled or unskilled, shortage of material, lack of supervision resulting in wastage, high capital expenses etc. Then the down cycle comes; you find hard to get job while normal operating expenses continue. Clients refuse to pay for work done or gone into bankruptcy. At the end lose money. I reiterate here, very very few contractors can survive for more than 10 years in the industry. What has the results of MTDACPI shown for the last 10 years?
One normal occurrence in construction is construction disputes. Contractors find the work is beyond the contractual scope, soil investigation not correct, etc and claim for variation works; while the client (and with the help of their consultants) claim that the works are all included. So how much the 160m "Receivables" in MTDACPI's balance sheet is true claim which has been approved by the consultants? And how much is claim by MTDACPI is just their own opinion but not contractual valid? Even if the claim is valid, the client can go for arbitration to dispute it. Believe me, they will go that way, and if so the contractor has a very little chance of getting this "claim".
another very common dispute is the late delivery of project by the contractor, and hence the imposition of liquidated and ascertained damages (LAD), a fine for late completion of work. Say Singapore LRT imposed 35m LAD on MTDACPI in 2011 because there is a delay of the completion of work. For simplicity, assume there is no other losses. So MTDACPI lost 35m in 2011. In 2012 MTDACPI won the case that it was not its fault for the delay. So LRT credit back 35m into MTDACPI's account. So accounting wise, MTDACPI lost 35m in 2011, but made 35m in 2012. Perfect, nothing wrong in accounting. But what is yours perspective as an investor?
For me MTDACPI did not lose any money in 2011, neither did it make any money in 2012. Actual still gain 7m? 7m for 260m turnover, and 160m in "receivables"? Is it a great turnover or there may still be skeleton behind the doors? Aren't there much better construction companies to invest?
I am surprise your good friend financial accountant just stopped there without explaining to you what write back in LAD means to an investor.
Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > Jul 20, 2013 04:47 PM | Report Abuse SO + hai = success formula. Old tea bag logic : as long as got sohai buy higher from me, i make money. and he is right, but you also can make money by robbing bank, snatching handbag, con old lady funereal money...
Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Jul 23, 2013 09:09 PM | Report Abuse X
The one made the most money in stock market is always quiet, the one talk rock or talk cock, cannot afford to buy many stocks is making the most noise because he is retarded mentally. He gets so jealous others made a lot of money.
Hello,
We bought Naim at 1.93, we sold at 3.85. We bought Huayang at 1.65, we sold at 2.91. We bought Alam at 0.81, we sold at 1.25. We bought Daiboci at 2.60, we sold at 3.65. We bought Kimlun at 1.42, we sold at 2.13. We bought KHSB at 0.40, we sold at 0.80.
We bought Presbhd at 1.22, the stock price is at 2.14 now. We bought Pantech-WA at 0.40, the stock price is at 0.68 now.
Do we need to con old lady funeral money ? Mentally retarded !!
mr ooi i wish i can become your son in law...because u're so rich, still have any unmarried daughter? haha ...very lucky always...u might get jinx when we become relative...sorry, when we meet then
because the info is classified and still pending, i can't give u much but take a look at the current project : medical facilities in the Middle East , that's obermeyer's big project 1st link: http://www.novabim.com/ ...that's nova taiwan...70% owned by novamsc and 30% by taiwan people 2nd link: http://www.opb.de/index.php?id=160&L=0class%3Dl and this is OBERMEYER Corporate Group web ---------- notice the Al Ain Hospital, Abu Dhabi picture with the picture in novabim web ...just compare :) -------- that's all for now! :)
Now that each of us (OTB, Fat Cat, kcchong) claimed that his portfolio made impressive return from the stock market, let’s see whose return is the best. Before that let me just lay down some points here first.
1) The purpose here is not really trying to compare who is the best stock picker, because while the skill in stock picking cannot be ruled out, but frankly speaking, the good/bad return could have a big portion of it in lady luck too.
2) While this is not for the purpose of boasting or discrediting the prowess of anybody in stock picking skill, it also should serve the purpose of shutting up some of the people here who have been condemning others about their sharing in the stock market. I, for one, has been under vicious attacks by a couple of people here recently regarding my sharing in the forums about the business of some companies, and most of the time when asked by others. It took a lot of time to analyze and wrote my opinion in responses to those queries. However, I don’t remember I have recommended anyone to buy any share.
3) I acknowledge that there are many people out there in i3 who may have done much better than those described here.
4) Three portfolios put up in i3 here about the same time six-eight months ago and the prices then and now are all there and are transparent. No tipu-pusing-bullshit can be done.
5) For the portfolio of kcchong, the total return of each stock include dividend which the average dividend yield worked out to be about 2.2%. for OTB’s portfolio, I assume the same dividend yield . For Fat Cat’s portfolio, I put in an additional percentage point in dividend yield (3.2%)due to its large holding in Reits.
6) Kcchongnz’s investing strategy is based on fundamentals, mainly trying to buy good companies stocks at a low and reasonable price. OTB’s strategy is based more on technical analysis couple with some basic fundamentals. Fat Cat appears to be fundamental but more interested in high dividend yields.
7) KLSE started at the beginning of the year at 1637. As at 26/7/13, it closed at 1808, or a gain of 10.4%. With an estimate dividend yield of 1.6%, the total return so far is 12%.
Fat Cat total return so far is 29.6%. Well done Fat Cat. You outperformed the KLSE by a whopping 18% for this nine months. I think you easily beat many fund managers with this return.
Kcchong’s portfolio returned 38.0% in the seven months, it is even better than Fat Cat fabulous return. Who said kcchong recommended ( I never recommend anything) losing stocks? Who said my fundamental approach in investing is hopeless, useless? Who who who?
However, OTB’s portfolio return 55%, way above the two portfolios above. So how? Can you say OTB recommended lap sap stocks. OTB was under attack by more , many more people than I encountered. What I can say is “well done OTB”.
Now I want to reiterate here again, the out-performance of all the above could have been a big portion due to luck factor while of course their skill could also be a big factor. If not how could they out-performed the market by such a wide margin?
One thing I notice that OTB has the most number of big winners (>50% return), Prestariang, Naim, Huayang, Alam and KHSB. Kcchong has a number of big winners too in Pintaras, Jobstreet, Kimlun and Prestariang. Fat Cat has the biggest winner in Poweroot (108%).
My conclusion is as OTB is a technician, trading stocks basing on momentum could yield better return in a bull market.
So is technical analysis always better than fundamental analysis? Yes, in this particular six-eight months when the stock market is on the rise, a good run indeed. Is technical analysis always a better approach is investing. No, I don’t agree. Bear in mind that OTB is a good technician compared to many novice ones. Well I know many people would not agree with me. I expect that. But we can always discuss sometime later if anyone wish to.
Very good write-up and comparative analysis. If only the others were to follow the "recommendation" from the three of you, everyone will be making money. However I only came into this forum about 2 months back and thus missed the opportunity. As what kccgongnz say, they do not really recommended their stock picks but just give their opinion. Ultimately it's up to the individual to make the final decision. Thus it is hoped they are not being belittled, criticized or attacked.
Congratulations to you sifus.. what is yr take on the 2nd half 2013? Will be tumulous without clear directions? Uptrend? Or we shud get out n keep cash.
It is nice to for me to let some people know that my stocks on average have out-performed the market by a whopping 28% (38% Vs 10%) for the last seven months. Hopefully this can stfu for a couple of people who have been saying the stocks I recommended (I never recommend, I only discussed about the businesses of the companies when asked) are all losers; that I tipu-pusing-bullshit-copy and paste, peddling of my stocks and macham macham.
But really the measurement of successful investing does not just based on a short-term of seven months performance. Investing, unlike trading, does not involve high portfolio turnover. It is a long term endeavour. So we have to look at the more important long-term return. So how is the performance of those stocks in my portfolio for a longer term?
Table 1 below shows the stock prices of my portfolio for one to five years. Some of the stocks only have prices of 2-3 years as they are either only listed 2-3 years ago, or data is not available from the Yahoo website.
And Table 3 below shows the computation of CAR of the portfolio as compared to that of KLSE.
Table 3: CAR comparison of portfolio with KLSE Year 1 2 3 4 5 Average Portfolio CAR 43.8% 19.7% 24.6% 27.8% 24.6% KLSE CAR 10.8% 8.0% 9.9% 11.4% 9.3% Excess return 33.0% 11.7% 14.7% 16.5% 15.3%
It can be that on average, the CAR of the portfolio out-performed the broad market by a unbelievable margin. For example for a five year holding period, the portfolio returns a CAR of 24.6% as compared to KLSE’s 9.3%, a whopping 15.3% of excess return each year. For a shorter holding period of three years, the excess return a year is 14.7%.
So does anybody still want to criticize my use of fundamental analysis in stock investment? Bring your horse over.
U have written a great marvelous comparison between the 3 giants. For ooi, i know when he will harvest. But may i know being a fa, when will u n fat cat know your fruits are ripe for harvest?
U have been sharing with us to look for good co based on financial reports n may u share with us when it your good time to exit?
Posted by anbz > Jul 28, 2013 09:58 AM | Report Abuse i bet Mr Ooi and Kcchongnz cannot answer this university exam paper question on Nova Msc ...haha:
CityTrader, An investor invest based on very basic and easy to understand principles. Buy good company stocks at reasonable price. There must be an adequate margin of safety when buying stock.
When to sell? Very easy to understand and comprehend. Sell when there is no more margin of safety, either the price of the stock has risen closed to or above the intrinsic value, or the fundamentals of the business have changed for the worse that the intrinsic value of the company has deteriorated permanently.
Now you said you know when Ooi, a technical analyst, will "harvest". Can you explain to us when and the rational behind it concerning his decision to harvest which we can easily comprehend, like what fundamental investors do.
sephiroth has the answer already & i also monitor the support zone as well as the fibo retracement rules. I cut lost mtdacpi at 0.545 after it had failed to supside the day after sep had sold his. Support level is 0.485.
CityTrader, can you explain to me the logic of the retracement rules of Fibonacci as mentioned by you. What is the rational of how many percent retracements for a sell signal, or buy signal? You see I am not even sure if my question is logical or not.
Bullish trend reversal? If today is bearish, why can't it be bullish tomorrow? What is the rational that today bullish, tomorrow must be bearish?
cover your loss with profit...how? step1 sell all your mtdacpi shares step2 use 'all' your 'leftover' capital to buy nova msc at 6.5 cents step3 sell your lucky stock at around 60 cents step4 u can buy back mtdacpi at lower lower price with multiples volume...if u want to...but when it happen u might reluctant to ...because u're so so happy...what about that? good luck
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
jaafar daud
246 posts
Posted by jaafar daud > 2013-07-19 10:17 | Report Abuse
Next week divident announcement will indicate the actual company performance