STAR MEDIA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): STAR (6084)

0.385 - 0.39

2,707 comment(s). Last comment by dompeilee 2 months ago

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-12 11:08 | Report Abuse

Aberdeen not only selling...they planned to zero out their holding...the cum at buyer and seller...at 2.36

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-12 11:10 | Report Abuse

Aiyoyo..tenggelam star...inikalilah!

Dare not to imagine the fate after next GE!

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-12 11:12 | Report Abuse

My remiser commend away from this stock..
No future!

Bye bye!

imlearning

Posted by imlearning > 2017-09-13 10:15 | Report Abuse

if we buy before ex date, still got huge bonus, is good also, right?

kennyku

494 posts

Posted by kennyku > 2017-09-15 12:53 | Report Abuse

So this stock good or bad? Please advise

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 10:55 | Report Abuse

When you buy, you got fat dividend but the price will readjust accordingly after ex date.

The business outlook remains weak and in red zone. That is the main reason all funds started to dispose their holding in line with risk s exposure.

Expected to trended down to rm1.60 after dividend pay out. Meaning...you will lose 40 cents even received dividend at current price!

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 10:58 | Report Abuse

That's the reason market didn't respond to the dividend announcement. The price didn't moved up !

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 11:02 | Report Abuse

Never buy a share because of one off fat dividend that derived from asset disposal and not from operating business profit!

Should avoid the share at all when the operating profit in red zone while the management tried to cover it by the profit from asset disposal.

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 11:04 | Report Abuse

If today you buy a star newspaper compared in 2016 ..you could find out very less pages due to poor advertisement. ..meaning less revenue moving forward..

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 11:08 | Report Abuse

Additional risk is the general election is coming....should avoid any business that linking to political party...anything can happen!

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 12:03 | Report Abuse

Funds kept unloading today..slowly and steadily.

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 12:04 | Report Abuse

Never traps by them

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-18 15:27 | Report Abuse

As long as you intend to buy at rm2.35.....all funds are willing to let go......until ex date...

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-21 20:59 | Report Abuse

Surprised. ..EPF bought back....

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-21 21:00 | Report Abuse

Is it time to rebounding?

kennyku

494 posts

Posted by kennyku > 2017-09-25 10:22 | Report Abuse

Epf bought back? So which mean epf also look good on star media?

Posted by origamiandair > 2017-09-26 10:47 | Report Abuse

Factors to look out for:

1. Mutual Separation Scheme (MSS) coming real soon. Possible dent on earnings.
2. Newspaper price gonna increase too next month, while pages gonna be much thinner.
3. General Election coming, which means more MCA, BN and UMNO ads bashing the opposition. Looking at the trend in GE13, Star will take a huge beating in terms of circulation and readership (but ads might go up due to political spending.
4. Conflict of interest. Wong Chun Wai and his wife's advertising agency.
5. Company is preaching cost cutting across board, but then the CEO and executive editors just purchased five luxury cars (BMW, Mercedes). Each about RM200-300k. Where are the shareholders?
5. Upon the sale of Cityneon, Star had about RM860mil cash pile. After dividend and special dividend, it claims to only have about RM300mil plus. Where are the rest? Sapu for election and own interest?

Shareholders should put to board to task.

Posted by origamiandair > 2017-09-26 10:54 | Report Abuse

Dimsum is also bleedy cash, hard bleeding. Just ask them how many paid users they currently have. Currently most of them are trial users and free account for employees. Content outdated, not varied enough.

Competitors? iFlix, Viu (backed by Li Ka-Shing's son), Astro and Media Prima. Do you think Star can outshine these major streaming players? I doubt it.

They can't even deliver the content promised at launch. For example, Nirvana on Fire (director's cut) have yet to be made available and a few others.

vivabursa

594 posts

Posted by vivabursa > 2017-09-26 11:40 | Report Abuse

dividend yield still better than put in bank.

Posted by origamiandair > 2017-09-26 11:45 | Report Abuse

Look at the recent financial results. Look at the decline. I doubt Star can maintain the payout given the dire projections and forecasts moving forward.

astalavista

2,278 posts

Posted by astalavista > 2017-09-26 11:58 | Report Abuse

Whoever buys today..get ready to be in with this stock after ex for couple of years or even more :(

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-26 17:06 | Report Abuse

I bought at last hour...hopefully...my bet is right

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-26 23:59 | Report Abuse

Mioxi I bought at last hour...hopefully...my bet is right
26/09/2017 17:06

Classic example of 2017 Sohai Mioxi. Read her previous posts. Laugh die me!! Wanna buy but don't have "breasts" to buy but keep shouting prices drop. So contradict. At the end, "hope" her "BET" is right!! WTF is wrong with this shemale?? Can't stop laughing! Mioxi you really make my day today. Your stupidity is second to Cpteh in i3!!! WakaWakak

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 00:01 | Report Abuse

Mioxi When you buy, you got fat dividend but the price will readjust accordingly after ex date.

The business outlook remains weak and in red zone. That is the main reason all funds started to dispose their holding in line with risk s exposure.

Expected to trended down to rm1.60 after dividend pay out. Meaning...you will lose 40 cents even received dividend at current price!
18/09/2017 10:55

Mioxi That's the reason market didn't respond to the dividend announcement. The price didn't moved up !
18/09/2017 10:58

Mioxi Never buy a share because of one off fat dividend that derived from asset disposal and not from operating business profit!

Should avoid the share at all when the operating profit in red zone while the management tried to cover it by the profit from asset disposal.
18/09/2017 11:02

Mioxi If today you buy a star newspaper compared in 2016 ..you could find out very less pages due to poor advertisement. ..meaning less revenue moving forward..
18/09/2017 11:04

Mioxi Additional risk is the general election is coming....should avoid any business that linking to political party...anything can happen!
18/09/2017 11:08

Mioxi Funds kept unloading today..slowly and steadily.
18/09/2017 12:03

Mioxi Never traps by them
18/09/2017 12:04

Mioxi As long as you intend to buy at rm2.35.....all funds are willing to let go......until ex date...
18/09/2017 15:27

Mioxi Surprised. ..EPF bought back....
21/09/2017 20:59

Mioxi Is it time to rebounding?
21/09/2017 21:00

LOOOOOOOLLLLLLL

Jeffreyteck

4,246 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2017-09-27 10:35 | Report Abuse

Analysts are good, if they like the stocks with cash, they will say potential acquisition opportunities, if they don't like it, they will say idle cash and no concrete plan for future growth. Good luck anyway.

imlearning

Posted by imlearning > 2017-09-27 10:46 | Report Abuse

What a bad counter! i kena trap....learn from experience, i shouldnt buy becos of the great dividend...now have to hold till dont know when

Posted by apolloang > 2017-09-27 10:48 | Report Abuse

the special div is 1 time only just to protect the stock price. if no special div it will down more cos of bad results

Jun Yi Lim

432 posts

Posted by Jun Yi Lim > 2017-09-27 10:49 | Report Abuse

Star business not good, bad future prospect just cut

vivabursa

594 posts

Posted by vivabursa > 2017-09-27 10:52 | Report Abuse

well, it could be a good to accumulate at lower price, Star still dominate the English paper readership and own few radio stations. The exhibition business such as property fair, education fair, home fair should sustain.

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-27 12:08 | Report Abuse

I had bought 3 lots....no big deal....Cuba nasib!

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-27 12:09 | Report Abuse

Dunia masih belum kiamat. ...

LoL

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-27 12:10 | Report Abuse

The worse case scenario....less than a ringgit after GE.

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-27 12:12 | Report Abuse

I m a shareholder now...qualify to question bod in the next agm. ....I question from PH perspective. ..

LoL

Mioxi

551 posts

Posted by Mioxi > 2017-09-27 12:12 | Report Abuse

Inikalilah! !!

Posted by origamiandair > 2017-09-27 14:26 | Report Abuse

Star officially announced Mutual Separation Scheme today. Good luck guys. Gonna costs a huge huge sum. Up to 60 people are targeted and up to 250 in the mid term moving forward.

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-09-27 14:27 | Report Abuse

sell

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 14:39 | Report Abuse

Chicken brain mindset like Mioxi loves to lie. As I said, shemale shouted sell sell sell but eager to buy at 2.16. Finally settled for 2.30 but still buy. Big joke in i3. Shemale with no principles. What 3 lots only? Tiny brain with tiny mindset. People accumulated at 2.20 and disposed it right after dividends announcement. Lesson best served to manipulator and liar.

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 14:45 | Report Abuse

Cut loss stupid Mioxi. You can't afford to lose. Wakakaka. Remember don't delete your posts

Posted by apolloang > 2017-09-27 14:46 | Report Abuse

star is gone lah,also u wanna vote for MCA ar? hahaha

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 15:08 | Report Abuse

1.78 looooool

Posted by TheLegend27 > 2017-09-27 15:10 | Report Abuse

true the news? the mss

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 15:12 | Report Abuse

Mioxi When you buy, you got fat dividend but the price will readjust accordingly after ex date.

WHY STILL BUY??? BECAUSE MIOXI IS TRULY I3 SOOOHAAAI

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 15:15 | Report Abuse

I really got my last laugh here. Can't stop it mioxi. 1.77 now, better average and run for your life later. Lol

Posted by ShinningStarBN > 2017-09-27 16:03 | Report Abuse

Ham kah ling

Posted by apolloang > 2017-09-27 16:06 | Report Abuse

apa itu ham kah ling??? eat ham ar? hahaha

derricksyl

511 posts

Posted by derricksyl > 2017-09-27 16:49 | Report Abuse

TP RM1.47....

richboy

188 posts

Posted by richboy > 2017-09-27 17:10 | Report Abuse

@IlmuKhodam: Should be "Smelly shoes"

Cj Kit

Posted by Cj Kit > 2017-09-27 20:24 | Report Abuse

The price keep drop , so can I know need to sell or not ...

Posted by apolloang > 2017-09-27 22:50 | Report Abuse

Apollo research tell many people to sell before ex dividend,pls scroll back at what I posted

chkhooju

1,706 posts

Posted by chkhooju > 2017-09-27 23:02 | Report Abuse

Should have sold before dividend went ex.