MALAYSIA PACIFIC CORP BHD

KLSE (MYR): MPCORP (6548)

8 people like this.

4,841 comment(s). Last comment by Newtoshareworld 2024-04-01 16:01

fatinvest

146 posts

Posted by fatinvest > 2013-09-21 14:03 | Report Abuse

Good for a punt !
But if price don't go up, please do not keep for long term, because the track record of the management had not been too impressive.
炒股变股东,尤其是这家公司的股东会是很痛苦的事。。。。

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-21 17:32 | Report Abuse

The freehold land in Plentong is total 638 acres- not hectares, consist of 502 acres for development & 136 acres earmarked for local amenities requirement. Valued at RM450 mil in 2008.
18th floor Wisma MPL is revalued in 2010 at RM300 mil.

Dear Cosway,
Thank you for your information.
The freehold land in Plentong can be revalued to 600 million in 2013 since it is next to Focal ? At least it is near to it.
Wisma MPL is considered to pay all debts it owed.
The above information looks good to me, the current price at 0.505 is dirt cheap. I am sure others will be interested to form JV with MPcorp.

Jaack1

56 posts

Posted by Jaack1 > 2013-09-21 19:11 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Ooi,

It is good if your will explore MPCorp’s 2012 accounts - Page 101 – points 35 & 36 regarding significant events.

It seems that Amanah Raya Bhd has served a writ of summons on claims pertaining to the exercise of put option granted under the joint venture agreement signed on 20 Aug 2008. Claims amount rather significant.

I always appreciate your continued contributions and I don’t mean to spoil your party.

Tks/Rgds
Jaack1

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-21 22:31 | Report Abuse

I am not aware, I also do not want to know. In stock market, it is always look forward, but not backward.
I had said, sell off MPL building is more than enough to pay for all debts.
Every one is interested to look at the land next to Focal. If it is not Focal deal, no one is interested to look at this stock.
It attracts my attention is because the stock price broke new high (current) with volume. The technical chart is very beautiful.
I will not be interested if this stock is very good in FA, but the technical chart is still down trending.
To me, technical comes first, follow by fundamental. To me, fundamental of MPCorp is good due to valuable land next to Focal. It is my personal opinion, it is good to know more from you so that I am a bit cautious to trade this stock.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-22 08:14 | Report Abuse

Jaackl, yeah lah why you want to spoil the party? Don't you know that MPCorp has shot up by more than 50%. Everybody is making money.

Posted by Jaack1 > Sep 21, 2013 07:11 PM | Report Abuse
Dear Mr Ooi,
It is good if your will explore MPCorp’s 2012 accounts - Page 101 – points 35 & 36 regarding significant events.
It seems that Amanah Raya Bhd has served a writ of summons on claims pertaining to the exercise of put option granted under the joint venture agreement signed on 20 Aug 2008. Claims amount rather significant.
I always appreciate your continued contributions and I don’t mean to spoil your party.
Tks/Rgds
Jaack1

Jaack1, seriously I hope I can have this kind of critical comments on what I have written in my other threads. Your comments are actually very constructive and extremely useful as an alternative view. No need to be apologetic doing a good job.

The put options and the summons on claims by ARB is very relevant here. I have a few questions for those who knows well about MPCorp and this case and very bullish about MPCorp(I personally don't know much). I am sure you guys have your reasons for being so.

1) If that land in Iskandar is so valuable, why did ARB wanted to exercise its put option to sell its shares in APTEC back to MPCorp?
2) How come it has developed into this situation which ARB has to serve the writ of summons for its payment of 110m which was supposed to be paid off more than a year ago?
3) It is a present problem, not a past problem. How is MPCorp going to settle this?
4) How come the APTEC project has still not started after talking for so long?
5) How is MPCorp going to fund this project of 4.9b?
6) When is the first profit ever going to come in?
7) It appears to me MPCorp can only continue to survive if they can sell off some of its properties, the Wisma MPL, some land in Johore, having a corporate exercise, partner with somebody etc.
8) Of course it also depends on how successful the APTEC project is. But meanwhile, what is their plan?
9) Many other queries a fundamental investors would ask.

As far as trading and making money, I have no doubt of the recent past, but not for those who have bought the shares 3 years ago, even worst for those who bought the shares 13 yeas ago at >$2.00.

As for the near future, I have absolutely no idea.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-22 09:53 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, your questions on MPCorp are very pertinent and for a true and conservative investor, he would be very cautious and hesitant to go in with all the uncertainties surrounding it. On the other hand, OTB relies more on TA and he has observed that the price has made a bullish breakout accompanied with high volume. For him, the fundamentals are secondary as probably he is going for a quick entry and exit in riding along the trend. It's just adopting a different approach - there is no right or wrong.

fatinvest

146 posts

Posted by fatinvest > 2013-09-22 09:58 | Report Abuse

Punt! Punt! Punt!
Go in , make your money, and lari kuat kuat.
That Dato' , don't play play....

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2013-09-22 11:14 |

fireball

111 posts

Posted by fireball > 2013-09-22 11:17 | Report Abuse

MPCorp TA by Mercury Securities on 19sep..
http://klse-online.blogspot.com/

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-22 11:47 |

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-22 12:07 | Report Abuse

That's right. Momentum for mpcorp has just caught on. Many people last week haven't even heard of mpcorp. Over the weekend, there had been many exposure in mpcorp on the media and the forums. On the technical side, I expect momentum to strengthen next week. OTB's TP of rm0.98 is realistic

Lim AS

275 posts

Posted by Lim AS > 2013-09-22 12:41 | Report Abuse

Agreed with nallayak that we have too many townships in JB . The present population will never support the many townships built . S'poreans r reserved to put their monies here too due to security reasons . Left only Indons n Banglas where they r most likely not tempted with the millions of RM spent to own a property here . Our Malaysians only in minority may afford the price tags . The second home project may attract some foreigners who r cash rich . Beware what is happening in most major China secondary cities that have been reported ended up as ghost towns ? No buyers n no peoples r coming around ? With the overhanging QE , EU debt crises , US Trillion debts , wars in imminent and currency speculators r abound . Do u still think we will be spared ???? No doubt it will boom but for short term . For long term , will see property as curse?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-22 13:07 | Report Abuse

Someone flagged Lim AS's comment just because his comment is different from yours? Who the hell did that? Outrageous!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-22 13:24 | Report Abuse

Buy MPCorp at 50.5 sen, cut loss at 40 sen, maximum loss 11 sen or 20.8%, cannot afford this small loss meh?

For me it is not a matter of can afford or not, but are you wiling or not. Not for me. I am a follower of Warren Buffet in investing. His famous rules are no. 1, "Don't lose money". No2, "don't forget rule no. 1".

For a fundamental investors, he is hoping for a long-term return better than the broad market, and the long-term return of Bursa is about 10% CAR. So he will be very happy with 12%, return a year. I was lucky that my CAR return for the last 5 years have been much better than that. This of course is no way near to your minimum return of 50% in a short time. No way. Yeah, fundamental investor like me also think too much, consider this ah that ah. Also can't read chart. But that is me. That is why can't get rich. Sigh.

So if I lose 20.7% now, I need at least two years with the market return just to break even. Hence I try not lose money like that. Luckily few of my stocks for long-term investment lose money.

Of course you could be very well make 50 sen or double your play in MPCorp, or even 600% if the share price of MPCorp rises up to its "paper value" of RM3.49. Yeah, big risk reward. Possibly. I am not going to argue about that.

"In investing, what is comfortable is rarely profitable." -- Robert Arnott

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-22 13:31 | Report Abuse

Like I say, there is no right or wrong - just a different approach. OTB's way is more of a speculative, if not a gambling measure. Based on his reading of the chart he's willing to take a punt and be prepared to lose 11 sen (cut loss point) as against a gain of 48 sen (even if it's a 20 sen gain) as the odds are in his favor. This is better going to the casino where all games are slightly at the banker's advantage.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-22 13:47 | Report Abuse

Hi inwest88, my good friend in i3 who has been defending me when others attacked me personally. OTB is also my good friend in i3.

When you take probability, upside at 98 sen and cut loss at 40 sen, if the probability is 50% each, your expected gain is 36.6%. It is an expected gain and at a high value of 36.6%. How can I say OTB is wrong.

But don't you agree with me that when we talk and share about investing, we shouldn't act like a cult, each must echo and agree with the other? That is not good for anybody's investing experience.

Everybody has his opinion and view. At least for me I would be very happy if others tell me that what I think and write about may have some questions to be pondered about. I am also happy if others criticize what I have written, I mean constructively. I would avoid a lot of mistakes or misconceptions in the process and help me to avoid losing money.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-22 13:55 | Report Abuse

Agree, every individual is entitled to his opinion. As for MP Corp, being a prudent and not so aggressive trader, I probably will not enter but then again if I want to trade for fun, I may just try 10 lots with a profit or loss of 5 sen. I am willing to and can afford a loss of a few hundred ringgit (though it is not a pleasant feeling to lose). Of course the probability is 50% up or down but based on OTB's TA reading on this counter, the chances of going upside in the immediate term is higher. And If it goes down, I will surely not blame anyone.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-22 14:01 | Report Abuse

As of now, I haven't made any decision yet. I normally observe the market sentiment in the first 15 to 30 minutes to roughly ascertain whether the day's trading is going to bullish or bearish (based on many years of experience - of course can be wrong at times).

Rambotan

519 posts

Posted by Rambotan > 2013-09-22 14:09 |

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-09-22 18:45 | Report Abuse

Awaiting more info......

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-09-22 18:45 | Report Abuse

Mpl is t that opposite old Weld.

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-09-22 18:46 | Report Abuse

Ooi u bought .?

Jaack1

56 posts

Posted by Jaack1 > 2013-09-22 19:26 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Ooi,

I noted your comments and thank you for sharing. My intention is to create awareness so as to exercise caution when trading in MPC.

Happy investing.

Tks/Rgds
Jaack1

Posted by wajatimur_28 > 2013-09-22 20:25 | Report Abuse

Rambotan,..u mean alex wong@alex chong=hafiz milip?

Posted by wajatimur_28 > 2013-09-22 20:39 | Report Abuse

Very constructive discussion here...kchong,inwest88,OTB,Jack..all ur analyst are very appreciated

pari57

439 posts

Posted by pari57 > 2013-09-22 20:50 | Report Abuse

Buy Salcon....related with Focal.

skyland

644 posts

Posted by skyland > 2013-09-22 21:02 | Report Abuse

mpcorp..tomorrow limit up

Lim AS

275 posts

Posted by Lim AS > 2013-09-22 22:11 | Report Abuse

Dows down 15,451.09 -185.46 1.19% ? Do u still think our market will move north ? It will be serious correction when our market touching 1800 pts ? Better hold for a few more days to see the market direction n movement.

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-22 22:25 | Report Abuse

Posted by Jaack1 > Sep 22, 2013 07:26 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Ooi,

I noted your comments and thank you for sharing. My intention is to create awareness so as to exercise caution when trading in MPC.

Dear Jaack1,
I welcome your comment and I take note of it. I am very open, no issue at all. Likewise, Kcchongnz's comments.
Thank you to all.

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-22 22:27 | Report Abuse

Posted by Tan KW > Sep 22, 2013 09:49 PM | Report Abuse

Mr Ooi, how about MPCORP-WB? http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/chart/6548wb.jsp

Dear Mr Tan,
Exercise price is RM 1.00. Very far out of money. Not advisable.

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-22 22:37 | Report Abuse

Posted by Zenwan > Sep 22, 2013 06:46 PM | Report Abuse

Ooi u bought .?

Yes. Please do your homework before you invest. Please read my post on risk, return, cut loss and target price. Final decision is yours.

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-23 09:18 | Report Abuse

high potential to breach my RM0.6 resistance today

inghowe83

285 posts

Posted by inghowe83 > 2013-09-23 10:35 | Report Abuse

I learn a lot from this forum, thanks a lot kchong,inwest88,OTB,Jack

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-23 10:36 | Report Abuse

its coming :)

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2013-09-23 14:31 | Report Abuse

hehe ,sell at .53 ,, today buy back .54 .. really itchy

jinv9

127 posts

Posted by jinv9 > 2013-09-23 16:25 | Report Abuse

It was reported in the Star on Friday 20th Sep that SP Setia is looking for more land in the Iskandar area, excerpted below:-

SP Setia eyes more land in Iskandar

JOHOR BARU: SP Setia Bhd is on the lookout for more land in Iskandar Malaysia as part of its strategy to strengthen its position in the southern region.

Chief operating officer Datuk Voon Tin Yow said that while South Johor still had large parcels of development land available, the prices were now getting higher.

He said the average development land price in Iskandar now stood between RM15 and RM20 per sq ft, up from between RM5 and RM8 per sq ft six to seven years ago.

“The price of land in South Johor has appreciated over the years, but still remains competitive compared with land prices in the Klang Valley and Penang,” said Voon.

Source: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/09/20/SP-Setia-eyes-more-land-in-Iskandar-It-plans-to-strengthen-position-in-southern-states.aspx

Calvin, here's your chance to drum up some business for yourself, lol.

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-24 08:57 | Report Abuse

Posted by chia88 > Sep 24, 2013 08:45 AM | Report Abuse

MPCorp is selling their golden land???

yes, very likely, just wait for the huge announcement

jinv9

127 posts

Posted by jinv9 > 2013-09-24 09:11 | Report Abuse

It will be a win-win-win situation if someone (are you reading this Calvin?) can be the intermediary/introducer between MPCorp and SP Setia with regards to MP's land in Iskandar. SP Setia can do a JV with MPCorp. It could turn out to be something very interesting.

0bucks

253 posts

Posted by 0bucks > 2013-09-24 09:42 | Report Abuse

JTFX, PM Corp also considered w good landbank ?

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-09-24 10:18 | Report Abuse

obucks , thats wot calvin been proposing no?? mebbe also Lien Hoe, Karambunai , Olympia, Dutaland etc?? as companies w some landbanks??

jinv9

127 posts

Posted by jinv9 > 2013-09-24 10:50 | Report Abuse

The above discussion earlier mentioned that MPCorp owes money to Amanah Raya. It probably owes money to other third parties as well. I believe these issues would have been provided for in the accounts of the company. Am I right? In the Q4 2013 results, released on 30th August 2013, the accounts reported a net asset per share of 98s.

jinv9

127 posts

Posted by jinv9 > 2013-09-24 10:56 | Report Abuse

The 98s per share would have taken into account these liabilities.

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-24 11:00 | Report Abuse

of course it has taken account those liabilities. "NET" assets. plus, this is not the true NA of mpcorp. their land was last revalued during 2008. land prices in masai has increased by many folds. i say the current would be somewhere close to RM2

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2013-09-24 11:38 | Report Abuse

:) :) :)

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2013-09-24 17:56 | Report Abuse

To All My Fellow Investors, I think kcchongnz's comments are very sensible. We hope to get around 10% to 12% gain a year by investing in stock market. You must be an exceptional genius to get 50% gain a year.

Maybe in a year when the market was mad - like the super bull of 1993. Benjamin Graham, Warren Buffett's teacher, only expect 15% growth every year. Warren Buffett, with the cooperation of Charlie Munger, managed to improve yield to about 20% yearly.

And Warren Buffett is considered the No. 1 Stock picker in the world today for a big fund. A few smaller funds might beat him, but they are few and far between.

In the law of the universe the gambler seldom win. Even careful investors find making money a long & slow process. Often we have to wait a long time for value to surface.

To all of you out there I would highly recommend to read this book : "THE INTELLIGENT INVESTOR" by Benjamin Graham. Itt was by reading this book that Warren Buffett saw the light of day in Value Investing. Best Regards.

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-24 18:18 | Report Abuse

Sorry fundamentals not my style haha. I'm more of a trader, using technicals and behavioural finance. I made 700% last year. Small base though

kakijudi

1,086 posts

Posted by kakijudi > 2013-09-24 18:29 | Report Abuse

Of course you can. If you have a huge risk appetite. Go ahead. I have both mother and warrant

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-24 18:43 | Report Abuse

Posted by chia88 > Sep 24, 2013 06:26 PM | Report Abuse

Can buy Mpcorp WB or not? very cheap man.

Ans : Exercise price is 1.00, it is very far out of money. Hence not recommend to buy warrant.

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2013-09-24 18:45 | Report Abuse

this stock is crap with huge liabilities....check the edge weekly

11,478 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-24 19:01 |