QL RESOURCES BHD

KLSE (MYR): QL (7084)

6.43 - 6.49

2,714 comment(s). Last comment by KingKKK 3 weeks ago

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-01 00:26 | Report Abuse

@aarontan1987

hahahahahahahahahahahhahahahhaahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahhaahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahhaa

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-05 16:05 | Report Abuse

I agree with what Danny and Petnch said. Just topped up to this counter. Personally,I am quite impressed with QL’s business model la,here are some of my points of justification as a new investor.

1.) As far as surimi is concern, QL is the largest processor in Malaysia,in fact most of its revenue is generated from its marine based products.In a way,they monopolize the surimi sector.

2.) Family Mart has gotten the attention of young generations due to its variety of food and beverages. No other convenience stores in Malaysia offer a place to sit down and have a quick meal.

They have their signature oden, which utilizes QL’s own surimi products,this increases profit margin and reduce sales costs,no other franchises have the capability to do the same.Beverages are priced reasonably compared to higher end coffee shops like Starbucks,so can cater to wider spectrum of customers.

From time to time,they come out with new items like matcha sofuto to catch public attention,that’s the innovation and marketing part other convenience stores can’t compete with.

Very often people go into convenience store because they are in a hurry and want a quick meal in a comfortable environment, Family Mart knows that and does exactly what it needs to.

Overall environment is clean and bright, with specific “aroma” of its own. It feels comfortable as soon as you walk in to the stores.

Quantitative analysis wise, their profit after tax and ROE have increased stably over the past 10 years. They have a lot cash to weather through tough times like the pandemic we are facing now. So good cash flow + healthy debt equity ratio <0.5.

Now the bad part,I’m not quite happy with as an investor.
1.) their profit margin has reduced in recent years,esp in the live poultry sector,I’m afraid that might cap earning potentials.
2.) dividend payout doesn’t keep up with company growth despite having stable growth for the past 10 years.
3.) PE 63 (however I do agree with Danny that good things don’t come cheap,Amazon,Apple,Coca Cola all have high PEs,based on conventional logic. Are they any less profitable?)

With internet, all of us are just one click away to have access to information that everyone else can have. Do you think you’re the only one/first to “discover” “undervalued” companies?

Final verdict: I believe QL has a lot more potential to grow.They may even take over 7-11/MyNews in time to come if they continue to grow at current pace.For that,I’m willing to pay a premium for it,being fully aware that it may take time for someone to acknowledge a company’s true value,but then that time you might have to pay a premium on top of premium already-la.

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-20 13:42 | Report Abuse

QR coming out next week,looking forward for once again a steady but surely increasing profit,holding for long term. This counter isn’t meant for goreg2

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-20 18:18 | Report Abuse

--------- Coming Quarter ---------

Quarterly Report For The Financial Period Ended 30 Sep 2020
Marine Products Manufacturing ?
Palm Oil Activities ?
Integrated Livestock Farming ?
Total ?

POA definitely up. ILF most probably better than last quarter as FamilyMart regains foot traffic and MCO lifted. MPM hard to tell, but I believe it will go up too. The flooding in China was pretty bad in the middle of the year, from what I understand, China increased their food storage, stocking up essential food. Whether this benefits QL or not remains to be seen. Seeing that chicken eggs are depress now, anything goes.

Hopefully this quarter the profit will hit RM100K.

--------- Previous Quarters ---------

Quarterly Report For The Financial Period Ended 30 June 2020
Marine Products Manufacturing 61,857
Palm Oil Activities 14,489
Integrated Livestock Farming 4,056
Total 80,402

Quarterly Report For The Financial Period Ended 31 March 2020
Marine Products Manufacturing 41,474
Palm Oil Activities 3,341
Integrated Livestock Farming 17,983
Total 62,798

xjteh

192 posts

Posted by xjteh > 2020-11-21 22:02 | Report Abuse

QL: MA cross up signal appeared yesterday. Sideway movement shall end soon. TP1: 6.85, TP2: 7.2 & more to go by year end.

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Posted by DreamMaster > 2020-11-21 22:40 | Report Abuse

Up 2.05%

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Posted by DreamMaster > 2020-11-21 22:40 | Report Abuse

Okay also la

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Posted by DreamMaster > 2020-11-21 22:41 | Report Abuse

Boleh juga la

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Very good

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Excellent

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Well done

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Posted by DreamMaster > 2020-11-21 22:42 | Report Abuse

Congratulations

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Keep surging

DreamMaster

1,157 posts

Good luck

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-22 11:05 | Report Abuse

Thanks Danny and xjteh for the updates. With the surging CPO price,we can expect more profit for QL’s palm oil activity in coming QR. Lots more room for growth for Family Mart,keep holding and earn your capital appreciation guys :)

Posted by UndukNgadau > 2020-11-27 11:20 | Report Abuse

Just disposed all of my QL

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-27 11:25 | Report Abuse

Tq I just bought yours :D

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-27 22:31 | Report Abuse

PBT is RM97K, close to the 100K i predicted. Not bad, with FM expanding in northern region and the continuation expansion in central and south, more profit in coming quarter. The Marine business just started gaining momentum.

MPM went up, expected as they are expanding.
POA went down, surprised. Due to foreign exchange. Rupee
ILF went up, probably due to FM. Chicken eggs price went down.

Next year will be even better as tourism returns and life begins to fo back to normal. Cant go wrong with QL.

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 02:08 | Report Abuse

To my surprise POA didn’t perform as well as expected, but MPM managed to pull up PBT significantly.

Anyway, good time to buy now,never been this low since bonus issue.

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 10:09 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
My turn to ask you, is it a good result?
Is the growth rate justified the rich valuation?

MPM went up, expected as they are expanding.
POA went down, surprised. Due to foreign exchange. Rupee
ILF went up, probably due to FM. Chicken eggs price went down.

Should anyone be worried that EPF start to sell QL?

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annchsh/7084.jsp

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-28 12:07 | Report Abuse

@Sslee

Why copy and paste what I typed? Maybe the right question is, should anyone be worried that EPF is loading up of glove stocks such as TG?

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 12:20 | Report Abuse

@sslee EPF dumping is least of my concern,as they are dumping many other companies’ shares too because of the implementation of I-Sinar. My investment horizon is 10 years and above, unless company’s fundamental changes,I wouldn’t dump the shares. In fact, I would buy more cuz it’s cheap. QL’s share price has always been fair,their growth prospect has been priced in,given net profit growth of 38% QoQ,I’d say they overperformed than what I expected given the increasing covid cases.

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 12:37 | Report Abuse

@DannyArcher pardon me for cut and paste what you typed.
Philip had hold to his QL for more than 10 years now and view QL deserved the high PE because of its growth.
For me QL is overvalued because the current slow growth rate did not justified the rich valuation. Moreover most of the shares is held by institutions which might cause the price drop if they start to sell QL shares

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 12:41 | Report Abuse

@Maxpower,
Net profit growth of 38% QoQ is misleading because QL business have 4 different peak and low season. Need to compare growth on year todate basic.

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 12:53 | Report Abuse

@sslee I would stray away from fast growing company because of sustainability,QL’s steady growth ensures its shareholders able to sleep soundly at night hehe..the fact that it’s able to maintain growth in a pandemic is already worth the rich valuation that you would like to call it. Btw which company shares not held by institution ah? Haha..

Hey I’m not complaining man,you can throw your shares on Monday I’ll be more than happy to catch it..and I’m sure there are other silent readers here see eye to eye haha..

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 13:00 | Report Abuse

@sslee thanks for pointing out QL business is season dependent,and I agree with you regarding the need to compare year to year basis too, however I’m optimistic about QL’s growth. Hopefully by FY2022 Family Mart can be a separate entity under QL resources Bernard due to its robust growth and expansion.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-28 13:09 | Report Abuse

@Sslee

Overvalued if you are a short term trader, undervalued if you are a long term holder. FM still have more room to grow, how many stores do they have now? 200? Imagine 1000 stores all over Malaysia.

I agree, there are many more other counters with better returns (not growth), QL is not something you trade. Plus, I doubt anyone here invest the majority of their money in QL, it is just a small portion of what I invested in the market.

With the Fed printing so much money, food inflation is here to stay. QL will benefit from it. Just compare to the food price 10 or 20 years ago. I remember when I first came to KL/PJ 20 years ago 1 chicken rice is about RM4.50, now? RM7 or RM8.

For me, QL is just a hedge against inflation and growth in FM. That's all. I doubt Philips poured in a majority of his money in QL too. After all, it is his money.

Posted by stockraider > 2020-11-28 13:12 | Report Abuse

The best & the safest stock to invest in klse now is INSAS loh...!!

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 13:47 | Report Abuse

I remenmer when I study in UM in 1982 my dinner only cost me RM 1.20

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 13:53 | Report Abuse

And my first job as engineer in 1986 salary is RM 1,000

chhn461

279 posts

Posted by chhn461 > 2020-11-28 13:57 | Report Abuse

@sslee really? what kind of dinner tho just curious.

let's say charkueyteow @ RM 1.2, you can have 833 pinggan in a month.

Today you need 5.5k salary to get 833 pinggan of charkueyteow @ Rm 6.5

Means 1k salary in 1986 is equivalent to 5.5k today.....? sad times starting working now T_T

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 14:09 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker your claims are ridiculous and unsubstantiated

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 14:39 | Report Abuse

@I3lurker if you don’t like the company then just dump the share la why put in so much effort to troll here haha. Not like our opinion will change because of you pun kekeke...

Posted by stockraider > 2020-11-28 15:11 |

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 15:12 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker While you talk crap here,numbers don’t lie haha, At the end of the day, QL still generating cold hard profit from their operational activities yo! Hey thanks for keeping us entertained while the market is closed today,I have whole day to blow water with you here haha.. :’D

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-28 15:13 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker

How old are you?

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 15:52 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker YESS! Malaysians WILL continue to suppok FamilyMart,thanks for validating that haha!

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 16:25 | Report Abuse

Malaysians have a “thing” for Japanese culture: Anime,Cosplay,Sushi,Anything Macha,Uniqlo,Daiso,Miniso,Yubiso,Fabuloso! Haha..
You can’t separate Japanese culture from Malaysians,it’s deeply ingrained in our mind.

On a serious note,there’s innovation from Family Mart,they capture the hearts of Malaysians with their affordable and delicious soft serve,some people buy them to “punch card”. Oh and coming up next is their latest chocolate lava croissant..yummmy!

7-11 apa ada? Maggi ah? Hahaha...

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 16:44 | Report Abuse

Of course Family Mart staffs don’t welcome you lo you diss them on their back haha..dai 9 lei sei..haha

Eh you bring yourself so low to compare 99 to Family Mart ah? Hahaha...tolong la you haven’t eaten your dementia medication ah hahaha..

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-28 17:10 | Report Abuse

You’ve resorted to use term like “shemale” to describe a business,readers here won’t take you seriously anymore hehe,so in case your intention is to sabo this counter sorry la plan failed haha..

Okie enough of blowing water today,need to go Family Mart buy some Oden and Macha ice cream first.. Ciaoz! ;)

investmalysia

1,454 posts

Posted by investmalysia > 2020-11-28 17:11 | Report Abuse

Maybe this i3lurker is a shemale. Comparing 99 with family mart. Don’t know how to differentiate the business modal.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-11-28 17:46 | Report Abuse

@i3lurker

At this point, I have to assume your wife bought a banana from FamilyMart and decided a banana outperformed you in bed.

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 18:10 | Report Abuse

Haha do QL FamilyMart sell banana? Or is it a vibrator?

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-28 22:56 | Report Abuse

QL Market Cap: 14,943 Million
NOSH: 2,434 Million
Avg Volume (4 weeks): 929,505
4 Weeks Range: 6.13 - 6.52
NP to SH past 5 year (RM '000): 239,323: 216,743: 206,236: 195,921: 192,079
Do you really want to catch a falling knife?

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-29 06:44 | Report Abuse

@sslee QL net profit past 5 years(RM‘000): (2016): 201761 (2017): 206820 (2018): 215680 (2019): 225430 (2020): 238967.

These informations are readily available and one click away from this website itself, why do you want to mislead others with your fake figures?

Did you pick the numbers from your house trashbin? Cannot like this ler.. simply task like plucking numbers also get wrong how to invest haha.. :D

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-29 07:48 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/fin/7084.jsp?type=last10fy
Dear Maxpower refer above link.
NP and NP to SH in two different colume.

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-29 08:12 | Report Abuse

@sslee From the very same link you put up,here are the figures:

NP to SH: (2016):192079, (2017):195921, (2018):206236, (2019):216743, (2020):239323

You are misleading the public,I would advise readers to twice think when digesting your opinion.

4,716 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-11-29 08:20 | Report Abuse

@Maxpowar
Your NP to SH: (2016):192079, (2017):195921, (2018):206236, (2019):216743, (2020):239323

My NP to SH past 5 year (RM '000): 239,323: 216,743: 206,236: 195,921: 192,079
Is counting backward from year 2020 to 2016

Maxpowar

304 posts

Posted by Maxpowar > 2020-11-29 09:04 | Report Abuse

@sslee
It’s my fault bro,I didn’t see clearly,my apology.
Then can you please elaborate regarding catching a falling knife?

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-11-29 09:23 | Report Abuse

Too rich valuation but strong fundamental & well managed organisation...

How to evaluate "alignment & balancing "......