QL RESOURCES BHD

KLSE (MYR): QL (7084)

+0.04 (0.62%)

6.44 - 6.49

2,714 comment(s). Last comment by KingKKK 3 weeks ago

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-01 13:34 | Report Abuse

Sorry I value my privacy. Like you said in your very first comment to me that I live in a imaginary world and your investment is so much better. I don't see why I should share further than what is already shared on my online portfolio.

You like to ask for so much info, but you yourself do not maintain a trackable portfolio of your own investments.

Maybe we can discuss further next time that you do that.

You have been promoting INSAS with your buy 1 share of insas get 2 share of inari etc from day 1.

I'm still waiting here for your amazing imaginary results.

FYI unless you haven't figured it out yet, my i3 name and real life is different.

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-01 14:11 | Report Abuse

Good afternoon Philip,
I did not in any way promote INSAS as what you implied, ‘You have been promoting INSAS with your buy 1 share of insas get 2 share of inari etc from day 1.”

I only present the facts on INSAS. So anything wrong with the facts I present?
Inari shares held by Insas: Inari is one of the associate companies of Insas
(1) Insas Technology Berhad : 434,769,375
(2) Media Lang Limited : 66,016,500
(3) Insas Plaza Sdn Bhd : 114,367,700
(4) Montego Assets Limited : 200,000
Total: 615,353,575.00

Number of INSAS shares issued: 663,006,342 (excluding 30,327,291 treasury shares). One Insas share indirectly hold 615,353,575/663,006,342 = 0.928 Inari
Can 3iii answer the below question.

Why buying one Inari at RM1.71 when you can use the same money to buy 2.55 Insas at 67 cents then you still indirectly hold 2.37 Inari and everything else in Insas?

You can look into segmental report Q2 and Q3 to have better understanding of segmental performance.
Financial services and credit &leasing: Investment holding and trading: Technology and IT-related manufacturing, trading and services: Retail trading and car rental: Property investment and development end Q2 and end Q3 (RM’000)
Profit/(loss) before tax: 19,287: 8,244: 21,644: 2,252: 3,386: Total 54,813
Profit/(Loss) before tax: 23,083: (56,506): 28,896: 3,173: 6,482: Total 5,128

Note: the Q3 losses are mark to market financial assets at 31th March 2020 compare to 31/12/2019
IGBREIT annual report 31-12-2019: Montego Assets Limited (PCB) 10,000,000
Market price 31/12/2019: RM 1.89: 31/03/2020: RM 1.59

Omesti annual report: 31-3-2019: Insas Berhad – – 48,659,500
Market price 31/12/2019 RM 0.51: 31/03/2020: RM 0.45

OCBC Market price 31/12/2019 SG 10.98: 31/03/2020: SG 8.64

AUD deposit Refer Financial report 2019 RM equivalent 167,694,000
Loss on exchange differences- unrealized: RM (9,454,000)
AUD to MYR: 31/12/2019 RM 2.877: 31/03/2020: RM 2.672

How much mark to market financial assets will be written back in Q4 will depend on 30/6/2020 closing price.
10/06/2020 9:13 PM

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-01 14:43 | Report Abuse

See? Promotion again. But can you explain why INSAS price is 0.63?

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-01 16:07 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
If I know why Mr. Market (crazy guy) only what to buy INSAS at RM 0.63 and readily pay RM 9+ for QL, I will be the richest man in Malaysia.

Similarly referred: https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/philip3/2019-03-26-story199668-THE_STORY_BEHIND_INVESTING_ON_MARGIN_AND_WHAT_TO_BUY_GKENT.jsp
I have used my excess cash and full margin to take a 1M share position in GKENT (at a average purchase price of RM1.12) yesterday after the announcement of results.
How do I protect myself and my MARGIN INVESTMENT?
Firstly, understand the company financials GKENT. If you look closely, buying it at today's figures, I am paying 630 million for a company that has a book value of RM500 million. However, it is a very cash rich company, to the tune of 260 million - 60 million debt = 200 million in CASH. What this means is if I buy over the whole company for 630 million, I still have cash in the bank of 200 million, meaning I am actually buying the company for 430 million, or RM0.77 per share.
Sounds like a good deal? It gets better. For the price I paid, I am also getting 3.5 cents DIVIDEND next month. Meaning for my investment of 1.12, I get back 3.1% dividend yield IMMEDIATELY, which is great (discount on my purchase price!). Historically, GKENT get between 7 cents to 9 cents dividend a year, which gives me a yield of around 6% at RM1.12 price. This goes a long way in paying off that margin loan that I was getting from Maybank (6.9% remember?).

So tell me if someone followed your footstep with full margin finance into Gkent at RM1.12 will he suffered margin call and lose his pants and underwear by now?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-01 16:24 | Report Abuse

That is why I put my full portfolio so you know the position size of gkent in relation to my entire portfolio. You already know what size is gkent to my other investments.

If you read halfway then you only have yourself to blame.

At the same time you only read INSAS and QL story halfway and make assumptions on the long term prospects of both companies. Since you use simple metrics like balance sheet and accounting figures to define your investment philosophy instead of making more effort to understand your investments like buying the products, reading the industry journals, market reports, business journals, competition performance, and just use simple metrics to define your investment knowledge.

You have only yourself to blame for your poor long term performance since 2016. Sadly, even worse instead of asking the right questions you keep repeating the same investment philosophy and keep repeating the same mistake year after year

2016 - xinquan
2017 - hengyuan
2018 - insas
2019 - jaks
2020 - tunepro

Year after year after year you keep repeating the same mistake even though it doesn't work for you.

So what has happened?

You missed investing in QL, missed investing in topglove, sold gkent at 50+ cents, sold Pchem at 5+, you have made trading away good stocks and holding on to bad stocks your habit.

Then you go around asking me to show you my details and my shareholding position and prove to you this and that and whatever, as if I have anything to prove to you.

Simple, let us let our INVESTMENTS do the talking. Why do you keep talking about GKENT and QL everywhere and Keep reposting things everywhere?

Please do share one investment so far which is giving you joyful meaning returns so far and how much of your portfolio size is in it?

I doubt you can. Maybe it is time to move on with life and improve your investing acumen.

Hopefully old dogs can learn new tricks.

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-01 16:42 | Report Abuse

Haha,
TQVM to Philip. Orient still 12% gain and Star 29% gain.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-01 18:37 | Report Abuse

@Philip

just a question

what do you think of LHI compare with QL?

Both business not so same but both also is do chicken & other business

in future, LHI have potential to be as good as QL??

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-01 19:26 | Report Abuse

If I knew the future I would be a gazillionaire. But my investing philosophy is to see what they are doing currently and where the growth triggers are. So far I don't see anything that LHI is doing for them to be as good as QL.

If I was LHI, first I would add more agricultural base. Instead of marine, I would look towards the growing the cow and milk production in Malaysia which is majority imported. This would give me confidence that LHI is diversifying within it's area of competence ( agriculture). Then I want to see them venturing to end user business with frozen food and own brand manufacturing ( family Mart, 7-11, Cold storage). These would be the growth cycle within it's area of competence that I want to see happening that would put it on its way to being a QL or CP or Tyson.

It's like in palm oil plantations. First you want to see them start with their own nursery selling to plantations. Then when they start growing their own plantations you feel more confidence. Then when they start building their own refineries you feel more confidence on their economies of scale. Then when you see them starting to produce their own downstream products and finally exporting own brand products then you know they are growing the right way.

I look at potential growth in terms of capabilities, not just size.

You could be the biggest chicken and egg producer but still not grow.

But if you can add complexity and vertical integration you will realize the growth is exponential.

The simple answer is I don't know about LHI, but they are currently not adding capabilities, only size.

Posted by jameslimwb_007 > 2020-07-01 20:19 | Report Abuse

@Philip
Had been quietly followed ur page for awhile. Very constructive comments and inputs given by u. I also invested QL for around 6 years. Gain 300% so far ^_^

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-02 06:17 | Report Abuse

Thanks James, do join the telegram page to have chit chat over investment ideas... A lot of constructive criticism instead of just personal attacks.

27,854 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-07-02 06:17 |

Posted by jameslimwb_007 > 2020-07-02 07:53 | Report Abuse

@Philip
Personal attacks look fun as well :P. For entertainment no problem ^_^
Telegram page? may I know where is it?

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-02 09:21 | Report Abuse

Good morning Philip,
Noun: personal attack (plural personal attacks) an abusive remark on or relating to somebody's person instead of providing evidence when examining another person's claims or comments.

So aren’t below sound like and look like personal attacks?
“I expected better from a UM graduate”
“I'm still waiting here for your amazing imaginary results.”
“Hopefully old dogs can learn new tricks.”

By the way, did Philip tell you the ROE, PE and PEG of CP and Tyson compare to QL?

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-02 09:52 | Report Abuse

Good morning James,
Philip telegram information:
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp

Posted by jameslimwb_007 > 2020-07-02 09:56 | Report Abuse

@sslee
Both of u are really hilarious....

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-02 10:06 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Hallmark of UM engineering graduate!

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-07-02 16:40 | Report Abuse

Personal attacks , hurling of insults only on i3
However once on telegram, everyone is civil and exchanging constructive ideas
This UM grads.... what are they smoking.......

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-02 19:05 | Report Abuse

@Philip

thanks for share insight

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-03 08:38 | Report Abuse

Isn't this your first words to me when I posted up my article online? When I shared my journey you were so much quicker to judge and comment on my investment of QL, even until today about 2 years on. Funny how 1 year later you are still so quick to comment and promote INSAS 2inari buy 1 INSAS, despite lackluster results.

I'm sure in real life sslee is a fine person. But being a keyboard warrior he loves to just type and comment without checking the veracity of his investment concepts.

So far his concept of cigar butt value investing has been proven deeply... Wrong.

But instead of looking at what went wrong with his investments, he goes over by insulting mine.

Funny how that works.

INSAS 0.65
Ql 9.64
>>>>>>>

“I'm still waiting here for your amazing imaginary results.”

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-03 08:42 | Report Abuse

FYI,
Just to clear up something as you seem to be insinuating that I am faking my portfolio. Please understand and clear up that if total shareholding is BELOW 5% of total voting shares, there is no requirement or necessity to report to the register of shareholdings. Meaning I can hide behind my Maybank,rhb and public bank nominee cds account.

As for promoting, I am simply writing an article on how to apply margin in buying stocks with GKENT as an example of what I have been doing.

>>>>>>>>>

Then tell me did you promote Gkent since you first bought Gkent?
25-Feb-2019: Buy: GKENT +1,000,000: 1.12
And by the way since you hold millions of Gkent mind pinpoint to me your name in the top 30 shareholders in Gkent financial report?
01/07/2020 9:15 AM

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-03 08:47 | Report Abuse

All I can say is stubbornness and confidence can be a difficult combination.
But sslee does raise a few good questions which cannot be answered easily and can only be monitored over a period of time on that happens.

>>>>>>>>

Rwkl Personal attacks , hurling of insults only on i3
However once on telegram, everyone is civil and exchanging constructive ideas
This UM grads.... what are they smoking.......

dickson2u

230 posts

Posted by dickson2u > 2020-07-03 23:05 | Report Abuse

Ql fair value is below is 7. It has overvalue 38.6%

No doubt that it si a good company.I did bought QL many years back below RM3 but sold it after earn 50% pofits.

When i grew older. m QL is in my list but i ony will bbuy when it below 7. By before September i can be shareholder again.

Buy good stock with reasonable price is important

Posted by stockraider > 2020-07-04 10:13 | Report Abuse

Should sell b4 too late mah....!!

Switch it to insas or MNRB better value loh...!!

Posted by dickson2u > Jul 3, 2020 11:05 PM | Report Abuse

Ql fair value is below is 7. It has overvalue 38.6%

No doubt that it si a good company.I did bought QL many years back below RM3 but sold it after earn 50% pofits.

When i grew older. m QL is in my list but i ony will bbuy when it below 7. By before September i can be shareholder again.

Buy good stock with reasonable price is important

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-06 06:35 | Report Abuse

I heard got a group of rich sabahan idiots supporting this highly overvalued ql..just like hapseng..

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-06 06:36 | Report Abuse

Hapseng is mainly supported by tan sri alone...lol

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-07 07:13 | Report Abuse

Yes I heard that MNRB was also supported by a lot of idiots.

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-07 07:23 | Report Abuse

mostly glc....lol

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-07 07:23 | Report Abuse

philip yr nightmare is not yet over lah dont worry

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-08 07:46 | Report Abuse

Are you still supporting mnrb or already cut loss?

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-08 08:39 | Report Abuse

where got loss to cut..still holding my mnrb tight tight though mostly invested on supermax since few months ago...lol

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-08 08:39 | Report Abuse

can u sleep well recently ah?

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-08 08:42 | Report Abuse

hold 10 years to make rm10m+ sold few months earlier to see opportunity loss rm25m+...how do u feel just wonder....

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-08 08:42 | Report Abuse

topglove now rm20 opportunity loss rm25m....

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-08 08:43 | Report Abuse

buy more gkent or ql?

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-08 09:11 | Report Abuse

Haha
Philip recently sold QL, Gkent, Pchem and bought property companies Paramon, UOA dev and qqq3’s Xfactor Kpower and SCIB.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-08 21:36 | Report Abuse

I still made more than 30-40% on my other stocks which are still undervalued, including kpower, scib recently, pchem from rm5+ to rm6+,yinson and many more. You are like those who love to swim naked at the beach, not wearing anything and holding on tight tight.

Of course I sleep well at night. My ql from rm8 jump to rm9.7, what is there not to like?

You are like those who are laughing and say opportunity cost etc etc, while the real fact is... You have no idea what the real value of your equities are and if they will stand the test of time.

Let's see if you are smart enough to predict the low z that you can predict the high and sell off your trade at the right time eh kid?

I await with bated breath on your extraordinary ability to buy low and sell high.

>>>>>>
Posted by CharlesT > Jul 8, 2020 8:42 AM | Report Abuse

hold 10 years to make rm10m+ sold few months earlier to see opportunity loss rm25m+...how do u feel just wonder....

14,577 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-07-09 07:09 | Report Abuse

lol...as long as u can sleep well....

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-09 09:58 | Report Abuse

Haha CharlesT,
Sure Philip can sleep very well with qqq3 reading him his favorite bed time stories in his telegram group.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-09 10:30 | Report Abuse

Haha sslee you finally broke even on your INSAS investments? Very good, now you also can start to get cocky and tell them the results of your 4 year investment in INSAS and how wonderful it was and what your CAGR has been from investing in INSAS...

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-09 11:36 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
Every dog has his day. CharlesT is now very happy with KoonBee stocks Supermax Koon’s TP of above RM 20 after the announcement of the next 2 quarter results.

As for me I feel my day will come soon.
Thank you for asking.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-07-14 00:39 | Report Abuse

Can someone explain to me why are the directors and related company selling so many of QL's stock?

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-07-14 18:19 | Report Abuse

It's for the QL foundation and it's not so many. It's just a tiny portion that is reflected by joint ownership so every director name is written down. This is to seek and provide funding for QL foundation and charity activity every year.

4,728 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-07-14 18:45 | Report Abuse

You can check the link below Insider-Directors: date: disposed or acquired: No of shares: price.
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annchdr/7084.jsp

ahgoo

41 posts

Posted by ahgoo > 2020-07-30 20:18 | Report Abuse

I don't fully understand Malaysian stock investors as to why there appears to be pretty short-term/speculative chit-chats...KLSE is simply too small to day or swing trade reliably. Most of the mega and large caps are either multi-nationals or large local entities - that institutional investors favor (incl. EPF)...so mucking around penny stocks may be fun for gamblers..there is a lack of transparency with many local stocks...As an example, take ANALABS-=7083 (fully controlled by 1 family....CEO/Chairman/Wife/Sons.. you simply cannot invest nor speculate..it has been hovering around RM1 and there simply aren;'t enough buyers and sellers to trade...Yes of course you can be lucky with Covid - hence TopGlove...etc. Even though my biggest position right now is QL, I don't plan to sell anytime soon - it is a consumer staple..that has growth potential - so I just don't spend time fretting about it. I expect QL to do very well over the next 2-3 years and easily a double digit stock.....for what it is worth - my 2 sens

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2020-08-24 08:39 | Report Abuse

family mart at karpal sing suspend for 2 week as not follow SOP. Being fine RM1000 per employees.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-08-25 19:13 | Report Abuse

all the other egg companies are losing money, i think QL is not going to do any better...

Posted by UndukNgadau > 2020-08-25 22:12 | Report Abuse

Recent announcement: Lay Hong 1Q net profit up 34% on higher revenue:
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/lay-hong-1q-net-profit-34-higher-revenue

Posted by enigmatic [control your emotions, discipline your mind] > 2020-08-26 19:01 | Report Abuse

Waiting for Philip's commentary on QL. I think QL has done very well despite the MCO.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-08-26 19:05 | Report Abuse

yeah, initially i thought with MCO their familymart will be a drag, seems like everything is ok, not good not bad.