QL RESOURCES BHD

KLSE (MYR): QL (7084)

+0.02 (0.31%)

6.48 - 6.55

2,720 comment(s). Last comment by WongGK92 14 hours ago

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-03-30 15:14 | Report Abuse

QL will rise and soar, or the very least, remain profitable consistently.

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-03-30 15:14 | Report Abuse

Unlike some dubious stock that promises hundreds of percent of profit, but never gives any divvidend

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2020-04-01 03:31 | Report Abuse

I wonder what is QL's total addressable market ("TAM").

So wonderful until market will value at 50PE.

Phillip must be expecting them to have 99.9% market share in their industry with no competitors in all of them within 2-3 years. I wonder if today got 20% market share or not leh

=====

Google and Facebook ("TAM"), just a high level analysis,

Internet penetration of global population 10 years ago is 25%, today it is 50%.

Digital ad spending share of the total 10 years ago is 30-35% (depending on stats) today it is 50.1%

Facebook and Google's share of the digital ad spend is also around 60-80% depending on category.

I think 10-20 years from now that figure should be above 80-90% d.

And these are only 17PE

=====

QL on the other hand, at 50PE i think Phillip must be predicting,

1) Chareon Pokphand going bankrupt, handing them south east asia surimi, and fish food market.

2) Layhong LTKM MFLOUR CCK etc going bankrupt, giving them monopoly on Malaysia Chicken and Egg Market, and the government to change it so that only QL can do business in this industry on a cost plus 20% contract.

3) United Plantation, GENP, Wilmar, Batu Kawan, KLK, SOP all go bankrupt and allow QL to buy them up at bankruptcy court auction prices, giving them monopoly on palm oil market. And also soybean strains all kena virus attack, become extinct.

4) Family Mart, giving QL license to operate the entire south east asia market, and 7/11, Mynews all go bankrupt giving them monopoly in Malaysia market. Actually, i think he might be expecting Family Mart to give them ex japan & china global exclusive license liao.

Posted by Philip ( Dr. Fauci my Hero) > 2020-04-01 06:18 | Report Abuse

Come talk back more theory when you have a working portfolio going. Otherwise all you are is another fantasy writer with no results to back it up.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-01 09:13 | Report Abuse

haha Choivo,
I follow Philip buy Pchem and Gkent then the shares drop a lot. May be if I buy QL most likely it will drop like Pchem. So I better avoid QL and let it defy gravity.

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-04-01 10:13 | Report Abuse

Yes please don’t buy and spare us all the inevitable jinx.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-01 13:58 | Report Abuse

Dear Rwkl,
I will not buy QL to prevent spreading my jinx like covid-19. But for pchem and gkent already too late waitimg to collect at lower price than Philip.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-01 14:10 | Report Abuse

Haha i3lurker,
I am very happy to collect 50,000 Insas shares at 35 cents during it new low.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-01 14:18 | Report Abuse

Haha i3 lurker,
No worries now waiting gkent at 43 cents and pchem at 4.
Any shares worth buying now?

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-01 14:31 | Report Abuse

Haha
I3lurker thanks for the advice.
I keep one vicks inhaler as test kit for Covid-19 every morning I smell it and if i can still smell it it mean I am OK.

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-04-02 16:08 | Report Abuse

Haha Sslee, did you just short QL? It’s gone berserk
Hope that inhaler of yours is not clouding your judgement

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-02 16:29 | Report Abuse

Dear Rwkl
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/54880.jsp
You need to ask i3lurker is HLG IB report meet his minimum standard:

"Despite being a consumer staple, we expect uncertainty surrounding Covid-19 to keep QL’s share price subdued, particularly given the expensive valuations the stock trades at. Maintain HOLD and TP of RM8.20 based on unchanged 50x FY21 earnings"

Did IB check and make comparison Charoen Pokphand Foods (CP) (Thailand) and QL History revenue growth and PE ratio?

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-02 16:47 | Report Abuse

And by the way eggs are price control items did the author know poultry feed are mostly import pay in USD and sales in local currency. What is the USD exchange rate compare to MYR, RP and dong?

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-04-02 20:34 | Report Abuse

Since I have your attention please allow me to point an anomaly and it’s not intended to belittle you.
Phillip currently holds six Bursa counters ie Gkent, Pchem, Topglove, QL, Yinson and Serba. By your own admission , you have a position in the 1st two mentioned. A basic inspection by me would bear the same outcome as lowest PE and higher yields tip the scales. The other 4 will be ignored based on a combo of extremely high PE low yields high gearing etc
Strangely enough or maybe not, it’s the 2 reasonably valued stocks that tanked and the rest holding out well in relative terms. Perhaps we should unlearn what we already know. Just food for thought...... no?

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-02 21:31 | Report Abuse

Dear Rwkl,
Not me alone cannot understand why QL deserve PE 50 but many people also wonder why QL and not CP Thailand? Not helping are local IB reports valuation just because of familymart then QL worth 50PE. How about dividend yield, revenue and net profit growth rate?

Posted by Philip ( yinson 700 buses in trouble) > 2020-04-03 01:29 | Report Abuse

RWKL, You and I have a very different concepts of valuation.

You assume that low PE and high yields to be an approximation of the quality of a company. I believe in no such thing, as pe does not look at debt, performance or forward growth of a company.

PE is just that: the confidence level that investors have in a stock. And at what price versus risk investors are willing to take to hold a stock.

PE has nothing whatsoever to do with margin of safety.

More often than not, I find myself differing with other investors in trying to relieve them if this concept.

Majority of new investors look at PE first, then decide if they want to buy a company.

For myself, I look at the company first and its long term growth prospects. Once I have decided to buy, then I use PE to decide at what price I am willing to take the risk to hold a stock.

PE is very important, it's just that it doesn't tell you anything relevant about a company's future.

And investing is about putting money today to get back more in the future.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Rwkl > Apr 2, 2020 8:34 PM | Report Abuse

Since I have your attention please allow me to point an anomaly and it’s not intended to belittle you.
Phillip currently holds six Bursa counters ie Gkent, Pchem, Topglove, QL, Yinson and Serba. By your own admission , you have a position in the 1st two mentioned. A basic inspection by me would bear the same outcome as lowest PE and higher yields tip the scales. The other 4 will be ignored based on a combo of extremely high PE low yields high gearing etc
Strangely enough or maybe not, it’s the 2 reasonably valued stocks that tanked and the rest holding out well in relative terms. Perhaps we should unlearn what we already know. Just food for thought...... no?

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-03 08:30 | Report Abuse

Haha Rwkl,
If Philip practices what he said, “For myself, I look at the company first and its long term growth prospects. Once I have decided to buy, then I use PE to decide at what price I am willing to take the risk to hold a stock” then there are more reasons for him to sell QL and buy StoneCo (StoneCo is now selling below USD20).

But then again will big Brazilian bank Itau Unibanco Holding entering into the digital payments space early in 2019 eat into StoneCo growth and profit margin?

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2020-04-03 10:09 | Report Abuse

Philip,
You are peaching to the converted and appreciate the refresher.
I was just highlighting predicaments confronting investors . The
In this sharp market downturn, I am sure many would have predicted so called value stocks to hold better than growrh but it seems to prove otherwise

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-03 10:33 | Report Abuse

Haha
It just take 1 month for growth stock StoneCo to drop from it high of usd 44+ to below usd 20

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-03 21:54 | Report Abuse

I have already decided to stop replying any of sslee comments and concepts. As I have used his valuation techniques and his 1 year performance comparison with my performance I have realized a simple fact. His results and comments have no difference to Calvin tan, stockraider and Jonathan Choi yi kit.

I will let him comment as he pleases, and ignore his "advice".

The fact is, the 1 year results of my original stocks 2018-2019 year topglove, QL, yinson have already far outperformed his favorite stock INSAS. In fact, I expect that by the end of the year QL would have handily won the so called stock competition between MNRB, INSAS and QL ( by virtue of being the only profitable stocks whose share price today is still higher than last year).

I pity those who talk the loudest, but have very little performance to show for it.

In fact, I look forward to 2021, when my long term investments in GKENT ( lowest price bought 0.46 23rd March), PCHEM ( lowest price bought 20th March 4.09), and serbadk ( lowest price bought 23rd March 1.12) gets a nice recovery and I can begin to cut down on my margin loan.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp

Please follow here for my full record of my (retirement FUNd) with a list of exact by the sell volume and trade dates so you can compare your results and mine in a clear transparent manner.

As for sslee, good luck to his investing. So called "value" investors are everywhere. These days almost every new investor is either a TRADER or a VALUE investor. But very few INVESTORS out there who actually invest and follow in the future of a company. So easy to follow numbers. But so hard to understand the meaning behind the numbers.

Good luck.

>>>>>>>>>

Rwkl Philip,
You are peaching to the converted and appreciate the refresher.
I was just highlighting predicaments confronting investors . The
In this sharp market downturn, I am sure many would have predicted so called value stocks to hold better than growrh but it seems to prove otherwise
03/04/2020 10:09 AM

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-04 09:54 | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
I am honor if you compare me with Jonathan Choi but protest strongly in what way I am no difference to stockraider and calvintaneng?

By the way I am curious what is your thinking process when you did buy and sell QL at RM 8.60 on 17th Feb 2020?
Sell QL: -700,000 at RM 8.60
Sell QL: -150,000 at RM8.60
Buy QL: +200,000 at RM8.60

P/S: StoneCo closed on 3rd April 2010 at USD 17.82 is this good opportunity to buy StoneCo?

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-04 10:41 | Report Abuse

This is a simple accounting mistake which I couldn't edit or delete once key in. ( Funny how that works to stop fake entries. My total selling was 650k shares of QL at 8.6 to invest in serbadk and others. But as I keyed in wrongly ( I put in 200k shares in ql instead of serbadk), I had to adjust the amount so it reflected properly.

>>>>>>>>>

By the way I am curious what is your thinking process when you did buy and sell QL at RM 8.60 on 17th Feb 2020?
Sell QL: -700,000 at RM 8.60
Sell QL: -150,000 at RM8.60
Buy QL: +200,000 at RM8.60

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-04-04 10:54 | Report Abuse

>>>>

Posted by Sslee > Apr 4, 2020 9:54 AM | Report Abuse

Haha Philip,
I am honor if you compare me with Jonathan Choi but protest strongly in what way I am no difference to stockraider and calvintaneng?

>>>>>

Investing strategies of:

SSLee:

Stockraider

Calvintaneng

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-04 11:46 | Report Abuse

Haha 3iii,
I did not go to other forum to promote or hang big banner to promote my holding.
My current top 5 are: Insas, jaks, TAE, Bjland and tunepro.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-04 12:09 | Report Abuse

d by Sslee > Apr 4, 2020 11:46 AM | Report Abuse

My current top 5 are: Insas, jaks, TAE, Bjland and tunepro.
===========

why no Kpower/ SCIB...........?

go live life dangerously, excitedly, confidently, have faith in happy customers....

its cash or shares....a portfolio of Insas, jaks, TAE, Bjland and tunepro is not much different from a portfolio of cash....

a portfolio of Kpower/ SCIB is the real shares..............

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-04 12:10 | Report Abuse

its cash or shares....a portfolio of Insas, jaks, TAE, Bjland and tunepro is not much different from a portfolio of cash....

a portfolio like philps is trusting in the magic of business / people.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-04 12:17 | Report Abuse

TP is invented by IB analysts.....no meaning to good investors.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-04 12:51 | Report Abuse

its cash or shares in the age of the corona............

if shares, why?

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-04 13:43 | Report Abuse

retail and professionals look at shares and risks very differently...........

retail look at jaks and feel safe.

professionals look at SCIB / K power and very interested.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-04 13:44 | Report Abuse

haha qqq3,
I am slowly picking up some stocks recommend by Philip slowly but not QL. No hurry

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-04-04 13:57 | Report Abuse

well....in the age of the corona, speed is of the essence..........

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-04 14:04 | Report Abuse

haha qqq3,
We will still be fighting corono virus many more months down the line. So many more stocks new low to come.

Posted by Registered_ID > 2020-04-09 17:37 | Report Abuse

Is QL or LHI better for 12 months profit for investors?

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-10 09:23 | Report Abuse

Hi if you are looking for short term profits, you may be better off buying some INSAS.

Posted by Registered_ID > 2020-04-10 11:33 | Report Abuse

Short term too unstable, prefer long term. Ive look into your portfolio, Philip. Amazing. I wish i were you, but never too late to start now. One of the company im looking into is Leong Hap International. Business nature quite similar to QL. In fact, revenue is extremely high. Problem is their profit margin. If they can manage a better margin, this stock will be another QL. I hope the feedmills that they invested will give LHI a better margin this year

Posted by Philip ( what you can learn from RJ MITTE ) > 2020-04-10 14:53 | Report Abuse

Hi I think you may be very mistaken in business nature of QL versus lhi. Ql is a vertically integrated company which has feedmill, surumi, frozen seafood, fishmeal, and retail in family mart business.

LHI is just a chicken and eggs producer.

>>>>>>>

Business nature quite similar to QL

Posted by Registered_ID > 2020-04-10 15:22 | Report Abuse

From LHI website:

Leong Hup International Berhad is one of the largest fully integrated producers of poultry, eggs and livestock feed in Southeast Asia. 

From the news today, LHI is also into aqua feeds.

But i think LHI still have alot to catch up. Obviously QL is a better stock, look at their market cap and profit margin.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-04-13 18:44 | Report Abuse

Haha,
When will EPF start to sell QL so that EPF can give you your yearly EPF saving interest?

LiimInvest

2,267 posts

Posted by LiimInvest > 2020-04-13 20:09 | Report Abuse

Poultry farming slow down due to lower prices, supply
Bernama
/
Bernama

April 13, 2020 13:30 pm +08

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/poultry-farming-slow-down-due-lower-prices-supply

LiimInvest

2,267 posts

Posted by LiimInvest > 2020-04-13 20:12 | Report Abuse

FM Convenient stores also serious affected airports, colleges & UNIVERSITIES & office lots almost closed.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-02 08:18 | Report Abuse

EPF can do whatever they want, as long as QL management believe that it is still valuable and shouldn't be sold at any price, their 70% ownership of the company will continue to be a fortress holding up the price well, unlike ds thong sell all INARI at the first sign of trouble.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-05-02 08:41 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Ds Thong is very kind to sell Inari so that your EPF can collect more.

mike168

67 posts

Posted by mike168 > 2020-05-04 14:51 |

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-04 20:00 | Report Abuse

Then after power plant what happens?

c328

45 posts

Posted by c328 > 2020-05-08 18:31 | Report Abuse

QL have chicken processing factory at Pedas, Negeri sembilan? Covid - workers

sammofee

215 posts

Posted by sammofee > 2020-05-20 08:30 | Report Abuse

today huat guys.

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-05-21 09:53 | Report Abuse

I now have a telegram account! my daughter has just set it up for me and its proving to be very useful. Lets chat more there if you are interested, without the insults, backbiting, spam and random talk. Just rational investing.

Lets discuss more and chat more on QL if interested.

>>>>>>>>>>
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/120720.jsp#tabs_group2