LII HEN INDUSTRIES BHD

KLSE (MYR): LIIHEN (7089)

-0.01 (1.03%)

0.96 - 0.975

29 people like this.

11,173 comment(s). Last comment by Cipta 1 month ago

vzcb1t

86 posts

Posted by vzcb1t > 2017-06-13 14:42 | Report Abuse

Did anybody attend the AGM yesterday?
Would you share with us what's happened in the AGM?

Posted by TabulaRasa > 2017-06-13 15:34 | Report Abuse

Who is the Ang Mo - is it James Hay?

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-06-13 16:06 | Report Abuse

Oh ya, is Pangolin Investment Fund. Today I saw is James Hay and Vinchel Budihardjo.

AyamGoreng

273 posts

Posted by AyamGoreng > 2017-06-13 16:51 | Report Abuse

kikikiki.....oh ya, dividend mari mari

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-13 23:49 | Report Abuse

Hi Patrick13, Did MD highlight perspective and business growth or challenges?

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-06-14 07:55 | Report Abuse

Hi nakata, the board highlighted the biggest challenge still is the manpower issue. They also develop the new products eg upholstery to diversity the product range for the existing customer base (FY2016). They thought that US market still have potential higher demand, regardless of Donald Trump presidency.

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-06-14 07:56 | Report Abuse

But Mr. KYY and another shareholder reminded that furniture making will be sunset industry and the management should diversify to another business. So, it depends on whether they agree or not.

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-14 09:04 | Report Abuse

Appreciated and Thanks for updates Patrick13 ! just find it funny that only this year furniture business become sunset? KYY was acquired the stock around 10% since last 2 years who have keep bullish the stock all the while and now he told concern of sunset :)

Frankly speaking, how to be sunset when demand still persist, people no longer buy furniture? it is not like paper replace by paperless :)

I think he have motive to ask cash rich company to invest to his Jaks buyout, is not a bad idea to diversify but that could be massive investment which could slim down the dividend payout.

chanyh

195 posts

Posted by chanyh > 2017-06-14 09:06 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing.

Junichiro

2,052 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2017-06-14 09:20 | Report Abuse

https://invst.ly/43t4x

A picture paints a thousand words. From this chart, what is the probably of it going up?

simon_nick

129 posts

Posted by simon_nick > 2017-06-14 10:21 | Report Abuse

@Junichiro, 0% hahahaha

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-14 10:26 | Report Abuse

Ty-Koon didn't say wood furniture exports is a sunset industry... he requested for more volume n excitement n higher price as he could not sell much. He suggested to Liihen to use cashpile to invest into JAKS but was shot down by Hays of Pangolin Fund. Another shareholder (the long-haired guy wearing sandals) identifying himself as a fund mgr said furniture is a sunset industry and related it like the palm oil industry that is able to turn it around if they can do something about it. A sunset could mean to me as sitting on my patio enjoying beer or tea when the Sun is setting knowing everything runs like clockwork n dividends n cash is growing, albeit not so rapidly (that is, not as rapid like Priceworth that can forecast a 100M gain in 2018).
After the visit to the HQ n factory sites n seeing the Evergreen containers, I asked MD Chua quietly how is Q2 & Q3 biz volume compared to Q1. He said better than Q1... he should know as his orders are made 120 days ahead....

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-06-14 10:56 | Report Abuse

Thanks Max2828 for correction. I feel Mr. KYY and the long hair shareholder are too much concerned over the share performance. Btw, you follow the staff visit the HQ factory? How's there? I left early even din taking the lunch there..

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-14 12:02 | Report Abuse

Patrick13
Management of production units, facilities and logistics are all up to mark and in order. Customers (US distributors) all come to Lii Hen factories to make orders (5ft, 6ft or 7 ft beds) so no need for marketing except in Furniture Fairs. Lii Hen use sub-contractors for the volume business. Most of their products are of rubber wood furniture for the middle & lower class of American families. This is a low cost, high margin brick-n-mortar business using immigrant labour. Malaysia will eventually supersede China & Vietnam in wood furniture exports because of cheaper rubberwood raw material and cheaper immigrant labour. In any country, immigrant labour always work harder than local labour... like the Malaysia's plantation industry in the 90s' where eventually the local labour get displaced.
Business is encouragingly good and labour shortage is less an issue as mentioned by factory manager when I asked. Chairman is quite blurred on issues on rubber planting business, RPT of factory land and labour shortage.

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-14 14:04 | Report Abuse

Max, thanks for sharing, do you hv photo sharing on plant visit ?

anicca

337 posts

Posted by anicca > 2017-06-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

sad seeing the price chart that doesnt follow its real intrinsic fundamental....MYR strengthening...

Octopus

549 posts

Posted by Octopus > 2017-06-14 14:30 | Report Abuse

suggest hold, as div quite favorable.. and price is quite attractive now..

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2017-06-14 16:26 | Report Abuse

Big koon throwing tantrums again...but not for long...not many liihen left. And...ask management to buy Jaks...i think i better not comment..the motive is.too obvious....haha....笑死人。

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-14 17:54 | Report Abuse

Pohuat presented almost 2 fold on profit earning, hopefully Liihen will ride on the same wave

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2017-06-14 22:03 | Report Abuse

Ask to buy Jaks? what a stupid stupid conflict of interest this tycoon. Btw Poh Huat is doing very good, whats makes liihen any different?

Posted by teymingren > 2017-06-14 23:21 | Report Abuse

overall company has good management and good dividend payout. steady growth in revenue and profit. good for long term investment.

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-15 00:00 | Report Abuse

On Pohuat's comparison of Qtr2 vs Qtr1, revenue in Vietnam has declined 27% and in Malaysia 9%. Read the qtrly report of Pohuat on their improving sales in Malaysia on bedroom sets that they recently introduced. Those having operations in Vietnam will continue to have reduced sales because of local labour and rubberwood issues... this makes Liihen different

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-06-15 08:34 | Report Abuse

AGM that day the board also touched on this matter as they think that Vietnam operation & labour costs will be higher than local operations.. Hence there's no intention to shift factory over there. Liihen is very focused on cost management, so there's no easy before they came out for any investment decision.

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-06-15 09:47 | Report Abuse

2 million shares changed hands at RM 3.23 at 9.40am within 22seconds...i wonder who they are?

chanyh

195 posts

Posted by chanyh > 2017-06-15 09:52 | Report Abuse

fund manager is it? haha

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-15 09:52 | Report Abuse

Noticed the same, so i guess may be price will shoot up soon ..

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-15 09:53 | Report Abuse

Wow, another 1 million shares change hand ...

chanyh

195 posts

Posted by chanyh > 2017-06-15 09:54 | Report Abuse

another volume coming.

Posted by Ying Qian Lim > 2017-06-15 10:00 | Report Abuse

3.30 is today target

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2017-06-15 10:48 | Report Abuse

Volume always precedes a big price movement⚠️

AyamGoreng

273 posts

Posted by AyamGoreng > 2017-06-15 11:13 | Report Abuse

kikikiki..... liihen manyat bagoi! aku tambah sikit hari ni

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-15 12:41 | Report Abuse

This is getting interesting, at today's volume rate Ty-Koon will be completely free from the radar of Lhen in 3 days

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2017-06-15 12:48 | Report Abuse

If he's gentleman enough...just arrange a block placement with his broker...instead of selling like a small retailer.

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-15 13:09 | Report Abuse

At the AGM, he did mentioned he did some off-market trade (1-2M shrs) recently and could only get 3.10 at best price. Normally, some Ty-Koons like to take care of the cents, as they know the dollar will take care of itself...

BullRunComing

1,449 posts

Posted by BullRunComing > 2017-06-15 16:18 | Report Abuse

This is one of the very few counters that people are discussing based on facts and in a positive way.
Is there any good dividend counter with growth to recommend like liihen?

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-15 16:54 | Report Abuse

Very steady like Liihen? The closest I can recommend is Air New Zealand (AIR), an airline that is much better than AirAsia or SIA. Air NZ shr price $3.20, EPS 40 cts, Div 20 cts... Lii Hen Shr price RM3.22, EPS 42 sen, Div 26 sen... quite similar metrics as one in NZ$ and the other in RM. Why NZ? At least you got one foot there and one foot here... also your children can use the profits for tuition fees.. or just a holiday to Marlborough vineyards for the best Sauvignon blanc...

BullRunComing

1,449 posts

Posted by BullRunComing > 2017-06-15 17:00 | Report Abuse

Surprise to heard people invest/research New Zealand share market. Pretty good wine but I prefer Pinot Noir. Marlborough has plenty of tasty wine and it is cheap. How about cscstel? PE slightly high but the rest is good. The only concern is whether the commodity price will sustain.

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2017-06-15 21:39 | Report Abuse

Huge volume today....

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-15 23:08 | Report Abuse

Max, mind to share which broker/Bank you are using for NZ trading?

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-15 23:42 | Report Abuse

Nakata
One way is to open an acc with https://www.asb.co.nz/ then you can trade NZ & Aussie counters n transfer funds online wherever you are anywhere in the world

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-16 05:40 | Report Abuse

The value of US wooden furniture imports declined for the second consecutive month in March to US$1.24 billion. Year-to-date imports were still 7% higher than in March 2016. As in February, the month-on-month decline was mainly in imports from China (-17%) and Vietnam (-15%). Yearto-date imports from Vietnam however, were 15% higher than in March last year..... https://www.globalwoodmarketsinfo.com/us-wooden-furniture-imports-from-china-down/

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-06-16 07:44 | Report Abuse

Max, surprise you have asb acc. Are you working or graduate from NZ? Too bad I never taste the best wine at the time I'm over there..

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-16 10:09 | Report Abuse

I don't have an acc in NZ, my son has...

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2017-06-16 18:57 | Report Abuse

Max, the news you share from globalwoodmarketinfo for subscriber only, and i check the price is freaking expensive, you must be a pro investor :)

Posted by makesomemoneyonly > 2017-06-17 07:11 | Report Abuse

hi.. i am a newbie.. just wanna ask.. how to calculate transaction fee for maybank invest acc

Max2838

479 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2017-06-18 14:54 | Report Abuse

A copy of Trump's 'Art of the Deal' book that was given to Kim Jong-un of North Korea recently.

Here's the 11-step formula that can apply to everything n everyone..
1. Think Big,
2. Protect the downside and the upside can take care of itself,
3. Maximise your options,
4. Know your market,
5. Use your leverage,
6. Enhance your location or position,
7. Get the word out,
8. Fight back,
9. Deliver the goods,
10. Contain the costs,
11. Have fun doing it all...

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-06-18 15:40 | Report Abuse

Trump success is bad for mankind, bad for civilisation , bad for any thing good and enduring.

anicca

337 posts

Posted by anicca > 2017-06-18 21:51 | Report Abuse

liihen is ascending toward 3.30'...