LONDON BISCUITS BHD

KLSE (MYR): LONBISC (7126)

6 people like this.

3,249 comment(s). Last comment by felet404 2023-12-10 09:18

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-11-08 10:54 | Report Abuse

up for real this time round ? but the earnings not accretive, upside is very limited. unlike Apollo.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-11-08 10:58 | Report Abuse

poor management team deteriorate the share price as well.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-11-08 11:02 | Report Abuse

buying unnecessary machinery to squeeze money out of the businees. :(

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-11-08 11:04 | Report Abuse

very high debt

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2013-11-08 11:13 | Report Abuse

not only high debt. the machinery cost itself already can cause the company to collapse. compare with apollo, their investment in machinery only 1/5 of LonBisc, yet they can maintain healthy production.
sack the management is the only remedy to help revive this company.

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2013-11-09 09:26 | Report Abuse

saltedfish, thanks for your info on the MD contact but i personally think is not morally right to put the contact here. It should be P & C..................we can question the MD when the company is having an AGM/EGM. But not to the extent of calling the MD on the phone. If the same being done to you, how is your feeling then.

We must go thru proper channel to voice our concerns and questions.

My point of view only.

kkanagasg

548 posts

Posted by kkanagasg > 2013-11-09 23:34 | Report Abuse

ktsk88, a director is responsible to his shareholders. Do you mean we can only question them on AGM, which happen only once in a year? Or at an EGM where we need at least a 5% shareholdings to be able to call for one? It will be too late to undo any wrongs by the director then! Anyway, their hp obviously are listed in their business cards which mean all are welcomed to call them, whats more as a shareholder. It is him to decide whether he is going to answer saltedfish the question and not for you to ask saltedfish's feeling.

Stock33

28 posts

Posted by Stock33 > 2013-11-13 11:10 | Report Abuse

Whatever company control by London will facing the situation like London HIGH IN BORROWING..HIGH IN DEBTOR....HIGH IN CLOSING STOCK....Do not believe let see what going to happen in Kheesan balance sheet..London nxt step will use Kheesan to borrow more and more money to buy assets which are high in value but all rubbish. The reason why bcos London cnt borrow anymore money from bank!!!!!!

Posted by far_east00 > 2013-11-16 22:26 | Report Abuse

can someone enlighten me, how u read financial report regarding to debt, what ratio do u guys use, debt equity ratio look fine for me. Please...

ww_guy

605 posts

Posted by ww_guy > 2013-12-02 09:59 | Report Abuse

seem like this is useless counter, earn more compared to last quarter but the price is still going down instead of going up....

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2013-12-03 10:29 | Report Abuse

You Guys Better Listen to Stock33 advice,

London Biscuits compete in the low end wafer & layer cakes against Apollo Foods, Oriental Foods & Cocoapie of Cocoaland.

Apollo Foods is keeping prices lower than London Biscuits products. There is a double squeeze on London Biscuit profit now that TNB has raised electricity tariffs. Plus Looming High Debt London Biscuit is facing tough future ahead.

While the future of London Biscuits look bleak the future of MUI Berhad is turning rosy. Sell London Biscuits and change to MUI Berhad now. And the exchange is in London Biscuit Favour.

One London Biscuit can be exchanged for more than 3 MUI Berhad Shares. But don't wait too long. Do it now! One might crash like Silver Bird While The Other Might Shoot Up. Act Now!

ww_guy

605 posts

Posted by ww_guy > 2013-12-04 09:52 | Report Abuse

dividend will be given, but not much

Stock33

28 posts

Posted by Stock33 > 2013-12-10 15:20 | Report Abuse

HI calvintaneng, What u said London selling lower end products against Appollo is correct but not Oreintal Food (OFI). OFI Selling more on premium wafer cube Brand call JACKER also potato ranges of products call JACKER potato crisps in canister. If u go down to wholesale market u can find London is selling much cheaper than Apollo even export market. Amazing part is they are not selling well !!!!!!!! And REVENUE is much bigger than Apollo and Oriental. Impossible...

fawana

Posted by fawana > 2013-12-12 17:17 | Report Abuse

hi, i'm a student n required to do an assignment on this company..i do agree that they have a very bad financial state..indeed, who want a high debt company? it is better to sell it off or venture into a new business..but still, i want to know, what can u recommend for this company?? ASAP

Posted by Salehuddin Salleh Jojo > 2014-01-15 12:29 | Report Abuse

Start flying???

Stock33

28 posts

Posted by Stock33 > 2014-01-15 20:42 | Report Abuse

good time to sell!!!!

Yunnan

404 posts

Posted by Yunnan > 2014-02-06 08:27 | Report Abuse

You are right! Hopeless counter and rebound short lived

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-02-09 17:15 | Report Abuse

Buy this counter only for short term, say at below 65 sen.and dispose of at around 70 sen.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 10:36 | Report Abuse

bought some at 69 this morning. They reported strong earnings growth this quarter due to higher promotional and advertsiing activities. Can they sustain in the coming quarters ? Lets wait and see

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-03-03 10:48 | Report Abuse

important to know the movement of the company, they might spend unnecessary in machinery purchase again. internal hanky panky.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 10:55 | Report Abuse

smartly I think the company made a mistake by investing in a rolls royce plant, which they are not able to utilize in full capacity. I am aware of the allegations of hanky panky, but so far unable to establish proof. Can you prove it ? please provide more details

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 10:57 | Report Abuse

i am open minded when come to investing. Whoever that can provide proof, I will listen. Otherwise it is all speculation

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 10:59 | Report Abuse

in ivory's case, there is also all types of allegations of mismanagement, especially regarding them generating negative operating cashflow. but when I took a closer look, they actually generated positive operating cash flow of RM47m. The operating cash flow became negative after factroing in changes in working capital.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 11:00 | Report Abuse

what I am trying to say is that they are a lot of myths going around in the forumn (and other public spaces, which is very common) about all kinf of things. It is importat we have independent thinking and verify the facts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 11:02 | Report Abuse

London biscuits is not a new strock for me, I have studied this stcok for more than 2 years. I read through all the postings in thjsi thread, there are certain people who claime dthat Lonbisc has corporate governance issues but never been able to provide any proof.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 11:03 | Report Abuse

I am not defending Londbisc (why should I ?). All I am asking is to see is the proof, as I also dont want to be trapped in a stock that the owner keep cheating investors.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-03-03 11:24 | Report Abuse

icon8888, look at the account bs you will know better. no need rocket science knowlege. just within 4 years, debt marvelously increase 20 folds, machinery is double folds a whopping 400m ? no logic. basic way is to compare with peer like apollo, see how their bs like.
lonbisc use to be high dividend stock, how they fair now ? no div and now pathetic 1sen div. the debt alone one should be most worry, increasing year by year. where is the logic debt increase 45m and the net p&l only garner 12m yoy ? this type of biz how to sustain ?
just think logic will do.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 11:44 | Report Abuse

sigh... it is possible the capex is to screw minorities. It is also possible it is an honest mistake. We simply dont know. All I m saying is that never say never in stock market. It is time to take a closer look

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-03 11:45 | Report Abuse

i looked down at kawan food when it was 1.20. Now it is 1.90

never say never..

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-05 14:57 | Report Abuse

72. Can sustain ?

Lex Loh

Posted by Lex Loh > 2014-03-06 10:40 | Report Abuse

Agreed with smartly... LB management is not taking the company shareholder as their priority and instead issuing more share to so-called expanding, which we haven't seen the result since the said year 2009 (almost 4 years)...

But if you have fate in this company, you can wait for the confirmation on the FY14 annual report again.. now its still trading way below its book value and intrinsic price...

Don't get to clouded by their sweetness, view it in shareholder view. The words from their management is somehow can be validate by going through years back annual reports and see if there is any progression in the "said improvement" step..

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2014-03-06 10:44 | Report Abuse

Beware of balloning assets in a companies similiar cases like Megan Media.

smartly

6,431 posts

Posted by smartly > 2014-03-06 17:27 | Report Abuse

i tot never say never... :p

Lex Loh

Posted by Lex Loh > 2014-03-07 13:05 | Report Abuse

wait they change management and see how... they have pretty impressive product and market..

Stock33

28 posts

Posted by Stock33 > 2014-03-07 21:45 | Report Abuse

if can better sell all when it still early otherwise ballon koyak will be another Silverbird and Megan. There are so many good stock paying good dividend out there...Guys try to figure out hw london can pay back all outstanding loans 250m.

matawang

236 posts

Posted by matawang > 2014-03-11 11:12 | Report Abuse

start too accumulate... :)

FreeThink

4,039 posts

Posted by FreeThink > 2014-03-11 13:53 | Report Abuse

JaniceLove

252 posts

Posted by JaniceLove > 2014-03-11 15:45 | Report Abuse

Huat aah

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-11 15:59 | Report Abuse

matawang that is the spirit : )

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-03-12 01:32 | Report Abuse

kikikii ... my new gigi besar

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-03-13 01:51 | Report Abuse

huhuhuh ..tambah sikit 0.745

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-03-14 01:09 | Report Abuse

lagi tambah 0.72

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-14 06:47 | Report Abuse

Limited down side at this level. This stock hasn't gone up at all after GE13, so worst come to worst it stabilise at 65

JimYeoh

1,514 posts

Posted by JimYeoh > 2014-03-14 12:25 | Report Abuse

Better collect Kheesan rather than this

FlappyBird

196 posts

Posted by FlappyBird > 2014-03-14 15:23 | Report Abuse

Good to enter now?

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-03-18 00:36 | Report Abuse

ok la

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2014-03-21 00:54 | Report Abuse

kikikikiii ... break even liau .. esok bbq ?

saltedfish

3,282 posts

Posted by saltedfish > 2014-03-24 12:09 | Report Abuse

Icon88888888, appreciate if in your article you would explain (if you know why since you said your article is based on fa) why their investment in Kheesan has to go through a near-monthly churning of Kheesan shares in the market. The last churning was on March 11, 2014 with 4,761,000 shares and a gain of 12.61% or 7 sen.

I am fully aware of why they have to do this. Just want you to write a little on it, then I will whack them (both LONBIS and KHEESAN) in the public.