SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-31 16:33 | Report Abuse

TQ KC

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-31 16:35 | Report Abuse

lol rocket, u buy or sell? why i still see '000 lots sold down?

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-31 16:36 | Report Abuse

buy

Ng Kai Yau

676 posts

Posted by Ng Kai Yau > 2013-01-31 16:44 | Report Abuse

buy for lion dance

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-31 16:45 | Report Abuse

hope so... but my neck got longer by inches

Tai Yang

54 posts

Posted by Tai Yang > 2013-01-31 16:47 | Report Abuse

@pathew, its a psycho in the market. small fish thought no big fish buying in so they move away to other stocks. small fish make profit from big fish buying frenzy so its normal.

IJM bring +ve to scomi so no more debt ridden company and potential railway projects (if not mistaken). For a long term, a buy call.

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-31 16:50 | Report Abuse

railway !railway!railway!

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-31 16:51 | Report Abuse

@Tai Yang, thanks for the psycho analysis. In this case, small fish selling to let big fish buy and profit later when the push up the price.

Let's see if Scomi wins deals in middle east. Maybe then we will see some movements :)

Posted by budaksekolah > 2013-01-31 16:55 | Report Abuse

NO MUCH in pocket now...only have few lot lah...

pathew what is your TP?

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-31 16:59 | Report Abuse

@schoolboy, TP was 60sen as maintained by KCLoh previously
but now no Petronas deal awarded so, not sure already...

although, now with IJM on board, we should see a higher chance of securing rail jobs where they've bidded for 10B worth of projects.

if they win 1/3 of that amount, ie: 3B, i think 60sen TP can still maintain, right KCloh?

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-31 17:00 | Report Abuse

*note, this is long term target, not short term target... coz monorail also need 3 - 5 yrs from bidding till completion and operation

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-31 17:08 | Report Abuse

may be surprise will come to us>>>lets hope for the best

iwan888

16 posts

Posted by iwan888 > 2013-01-31 17:10 | Report Abuse

news came out.....fell immediately....really confusing wat happened....
still got hope??

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-31 17:29 | Report Abuse

just a few more months only, no need long term (if my understanding of "more than one year" for long term). TP RM0.50 easy la, as per SGB agreement with IJM for two consecutive quarters! You guys are not remembering the sequence of events, which was when Siew/Abu came and make kacau.

sabar, and go bottom fishing first. Things must go in order la, dont worry. The positive thing, as said, is that SGB doesn't face a debt crunch currently with IJM's bond purchase!

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-31 17:35 | Report Abuse

those who are following news on scomien, news is that Chennai deal is settled for Monorail and not Metro (or MRT as we called it here). i have friend reporting that the residents/business owners are given notice that monorail pillars will circumvent around their buildings.

So i gather scomien are the frontrunner again, seeing that the lady CM is very buddy buddy with Scomi management currently! of course, watch out for Bombardier or Hitachi's news too!

Posted by tonylim > 2013-01-31 17:39 | Report Abuse

Wa. You got jalan in chennai ah

Posted by budaksekolah > 2013-01-31 17:39 | Report Abuse

pathew thanks..KC Loh i'm with you waiting for great time..sabau..

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-31 17:40 | Report Abuse

thank you KC....

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-31 17:42 | Report Abuse

all of you please do homework ok? anyway, Scomi group actually announced they will know the result of Chennai by mid-year! i think the news was in BT/NST.

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-01-31 21:58 | Report Abuse

hehe @pathew - not sure whether my good friend was kidding as he said the Scomi greeter was a 70 year old grandma( canot even get a leng lui hehe ) and the door gift was 1 mandarin orange - how to expect buffet hehe
all the scomi fellas here so active 2 pages long but no fireworks ok wats next? :)The coming quarter results? the next rumor of contract win? the exit of abu/siew?

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-01-31 23:01 | Report Abuse

Petronas invited the tenderers to participate in tembikai & chenang RSC, the tenderers submitted the bid , after bids submitted,out of sudden Petronas announced that they are aborting the tender award with such a lame excuse - insufficient infra, they can include the infra scope of work into the package as well.

too unusual scene for a tender process, the person behind the abortive of the contract must be very influential

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-31 23:12 | Report Abuse

Face saving la. But happy that you managed to figure it out all by yourself in just 6 days. There's hope for you, passerby!

Posted by khalil992418 > 2013-01-31 23:29 | Report Abuse

Hope scomi will fly again....like oldtimes

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-01-31 23:46 | Report Abuse

kcloh: i was waiting for forumer to do posting & sharing for the past few days, waited & waited but no one want to share their thought on the Petronas contract, so beh tahan just post my thought and see if there is any response

at least getting some feedback now

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-01-31 23:52 | Report Abuse

lol, do i sound so hopeless before? kanasai

Posted by lonelyreload > 2013-02-01 00:20 | Report Abuse

btw, just now EGM got free food kah?

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-02-01 02:52 | Report Abuse

@passerby No, Kc is saying others are hopeless... Lol
Kidding ya peeps! Happy federal territory day!

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-02-01 10:25 | Report Abuse

Petronas invited the tenderers to participate in tembikai & chenang RSC, the tenderers submitted the bid , after bids submitted,out of sudden Petronas announced that they are aborting the tender award with such a lame excuse - insufficient infra, they can include the infra scope of work into the package as well.

too unusual scene for a tender process, the person behind the abortive of the contract must be very influential

who is the influential fella? izzit the 'adviser' who refuse to go away and wants to give everything to his son? how will the big foreign oil firms will react to such a stupid not to mention laughable excuses by a fortune 500 company - oh my bad the big foreign boys are not interested cause these are old oil fields with not much left so Bodohnas can do as it pleases. still want to have these robbers managing the country?

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 10:49 | Report Abuse

bro...found massive oil reserves in miri...using postponement strategylah

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-02-01 10:56 | Report Abuse

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/230154-shell-and-partners-take-final-investment-decision-to-develop-deepwater-malikai-field-offshore-malaysia-.html
aiyo Iain make sure u check whether bodohnas have the infrastructures to transport the oil first before collaborating and also make sure u give some $$$ to the 'advisor' or some jobs for his son otherwise they will pull a fast one on u haha - dun say I no warn u first :)

Posted by khalil992418 > 2013-02-01 10:57 | Report Abuse

SCOMI need financial supporter from IJM so that they can lift a credibility to bid a tender. I think most of big2 company have a similar process (technical and financial). Even though the company have a strong technical and financial support it doesn't mean can secure that contract, political influence also need to be considered....who have most influential will be the winner.

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-02-01 11:17 | Report Abuse

@khalil - political influence also need to be considered....who have most influential will be the winner - huh I thought contracts are won on capabilities and past experiences together with competitive bids of the bidders? ah solly solly I did not realise I was in i3bolihland o.k o.k bolihland a bit special we have to see who u know and how much u can give - no wonder George kent the water meters supplier also building MRT what's next? heard latest rumor is that the famous roast duck fella in Petaling street getting a slice of the supplying not duck but duct tapes for MRT job in return for giving up his little space because of his experience in using duck tapes to seal his sold roast ducks! Just rumors o.k :)

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-02-01 11:19 | Report Abuse

Frank, buy below 30sen and become majority stakeholder:)

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-02-01 11:21 | Report Abuse

King kong73, if Miri was the excuse, petronas would have come clean with it right? The official answer is the Angsi pipeline used to transfer the gas is fully utilized. How do you match that with Miri?

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 11:42 | Report Abuse

postponement strategy.....to defer or delay the execution of an activity by the owner in order to get into a position of strength or that can derive a distinct advantage to the owner. The official answer is another way of saying to the world..shit...the oil and gas reserves in miri is blardy good for us...why the heck do we need to spend on RSC..and at the same time fork out more to build extra gas pipeline subsea installation which is damn costly and more than 150km away from onshore..when i can utilise my resources on laying another onshore pipeline from north of miri(new found oil and gas reserves) to be processed in bintulu at lesser cost and getting more bang for my buck.Actually the area is already known to have some reserves but with latest techonology which was not available 5 years..they were able to find more and scan deeper into the ground. there will be more to come i am sure.

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 11:45 | Report Abuse

but maybe political pressure will push the rsc out sometime this year i am sure..after ge

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 11:45 | Report Abuse

scomi will be in the running i am sure

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 11:46 | Report Abuse

i am sure...that i am sure..hahahaha

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-02-01 11:50 | Report Abuse

make some sense also on king kong73 explanation

on the contract, if they are front runner, they will still be front runner few months down the road, unless someone from internal purposely leaks out their bidding price to their competitors

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-02-01 11:52 | Report Abuse

kinkong73, how many spies you planted inside bodohnas ?:)

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-02-01 12:12 | Report Abuse

banyak la you are sure.... LOL

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-02-01 12:22 | Report Abuse

lol, last time he even know Putrajaya Holding S/B - Petronas property arms in cash rich position...

really a lot of spies within Petronas

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 13:20 | Report Abuse

haha..

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-02-01 13:55 | Report Abuse

makes you wonder whether i talk cock or not...i also wonder sometimes..LOL

Posted by khalil992418 > 2013-02-01 16:30 | Report Abuse

Why IJM interested with SCOMI....because they already know scomi have a big potential to secure RSC project. I believe scomi will get RSC project....

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-02-01 16:43 | Report Abuse

OMG, for Edge to start their premise on "as predicted correctly...."

brilliant journalism! :)

Ng Kai Yau

676 posts

Posted by Ng Kai Yau > 2013-02-01 20:16 | Report Abuse

Oh Frank, GK not just water meter manufacturer and they are also experience M & E contractor (class A). I m not quite agree with " only the experience specific field contractor to win the contract " but my opinion is as long as they have the experience project execution team and with strong financial capability, I believed they are still can deliver the job. Maybe I m wrong. lol

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-02-01 23:25 | Report Abuse

A politicians ideas of idealism and positioning is far better than a businessman......this true but unfortunately the politician cannot execute well.....Shah is a great politician.....

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-02-02 00:34 | Report Abuse

hehe Ng yes George kent also have M & E contractor ( class A ) license in building what? what previous experience that they have in MRT? - all I see from their projects was related to the water industries - I do not see any rail design buildings but their Chinese partner have the experience.