SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

Posted by lonelyreload > 2013-01-27 16:12 |

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-28 11:27 | Report Abuse

Locally, last Friday's news that Petronas has aborted the award of risk sharing contract for the Tembikai and Chenang clusters and will not be reopening them for bidding is a wet blanket for oil and gas (O&G) players, especially Scomi Group that had expressed interest in these clusters.

Nonetheless, it could be a blessing in disguise for the group as the timing of Petronas' announcement is perfect ahead of its EGM this week to obtain shareholders' approval for its restructuring exercise involving Scomi Marine, its subsidiaries and the group.

Earlier news reports and market talk have indicated that some new shareholders of the group are not happy about the possibility of the risk-sharing contract to be parked directly under Scomi Marine and not the group.

That aside, O&G is an important cyclical sector that investors should overweight this year, apart from the underperforming construction sector, as no matter who wins the election, these key sectors are imperative to derive domestic activities.

Read more: FBM KLCI likely to correct further http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/marketoutlookjan28/Article/index_html#ixzz2JElVrWN4

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-01-28 12:42 | Report Abuse

the edge report should be a non issue as it already came out before lunch on Friday and selling should have been in full swing late Fri morning and afternoon and nobody will wait until Monday to sell la. the only thing interesting to watch is the coming EGM :) my 1/4 cents :)

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-28 13:46 | Report Abuse

Khalil, if 20 sens, I wanna sapu all also! :)

Posted by khalil992418 > 2013-01-28 15:31 | Report Abuse

after CNY the price would slowly increase and after GE13 will be more exciting...no matter who sworn as a PM, life must go on. i believe this is a good move for retail investor like us. Be brave!

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-01-28 18:47 | Report Abuse

...like you all to watch this video, I just did.

If You Are A Malaysian, PLEASE Watch This Video.mp4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kt224G3c6WE

Joserose2

20 posts

Posted by Joserose2 > 2013-01-28 19:46 | Report Abuse

It will pick up fr tomorrow till Thursday.....they are waiting for ijm also

Joserose2

20 posts

Posted by Joserose2 > 2013-01-28 19:53 | Report Abuse

Kekekeke...will pick more of these up tomorrow.....3 more days b4 EGM.....

Joserose2

20 posts

Posted by Joserose2 > 2013-01-28 19:56 | Report Abuse

Kekekeke .....can't touch this....believe it wil move towards 50 cents soon

FatCat

649 posts

Posted by FatCat > 2013-01-28 20:26 | Report Abuse

Price will move around 0.36 for a period than will go down bit by bit.

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2013-01-28 23:32 | Report Abuse

As noted previously, investors are awaiting the EGM. Once the vote at the EGM is completed, Scomi group true color may appear.
I would keep my rating on the stock as 'sell into strength. However, since this is a stock for looking on time to time investment basic of business outlook, should look out to buy it if it drops to the support level as noted lower.

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2013-01-29 00:02 | Report Abuse

Continue to monitor & believe it will fly with IJM's entry as major shareholder which IJM views as opportunity to OnG. Suggest to buy when its price dips down. Its Resistence point will be at 36 cents for its breakthrough price

Posted by Fakhrul Zaman > 2013-01-29 10:01 | Report Abuse

do you guys fill up the form that scomi sent ?

Posted by lonelyreload > 2013-01-29 10:59 | Report Abuse

need fill out de meh if want go? there got provide free food mah???

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2013-01-29 14:36 | Report Abuse

0.005 drop only, not much drop on the negative news by Petronas

Posted by emierhelmee > 2013-01-29 14:54 | Report Abuse

any possibility it will going up?

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-29 14:58 | Report Abuse

watching 31st Jan for clues if it will go up or not...
whoever's going for EGM, please update forum on whether motion for IJM's entry is passed or blocked.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-29 15:22 | Report Abuse

no volume today. Looks like high stakes game on 31st EGM is ready!

Posted by khalil992418 > 2013-01-29 17:00 | Report Abuse

Scomi now at downtrend position, i believe tomorrow will drop below 30cent. As we know the idea go for EGM is to get a vote whether IJM can go in or not. Even IJM get highest percentage shareholding, that move still a uncertain condition because contract in hand still not enough to lift up their performance. Unless SCOMI get new contract within 3 to 4 months from now. IJM have a good capital and support from EPF to secure SCOMI but it doesn't mean can guarantee SCOMI to get big project.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-29 17:04 | Report Abuse

how do you know EPF support IJM for the Scomi deal?

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-29 17:10 | Report Abuse

khalil privy to some info?

maan

30 posts

Posted by maan > 2013-01-30 08:25 | Report Abuse

some good/positive news in today's Sin Chew Jit poh.
Shah mentioned that
- IJM should able to join Scomi
- Company will win few more contracts (2-4??) on coming Feb
- Company will than holding totally one billion worth contract!!!??

maan

30 posts

Posted by maan > 2013-01-30 08:27 | Report Abuse

.. ya, there is another "agm/egm" or something in 20/02/2013... to decide on changing the main business of somimmr???!!... sorry can't remember.

FatCat

649 posts

Posted by FatCat > 2013-01-30 08:52 | Report Abuse

May be Risk Trader can share yr comment here.

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-30 11:13 | Report Abuse

so many spanners thrown in here

hyzam1212

133 posts

Posted by hyzam1212 > 2013-01-30 12:20 | Report Abuse

so now it becomes a patience game eh...

Posted by WilliamWang > 2013-01-30 12:21 | Report Abuse

hyzam 1212 .. yeh ... its not making money game but patience sure one day will give u profits

kytan

2,865 posts

Posted by kytan > 2013-01-30 14:05 | Report Abuse

(吉隆坡29日訊)史格米集團(SCOMI,7158,主板貿服組)首席執行員沙哈金指出,該公司有信心在今年2月奪取中東及亞洲市場的4項新工程合約,總值為3億4千萬美元,使該公司手握工程合約,將從目前逾6億7千萬美元,增加至逾10億美元(約30億5千萬令吉)水平。

他指出,在中東及亞洲區域競標的4項工程合約(各有兩項),預料在今年2月有結果,該公司有信心一旦奪標,將使目前手握工程合約,從目前的逾6億7千萬美元,增加至逾10億美元水平。

他指出,目前該公司手握6億7千180萬美元(約20億4千899萬令吉)工程合約,其中油田服務業務佔5億7千920萬美元(17億6千656萬令吉),主要是鑽油及廢料管理領域。而岸外支援業務則占其餘的9千260萬美元(約2億8千243萬令吉),主要是供應支援船只,其中部份是重复性質收入的服務合約。

一旦上述新投標成功得標,該公司手握的工程合約將超過10億美元,創下自2009年以來最高水平,料使公司可忙碌3年光景及業務前景更為清晰。沙哈金今日接受《星洲財經》專訪時作上述披露。

他指出,該公司也會在大馬,印尼,泰國,緬甸,及中東海灣市場積極參與更多競標活動,特別是東半球市場的鑽油活動保持熱絡,以确保該公司業務成長能夠持續。目前該公司的營業額,25%來自國內,其餘75%則來自海外業務,而後者的80%至90%則來自東半球市場。

該公司將繼續進行內部成長,特別是為油氣業務進一步深化服務及產品領域,以圖成為一站式油氣產品及服務公司,加強公司的競爭力及優勢。

他指出,該公司有意每年收購兩艘支援船隻,以應付國內日益殷切的市場需求,包括國家石油在內,目前該公司在大馬僅有3艘支援船隻,而旗下史格米海事(SCOMIMR,7045,主板貿服組)的船隻,逾90%供大馬以外海外市場需求。

2月20日
開內部重組特大

史格米集團在今年2月20日舉行的股東特別大會一旦批准通過內部重組計劃後,該公司的重組計劃將完成,而負責油氣領域的史格米海事,將易名為史格米能源服務(SESB)有限公司,並成為該公司的油氣業務臂膀,朝向油氣業領域重新出發。

他指出,至今證券監督委員會及大馬股票交易所,已批准上述重組計劃,目前待特大批准。

沙哈金指出,一旦落實重組後,該公司債務將顯著減少,負債率降至1倍以下水平,即長期債務從2009年的17億令吉,將還清其中的11億令吉,至6億令吉低水平,以及另外3億令吉的正常營運的短期周轉融資,使該公司更有能力推動業務發展與成長。

售怡保工程1.1億債券
冀放行

史格米集團談到在週四(31日)舉行的股東特別大會,以批准公司發售1億1千萬令吉的債券給怡保工程(IJM,3336,主板建築組),沙哈金指出,該公司在向股東發出更多發行債券詳情,以及與一些股東洽商後,相信股東會批准通過有關發行債券計劃,讓怡保工程成為大股東兼合作伙伴。

他指出,在發行債券所取得的現金,將可以減少公司債務及支援公司未來業務成長,加上怡保工程是理想的優質合作伙伴,以及有助於進一步推動旗下的油氣及工程領域業務。

他指出,該公司旗下交通運輸下的單軌火車領域在全球市場逾100億令吉的競標活動,若在怡保工程的合作下料將提高得標機會。

他說,目前怡保工程已有一名董事代表,而雙方管理層也開始洽商合作機會,包括競標新工程合約等事宜,一旦通過全部程序,料對該公司未來業務發展,是個很好開端。因為他覺得,該公司與怡保工程的合作,肯定是一加一等於超過二的效益。(星洲日報/財經)
http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/69671?tid=6

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-30 14:14 | Report Abuse

tomorrow if IJM bonds get voted thru, it should be positive for SCOMI. And Shah is very confident of securing contracts in the middle east. Well, most importantly, the company is doing better and paring down debts with IJM's help :)

Should see more positive development in time to come.

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-01-30 14:18 | Report Abuse

Shah didn't position himself at marine for no reason....

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-30 14:20 | Report Abuse

lou sifu, u said u sailang scomi and not SMR... so got 2nd thoughts?

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-01-30 14:23 | Report Abuse

I said change fr scomi to marine at 4x....scomi to lead....lol

King Kong73

2,064 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-01-30 14:24 | Report Abuse

go below 32sens can pick up

Risk Trader

3,942 posts

Posted by Risk Trader > 2013-01-30 14:33 | Report Abuse

KLCI is going down, so any good stock also will follow index....for the timimg better hold or sell and wait until election result....if BN still win 2/3 majoriti, our mkt will be sustain and uptrend....

Posted by WilliamWang > 2013-01-30 14:35 | Report Abuse

even be ned lose ... pr will make sure malaysia a better place then under be end . market still will up

Posted by WilliamWang > 2013-01-30 15:22 | Report Abuse

no pr .. then be end lo . doesnt matter as long as share market can going up

Posted by lonelyreload > 2013-01-30 16:27 | Report Abuse

BN WIN AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!! although i support PKT! LOL!

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2013-01-30 20:28 | Report Abuse

http://my.news.yahoo.com/stocks-watch-apm-patimas-scomi-ijm-cap-plantation-113429848--sector.html

Scomi might attract some trading interest before its 2.30pm EGM on Thursday if investors are confident the meeting will endorse the resolution to approve a bond issue to IJM Corp to pave the way for the latter to become a 25% shareholder and strategic partner of Scomi.

The deal will allow Scomi and IJM to capitalise on each other’s strengths to further expand their local and global operations in construction as well as oil and gas sectors. According to various news reports, initial opposition to the proposal from two substantial shareholders has subsided.

Scomi CEO Shah Hakim, the proponent of the deal, has said he believes shareholders will support the bond issue as it will help pare down the debts of Scomi. The partnership with IJM will also enhance Scomi's chances of winning RM10 billion worth of monorail jobs globally.

"I feel the impact brought about by our joint cooperation will be one plus one equals to more than two," he was quoted as saying by Sin Chew Jit Poh.

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-01-30 21:31 | Report Abuse

aiyoyo this shah where he learn how to calculate - one plus one equals more than 2 - no wonder Scomi shares ain't going no where hehe better hope his 'calculations' will ensure IJM gets thru otherwise this fella got to go! I was queing at .295 today maybe if IJM deal cannot go thru we will see below .30 haha

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-30 21:40 | Report Abuse

You better pray shah calculated his warrants correctly for tomorrow's EGM if you are one for IJM's entry! LoL

Posted by littleshark > 2013-01-30 21:46 | Report Abuse

It is showtime tmr..

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-01-30 21:56 | Report Abuse

25% + 8% = 33% GO

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-01-30 22:11 | Report Abuse

hehe KC no worries if IJM deal not go thru I'm planning for Shah's removal next haha
hopefully the showtime got fireworks :)
tommy buddy - highly unlikely any GO but I'm all for it for :) .45 haha

tommylou

1,918 posts

Posted by tommylou > 2013-01-30 22:13 | Report Abuse

Keep the spirit up buddy.....best case scenario.....buy out and re-list.....

HarryChin

171 posts

Posted by HarryChin > 2013-01-30 23:05 | Report Abuse

hope tml will be fly fly and fly

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-01-31 11:58 | Report Abuse

any news from the EGM?