SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-09-06 22:36 | Report Abuse

share buy back不意味着股票会升哦。现在也不好太早下判断,应该还有后着。

koi koh

2,499 posts

Posted by koi koh > 2014-09-07 11:46 | Report Abuse

When scomi q earning was negative, so many dare to buy. Now the q earning is positive ,everybody should add more. This is my point of view only

john316

51 posts

Posted by john316 > 2014-09-07 13:21 | Report Abuse

Share buy back is a good sign for the company. It's time to acquire more.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-09-07 19:39 | Report Abuse

Most of the time share buy back is good thing but it also depend. It will help the EPS and might also help move the price (should not be much) unless some great news.

Posted by bursafreeman > 2014-09-08 17:39 | Report Abuse

Good company, its subsidiary SCOMIES already caused SCOMI to worth RM1.
With current RM0.40 price, it is more than 100% growth.
Please go up fast :)

Posted by Wayne X Siong > 2014-09-08 23:18 | Report Abuse

scomi is a good company to invest thought still not perform very well but still got potential to growth. if a company perform very well and make profit every quarter sure will not worth only RM0.40, ^^"

reason of invest in Scomi is very simple, IJM is it substantial shareholder. IJM had become scomi substantial shareholder for many year and within this period the price of scomi had go up from RM0.20 to RM0.40 this prove scomi still got very good future prospect.

Just like LANDMRK, and GUOCO whose share hold by those branded company. company will not simply invest in these company without any good reason.

reason why scomi current price still within RM0.40 is that:
1. there is still a lot of share outside the market being traded, i think mostly all the people who buy scomi only hold for shot term and only few people buy for long term investment. if more people buy and hold, few stock available in the market. then share price will likely reflect the "fair value" of the company.

2. the nature of its business. scomi not purely in O&G, and many people feel that scomi not inside the "Hot sector", scomi is in a very "cold sector" which is railway contractor. Many investor not interest on business of scomi. but from recent improvement on revenue, this show that scomi still able to get a good financial result thought not inside the popular industry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scomi#Monorail_projects

3. Most of the scomi project is outside malaysia, and a lot of investor do not how it business is operated. And worry that the company business is not so stable. if scomi able to get some local project then sure a lot of people will aware it existence and this will directly reflect in the share price.

4. In financial theory, parent company always have a lower share price than it son company. this point will not be further explain due to some complexity and some financial knowledge is required. ^^"

Posted by Wayne X Siong > 2014-09-08 23:29 | Report Abuse

in term of TP, my personal point of view is that, the price of scomi will move up slowly year by year, not slow, but very slow..@@

given that there is not special announcement on acquisition or getting any big project etc. then the price will not have any significant movement, will not drop too low and will not rise too high, just move like a snail.

getting to RM0.88 is possible but climb up to RM1.00 above will be very challenging in the future. like most of the investor said "anything can happen in the stock market"..specially during big bull market.

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-09-09 03:31 | Report Abuse

Good to be optimistic wayne. IJM bought into scomi many years ago in the view of venturing into oil & gas. So far I have not heard anything of IJM joint venture with scomi for any project. Without further progress, it could end up like Talam. IJM may just sold off their shares in the end since no progress. Plus like what you said, 20 sen to 40 sen. IJM has doubled their investment.

Scomi is in Oil & Gas business. Monorail is just a small portion of it. Even so, they have got multi billions projects for monorail alone. Oil & Gas is their main business. So they have to be in the hot sector. That is why Quek invested in Scomies.

Just for your info, more than 50% of the oil & gas projects in Scomies are from PETRONAS alone. And just recently that they got the RSC project. Which is a huge local project. I guess Scomi is very well known here or even internationally. Scomi is an international brand now due to the monorail.

And aren't we in the bull run for the past 2 years? And the bull run was really huge. So you expecting another bull run anytime soon? People is expecting recession rather than another big bull run.

Don't get me wrong wayne. I'm holding on the scomi share. But it just being very disappointing. Do you know how many people came into this forum and say this share will jump VERY SOON. end up, we never see them commenting after 1 month.

And recent share buy back proposal is rubbish. They are heavily in debts and yet in the report they mention that the cash is not being utilized for the moment. In business, either you invest or you cut your debts.

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2014-09-09 04:26 | Report Abuse

LOL I quote bro pang123 below
Don't get me wrong wayne. I'm holding on the scomi share. But it just being very disappointing. Do you know how many people came into this forum and say this share will jump VERY SOON. end up, we never see them commenting after 1 month

I think you actually read it incorrectly - they said it will JUMP - n u expecting it to JUMP UP but JUMP can also be but JUMP SIDEWAYS or JUMP DOWN LOLLLL OR maybe they were referring to themselves - JUMPED to the longkang that is why u never see them again LOLL
( I checked back my recent postings on Scomi - phew Thank God I did not use the word JUMP LOL )

Ng Kai Yau

676 posts

Posted by Ng Kai Yau > 2014-09-09 08:59 | Report Abuse

lol... bro pang123,
Most of the scomi's "admirers" also get fed up. So, why still waiting? like pang123 said bull has run for almost 2 yrs, better "jump" man

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-09-09 09:15 | Report Abuse

Frank ×_×''''...
Ng, i m just waiting for the "miracle" to happen. Cant do much except hope for the best. Unless u have a better share to suggest..lol

Posted by bursafreeman > 2014-09-09 10:30 | Report Abuse

From HLIB

Scomi Energy (BUY çè)

Exciting Time Ahead!!!

Scomi Energy’s (SES) share price has corrected by 10% in a month after it proposed a renounceable right issue of redeemable convertible bonds. As there are no changes in the underlying fundamental, we believe current weakness in share price provides good buying opportunity.
We see multiple growth catalysts going forward: i) potential expanding orderbook from RM5.5bn to RM7bn due to increasing market share regionally; ii) commercialise graphene nanofluids and microwave treatment products; and iii) potential securing integrated project management (IPM) contracts.
Our channel check reveals there are more potential marginal fields to be developed under Vestigo and expect more marginal field contracts to be awarded in 2H14.
Given the multiple growth drivers ahead, we expect SES’ earning to grow at 3 year CAGR of 50% with P/E to fell to only 8x in CY16.
We maintained our BUY call with unchanged TP of RM1.23 (based on unchanged 16x CY15 EPS of 7.67sen/share).

Ng Kai Yau

676 posts

Posted by Ng Kai Yau > 2014-09-09 11:05 | Report Abuse

Pang, you also know is "miracle", that was what you waiting and we need Singaporean investors to push up this to make the "miracle" come true...lol...

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-09-09 18:21 | Report Abuse

I really have no idea what more excuses to hear for the price not going up. Market not doing well, ukraine war, rsc delayed, scomien making losses, abu selling etc. We have gone through all this by now. So what is next ?

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2014-09-09 23:41 | Report Abuse

one more - Hooi not buying LOL

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2014-09-09 23:46 | Report Abuse

ng - solly to disappoint u - I think the Singaporean investors already chabuted to BIMB wa :(

Posted by chang21 > Sep 6, 2014 01:49 PM | Report Abuse
If you want to make 100K use your money now to accumulate this stock ...... it will double up your money next year. There will be more announcement of mergers this year

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2014-09-09 23:55 | Report Abuse

so who was n still a believer in Captain Chang? n more importantly who wants to make 100K LOL

Posted by Wayne X Siong > 2014-09-10 00:23 | Report Abuse

Pang123 even if the scomi end up like talam but the price will not.. We can see that Talam price now climb up til RM0.12 since IJM ends JV with Talam. No matter whether IJM got JV or not with scomi, there will be not significant impact on it price given that scomi able to mantain it current profitability.

Yes...KLCI is climb to 1880 ++ point...is bull market really end here? i am not sure...

but u can simply key in "bull market 2017" in google search bar.. there will not be any suggestion keyword appear.

what we can conclude that, a lot of international investor feel very positive in the coming 2year...
bull market still will be continue to 2016 year.

i holding a lot of scomi stock after search overall market for a potential investment.

uptrend is guarantee for scomi, this can looks in term of TA.

but can reach to which price range? this is a million dollar question. ^^"

i try to give scomi 2 year time to prove the result. this counter will a bit of challenging like other mention it is a growth company, investor need more holding power rather than a lot of fund to support it.

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-09-10 02:00 | Report Abuse

bro Frank, I still believe in Master Chang. Bank merger is due to happen by 2018 I think. Whether can make money or not buying now is a different story. If I make some money here, I might join in, but since I'm losing, I'll have to skip.

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-09-10 04:20 | Report Abuse

Bro believe, where you get the news that bank merger is due to happen by 2018? But that is still a long way to go though. Latest on HSR, SPAD said it would be more definite by January. So don't expect any announcement by this month.

Ng Kai Yau

676 posts

Posted by Ng Kai Yau > 2014-09-10 09:00 | Report Abuse

Frank, oh shit... really skl

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-09-10 09:15 | Report Abuse

Bought Scomi at 0.410

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-09-10 10:44 | Report Abuse

bro pang : Something like we have to open up for globalization, and our banks needs to merge up to prepare for that.

I'm only expecting that it will drift lower slowly until it reaps some good projects

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-09-10 11:11 | Report Abuse

Like Master Chang said, he doesn't know when will happen, but it will happen. While I dont know if it will ever happen :)

I just bought because I feel it's undervalued compared to a few years ago trading at above 45 cents. Did not expect all the selling pressures.

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-09-10 12:13 | Report Abuse

Bought Scomi at 0.405

Posted by alexanderSingapore > 2014-09-10 16:18 | Report Abuse

If Chang knows exactly when to happen, he should be very wealthy by now and couldn't be bothered to share any info here. I bought Scomi @0.32 when he first shared his info in i3. I kept Pesona unit today because he mentioned price will hit @0.80 in 2014, today it is @0.92
Chang was sincere to share out his info here.

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-09-10 17:05 | Report Abuse

Agree wt Alexander . Chang was just trying to share the info...the prediction may not be accurate but the sincerity is there .

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-09-10 21:01 | Report Abuse

Yup. Nobody would really knows what will happen and when will happen. And like i said before, is really up to us to believe or not. To sell or to buy. I came across the article on hsr, which mean hsr wont be announce by end of this month for sure. But the fact we had so many suddenly appear asking ppl buy buy buy but end up they are the 1st to disappear. I m not talking about master chang here. He is still here till now i guess. And master chang is just sharing.

For scomi, i do feel it will go up further. But how soon and how high, nobody will know. Its frustrating as the expectation on this share has been very high at the start of the year. All the prediction so far has been proven to be falsed. But lets wait till end of the month and i hope i m wrong.

Bro believe, 2018 is the dateline. Still long way to go. Buying now based on that rumours a bit risky. Cimb merger has hit a snag so far. Will there be another merger soon? I wish to buy now too. But stucked with scomi. Same situation like u :(

Investeye

2,347 posts

Posted by Investeye > 2014-09-11 08:08 | Report Abuse

Should no impact to Scomi Group but i prefer Scomi Energy after it price down to RM0.90

The Company wishes to announce that it has on 5 September 2014 received notice that the Court of Session at Edinburgh had on 29 August 2014 pursuant to the Insolvency Act 1986 in United Kingdom (the “Act”) appointed James Bernard Stephen, of BDO LLP, 4 Atlantic Quay, 70 York Street, Glasgow (the “Interim Liquidator”), an Insolvency Practitioner and duly qualified under the Act as the interim liquidator of SOEL, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Scomi Oiltools Bermuda Limited, which is in turn a wholly-owned subsidiary of SGB.
http://announcements.bursamalaysia.com/EDMS/edmsweb.nsf/LsvAllByID/2ECA947CBA5A283A48257D4D0037C8B5?OpenDocument

daitoryu

1,459 posts

Posted by daitoryu > 2014-09-11 09:42 | Report Abuse

Enough already.

Nancy Tang

853 posts

Posted by Nancy Tang > 2014-09-11 10:42 | Report Abuse

Bought scomi ages ago before it turned into a ' zombie '. Maybe time to consider changing to other counter ... really there's a limit to one's patience !!!

daitoryu

1,459 posts

Posted by daitoryu > 2014-09-11 11:54 | Report Abuse

Spot on Nancy, my patience is just about shot with this one now.

chang21

436 posts

Posted by chang21 > 2014-09-11 19:28 | Report Abuse

I am still keeping Scomi and will only sell when the announcement of the HSR is out. There is some opposition to the project but I believe it will still proceed because a lot of planning and money have been spend on it. So I just have to be patient, although one do have their limit.
There are some good plans for BIMB in the works and it will definitely appreciate next year ....... just buy the Warrant and keep it in FD box. I believe it will be more than Rm2.00 in 2016.
Pesona have appreciated a lot becos there are some projects they have won and as my source says the TP for next year will be Rm1.20 above. I am just sharing what I know and as someone says I am also an investor not a punter. So no contra.

Posted by alexanderSingapore > 2014-09-11 21:48 | Report Abuse

Thank you Chang21. :-D

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2014-09-20 22:22 | Report Abuse

Scomi oiltool Europe company now just face to litigation of sueing debt default...what a big impact...

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-09-22 16:59 | Report Abuse

Bought Scomi at 0.400

yifie_911

1,573 posts

Posted by yifie_911 > 2014-09-22 19:27 | Report Abuse

how many?

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-09-22 22:51 | Report Abuse

very bearish

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-09-22 23:00 | Report Abuse

Good chance to accumulate at lower price

Posted by Nur Muhammad > 2014-09-23 14:30 | Report Abuse

Scomi susah mau naik coz Pak lah sudah tiada

ymtan

621 posts

Posted by ymtan > 2014-09-24 10:23 | Report Abuse

Scomi got volume and hairline gap up by today .. hopefully it will not be a one day show ..

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-09-24 13:53 | Report Abuse

Agm. So far the report is good. Especially scomien reported 1.4 b orderbook. So if they can get another 1 or 2 monorail project soon then will see scomi trade higher. Anyone been to scomi and scomies agm? Anything to share?

kchue1

38 posts

Posted by kchue1 > 2014-09-25 17:08 | Report Abuse

y still now up yet.....

weikang

17 posts

Posted by weikang > 2014-09-27 16:06 | Report Abuse

i blif tat it will be shooting up in near term.. fundamentals are there..

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2014-09-29 13:36 | Report Abuse

Ya lor, bila nak goreng ah?

amirrazak

23 posts

Posted by amirrazak > 2014-09-30 22:20 | Report Abuse

Will this affect the trend?

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-10-01 22:55 | Report Abuse

pls dont get caught by this Kanasai, here he told u the company is going to make money, the other side he disposed his shares in the open market.....

xfighter

223 posts

Posted by xfighter > 2014-10-02 09:55 | Report Abuse

who?