SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

spritzz

23 posts

Posted by spritzz > 2014-12-02 17:17 | Report Abuse

I get stuck at 0.405. I think is time to chip in more to even it.

xfighter

223 posts

Posted by xfighter > 2014-12-02 18:43 | Report Abuse

i thinking the same way too

Posted by Tan Yi Hao > 2014-12-02 20:21 | Report Abuse

there will be substantial cut in shale activity in 2015 as OPEC decision has sent a message to the shale producer in US : we are not going to cut production and lose our market share while allowing shale to fill up the gap . As US shale production cost is much higher, and many of shale producers pump oil on borrowed money, It is a matter of time for them to work with OPEC on production cot to bring up the price.

Posted by Tan Yi Hao > 2014-12-02 20:40 | Report Abuse

" Will this industry (shale) slow down? Certainly , " Harold Ham, a founding father of the US shale boom, said yesterday in an interview. " Nobody's going out there and drill areas, exploration areas, and other areas, at a loss ( If price continue falling ). They'll pull back and won't drill it until the price recovers. That's the way it ought to be."
Harold Hamm's personal fortune has fallen by more than half in the past 3 months

newbird01

248 posts

Posted by newbird01 > 2014-12-03 15:49 | Report Abuse

going south again..!!!!1

shipcapt

303 posts

Posted by shipcapt > 2014-12-03 15:57 | Report Abuse

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-03 17:36 | Report Abuse

Has the knife hits the floor ? perhaps not for contra or short-term players.Despite the price fall, its 65.64% holding in scomies alone already amounts to about RM 937 mils . The strong hands must be eyeing this counter now that price may be already near the bottom.

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-03 17:38 | Report Abuse

Oil price cannot be falling forever

yifie_911

1,573 posts

Posted by yifie_911 > 2014-12-03 21:36 | Report Abuse

good buy now...drop more buy more

sonic008

94 posts

Posted by sonic008 > 2014-12-04 11:22 | Report Abuse

any sifu here can explain what happen to this counter??price keep dropping and what is the bottom?

AHLONG

9 posts

Posted by AHLONG > 2014-12-04 11:26 | Report Abuse

hooi ..u keep buying since 0.40???..like got unlimited $$$..how much u holding now lehhhh??

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-04 12:25 | Report Abuse

> 8000 lots

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-04 13:02 | Report Abuse

One of the strong hands

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-04 14:43 | Report Abuse

sonic008, this counter keeps dropping becos oil price keeps falling. Some says oil will drop to 40 USD . B4 you subscribe to this doom scenerio, look at the production costs of US shale oil producers . Very few of them can survive below 50 USD. In fact in sites with the lowest extraction costs, the number still stands at 42 USD . As oil price falls, new exploration and drilling will be retarded, as some shale producers go bust.

shipcapt

303 posts

Posted by shipcapt > 2014-12-04 14:45 | Report Abuse

Hooi, you are the man!

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-12-04 14:46 | Report Abuse

And whether oil price can go above production costs of shales in the near term remains to be seen. Unless some agreement is reached, then crude should remain close to shale until they all go bust

Can sell now to buy ticket to Hawaii?

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-04 14:55 | Report Abuse

Eventually the shale producers have to work with OPEC on production cut to stabilize price. Survival is everybody's business , isn't it? Saudis will be stupid if they were to cut production now and let the shale producers take advantage. Until we see a drop in supply , oil price will be at depressed state.

sonic008

94 posts

Posted by sonic008 > 2014-12-04 15:16 | Report Abuse

thanks Vin Tan...

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2014-12-04 15:29 | Report Abuse

--

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Malaysian counterpart Najib Razak met in November in Myanmar during the summit of Asian leaders and discussed expanding bilateral economic relations. -

Scomi Group has built Mumbai’s monorail system and is bidding for a similar project in Chennai.

The Indian Ministry of Urban Development has given its approval for phase one of the 20.68-km monorail plan in Tamil Nadu’s capital.

- See more at: http://www.businessworld.in/news/economy/india/more-malaysian-firms-see-investment-opportunities-in-india/1648060/page-1.html#sthash.VgNiuNtX.dpuf

------------------------------------

yifie_911

1,573 posts

Posted by yifie_911 > 2014-12-04 17:14 | Report Abuse

gt project doesnt guarantee u in making profit

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2014-12-04 19:34 | Report Abuse

Dear yifie_911,

There is no one company and/or a project can guarantee profit.

In any project, ought to have calculated risks and liabilities as well as unpredictable circumstances, CAPEX, overhead, cycling time , tag time, direct and indirect cost, fixed and variable cost, Act of God and etc. in project/job costing, in order to mitigate the unnecessary losses.

In stock market, it is the future, stock price runs before the actual event.

Any news is just for the reference for investors who are also familiar with the fundamental and businesses of a particular company as well as future direction.

In stock market, price runs before the actual event AND each stock counter stock price performance will also has its individual own characteristic!

It also depends on if you are short term, mid term to long term investor , or just a contra player.

Unless you are interested in this SCOMI, otherwise you will not be wasting your precious time over here, in this SCOMI forum. For investors in this forum, they are looking for any good as well as bad news for this stock that they have already invested and holding, so that they may analyze, think and decide accordingly and timely with minimum mistakes.

Wish you all the best!

------------------------

scottybang

310 posts

Posted by scottybang > 2014-12-05 10:11 | Report Abuse

anyone here?

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-05 10:41 | Report Abuse

Well said, I investor. As investor we do welcome all news related to the counter we invest in, whether they are good or bad, so that better decisions can be made. A company can not guarantee you profit for every projects it undertakes , but that does not that company uninvestable.
Thank you I investor for your continual update on the unfolding events in the engineering arm of the company.

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-05 11:06 | Report Abuse

The engineering arm of the company is turning around , with already 2 improving quarterly results reported. Total order book stands at RM 1.4 b with half of it is expected to be recognized in 2015. India, a market in which scomien already has a footing, is to benefit from falling oil price as the saving will help them to better undertake major infrastructure projects.

India is a major monorial market. It is also the third largest importer of oil.

koyokui

1,921 posts

Posted by koyokui > 2014-12-05 15:50 | Report Abuse

buy scomi rumours project

vc1922

488 posts

Posted by vc1922 > 2014-12-05 16:05 | Report Abuse

scomi al ready low.good for investment

mikeann

823 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2014-12-05 19:08 | Report Abuse

Most O&G counters oversold. Next week Scomi will likely rebound 3-4 sen

Posted by kawteongeng > 2014-12-05 20:56 | Report Abuse

crude oil continue to drop until 40 dollar....better short futures larr

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2014-12-05 20:57 | Report Abuse

-
Dear Vin Tan, you are most welcome.

Hereby is another piece of news for SCOMI , 5 December 2014:

"Perusahaan Malaysia SCOMI Group Berminat Bangun Monorel di Palembang"
======================================================================

TRIBUNNEWS.COM, PALEMBANG - Perusahaan internasional asal Malaysia, SCOMI Group menyatakan minat untuk membangun rel kereta api jalur tunggal atau monorel di Kota Palembang.

Hal ini dinyatakan mereka usai pertemuan dengan Gubernur Sumsel, Alex Noerdin di ruang kerjanya, Kamis (4/12/2014).

Diungkapkan Kepala Dinas Ekonomi, Keuangan dan Pembangunan dari Pemerintah Provinsi (Pemprov) Sumsel, Ruslan Bahri, SCOMI Group mengunjungi Palembang setelah Pemprov Sumsel menyambangi beberapa hasil pekerjaan mereka dalam membangun transportasi.

SCOMI Group sudah membangun dua monorel di dunia, yakni di Mumbai dan Rio de Jeneiro di Brazil.

"Jenis yang sudah mereka bangun adalah monorel generasi kedua. Jadi tidak diragukan lagi kemampuannya," kata Ruslan saat dikonfirmasi usai pertemuan.

Pemprov Sumsel berencana membagi pembangunan monorel dalam dua koridor.

[Source: http://www.tribunnews.com/regional/2014/12/05/perusahaan-malaysia-scomi-group-berminat-bangun-monorel-di-palembang ]

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posted by kawteongeng > 2014-12-05 21:00 | Report Abuse

Brent crude was poised for the lowest close in more than five years as Saudi Arabia offered customers in Asia the biggest discount on record for its crude, boosting speculation it’s defending market share. West Texas Intermediate declined in New York.

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-06 10:51 | Report Abuse

kawteongeng,if indeed crude is falling to 40 USD, then now is perhaps the beginning to an end to the shale boom experienced in US. Most if not all of the shale producers will be gone by then , unless they can come up with newer technologies to bring costs substantially down. KLCI? perhaps 25-30 % , some said.
Viewed from the other side of coin, continual fall in oil price is premised on increasing supply. Increasing supply essentially means business as usual for oil supporting industry, that is , existing contracts being executed . Market sentiment will of course be affected, new exploration and drilling retarded, and future capex downsized.
What that means is the oil supporting industry will enter a period of high sales recognition ( of contracts already awarded ) and low tender.
What does that leave for scomi ? an order book exceeding RM 5 bils ( in Scomies )to be recognized in years to come.

newbird01

248 posts

Posted by newbird01 > 2014-12-08 15:42 | Report Abuse

come on scomi,u can do it....

scottybang

310 posts

Posted by scottybang > 2014-12-08 16:44 | Report Abuse

what do u mean

scottybang

310 posts

Posted by scottybang > 2014-12-08 16:59 | Report Abuse

any advise?

Posted by Tan Yi Hao > 2014-12-08 19:40 | Report Abuse

Saudi Arabia is taking the price war to US shale producers. They are trading short term profit margin for their long-term survival. They did it once in 1980s crushing those higher cost oil producers in US, and they are doing it again!

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2014-12-08 22:16 | Report Abuse

-

UTUSAN ONLINE 08 Disember 2014

KOTA BHARU 7 Dis. – Pelabuhan Tok Bali di Pasir Puteh bakal berkembang setapak lagi apabila ia dicadangkan menjadi pangkalan bekalan aktiviti sokongan luar pesisir dalam sektor minyak dan gas.

Menteri Perdagangan Antarabangsa dan Industri, Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed berkata, ini kerana Tok Bali mempunyai potensi besar sebagai pangkalan bekalan itu selepas Kemaman, Terengganu.

“Kita difahamkan Kemaman begitu pesat membangun dan padat untuk penambahan lain dan sebab itu Tok Bali mempunyai daya tarikan bagi dijadikan pangkalan sokongan ini.

“Ini kerana aktiviti carigali minyak dan gas di sempadan yang dekat dengan Tok Bali, membuatkan Tok Bali sesuai dijadikan pangkalan baharu,” katanya kepada pemberita selepas majlis makan malam meraikan 44 delegasi mewakili 29 syarikat minyak dan gas di sini, malam tadi.

"...peluang pekerjaan yang banyak akan terhasil dan ia juga akan menarik minat syarikat multinasional seperti Murphy Oil, Exxon-Mobil, Petronas, Haliburton dan Scomi."

Sumber: http://m.utusan.com.my/bisnes/korporat/pelabuhan-tok-bali-berpotensi-besar-1.33676

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

scottybang

310 posts

Posted by scottybang > 2014-12-09 09:19 | Report Abuse

say goodbye to scomi, it really bad

scottybang

310 posts

Posted by scottybang > 2014-12-09 09:33 | Report Abuse

0.20 is not joke sincerely..

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2014-12-09 09:44 | Report Abuse

Bought Scomi at 0.235 & 0.240

koi koh

2,499 posts

Posted by koi koh > 2014-12-09 10:26 | Report Abuse

Oil to Stay at About $65 for Six Months, Kuwait Petroleum Says

ww_guy

605 posts

Posted by ww_guy > 2014-12-09 10:29 | Report Abuse

i follow hooi to buy since 0.395...bought when it drop every 10-15%...the last price i bought was 0.25...now will consider buy in only if it drop to 0.21 >.<

PeterNg

409 posts

Posted by PeterNg > 2014-12-09 12:19 | Report Abuse

I pick on 0.40 now it already as low as 0.235.
I put TP = 0.20 to leverage my price but i really don't want see it fall anymore.
GOD BLESS.

shipcapt

303 posts

Posted by shipcapt > 2014-12-09 16:14 | Report Abuse

i pick on 0.405 before...i also wait for 0.20...terrible...

shahleong

31 posts

Posted by shahleong > 2014-12-09 16:56 | Report Abuse

i pick on 0.405 too, but buy in today 0.235. time to average down.

Ameera

2,921 posts

Posted by Ameera > 2014-12-09 17:10 | Report Abuse

I pick up to 0.35, then 0.29.... Time to average down too....:) :)

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-12-10 01:41 | Report Abuse

not sure what wrong. so far the company is doing quite okay I would say even from financial stand point. unless there are something that we as small investor did not know the insight of this stock :-(

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-12-10 01:57 | Report Abuse

big investor already disposed before the oil crash when small investor did not know the insight of oil tussle and confidently buy over their sale

koi koh

2,499 posts

Posted by koi koh > 2014-12-10 15:52 | Report Abuse

Everybody is holding a baby, just take good care and nurse it to see it growing

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-10 17:37 | Report Abuse

If oil should drop below 60USD it is perhaps time to buy rather than sell.
It is not like everybody stops producing becos price is low. Low price hurts shale producers more than conventional drillers. Even at 40USD most of the traditional oil producers will still be at profit, hence will continue producing. Shale producers? perhaps continue pumping until their facilities cease to be capable of producing any more. That's why the Arabs are more concerned with future landscape rather than current price.

Vin Tan

147 posts

Posted by Vin Tan > 2014-12-10 17:44 | Report Abuse

The journey to that development is of course , horrible. But hei, isn't that time for us to buy low?