SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

skybursa

1,480 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2015-12-05 21:03 | Report Abuse

Syndicate usually cooperated with the major share holder coz they don't need any money but plenty of shares to play this game .

mikeann

823 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2015-12-05 23:01 | Report Abuse

Dow index up 300+ points

Scomi now uptrend. Grossly oversold.

Rebound imminent. First resistance 0.21

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2015-12-07 10:50 | Report Abuse

good cash flow and profit is contributed from SCOMI ENERGY.. Prefer scomi energy

arbao

84 posts

Posted by arbao > 2015-12-08 09:19 | Report Abuse

most lousy counter ever in malaysia, useless company.....

ww_guy

605 posts

Posted by ww_guy > 2015-12-08 09:28 | Report Abuse

hooi, i also follow you keep average down, now my average price still above > RM0.30..how long i need to wait?

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2015-12-09 15:39 | Report Abuse

Strong order book replenishment is what Scomi needs. This, I believe is the missing link. Hardly hear anything from Scomien these days.

mikeann

823 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2015-12-10 13:41 | Report Abuse

Oil futures rebounding now.

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2015-12-15 15:54 | Report Abuse

Is this right time to buy at 0.17? Or should I wait for cheaper bargain . Pls advice

shahleong

31 posts

Posted by shahleong > 2015-12-16 10:27 | Report Abuse

let see whether i will reach 0.135

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2015-12-17 06:52 | Report Abuse

stocksyndicate Is this right time to buy at 0.17? Or should I wait for cheaper bargain . Pls advice
15/12/2015 15:54

LOL u're for real - I thought u're the stock syndicate :) if u dunno who knows :) :)

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2015-12-18 09:22 | Report Abuse

@Frank Soweto I'm just a toilet cleaner working with the syndicates. They don't share information with cleaner . Sad!!!!

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2015-12-21 15:23 | Report Abuse

Since Saudi Arabia has lost in the battle on market share to both Russia, Iraq in Asia; Saudi Arabia will soon abandon this price war game & work together with USA/ Russia to normalise the price thru output cut. too naive to think that USA shale oil & Russia oil industry to be phased out

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2015-12-25 19:53 | Report Abuse

NEW YORK (Dec 25): Oil prices gained for a fourth straight day on Thursday, while equity markets were quiet headed into the Christmas holiday.

A number of major bourses, including those in Germany, Brazil and Norway were closed on Thursday, while several other markets closed early for the Christmas holiday.

The dollar slipped, but the greenback has still had a strong year ahead of next week's closeout of 2015.

Wall Street dipped modestly, though the Nasdaq eked out a sliver of a gain, on an abbreviated day that ended at 1 p.m. (1800 GMT). The Dow Jones industrial average fell 0.29 percent to 17,552.17, the S&P 500 lost 0.16 percent to 2,060.99, and the Nasdaq Composite added 0.05 percent to 5,048.49.

Falling supplies and the lifting of a 40-year-old ban on most U.S. crude exports pushed front-month West Texas Intermediate (WTI) crude futures up 60 cents, or 1.6 percent, to $38.10 a barrel. They were set for the biggest weekly gain since early October.

Internationally traded Brent futures rose 57 cents, or 1.5 percent, to $37.93, but have fallen about 35 percent this year.

Tumbling oil prices have battered energy companies and lowered inflation expectations, pushing down government borrowing costs and reinvigorating bets on further European Central Bank monetary policy easing.

Shares of British oil majors such as BP and Royal Dutch Shell climbed around 1 percent, but in the United States, Exxon Mobil and Chevron were lower, as energy stocks pulled back from a few days of strength. The sector has been the worst performer among the S&P industries in 2015.

Britain's blue-chip FTSE 100 index rose 0.2 percent, while Spain's IBEX advanced 0.4 percent and France's CAC edged down 0.2 percent.

MSCI's all-country world stocks index added 0.2 percent.

The euro was up 0.5 percent at $1.0961, while the dollar was down 0.4 percent against an index of major currencies, having risen almost 9 percent this year.

Against the euro, the dollar lost 0.8 percent this week, but is up 11 percent since January in the run-up to the first U.S. Federal Reserve interest rate hike since 2006.

"As we move closer towards 2016 there are few calls for the dollar to repeat its 2015 strength, even despite the Fed now finally having commenced its tightening cycle," said Simon Smith, chief economist at FXPro.

MSCI's broadest index of Asia-Pacific shares outside Japan was up 0.6 percent.

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2015-12-25 19:58 | Report Abuse

the 2016 USD falling currency with rising crude oil price trend already commence. this dynamism of oil, USD fate interchanged will take many pessimist on oil price taken aback. Fire Monkey will bring prosperity to oil industry. anyone who stll bet on exports glove, plastic, semi-con, furniture expecting usd strength need to be wary of this new dyanamism

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2015-12-25 21:35 | Report Abuse

Oil always experience a rebound & than started to fall again. Repeated do many times . No hope

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2015-12-25 21:35 | Report Abuse

But scomi business more diversified

DreamCruiser

1,091 posts

Posted by DreamCruiser > 2015-12-25 21:39 | Report Abuse

Got Scomi Engineering also leihh ... Winning multi-billion Monorail jobs everywhere in da world also leihh ...

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2016-01-06 19:21 | Report Abuse

stocksyndicate ,

Do you think Scomi future good ?

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2016-01-07 09:05 | Report Abuse

ivan9511, the 3rd qtr results out next month will speak for itself if Scomi future is good. Likely to see a huge contraction in turnover and profit at best.

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-07 16:29 | Report Abuse

The weakening ringgit has left Scomi Energy Services Bhd (SES) in a stronger position, as around 95% of their revenue is in US dollars with only 5% coming in from Russia and paid in rouble.

- See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/weak-ringgit-good-for-us-says-scomi-energy#sthash.u4iqMEMU.dpuf

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2016-01-07 20:09 | Report Abuse

A drop in revenue and profit is expected . But a diversified earnings will make scomi a good buy for future returns . Buy now & put inside the freezer. Hehehe

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2016-01-08 00:24 | Report Abuse

stocksyndicate ,
Can I ask you a questions:

Why some counters warrant is -WB
Some counters is - WA

Sorry I just curious only.
hope can learn more

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2016-01-08 08:38 | Report Abuse

WA is a first issues from a company . WB issues in a later time period. Both with different expiry dates and also different exercise prices . Is a instruments by list companies to raise funds. But warrant offer higher risksccompare to mother shares

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-08 09:12 | Report Abuse

Being hybrid enable SCOMIES to effectively ride on oil price cycles with resilient earnings. When oil price rises, SCOMIES benefits from increased O&G contracts flows, and when oil price slumps, transport activities are robust due to high demand and low vessels fuel costs, as well as strong 95% of their revenue in US dollars.

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2016-01-08 11:48 | Report Abuse

i_investor, u r displaying some old news. Currently we r dealing with a new breed of economic animal house. Did the strong US$ position (weak Ringgit) translate into better financial result for Scomi? Don't seems to be reflected in that manner from the last reported qtr. Is not like those we see in the rubber glove industries. Charter rates for vessels dropped substantially and many of these assets are under utilised. Marine services has registered losses. Oilfield rig counts reduced further. When oil prices rises, it only creates an environment of more and better opportunities. In the end, Scomies will benefit if and only if it wins contracts. Nanographene in still very much in the infancy stage. Yet to see its full potential on its usage and application in the market. Hopefully, the plant in Klang will commence production as per scheduled this year. As for Scomien, Brazil is going thru major economic hardship if not a crisis and the monorail job in India should by now be completed. Don't seems to have new news since collaborating with Skoda. Scomi performance is riding on Scomies and Scomien results. In the end, it boils down to their ability to secure profitable jobs without which your guess is as good as mine. 3rd qtr announcement next month would only show a moment in time which will serve as a guide be it good or bad.

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2016-01-08 14:08 | Report Abuse

O&G must go thru cost rationalisation/ staff redundancy or M&A with other competitors to survive like USA-. Unfortunately, M&A is just too slow in malaysia. till now, no mal co. ever willing to bite the bullet as if no crisis happen. this self-mortification of privileged positions will only get the company getting worse

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-08 14:10 | Report Abuse

nippy65, the piece of information is about SCOMI business model and costing strength as well as competitive advantages, therefore it is still related and valid. It is a courtesy reminder so that one can still remember and being rationale, instead of losing focus in times of market panic. It is also good to know that you are a good investor that do your homework very well about this company. That also means that you also know that one of the SCOMI subsidiaries, SCOMIES, business is well diversified including TNB coal transportation and the only Drilling Waste Management company in Malaysia, not to mention the OPHIR OPSB project and etc. These (SCOMI and SCOMIES) counters has it own style, and not necessarily in tandem with announcement as SCOMIES majority (more than 65%) controlled by SCOMI with strategic shareholder Hong Leong Group supremo Tan Sri Quek Leng Chan . But once it really moves, with refer to track records, it spikes up for many days.

SCOMI EARNINGS REFERENCE http://www.corporateinformation.com/Company-Snapshot.aspx?cusip=C458XF300

bozchry

305 posts

Posted by bozchry > 2016-01-09 01:47 | Report Abuse

cakap banyak tak guna.jom beli

Posted by DreamSubjugator > 2016-01-09 02:29 | Report Abuse

itu maciam ah

bozchry

305 posts

Posted by bozchry > 2016-01-09 14:32 | Report Abuse

itu macam ahh...simpan hari tua..apa lagi barang mau bili dream?

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-01-11 20:50 | Report Abuse

90% of scomi group's revenue and profit is contributed from scomi energy whic play a very important part for the valuation in scomi..

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2016-01-12 17:39 | Report Abuse

Waiting for 0.14

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2016-01-13 04:28 | Report Abuse

To: stocksyndicate

stocksyndicate : Very thank for you explanation.

Thanks alot

I like this counter new in Scomi counter .
seem a good counter to me .
Tomorrow will top up abit Scomi again

But as your said warrants more dangerous because got expired date,
However I find out one very weird counter Warrants more expensive than Mother share , infor as below :

THHEAVY counter vs THHEAVY-PB

this counter's Warrant(THHEAVY-PB )price
more expensive than mother counter one

mother share price just 0.17
but THHEAVY-PB is 0.20

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2016-01-15 20:42 | Report Abuse

A piece of refreshing announcement. Orderbook US1.78 billion = RM7.8 billion. Hope more to come. Something from Scomien to add another RM1 billion job would be fantastic. Still, the shares price remains pathetic.

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-18 09:00 | Report Abuse

Scomi Energy order book gets US$41.6m job extension.

-See more at: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/01/15/scomi-energy-order-book-gets--job-extension/

shipcapt

303 posts

Posted by shipcapt > 2016-01-19 13:05 | Report Abuse

mikeann

823 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2016-01-21 11:53 | Report Abuse

Crude oil price rebounding.

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 01:00 | Report Abuse

Nilai Ringgit rendah turut dorong Scomi kembang pasaran : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXj2rG0yfLc

SCOMI EARNINGS REFERENCE http://www.corporateinformation.com/Company-Snapshot.aspx?cusip=C458XF300

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 13:01 | Report Abuse

Mumbai Phase-2 awaits rakes from Malaysia to get rolling.

The project was awarded to a consortium of Larsen and Toubro and Scomi Engineering of Malaysia.

The trial runs for the 10.24-km-long phase-2 of the monorail from Wadala to Jacob Circle will begin in April after the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) receives five additional monorail rakes (rolling stock). These are expected to reach the city from Malaysia by the month of March.

See more at : http://www.asianage.com/mumbai/phase-2-awaits-rakes-malaysia-get-rolling-433

Nilai Ringgit rendah turut dorong Scomi kembang pasaran : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXj2rG0yfLc

Scomi Skoda: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJRIUSohZMw

Prophet

22 posts

Posted by Prophet > 2016-01-22 13:23 | Report Abuse

Buy too early pun RUGI ... it will continue to slide down - will reach 12 cents soon.

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 14:16 | Report Abuse

Located offshore Peninsular Malaysia, Ophir oil field is being developed by Ophir Production, a joint venture of field operator Octanex with a 50% interest, Scomi Energy Services (30%) and Vestigo Petroleum (20%), a subsidiary of PETRONAS.

Declining oil prices impacted the field development plan that was revised accordingly to take advantage of low industry costs.

Cost savings of approximately 30% were identified and the capital budget was revised to $90m.

The new field development plan was approved by PETRONAS in September 2015.

A syndicate comprising Malayan Banking (Maybank), RHB Bank and United Overseas Bank is financing the project. A loan of up to $118.76m will be provided to cover 75% of the planned expenditure for a period of four years, in addition to a bank guarantee facility of $13.5m.

See more at : http://www.offshore-technology.com/projects/ophir-oil-field-development/

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 14:23 | Report Abuse

Being hybrid enable SCOMIES to effectively ride on oil price cycles with resilient earnings. When oil price rises, SCOMIES benefits from increased O&G contracts flows, and when oil price slumps, transport activities are robust due to high demand and low vessels fuel costs, as well as strong 95% of their revenue in US dollars.

RECAP :
The weakening ringgit has left Scomi Energy Services Bhd (SES) in a stronger position, as around 95% of their revenue is in US dollars with only 5% coming in from Russia and paid in rouble.

- See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/weak-ringgit-good-for-us-says-scomi-energy#sthash.u4iqMEMU.dpuf

-See more at: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/01/15/scomi-energy-order-book-gets--job-extension/

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 15:17 | Report Abuse

The project was awarded to a consortium of Larsen and Toubro and Scomi Engineering of Malaysia.

The trial runs for the 10.24-km-long phase-2 of the monorail from Wadala to Jacob Circle will begin in April after the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) receives five additional monorail rakes (rolling stock). These are expected to reach the city from Malaysia by the month of March.

See more at : http://www.asianage.com/mumbai/phase-2-awaits-rakes-malaysia-get-rolling-433

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 15:18 | Report Abuse

Located offshore Peninsular Malaysia, Ophir oil field is being developed by Ophir Production, a joint venture of field operator Octanex with a 50% interest, Scomi Energy Services (30%) and Vestigo Petroleum (20%), a subsidiary of PETRONAS.

Declining oil prices impacted the field development plan that was revised accordingly to take advantage of low industry costs.

Cost savings of approximately 30% were identified and the capital budget was revised to $90m.

The new field development plan was approved by PETRONAS in September 2015.

A syndicate comprising Malayan Banking (Maybank), RHB Bank and United Overseas Bank is financing the project. A loan of up to $118.76m will be provided to cover 75% of the planned expenditure for a period of four years, in addition to a bank guarantee facility of $13.5m.

See more at : http://www.offshore-technology.com/projects/ophir-oil-field-development/

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 15:19 | Report Abuse

RECAP :

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 15:21 | Report Abuse

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-01-22 15:59 | Report Abuse

RECAP :

scenic

56 posts

Posted by scenic > 2016-01-22 16:01 | Report Abuse

meaning it is a good opportunity to buy now ?