SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

Ayat

231 posts

Posted by Ayat > 2016-02-29 17:18 | Report Abuse

If you don't delete it, I will no longer love you, Ayam Tua!

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-02-29 21:57 | Report Abuse

LATEST NEWS:

CEO Kanesan Veluppillai confirmed that Sao Paulo Metro had turned to SCOMI Engineering to complete and possibly fast track the Line 17 monorail project.

“We have an order book of RM1.32bil excluding additional Line 17 orders,” Kanesan said.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/02/29/scomi-engineering-gains-from-brazil-turmoil/

ANOTHER NEWS:

SCOMI Engineering Bhd is close to inking a partnership agreement with Turkish groups Albayrak Grubu and Siyahkalem to jointly bid for monorail jobs in Turkey and Saudi Arabia worth RM9.5 billion.

Read More : http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/02/130183/scomi-set-partner-turkish-firms

RECAP:

Group CEO (transport) Kanesan Veluppilai said the company had already obtained initial approvals from various agencies and the state was believed to be in favour of awarding it the project.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/02/26/scomi-eyeing-59km-rail-line-in-bengaluru/

Scomi Energy order book gets US$41.6m job extension.

-See more at: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/01/15/scomi-energy-order-book-gets--job-extension/

IJM, SCOMI in the running for the RM27Bil PDP (PRASARANA) job:

(more details: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2014/07/12/prasarana-joins-the-fray-fed-govt-entity-keen-on-proposed-transport-job-on-penang-island/ )

IJM among 5 frontrunners for RM2bil MRT 2 viaduct job. (The Star) with competitive advantage SCOMI (24.36% owned) as IJM's MRT solutions arm .

IJM has been APPOINTED by MRT Co. for the MRT 2 viaduct guideways and other associated works.

(http://www.mymrt.com.my/cms/upload_files/article/article_download_000054.pdf)

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 15:15 | Report Abuse

Congratulations to all who has bought SCOMI !!! We are on the right track !!!

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 15:22 | Report Abuse

SCOMI is truly a company with good fundamentals and strong background. Let us ride with pride with GOD's will !!!

mudevil7

49 posts

Posted by mudevil7 > 2016-03-01 15:26 | Report Abuse

Patience makes perfecto..!

DaitoRyu

1,459 posts

Posted by DaitoRyu > 2016-03-01 15:27 | Report Abuse

Lovely.

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 15:51 | Report Abuse

SCOMI Group Chief Operating Officer (Transport) Kanesan Veluppilai said the company had already obtained initial approvals from various agencies and the state is believed to be in favour of awarding it the project In Karnataka, India.

"We will be meeting state officials today to discuss further the financial aspect of developing the project on a government-to-government (G to G) basis, with the Construction Industry Development Board (CIDB) and Works Ministry backing our effort.

"Should the Karnataka government give its final approval, we hope to start our initial works within the next 10 months with the support of a joint consortium funding the project," he added.

Kanesan said this when contacted after briefing a Malaysian delegation on the second phase of the monorail system in Wadala, Mumbai.

He also said that other than the monorail project, Scomi was also keen on highway and urban housing development projects in Karnataka.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian delegation headed by the CIDB's acting chief executive, Sariah Abdul Karib, called on Maharastra state - Mumbai is the capital - Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

The delegation also conveyed Scomi's intention to be involved in urban development and housing projects in the state.

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v8/bu/newsbusiness.php?id=1219212

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 16:26 | Report Abuse

True. You are right! Patience makes perfecto..! Particularly when we are on the right track !

motainai

26 posts

Posted by motainai > 2016-03-01 16:30 | Report Abuse

any1 here seeing any resistant level this round ? tq

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 16:33 | Report Abuse

SCOMI (Resistant level) RS=0.215, 0.22 .

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 16:40 | Report Abuse

the RS was attempted 5days ago, let us see how it goes this round. With GOD's will, once the RS is broken, then it is going to be another high up.

DaitoRyu

1,459 posts

Posted by DaitoRyu > 2016-03-01 16:53 | Report Abuse

Support is at .185

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 17:00 | Report Abuse

great! now we have all the knowledgeable and good investors over this SCOMI ! It shall be one of the wonderful counter then ! Good company with good investors !!!

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2016-03-01 21:31 | Report Abuse

Again, don't think news will move this counter :-) when it want to move then move.....

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/scomi-files-ex-parte-injunction-against-prasarana

ladahitam

578 posts

Posted by ladahitam > 2016-03-01 21:57 | Report Abuse

will sell all tomorrow first q in the morning, apart from malaysia India also got issue..

An MMRDA official who did not wished to be named confirmed the same. "The company has said that there has been a delay in the construction of monorail for which MMRDA is responsible as it has resulted into escalation of project cost. In order to solve the issue, we have appointed a three member team as the arbitrator.

" The three member team was appointed around three monts back and this includes Railway officer S D Limaye, Former PWD official Jayant Nashikkar and Anand Kulkarni. It should be noted that already the monorail project is delayed.

From its start itself, the monorail project has been facing a lot of problem which includes technical glitches.

The Jacob Circle Wadala section of monorail which was expected to be operational by the mid of this year has also been delayed as the planning authority has yet not procured the switches (the mechanical unit that helps the monorail to go from one beam to the other at the both ends of the corridor). There are two switches which are lying with customs and two more are yet to arrive to Mumbai from Malaysia. It is said that the company`s financial status is not sound enough and this is thr reason why the reason why the two switches are yet to reach Mumbai from Malaysia.

Last year MMRDA had even said that the monorail trial run would begin by January-February this year but the same didn`t not happen due to unavailability of switches. This also means that the phase-II between Wadala and Jacob Circle would begin only by this year end provided the switches reach on time. In the month of April last year mid-day had done a story (Mumbai Monorail is running a loss of Rs 1.

5 crore every month) in which it was stated that as per the MMRDA data monorails daily cost of operation is exceeding its earnings via ticket sales and a major sum goes in paying salaries of MSSC security guards manning stations.While tickets rake in Rs 2 lakh every day, it takes Rs 7 lakh per day to operate the Monorail.

Source: http://www.mid-day.com/articles/arbitrator-appointed-to-look-into-constant-delay-of-mumbai-monorail-project/16993154

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-01 23:54 | Report Abuse

powerwk, thank you very much for the great piece of GOOD NEWS !!! Thank you !!!

ladahitam , luckily you have not sold all ! ! You failed to read news correctly !!!
Please read again properly !!!

It is actually a piece of GOOD NEWS:

SCOMI Engineering Bhd's wholly-owned subsidiary has OBTAINED an ex parte injunction to restrain Prasarana Malaysia Bhd from wrongfully terminating the RM494 million Kuala Lumpur Monorail Fleet Expansion project.

Source:http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/scomi-files-ex-parte-injunction-against-prasarana

SCOMI Engineering Bhd’s unit Scomi Transit Projects Sdn Bhd has SECURED a court ruling restraining Kuala Lumpur Monorail operator Prasarana Malaysia Bhd (PMB) from wrongfully terminating the RM494mil contract for the monorail fleet expansion project.

Source: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/03/01/scomi-obtains-injunction-against-prasarana/

ladahitam

578 posts

Posted by ladahitam > 2016-03-02 01:22 | Report Abuse

the main point here is the sole entity responsible for monorail in Malaysia is terminating the contract, why? Project delay after 5 years? Would scomi get further new project from them, if there is legal wrangle?

read the second link, there is 7 years delay in India, and the have not won any new monorail project since July 2014. Scomien CEO was replaced as well. All gloom piece of news.

if you study their financial report, they have been generating negative cash flow for the last 6 years running with double digit gearing. Zero div has been declared for the last 6 years and share price has fallen more than 80%

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-02 09:21 | Report Abuse

ladahitam, please make sure you have READ ALL carefully, do more homework , more analaysis and more thinking.

Even the latest piece of GOOD NEWS BUT YOU HAVE FAILED TO READ IT CORRECTLY, that shows your credibility !

Further to that you have really underestimated IJM for the reasons for IJM emerged as the single largest shareholder, with 36.5 sen per share, which is a lot higher than market price !!!

Use your common sense to think, why the following new projects in India have been awarded !!!

RECAP:

Mumbai Phase-2 awaits rakes from Malaysia to get rolling.

The project was awarded to a consortium of Larsen and Toubro and Scomi Engineering of Malaysia.

The trial runs for the 10.24-km-long phase-2 of the monorail from Wadala to Jacob Circle will begin in April after the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) receives five additional monorail rakes (rolling stock). These are expected to reach the city from Malaysia by the month of March.

See more at : http://www.asianage.com/mumbai/phase-2-awaits-rakes-malaysia-get-rolling-433

SCOMI Group Chief Operating Officer (Transport) Kanesan Veluppilai said the company had already obtained initial approvals from various agencies and the state is believed to be in favour of awarding it the project In Karnataka, India.

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v8/bu/newsbusiness.php?id=1219212

SCOMI Group chief operating officer (transport) Kanesan Veluppilai said the company had already obtained initial approvals from various agencies and the state was believed to be in favour of awarding the project 59km rail line in Bengaluru.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/02/26/scomi-eyeing-59km-rail-line-in-bengaluru/

IJM has been APPOINTED by MRT Co. for the MRT 2 viaduct guideways and other associated works.

(http://www.mymrt.com.my/cms/upload_files/article/article_download_000054.pdf)

RECAP:

IJM, SCOMI in the running for the RM27Bil PDP (PRASARANA) job:
(more details: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2014/07/12/prasarana-joins-the-fray-fed-govt-entity-keen-on-proposed-transport-job-on-penang-island/ )

SCOMI profile: http://www.scomi.com.my/GUI/video/klmonorail/video_rail.html

SCOMI: http://www.scomigroup.com.my/

SCOMI EARNINGS REFERENCE http://www.corporateinformation.com/Company-Snapshot.aspx?

AND THE LATEST GOOD NEWS:

SCOMI Engineering Bhd's wholly-owned subsidiary has OBTAINED an ex parte injunction to restrain Prasarana Malaysia Bhd from wrongfully terminating the RM494 million Kuala Lumpur Monorail Fleet Expansion project.

Source:http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/scomi-files-ex-parte-injunction-against-prasarana

SCOMI Engineering Bhd’s unit Scomi Transit Projects Sdn Bhd has SECURED a court ruling restraining Kuala Lumpur Monorail operator Prasarana Malaysia Bhd (PMB) from wrongfully terminating the RM494mil contract for the monorail fleet expansion project.

Source: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/03/01/scomi-obtains-injunction-against-prasarana/

CEO Kanesan Veluppillai confirmed that Sao Paulo Metro had turned to SCOMI Engineering to complete and possibly fast track the Line 17 monorail project.

“We have an order book of RM1.32bil excluding additional Line 17 orders,” Kanesan said.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/02/29/scomi-engineering-gains-from-brazil-turmoil/

motainai

26 posts

Posted by motainai > 2016-03-02 10:35 | Report Abuse

Scomi 's looking hesitated to cross over 0.200 ?

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-02 10:40 | Report Abuse

I_investor.. can u please give some and more specific briefing on the GOOD NEWS on scomi.. U keep uploading so much OLD news ... Cant really read all the OLD OLD news...

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-02 10:41 | Report Abuse

Market need more UPDATED and Relevant news...

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-02 10:42 | Report Abuse

Anywhere TQ for your news... Maybe u can give more update news...

mudevil7

49 posts

Posted by mudevil7 > 2016-03-02 11:06 | Report Abuse

I agree with Value_Invest...
I_investor your posts are too long and too many.. sometimes I just give up because repeating everyday...

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-02 11:12 | Report Abuse

Dear value_invest, You are most welcome,

Did you not read the LATEST NEWS highlighted in the above???

The above news was provided UP TO THE LATEST NEWS UPDATE and there are in CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER with the hope to let "ladahitam" analyze and can comprehend the full picture (you may check back the trail of the conversations).

Anyway, if you have missed and for your convenience , I repeat them over there.

THE LATEST GOOD NEWS:

Good day to you !

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-02 11:24 | Report Abuse

TQ for your information..

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-02 11:29 | Report Abuse

You are most welcome, value_invest.

By the way, I like your name "value_invest" , it also means that you are person who look at the value and your ability of understanding and analysis as well as getting the full picture, with patient and logical.

Good day to you and wish you all the best , value_invest !

arbao

84 posts

Posted by arbao > 2016-03-02 21:54 | Report Abuse

Pasti lg? Tuju langit lagi...can meh? I stuck at 0.3 since long2 time ago

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-03 09:44 | Report Abuse

Accumulating scomies now as oil price stabilize.. The last QR result show profitable and company gearing drop significantly..

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2016-03-04 09:39 | Report Abuse

Very likely that share prices of Scomi and Scomies will go back to before the announcement of IJM enlarged shareholding. Will not be even be surprised to see a new 52 weeks low.

scenic

56 posts

Posted by scenic > 2016-03-04 11:04 | Report Abuse

why did you say that ?

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-04 16:21 | Report Abuse

The High Court blocks Prasarana from terminating RM494m KL monorail expansion deal with SCOMI.

The contract that SCOMI had won was for the upgrade of the Kuala Lumpur monorail stations as well as its electrical and mechanical system, to build a new depot and to deliver 12 sets of new four-car trains to replace the two-car trains in use. (Malay Mail)

Jerry Jerry

1,586 posts

Posted by Jerry Jerry > 2016-03-05 00:27 | Report Abuse

Oil and gas scomi group up up up next week comfirm up to 0.21-0.25

Posted by faizal_mu > 2016-03-05 03:56 | Report Abuse

that mean it will go higher right next week maybe...

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-07 16:42 | Report Abuse

Company still profitable.... good future

Lim123

808 posts

Posted by Lim123 > 2016-03-09 12:30 | Report Abuse

buy rate 0 today. wohooo.
Still don't want run?

Posted by Zhuge Liang > 2016-03-09 21:34 | Report Abuse

Collect !!!

MuttonCurry

1,192 posts

Posted by MuttonCurry > 2016-03-10 08:30 | Report Abuse

Sell ... while under litigation ... no income for Scomi

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-10 09:01 | Report Abuse

Prasarana gives Scomi 60 days from March 8, 2016 to deliver monorail trains.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/03/09/prasarana-issues-notice-to-remedy-to-scomi/

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-10 09:02 | Report Abuse

Prasarana gives Scomi 60 days from March 8, 2016 to deliver monorail trains.

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2016/03/09/prasarana-issues-notice-to-remedy-to-scomi/

scenic

56 posts

Posted by scenic > 2016-03-10 09:23 | Report Abuse

that's good news.

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2016-03-10 09:37 | Report Abuse

Can realise delivery in 60 days ? PR image affected ?

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-03-12 01:19 | Report Abuse

MuttonCurry : hello teams I also confused, actually is good news or bad news to Scomi ?
some say good some say bad .
please help lol

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-14 09:44 | Report Abuse

oil and gas is bottom... time to buy scomi energy

value_invest

1,154 posts

Posted by value_invest > 2016-03-14 09:45 | Report Abuse

As per reported in the edge, Scomi energy's CFO give the view that the company is not as badly affected. It has order book of USD 1bil+ and is tendering USD 800mil now.. From the latest QR, 1) the company is still making profit, trading at 8 times P/E, 2) Gearing and company debt has drops significantly to RM320 mil, 3) The Ophir break even cost is re-negotiated to USD 30 to 35 per berrel...

Posted by Zhuge Liang > 2016-03-14 12:38 | Report Abuse

incoming !!!

i_investor

934 posts

Posted by i_investor > 2016-03-15 09:48 | Report Abuse

SCOMI sets up rail manufacturing facility in Brazil. [The Star]

DaitoRyu

1,459 posts

Posted by DaitoRyu > 2016-03-15 14:54 | Report Abuse

Support broken...Damn.

Posted by Zhuge Liang > 2016-03-15 18:15 | Report Abuse

wait 4 the right moment...