Dividend for KNM this year? I don't know as I don't know the general. But let me lay down some figures for you to judge yourself.
KNM's paid out a net cash of 33m for year ended 31/12/2012, meaning cash in less cash out is a negative of 33m. It spent 51 m for capital expenses. Furthermore, to expand its empire, it spent another 52m to invest and made acquisitions all over the world. So it needed an additional 136m just to do the above. How did KNM fund these? It issued 474m new shares and received 195m. So where does KNM get money for dividend? Use the proceeds from the issuance of new shares? Does it occur to you that the company is getting "dividend" from you rather paying to you? Borrow more money to pay dividends?
KNM's total debts is now 934m, or 63 sen per share! The total debt is half that of equity. Not really high until you look closer at its balance sheet. It has 1.06b of receivables and work in progress (72 sen/share and not sure how much is real), 1.33b in goodwill and intangible assets (90 sen/share, are they "real" assets?), 363m in tax assets (25 sen/share, assets which can only reduce your future tax payment if only you make money). So how much is the "actual" equity KNM has? How precarious is its balance sheet?
So will you get dividend this year? Or the company is going to get "dividend" from you? Anyone?
Congratulation to all those KNM shareholders. KNM share went up by 2 sen, or 4% today. Just to clarify, I mean no harm in all my comments in this thread. Just to share with you a phrase I have just read in one of Warren Buffet's letter to shareholder of Berkshire Hathaway Inc. dated 29 February 1988 as below.
"If you have been in a poker game for a while, and you still don’t know who the patsy is, you’re the patsy."
I wonder why.... everytime when a stock went up sky high.. there is always someone. both "good news ppl" and "bad news ppl". but when the price went down. The atmosphere here become so quiet. Is that how stock market operate? Shouldn't it be merrier when price is dropping?
kcchongnz what do u think in year 2013 . can knm reduce the debt from rm933 millions to rm850 million end of this year. for my opinion last few days high volume buy and sell.i think this counter want to goreng like terbau.
yungshen1, you already know I have very negative views about KNM.
For the financial year ended 31/12/2012, knm's cash flows from operations is negative of 33m, although it said it earned 80m. You said you earned 80m but where is the cash? Instead you are short of 33m cash from your operations, why? Go back and read what I have written about this.
KNM spent 50m to buy new plant and equipment, another 40m to acquire a subsidiary,yeah, empire building; So this needs another 90m, and total 123m of cash from somewhere to continue its operations. So where did knm got this money? Yes borrow more by drawing down its revolving fund, and right issues to get 195m. So yungshen1, is there a high possibility that knm's business will improve that much to get enough money to reduce debt? Or would it be more right issues will be called, meaning shareholders got to foot out more money?
Have you wondered why the apa ini Borsig still has not been listed in Singapore? Is there any problem? Is Borsig even qualified to be listed?
Ah, now you are talking about frying of the shares, goreng pisang. Whether the share price will be able to goreng up and to what price I don't know. As a matter of fact, nobody will know except the syndicate, And you know what Warren Buffet says about when you are gambling with the syndicate. He said:
“If you've been playing poker for half an hour and you still don't know who the patsy is, you're the patsy.”
And this is said by our sifu Cold Eye:
散户从来没有去想过,被炒家相中的,都是劣股。
Sorry yungshen1, no good comment on knm from me. And I am not trying to press down the share price of knm so that I can buy cheap. I will never buy knm. Neither short selling is allowed in Bursa.
KNM at the moment is not going any where. With the impending election and subdued trading in this counter, uptrend will be short unless daily turnover increase to more than 350000 lots for 3 consecutive days and closing is higher than opening.
yungshen1, if you statement is sincere, I feel happy. This happiness is not for me, but for you. At least now you know what are the risks in knm. That is good for you. Again, I will never know if knm share price will go up or not, may be later goes up to more than 1.00 like what you have been saying. Don't blame me then. But I am very certain about its business from its operating history and what the management has been saying, or rather deceiving, and their actions. These were not good for the minority shareholders. Again history may be just history.
As for me, I am no master. I happen to know some financial knowledge, which nay be of no use in investment. Don't use master on me. I am not. I am afraid someone may attack me for that.
yungshen1, regarding your question in the other thread, read this and see if you understand or not.
Posted by kcchongnz > Dec 2, 2012 11:53 AM | Report Abuse X I don't know people realize or not that out of the NAB of KNM of RM1.62, RM1.31 is under Goodwill and Intangible assets, and another RM1.21 is under Receivables and Work-in-progress. Goodwill arises because of some acquisitions by KNM above and over its asset value, in another word overpaying some acquisitions. In this case, the overpaying must be huge. Intangible assets is, well intangible, can see but cannot eat. Not sure what is it in KNM. Again receivables are what you think other people owe you and work-in-progress is what you think you have done so far. Many cases, especially in construction works have shown these are without exceptions, overstated. Other assets are plant and equipment (71 sen per share, again I doubt the true value when they estimate, especially if you have to sell at a fire sale), Deferred tax (34 sen per share, is this really an "asset"?). I don't know about you. I think KNM is a "big head devil". I am not trying to pour cold water again here. Just a friendly warning that you should not take things at its face value, especially from management who have been deceiving the shareholders for years.]
so now how yungshen1? Another master already spoken - u will sell KNM? or keep when KNM go to 1.00 then you will be man of the match and then also said even CP and all other sifus tell me to sell also I dun listen. KNM still gambateh or not?
oh no.. the knm master (ys1) also need to think twice for his investment on this counter, I better clear my state. Anyway thks kcchongnz advised. Hi Frank, How do you do recently?
good YS1 I also believe if the successful (IF ya ) listing of Borsig will pare down their debts. But if you look at KNM receivables that are questionable according to KCchongNZ and slow contract wins I think it will be a while before KNM price shoot up again right so it will be an opportunity lost as mentioned by one sifu here before -if not mistaken was CP. Anyway, you are a good man and KNM loyal hope General Lee will reward you someday soon :)
haha frank, this is call persistence and determination, believe in what you believe, CP is teaching this too.. YS, you've my moral support, but dont play too big to be safe
if you ask me, base on fundamental i wont buy this cuz cannot see the clear future base on the experts or veterans advice
if you ask me, if base on investment not taught by most books, maybe i will buy, betting on its future which a lot ppl dont believe
is this call investment ? i dont know..
using the 80-20 percent rule taught by the teacher, want to win need to fall under the minority which is 20% .. and of course it does not guarantee win huh..
see.. all this are teacher teaching, i interpret differently only.. so, i didn't against the teacher teaching one you know :)
oh thanks YS1 maybe I wait after election but meantime like shirley1 I also support you :)also like Shirley1 said your persistence and determination is second to none - can't be shaken by cikgu,Teacher,Master nor sifu.Hope we can all be wrong and you'll one day not only huat2 on KNM but standing tall in the highest mountain next to our Supreme Commander General Lee and defeat the imperialist USA :)
Hold knm counter using the sundang fornula..u will never go wrong because this counter getting kepentot day by day..it will certainly explode when time is right..be a binjai investor always not a gepempi..this way u learn n move..gd luck..
ah yes YS1 u did mentioned Mas,Jask,Jcy. Congratulations to your profit from MAS and hope the rest comes soon too :) when you think General lee will goreng KNM?
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Ng Kai Yau
676 posts
Posted by Ng Kai Yau > 2013-03-07 11:16 | Report Abuse
Yup, I like his comments also but of course I also value kcchong comments