GADANG HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): GADANG (9261)

-0.015 (4.41%)

0.325 - 0.335

38 people like this.

37,594 comment(s). Last comment by lloydlim 1 week ago

kancs3118

2,266 posts

Posted by kancs3118 > 2014-12-05 17:40 | Report Abuse

Hi all sifus, i have been monitoring gadang for a long time. Please teach me how does construction companies work? I mean how their balance sheet will relate to their P&L?

Also, some kind soul shared with me - the best property developers who enjoy the highest margin seem to be the ones who construct their own properties. It seems Gadang is one of them.

nordimohd

1,870 posts

Posted by nordimohd > 2014-12-06 16:09 | Report Abuse

German above all time high last night, usa all days on new record, china going up >10% with in week, japan going up non stop for some time...yen 121/usd, ringgit 4.471/usd...oil in down cycle...so look like some kind of wild riding.....be careful guys cause the TA indicators all over the world suggesting the potential major trend change is just around the coner hiding behind China Japan stimulis and lastly EU QE.....

Hotrod

733 posts

Posted by Hotrod > 2014-12-06 16:23 | Report Abuse

crude and oil palm dropping :(

lim18

127 posts

Posted by lim18 > 2014-12-07 16:36 | Report Abuse

本来想買进这间公司,但是马股却在跌势中,看来还是再忍一忍,看多俩三个月,怎知道到时有更便宜的价位。留得青山在,不怕没股買。

nordimohd

1,870 posts

Posted by nordimohd > 2014-12-07 20:54 | Report Abuse

gadang is suppose to make better profit due to cheap oil...so y drop so much... may be it will rebound so so much much...kikiki

jeffrey6

23 posts

Posted by jeffrey6 > 2014-12-07 22:37 | Report Abuse

how does gadang benefit from cheap oil? please enlighten.

nordimohd

1,870 posts

Posted by nordimohd > 2014-12-08 00:42 | Report Abuse

in general most mechineries will use disel so less disel price vs same contract value equal to extra profit...same to TENAGA less oil cost, pchem less feed stock cost, pdagang less raw oil cost, pgas less gas importing price...etc..

Posted by Hue Woon Yang > 2014-12-08 15:13 | Report Abuse

Before i buy this share on rm1.90...now drop till rm1.42... i feel very luck..cause i sold very early...even though loss abit...luckly no hold long....haha

k8118k

981 posts

Posted by k8118k > 2014-12-08 15:14 | Report Abuse

hovering @1.77 before it drop to current price

kansan5423

279 posts

Posted by kansan5423 > 2014-12-15 09:17 | Report Abuse

Can Buy to average down ?.....

Kukuman

2,118 posts

Posted by Kukuman > 2014-12-16 01:12 | Report Abuse

stupid question. buy because you believe in the company and not because the share price dropped or up.

Posted by maunkulopdollah > 2014-12-16 01:18 | Report Abuse

Unisem is performing well. In volatile market still maintain the uptrend.,

apini

1,445 posts

kancs3118

2,266 posts

Posted by kancs3118 > 2014-12-17 07:59 | Report Abuse

Hi guys, total newbie here. Just wanna ask a few questions before catching the falling knife.
(1): Since Gadang is in the construction industry, is there any risk of bad debts? I think Gadang is actually taking projects from the government and not from independent third party?
(2): Who is the subcontractor for Gadang's property division? I think given that Gadang is a contractor / it maybe building its own properties rather than finding a sub-contractor to build its own properties?

Posted by wongchowsang > 2014-12-17 14:55 | Report Abuse

hello, remember RM1.20 story, today u buy gadang going to north, forget about oil

gift

397 posts

Posted by gift > 2014-12-17 16:23 | Report Abuse

wongchowsang, long time no see. I thought you are hiding. The price might possibly jump down to 1.00. Any prices are possible in the current market.

Invest123

1,633 posts

Posted by Invest123 > 2014-12-17 19:29 | Report Abuse

Price might continue to go up.

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2014-12-18 15:12 | Report Abuse

gift, don't worry. fundamental still strong, I am still holding tight. had add some @1.20. treat gadang as your own business, market can move up or down, but we don't sell our share cheap if the business is still good.
we don't know how the price moves but we are very confident gadang can make 75M PBT for FY 2015.

apini

1,445 posts

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2014-12-18 15:18 | Report Abuse

up happy, see some capital gain, down also , more capital gain later. so if you don't sell, up or down just look only. not real money. but I am waiting for RM3.00 . then I got big money and can donate some, about 10% - 30% to charity. hahaha........

SJSOON

2,579 posts

Posted by SJSOON > 2014-12-19 13:26 | Report Abuse

Apini, you are ABSOLUTELY right.

laotze

2,662 posts

Posted by laotze > 2014-12-19 13:35 | Report Abuse

up to around 1.45

nordimohd

1,870 posts

Posted by nordimohd > 2014-12-21 11:38 | Report Abuse

tired of reading n writing....just leave market alone take it course...well no worry eventually the bull will win...

laotze

2,662 posts

Posted by laotze > 2014-12-22 11:56 | Report Abuse

Why going up also tire

laotze

2,662 posts

Posted by laotze > 2014-12-22 17:17 | Report Abuse

One more day up

laotze

2,662 posts

Posted by laotze > 2014-12-23 11:27 | Report Abuse

Going to rebound soon

Collin Soo

900 posts

Posted by Collin Soo > 2014-12-26 16:08 | Report Abuse

very low trading volume!

laotze

2,662 posts

Posted by laotze > 2014-12-26 17:49 | Report Abuse

UP

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2014-12-29 19:49 | Report Abuse

After dingdong dingdong for sometime and for so many counter, at the end stay put at gadang still the best. So my new year strategy is not to listen to those idiots boasting how much how fast they have earn big money. We just stay put at our most love and go holiday with your loves ones. God like you treat gadang as your own business. Other business may look nice. But gadang still my best choice.

yoonhuei

18 posts

Posted by yoonhuei > 2014-12-29 22:18 | Report Abuse

What other nice business other that Gadang ???

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-12-29 22:24 | Report Abuse

Apini same here

Gadang my core holding

God bless Gadang

mbge7clt

755 posts

Posted by mbge7clt > 2014-12-29 22:34 | Report Abuse

pls explain why gadang is the best?

ACELEE

175 posts

Posted by ACELEE > 2015-01-08 08:56 | Report Abuse

Gadang WA will be a better buy even though it will expire on Sept 2015.We wait and see.

gift

397 posts

Posted by gift > 2015-01-08 13:56 | Report Abuse

Gadang WA will be more attractive if Capital21 has good sales and reflect the profit in the next quarter.

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-01-08 21:44 | Report Abuse

Added another 10k for more capital gain later. I enjoy trading gadang, up happy got capital gain. Down also happy can buy low for more capital gain later, ev/ebit only 3.8, good buy. With contribution coming in from capital city and plantation, I think kok onn is not talking syok sendiri to give more dividend in the near future.
Sifu cold eye said, if you dare not top up if the price get cheaper, then don't invest in that company and do not be that fearful to sell a business cheap. Nobody knows how the price going to move but we know end of this month it is going to release good 2Q result. EPS 5.1 sen

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-01-08 21:48 | Report Abuse

End of this month ?

Oh ya, time to add more

bluefun

643 posts

Posted by bluefun > 2015-01-08 21:58 | Report Abuse

agreed with you apini. I like ur statement "up happy got capital gain. Down also happy can buy low for more capital gain later," Quarterly result will be release at the end of this month. hoping that result is favorable and moving up the price :) buy share is you invest in that company, is for long term investment :)

gift

397 posts

Posted by gift > 2015-01-09 10:35 | Report Abuse

last year 2nd quarter's eps was 4.20. Last quarter was already 4.41. It shouldn't be a problem to increase more than 4.20. The NTA will be at least 1.60 . Now is 1.35. Can buy more.....

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-01-09 11:20 | Report Abuse

What I care most is the company is still doing well and they pay us more dividend as promised . let's pray they declare some dividend this quarter, then we can spend with our family and live well.
my investment strategy is buy a good share at a good price, dividend is mine , capital gain/loss is my children's. think simple and made it simple why so stressful?
if you are young you still have a lot of time to earn big, if you are old, then it should be "dividend is mine , capital gain/loss is my children's." up my children make money, down my children lose money, give dividend , I make money. but you must invest carefully and wisely so that at the end it is WIN-WIN.

kancs3118

2,266 posts

Posted by kancs3118 > 2015-01-09 12:20 | Report Abuse

@ apini,
really like the way you put it....
------------------------------------------------------------------
What I care most is the company is still doing well and they pay us more dividend as promised . let's pray they declare some dividend this quarter, then we can spend with our family and live well.
my investment strategy is buy a good share at a good price, dividend is mine , capital gain/loss is my children's. think simple and made it simple why so stressful?
if you are young you still have a lot of time to earn big, if you are old, then it should be "dividend is mine , capital gain/loss is my children's." up my children make money, down my children lose money, give dividend , I make money. but you must invest carefully and wisely so that at the end it is WIN-WIN.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Month end, when salary masuk and if the price stays below RM1.40, i will gasak Gadang.

bluefun

643 posts

Posted by bluefun > 2015-01-09 18:30 | Report Abuse

kancs3118, u should buy Gadang within this 2 weeks. Quarterly result will be release at the end of Jan, never be too late. :)

Posted by lepaklangkawi > 2015-01-09 21:02 | Report Abuse

making good $$ but as usual, being Malaysian, super stingy wit divvy

super stingy wit divvy not makey happy stock price

Protasco & Crecsendo reward shareholder ... stock p also up....

kancs3118

2,266 posts

Posted by kancs3118 > 2015-01-10 00:24 | Report Abuse

one thing i learn from the stock market - this is a bear market - take your time....don't rush

18,659 posts

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-01-10 10:32 | Report Abuse

In the star today

kancs3118

2,266 posts

Posted by kancs3118 > 2015-01-10 14:05 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2015/01/10/Gadang-adopts-cautious-outlook-for-this-year-Company-to-focus-on-Rapid-jobs-in-the-interim/?style=biz

Even Kok Onn himself admitted that he is not overly bullish about clinching more construction jobs this year (2015). So, no hurries to jump in and buy immediately. As long as the price stays below RM1.40, there is no hurries to buy.

One lesson i learn from both SymLife and GOB...and probably will stay with me for the rest of my life.

spinoff

32 posts

Posted by spinoff > 2015-01-10 17:29 | Report Abuse

I try to study why Mr. cold eye invest in Gadang.

Refer to company quarterly & annual report and The sun news on 20 Nov 2014 http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1232808

Total Current asset:559M
Total debt: 351M

Net book value on Properties: 116M

Worst case valuation=559-351+116=324M

The company estimate 2015 profit before tax(PBT)= 75M

I assume 10% PBT for RM1.3B order book finish on 2016 which means total PBT RM130M for 2015-2016. Look closed to company estimated figure 75M.

Based on market price RM1.35/share means you need to pay about RM333M to buy the whole company.

You pay RM333M now and within 2 years you can get about RM130M. (about 40% return regardless any potential gain from property, utility and plantation)

And free upside of “a few billion ringgit worth of projects” tender.

spinoff

32 posts

Posted by spinoff > 2015-01-10 17:42 | Report Abuse

My analysis limitation/risk:

1) wrongly estimate 10% PBT for RM1.3B order book
I think 10 % profit is quite reasonable estimation (welcome any opinion?? )

2)Government want immediately stop the RM1.3 project such as MRT Kota Damansara- Dataran sunway because oil keep dropping and government lack of money
But the project had been start to construct.

3)Property sector loss money even construction earning no enough to cover the loss then erosion the worst case valuation RM324M

welcome any different opinion

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-01-10 19:28 | Report Abuse

spinoff,
you make me feel rich and excited. I am going to switch slowly very slowly, as advised by kancs3118, my 200k shares of scable to gadang. hahaha.......

apini

1,445 posts

Posted by apini > 2015-01-10 19:35 | Report Abuse

icon888,
thank for your reminder (thestar).
kok onn is telling the truth. this is the situation facing by all the construction companies. he did not "che da pao", so our money is in the safe hand. hahaha.......