OLDTOWN BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): OLDTOWN (5201)

10 people like this.

2,545 comment(s). Last comment by haziqaz 2024-01-26 14:28

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-10-03 14:40 | Report Abuse

OLDTOWN going to open kiosk branch at KLCC signature food court. The business must be good bcoz this food court always full of office-working people and tourists during lunch and dinner time ;)

kenlee

2,808 posts

Posted by kenlee > 2012-10-08 10:59 | Report Abuse

the private placement is bad ?

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-08 11:16 | Report Abuse

@TAN Kian Wei, It is just a better way to present the "Goodwill" PAID for the subsidiary by the Holdings when they form the GROUP for listing purposes.

Year 2010 - Subsidiary = RM4.00
Year 2011 - Subsidiary = RM290,452,291.00

Just imagine, if this is not presented in Equity as "Reserve", the the Equity value will be higher by RM222m and the corresponding entry will be GOODWILL higher by RM222m.

Existing Goodwill = RM25.6m
If RM222m added into it, Goodwill = RM247.6m

No one like to invest in a company with such a BIG GOODWILL on Balance Sheet. OLDTown and its auditors found a valid and good reason to justify the accounting entry to make the books looks good.

Refer Page 77 & 112 of the Annual Report 2011.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-08 14:42 | Report Abuse

When a Group being crystallized for listing purposes, the so-called 'subsidiary' asset will be injected into the Group at higher price.

Therefore, the existing shareholders of the 'subsidiary' will be enriched.

I guess this is the main purpose of many company being listed.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-08 14:55 | Report Abuse

Note 7 (page 68) can not be read as "Cost of Sales".

Because it consists of more than "Cost of Sales"... it include the
1)Selling and distribution expenses
2)Administrative and general expenses

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-09 09:41 | Report Abuse

@Tan, I am not OLDTOWN fan, neither for its coffee or shares. I just read the AR for your questions. Accountant by profession, preparer for Annual Report/Quarter Report, so I know how to read a bit faster than normal people.

OLDTOWN is overvalued, for me - a subjective topic. Good luck and good investment for those who made money from this coffee company.

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-10-09 11:28 | Report Abuse

I would like to share investment knowledge for investor here. For company success thru BRANDING, their value normally higher than those doing normal biz, retail biz. For example : Coke cola, Dutch Lady, Calsberg. With 189 OLDTOWN branch in Msia now, most in strategic location. i believe still have potential to further expand their biz, targeting 350 OLDTOWN branch (KFC have up to 500 branch in Msia.)

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-09 11:30 | Report Abuse

There are always believers on both sides... therefore you have buyer and seller.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2012-10-09 11:34 | Report Abuse

for those wanna invest in oldtown, why dont go to oldtown restaurant have a meal and drink some of it famous coffee?

if you feeling good , you are good, your investment will be good.

if you feeling no good, then.. figure it out yourself ;)

SJSOON

2,576 posts

Posted by SJSOON > 2012-10-09 12:05 | Report Abuse

Oldtown business sounds impressive and have good prospects. However, it is hard to raise Malay Muslims' preferences on its products, comparing to KFC and McDonald.

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-09 13:39 | Report Abuse

wondering will the penetrate to China market is a good move and will success?

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-09 15:16 | Report Abuse

For layman, "Reserve arising from restructuring" = Reserve on Consolidation.

Goodwill only be recognised when it is 'purchased' and internally generated can't be captured as "Goodwill".

Effectively, for investor, Reserve arising from restructuring or Reserve on Consolidation is as good as Goodwill.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-09 15:19 | Report Abuse

China Story? How many Malaysia company make it?

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-15 10:30 | Report Abuse

Goodwill also subjected to Impairment Test. One day, OLDTOWN may have huge losses due to impairment of goodwill (when company don't do well)(a double jeopardy).

Yes, looks better when Goodwill is smaller.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-15 10:51 | Report Abuse

Best part of it, NO.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-15 11:10 | Report Abuse

Investors pay millions for Investment Bankers to design a good package mah...

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-18 07:57 | Report Abuse

wondering why many are loving in padini instead of oldtown. Both the PE is same 13.xx base on today's price and EPS about the same at 14.xx cents but oldtown has cash on hand of 53,974,000 whil padini only 6,325,000. Think may be padini has long history, and Oldtown is new. But to me, new company with proper management still better if net cash control in proper. Dont know.

hw0706

826 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2012-10-18 08:11 | Report Abuse

coffee market too crowded and the company is new and a lot of the outlet is empty.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2012-10-18 08:24 | Report Abuse

the instant coffee is okay, but the restaurant is bad.

Cash is just a number, if it is so important, those china stock also wont trade below their cash per share la.

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-18 08:30 | Report Abuse

I see. now only i know

Melvin Gan

601 posts

Posted by Melvin Gan > 2012-10-18 12:23 | Report Abuse

The management need to fully utilize the cash in hand rather than having it sleeping in their account. Good management are paid to find potential earning opportunity for investors rather den showing people " Hey look at me, i have that much cash in hands,
i'm rich, so park your money here!"

cheeseburger

2,860 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2012-10-18 13:46 | Report Abuse

i think a company will need free cash flow in hand for turn around. If all cash locked up into investment they will tied up when cash flow is needed in operation.

hw0706

826 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2012-10-18 13:50 | Report Abuse

yeap. restaurant is bad.

chin yin

15 posts

Posted by chin yin > 2012-10-18 14:03 | Report Abuse

I am not a shareholde here yet, but I am a coffee fan. I went quite a number of their outlets and only 1 comment.. Service is really bad. No proper training I presume. More or less same kind of mistake they made. Really need to improve. Hehe... is only my opinion.

davidraja

60 posts

Posted by davidraja > 2012-10-18 14:26 | Report Abuse

Dun think they have one yet.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2012-10-18 17:21 | Report Abuse

KFIMA RM1.95 with RM0.95 per share.

If they keep talking about cash cash cash... it is an excuse to ask retail investor to buy.

I go Paparich now, better taste, 'almost' same price for coffee.

kklee

10 posts

Posted by kklee > 2012-10-18 17:23 | Report Abuse

I went to the outlet at UU Park in Guangzhou back in May 2012. Business is pretty good, almost full house during the weekend. I didn't dine there, but just to check out how well Oldtown is being accepted by the chinese there, before I buy in.

cheeseburger

2,860 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2012-10-21 08:37 | Report Abuse

This is a franchise business, outlet services is manage/control by individual business operation owner, not Oldtown...

cheeseburger

2,860 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2012-10-25 14:54 | Report Abuse

Nice one, the coffee is brewing again...

Posted by Zamsaham Norizam > 2012-10-27 14:47 | Report Abuse

Masih ada kekuatan NAIK...with support level at Rm1.80..thurday closed 1.97

Posted by danielttoob > 2012-11-01 23:10 | Report Abuse

Any prospect for this stock??

Posted by Lee Szed Kee > 2012-11-06 21:01 | Report Abuse

This stock have the growth potential with expansion oversea ESP in china and Indonesia.hope the management get it right

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-11-19 03:13 | Report Abuse

Nice--)uptrend mode. TP2.31 by OSK on 14/9/12. Wait T+3. Smile--)

Posted by yikchee2 > 2012-11-26 18:38 | Report Abuse

OLDTOWN's proposed new private placement is quite now. Share price doesn't move at all...

Posted by sixteenblue > 2012-11-29 08:38 | Report Abuse

"Oldtown registers RM14.97m pre-tax profit"
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/214603.jsp

Posted by mysterious99 > 2012-11-29 11:50 | Report Abuse

OSK revised the TP...RM 2.60... :)

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-11-29 11:53 | Report Abuse

Nice--)duit mashuk.smile--)

SJSOON

2,576 posts

Posted by SJSOON > 2012-11-29 14:13 | Report Abuse

Sabar sabar dulu. Tunggu lepas PR13 baru masuk. Lepas UMNO mesyuarat agung, sama masa yang dinanti-nantikan.....Sekarang beli, tak baloi...nanti BN kalah, kami pun rugi.

Posted by martiniclub7 > 2012-11-30 16:10 | Report Abuse

it is on the move!!

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2012-11-30 16:15 | Report Abuse

shariah compliant stock :)

after QSR & KFC delisted soon, only choices left are oldtown & bjfood

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2012-12-03 10:54 | Report Abuse

this one not behaving well....knn..don't run too fast

messiBarca

598 posts

Posted by messiBarca > 2012-12-03 12:01 | Report Abuse

what blowing news?

passerby

2,877 posts

dumb123

41 posts

Posted by dumb123 > 2012-12-03 14:14 | Report Abuse

would regard the syariah compliance as very boosting news, coupled with the latest improved quarter financial report and dividend announcement, and overseas business expansion. very bright future in this stock indeed..

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-12-03 16:07 | Report Abuse

nice--)potential uptrend mode.wait T+3.smile--)

Posted by martiniclub7 > 2012-12-03 22:49 | Report Abuse

better collect some while u can.. mite reach 2.20 end of this month or at least till dividen ex date..Best that it has low political risk..

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2012-12-03 22:53 | Report Abuse

few days ago i bought oldtown hazelnut white coffee, taste okok only... when i check the ingredient, it doesnt really have the real hazelnut, only artifact flavoring lol...

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2012-12-04 18:16 | Report Abuse

lol, people go there drink white coffee la, who ask you go there drink hazelnut coffee ? :)

if wanna drink hazelnut coffee - coffee bean one not bad

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2012-12-04 18:19 | Report Abuse

yea, i everyday go to oldtown to drink white coffee, wont miss one, come rain or shine (like now it's raining but i m at oldtown sipping my coffee);.. my 18 year old daughter likes to drink hazelnut at oldtown.. come to think of it, i should buy oldtown shares since i'm contributing a lot to their coffer.. on a daily basis!

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2012-12-04 18:41 | Report Abuse

someone recommend me to try the oldtown hazelnut white coffee... in this forum.

go oldtown restaurant to drink their longkang water?

hahaha gimme a break.....