CATCHA DIGITAL BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CATCHA (0173)

-0.005 (1.45%)

0.335 - 0.34

2,922 comment(s). Last comment by Income 5 days ago

jwarren

34 posts

Posted by jwarren > 2013-11-25 14:22 | Report Abuse

reply to zamsaham - This place is a good platform for investors/traders to share knowledge. I hope your statement that lowyat.net will be floated in 2015 is not a "joke".

Paul Tan

146 posts

Posted by Paul Tan > 2013-11-26 09:58 | Report Abuse

whkwoon - based on catcha prospectus, the target set in the sales representation agreement for lowyat.net is an aggregate of 90 million ringgit from 2011 to 2014. that is 22.5 million a year. quite far off from your 15 million per month figure.

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-26 10:12 | Report Abuse

Just estimate figure some are free advertisement given to personal , ie each person can advertise one item for 3 months for free. for companies of multiple advertisement they charges a block of RM100.00 for 20 items, some companies have fast moving items they replacement will be charges at RM5.00 per item they may advertise as much as 1000 item per mths., Carlist charges RM100.00 per advert. How is the charges by Catcha?

Paul Tan

146 posts

Posted by Paul Tan > 2013-11-26 10:15 | Report Abuse

Are you talking about the marketplace area? Isn't that free to post?

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-26 10:46 | Report Abuse

go to "mudah.com.my" and place your advertise - you have properties, car, job any mony more etc

Paul Tan

146 posts

Posted by Paul Tan > 2013-11-26 10:51 | Report Abuse

are you talking about lowyat.net or mudah now?

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-11-26 12:47 | Report Abuse

hahaha..i just went to the moon but i want to share the info about my kampung..oooh no no i am talking about Paris and you can fly to Japan from my old house...confused?

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-27 13:23 | Report Abuse

drop again...

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-27 13:26 | Report Abuse

losing money now...worth to hold? No news about the quarterly result yet

hueyyng27

298 posts

Posted by hueyyng27 > 2013-11-27 19:01 | Report Abuse

me on losing too but it is a good company to hold and I believe it will hit target price of 0.90

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-27 20:09 | Report Abuse

today i bought @.72 hope tmr announce good result

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-28 20:04 | Report Abuse

net loss

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-28 20:06 | Report Abuse

Finish liao this useless company... profit drops like hell

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-28 20:07 | Report Abuse

All in red, cut losses tomorrow...

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 09:12 | Report Abuse

keep dropping runnnnning

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2013-11-29 09:20 | Report Abuse

i dont understand why people want to buy this counter when the directors are disposing.

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 09:47 | Report Abuse

There are many reason why directors selling their shares - most directors have high borrowing they need to redeem their loan, in some case they sell in their share to deceive that the company is not doing well , but in fact he is buying more than what he sell but under third party account. Some sell their shares and hope to buy back at a low price without loss control of the company.

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-29 09:49 | Report Abuse

but with poor financial result, it is not worth to hold its share...perhaps will drop below 0.60?

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2013-11-29 09:51 | Report Abuse

lol, you believe that?

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 09:59 | Report Abuse

As long as the business is intact the losses may be temporary , Catcha takeover say.com only completed in 8th Oct 2013, Result can only be shown the next quarter . Happy Trading Haikeyila

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2013-11-29 10:01 | Report Abuse

all the best. RHB still sticking to their 0.96 target, lol.

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 10:19 | Report Abuse

iProperty Group Ltd, listed on the Australian stock exchange, is now a RM1bn company but the key challenge remains - to turn around its business. The Kuala Lumpur-based iProperty, founded and controlled by online investment firm Catcha Group, owns and operates several property websites in Asia. However, it has been incurring losses since it was listed in 2007. Between 2008 and 2012, it posted losses in the range of A$719,000 to A$2.94m (RM2.1m-RM8.8m). Growth in earnings per share excluding extraordinary items dropped 31.8% yoy.

Catcha Group said that iProperty's online advertising business has expanded over the last six years. iProperty now serves over 4.1m property seekers per month and works with more than 20,000 real estate agents and 300 property developers across Asia. (BT)

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 10:24 | Report Abuse

The market value of iCar Asia’s shares held by Catcha Media, which is quoted in ASX, is
approximately RM127.701 million as at 30 September 2013

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-29 10:42 | Report Abuse

surprising still manages to attract some buying interest at current level...i thought it will slump below 0.60...may be not today but next week..soon to come

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 11:15 | Report Abuse

Their investment in iCar Asia's shares price is more than the mkt capital of Catcha, is they disposal the icar we can get more than a dollar back.

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-29 11:30 | Report Abuse

probably what u said is correct but with the unpromising financial result no investor will have confident on this company. Moreover, we cant foresee the future...

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2013-11-29 11:55 | Report Abuse

all they talk about until now is that iCar investment. same with HauteAvenue which is pretty much a dead business. In the last 10 quarters, they have registered losses in 8. How much cash does the company still have?

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 12:00 | Report Abuse

Some company deferred report their profit to keep the price down so that they can slow collect from the market, just look at HL Capital , keeping the profit low for years now push up the shares prices and report good profit. from as low at Rm1.20b to today at RN9.30 just a period of one year!!

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2013-11-29 12:05 | Report Abuse

but the directors are disposing! wow, what an illusion.

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-29 12:05 | Report Abuse

i guess that is your own assumption, one size doesnt fit all...that is HLCap situation with low profit but not losses...the hardcore fact is catcha recorded huge losses with little cash in hand, just nice to cover the losses incurred...ur assumption doesnt apply on catcha...

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-29 12:07 | Report Abuse

if catcha recorded lower profit, i still can convince myself to hold catcha shares for long term..but not with losses, huge losses

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 12:25 | Report Abuse

Catcha only finish their restructuring in Oct 2013, you cannot use the past result to compare. we can only know the true result after the next 6 to 9 months. Grand Flo enjoy rapid growth for pass few years now suddenly report loss, can you explain?

Posted by yeechachoon > 2013-11-29 12:43 | Report Abuse

RHB expects the 4th quarter earning will also in red...losses will be widened to -RM6.5m...i think the best timing to buy this stock is only after the 4th quarter result as RHB "THINK" (they also not sure) better earning in FY 2014...

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-11-29 20:41 | Report Abuse

Catcha have quality directors and shareholders . business sometimes depand of ecomonic cycle , vision and forsignt of the CEO. This is their first resturcturing exerise , we shall wait and see their perfornance.

Eddy Khoo

17 posts

Posted by Eddy Khoo > 2013-12-09 10:18 | Report Abuse

Anyone know why in my Share app the stock name is Catcha Media Berhad MYR 0.10..?
What does MYR 0.10 means?

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 17:13 | Report Abuse

iBUY. ASX

The prospectus proposes that Catcha Group will own 25.1 percent of shares in iBuy, with Dealguru taking up 22.1 percent, Buy Together getting 11.9 percent, and the rest going to convertible note holders (8.2 percent) and new shareholders (32.7 percent). The total market capitalization would be around A$113 million ($100 million).

Furthermore, Australian institutional investors have a reputation for being more tech-savvy and open to buying shares in technology companies than their counterparts. Australia as a whole is generating far more e-commerce sales than Singapore and Malaysia combined ($31 billion versus $1.7 billion), despite only having four times the population size of Singapore and about seven million people less than Malaysia.

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-12-11 20:14 | Report Abuse

what does is mean - good or not good , I reminder DIGI was also lossing money when it first listed in KLSE.

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 22:31 | Report Abuse

in August 2013

Possible privatisation

Grove and his team at Catcha Media have been toying with the idea of going private if the company’s share price continues to languish.

The company’s shares saw post-election interest in line with the broader market, hitting a high of 71.5 sen on May 20.

“But we still view it as undervalued, that is anything less than RM1,” Grove says, adding that it is not a short-term concern.

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 22:34 | Report Abuse

Catcha Media has four businesses — publishing, online media, e-commerce and online classifieds. For its financial year ended Dec 31, 2012, only publishing and online classifieds were profitable.

For Catcha Media, the e-commerce business has been registering the most losses. In FY2012, it registered a pre-tax loss of RM11.13 million. Grove expects the business to be profitable by year-end. “By the end of this year, losses in the e-commerce segment will be gone.”

This segment comprises Catcha Media’s Dealmates.com and hauteavenue.com.

“It is the nature of this business that one needs to lose money for about three to four years before breaking even,” says Grove.

“Initially, there are a lot of payment and delivery systems, and the technology needed — these are all costs we have to bear. It takes a while to build up customers to cover those costs.”

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 22:36 | Report Abuse

DESPITE an uncertain landscape for online businesses, Catcha Media Bhd has attractive prospects and big plans ahead. For one, it is targeting earnings of RM10 million within the first year of a joint venture (JV) with Says.com, owned by Youth Asia Sdn Bhd, to create what it considers to be one of the largest digital advertising businesses in Malaysia.

In mid-July, Catcha Media announced that it had formalised a RM23 million merger with Youth Asia that would see it inject its publishing and digital businesses into the JV. Catcha Media will have a 70% stake in the JV, while Youth Asia will hold the other 30%. The name of the new entity is being kept under wraps for the time being.

“In the media world, it’s all about getting scale,” says Catcha Media co-founder and chief executive Patrick Grove. According to him, Catcha Media has a reach of eight million Malaysians a month, while Says.com has six million. Collectively, the JV will have over 500 clients.

“Coming together as a merged entity will allow us to go for an initial public offering (IPO) [for the digital advertising business],” says Grove, noting that Catcha Media will have to complete the integration of the companies first.

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 22:40 | Report Abuse

Following the completion of the merger between certain Catcha Media Berhad (Catcha Media) subsidiaries and Says Sdn Bhd on Oct 8, a new company, Rev Media Equity Holdings Sdn Bhd (Rev Asia), has been formed.

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 22:42 | Report Abuse

DIGITAL media group Rev Media Equity Holdings Sdn Bhd (Rev Asia), established by the merger of select Catcha Media Berhad subsidiaries and Says Sdn Bhd on Oct 8, said it has started executing its first integrated content marketing and advertising campaign.

The RM1-million (US$314,000) campaign with Heineken (a brand under Guinness Anchor Marketing Sdn Bhd) will be in support of the annual Heineken Thirst event, which takes place Dec 14 at the Sepang International Circuit - See more at: http://www.digitalnewsasia.com/media/newly-created-revasia-gets-rm1mil-campaign-with-heineken#sthash.6XcTQRIY.dpuf

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-11 22:47 | Report Abuse

Malaysia and Singapore-based entrepreneur Patrick Grove will acquire a number of flash sales businesses in Hong Kong, Singapore, and Malaysia through his company iBuy Group. He will then raise A$37m ($33m) by putting iBuy up for an initial public offering on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) before the end of this year. The proposed ticker is ‘IBY’. The companies being acquired are:

Dealguru, which owns Deal.com.sg (Singapore) and Mydeal.com.my (Malaysia), for $11m in cash and $23.28m in shares at the Offer price
Buy Together, which owns BeeCrazy.hk (Hong Kong), for $8.4m in cash and $12.6m in shares
Dealmates.com (Malaysia), part-owned by Patrick Grove’s Catcha Group, for $10m in cash

whkwoon

303 posts

Posted by whkwoon > 2013-12-12 19:45 | Report Abuse

You are good - where do you source your new & event ? I could not find the associates list in Australia - under what name which market capital of 1 Billion? As I say they got good shareholder & directors in the Company.

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2013-12-14 06:40 | Report Abuse

@insearch85 why you post all these irrelevant news? They are related to Catcha Group Ltd (Singapore), none related to Catcha Media Bhd (Malaysia), except Says.com!

Peter Chen

164 posts

Posted by Peter Chen > 2013-12-15 21:59 | Report Abuse

Catcha become outsourced partner of Mavcap to invest in Startup
http://aseantradinglink.blogspot.com/2013/12/catcha-become-outsourced-partner-of.html

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-16 11:43 | Report Abuse

thanks peter chen. a balanced report

insearch85

129 posts

Posted by insearch85 > 2013-12-16 12:09 | Report Abuse

ocpd, i posted 7 messages. 2 related to IBUY, 5 related Catcha Media. I am sorry, you may have read my posting on the Moon. Beware, Earth is dangerous, you may go back to the Moon...

Posted by primeragin > 2013-12-16 21:38 | Report Abuse

seem that catcha at the bottom-line (0.635).... i hope it can fly bit by bit....

ocpd

762 posts

Posted by ocpd > 2013-12-18 06:11 | Report Abuse

Insearch catcha media has no shares in dealmates and iproperty, maybe u r the one living in the moon?