FGV HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): FGV (5222)

+0.03 (2.63%)

1.14 - 1.18

35 people like this.

49,346 comment(s). Last comment by limch 1 day ago

Posted by Anak_Felda > 2017-11-15 14:44 | Report Abuse

We hate BN GST. If FGV RM 2.5 we can still tolerate. No FGV RM 2.5 mean hidup Pakatan?

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-15 14:48 | Report Abuse

EVO118, don't get me wrong, i also agree with your point. Indeed, FGV has no other business except making its current business as good as it can. To venture out and diversify, this can be done not in a big way, but with a small team and dedicated and fixed budget. Malaysian companies need more of such "R&D" money and explore and be creative. According to analysis by xyz..they found that Malaysian companies are top heavy in terms of returns to shareholders, compare to employees. So this is one way to correct it, do more R&D, which will boost all kinds of incomes for everyone.
If you refer to current production statistics of FGV, i reproduced below, you can see FGV is getting its mojo back.
Sep-17 Aug-17 Jul-17
9% 9% 12% Fresh Fruit Bunches
2% 6% 17% Crude Palm Oil Produced
2% 12% 23% Palm Kernel Produced

This is compared to year ago. When seen through a chart, production is highest in as many years. So we must give credit to the staffs, and i prefer to let them keep exploring.
Regarding Isa as political appointment, back in 2012 or earlier, it was pretty much still Tun M time, still kamcing with PM. So it seems PM just let him continue on, until he screwed up. That is PM style, he let you stay and do your job, regardless of your politics.
If you check EPF CEO now, he is very much Tun M guy, brought up by our ex BNM advise Nor Yakcop. Yet, najib let him and appointed him EPF boss.

EVO118

2,135 posts

Posted by EVO118 > 2017-11-15 15:02 | Report Abuse

Chaostrader. Sorry for the difference in opinion. If you want to start a new venture you start of with a business plan. well basic cost benefit analysis to see if you can make a profit & then present it to your banker for a loan to partly finance it. You will not get anywhere with your banker without a proper feasible business plan. Am are right? Nothing happens in the real world without proper cost benefit analysis. I didn't think he came fro the "UMNO University". I will leave it at that, I have said enoughon this & the market seems to be reacting the same way. It looks like it is going to be a long ride. At least it is FELDA & hopefully not much damage on FGV.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-15 16:07 | Report Abuse

EVO118
cost benefits analysis or whatever out there, can't be used all the time. In fact, they can lead to dangerous thinking, like what you are thinking. Sorry to say, but have you read the book by Tony Fernandes? Everyone say can't do low cost, yet now it seems like, everyone indeed can fly. If Tony do cost benefit analysis or whatever, we will not have Airasia and the many hundreds of competitors out there. No bank will lend him money, to whatever idea. When someone have an idea and they failed, doesn't mean the idea is bad. It could be execution. And as history prove to us many times, you often times fail, and many times at that. There is no such thing as sure win, guarantee to make money etc. So must let the leader try try something new too.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:14 | Report Abuse

FGV different from AA because it own lands. Airplanes when sold not valuable but not land which keep appreciating.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:15 | Report Abuse

Why IOI trade at high PE yet RM 4.4? Answer is value lie in its landbanks.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:18 | Report Abuse

Detractor may say FGV have LLA so cannot develop land. If ECRL must build on FGV oil palm estate so ECRL need to cancel?

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:25 | Report Abuse

B Plant recently announce want to buy Dutaland Sabah oil palm estate at RM 750 million nobody aware? If same valuation apply to FGV non-LLA oil palm estates how much does it worth if sell all oil palm estates?

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:25 | Report Abuse

CPO rebound.
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/derivatives/prices/

taepodong5

294 posts

Posted by taepodong5 > 2017-11-15 16:31 | Report Abuse

bad results expected....going to plunge...big.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:37 | Report Abuse

Azhar who bought after chairman appointment why never sell?

taepodong5 bad results expected....going to plunge...big.
15/11/2017 16:31

gcke

1,359 posts

Posted by gcke > 2017-11-15 16:37 | Report Abuse

@taepodong5 can somewhat agreed with you.There are still a number of legacy issues which are negative to the company that have yet to be resolved with firm hands.Moreover MSM's QR will still be sub-par.Will take sometimes for the positivity to comeback to this share counter before it can surpass the previous price level reached.

2.Normally,in most cases the market can anticipate what will be the QR outcome be like even before the announcement is made by the BODs.

Good luck and take care.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-15 16:38 | Report Abuse

taepodong5 you poor people? Why only comment here? No money to buy any share?

Posted by musliminms > 2017-11-15 16:55 | Report Abuse

The worst is over for FGV. I know Azhar will put things right as I had work with him before. I put my monthly saving on FGV shares.

Posted by pakatan_harapan2 > 2017-11-15 17:17 | Report Abuse

Johari: Malaysians need to be more financially literate to avoid scams
Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017/11/15/johari-malaysians-need-to-be-more-financially-literate-to-avoid-scams/#lJLp1PSqcDG1DFHL.99

Posted by pakatan_harapan2 > 2017-11-15 17:18 | Report Abuse

Johari how abt FGV scam IPO? How to know before buying?

EVO118

2,135 posts

Posted by EVO118 > 2017-11-15 18:17 | Report Abuse

GoodCompanies
I am not sure where you got your figures from. Back on the 31st Oct I posted the following:

Production of:
Fresh fruit branch : July 436,252MT, Aug 404,948MT, Sept 385,170MT
Rubber : July 440,656KG, Aug 366,059KG, Sept 247,723KG
CPO produced : July 289,208MT, Aug 283,261MT, Sept 272,227MT
Palm kernel produced : July 71,980MT, Aug 70,940MT, Sept 69,208MT
Not good. drop every month for the last 3 months in every category. That is a direct result of not having even a CEO. Hopefully somebody inside is looking into addressing these results for the next month.

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-11-15 19:37 | Report Abuse

FGV will rise from the once-hell-satan-governed-corporation.

Hope Datuk Z can bring more positiveness to FGV

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2017-11-15 20:30 | Report Abuse

The EU has recently rejected Msian & Indon palm oil ( worth in tune of RM billions )as it's not grown and produced in a sustainable way. Looks like Felda is not getting out of the shit hole anytime soon or later unless the incompetent government can get competent about this matter ..!

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-11-15 21:32 | Report Abuse

gerald, I read it was an discrimination act by the EU.

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-11-15 21:33 | Report Abuse

It also prompted from the burning fields by Indonesia/Malaysia that caused the environment issues that they rejected the oil palms.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-16 05:23 | Report Abuse

Coming QR should show PM Najib appointing Azhar as new chairman is better than Isa Samad.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-16 05:27 | Report Abuse

EVO118 July and Aug FFB output where got drop? Pls compare 1 year ago or even Apr-June'17. Perhaps Z reappointment as CEO in Oct'17 will see Oct'17 FFB jump back?

EVO118 GoodCompanies
I am not sure where you got your figures from. Back on the 31st Oct I posted the following:

Production of:
Fresh fruit branch : July 436,252MT, Aug 404,948MT, Sept 385,170MT
Rubber : July 440,656KG, Aug 366,059KG, Sept 247,723KG
CPO produced : July 289,208MT, Aug 283,261MT, Sept 272,227MT
Palm kernel produced : July 71,980MT, Aug 70,940MT, Sept 69,208MT
Not good. drop every month for the last 3 months in every category. That is a direct result of not having even a CEO. Hopefully somebody inside is looking into addressing these results for the next month.
15/11/2017 18:17

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-16 09:15 | Report Abuse

EVO118, you can't just take data for 3 months only and say production dropped. Palm production is seasonal..macam durian lah. There is high and low season. The peak recorded this year is the highest in as many years. So need to compare to same period, last year. When compared from last year, showed very good numbers. So i am betting, FGV quarter report will be big improvement. And this will coincide with election coming, probably in January, and we will have a killer stock.

EVO118

2,135 posts

Posted by EVO118 > 2017-11-16 09:56 | Report Abuse

GoodCompanies. Good comment and a reasonable assessment. Thank you.

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2017-11-16 11:07 | Report Abuse

GoodCompanies, with KLSE now trading at 1720++, gonna be hard for PM to call for GE14. Unless PM can pump up the index to 1800++, that would be more comfortable for him to call for election.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-16 11:30 | Report Abuse

Yes, it will be tough, so the window is closing, and more risk near the end of the term next year. So i expect election in January. Normally end of year, stocks tend to rise, so this is good opportunity to have it.

dam82

2,206 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2017-11-16 13:33 | Report Abuse

good opportunity to buy for long term .

Ring

6,522 posts

Posted by Ring > 2017-11-16 14:56 | Report Abuse

Cooperate exercise done for Sime n I&P next maybe fgv, now price drop, i feel politicians r collecting

Posted by Michael Wong Yew Kong > 2017-11-16 16:20 | Report Abuse

Hmmm break Rm1.80. I hav feeling tomorrow more worse. Heading back to Rm1.65 then only shoot up to Rm2 before call for GE14.? Just guessing.

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2017-11-16 16:55 | Report Abuse

Michael Wong, like your wild ' guess ' .! :-)

AdCool

3,864 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2017-11-16 17:02 | Report Abuse

market is telling that BN may lose the coming GE14. Else why keep going down after the mention of GE14 to be held within 6 months? GoodCompanies, you better go and clarify with your BN informants on what is PM going to do to address this?

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2017-11-16 17:06 | Report Abuse

Looks like the ' true ' effects of uncontrolled burning and toxic haze have finally caught up and is even felt by environmentally friendly and stern EU which are rejecting our export ... worth RM billions !! Stupid, reckless and greedy companies which caused this ..!!!

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-16 17:21 | Report Abuse

AdCool, no need to worry. BN is sure to win. After i read LKS plead people to try them lah, i know already. Besides, the power base is still in sabah and sarawak and the rural area. This areas are clearly support gov strongly. So no hope for PH. Bukan ini kalilah ....
Sime just reported, big profit increase in plantation division. And they are planning to list the plantation arm. So money must come out from FGV into that for those who want to join the IPO. I think bunch of shareholders will jump on it.
based on sime reports, FGV quarter result should be "good".

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-11-16 17:23 | Report Abuse

gerald, the field burning is part of the process to plant new oil palms. Most of the SEA oil palms are old already. Looks like it's not given a choice. In order to proceed for new plants, burn and clearing the plants is a must to do.

Maceve

286 posts

Posted by Maceve > 2017-11-16 18:55 | Report Abuse

Are other planters showing good result?

limch

3,262 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-11-16 22:00 | Report Abuse

Palm rises after 5 sessions of falls on technical correction
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/palm-rises-after-5-sessions-falls-technical-correction

ajibkor

168 posts

Posted by ajibkor > 2017-11-16 23:17 | Report Abuse

Ringgit rises to one-year high against the greenback
Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/11/16/ringgit-rises-to-oneyear-high-against-the-greenback/#vGvyeELM2d8XqBjH.99

ajibkor

168 posts

Posted by ajibkor > 2017-11-16 23:18 | Report Abuse

Ringgit rise good to reduce MSM sugar raw mat & FGV USD borrowing cost?

gcke

1,359 posts

Posted by gcke > 2017-11-16 23:50 | Report Abuse

Presently,our market sentiment is no good and can reasonably says poor.My mentor who had been in stock investing for more than 30 years cautioned me to stay away from the share market Bursa because of the prevailing and lingering uncertainties towards the calling for General Elections 14(GE-14).He advised to only invest back after the GE-14.Just to share.

Ring

6,522 posts

Posted by Ring > 2017-11-17 09:59 | Report Abuse

I think bottom over now uptrend

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-17 10:46 | Report Abuse

If everything so easy GE 14 would have been called earlier not wait full 5 years term.

Ring I think bottom over now uptrend
17/11/2017 09:59

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-17 11:18 | Report Abuse

Try Pakatan next 5 years. If not good return to BN.

rlch

4,142 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-11-17 11:22 | Report Abuse

I think FGV poor QR due to GST and CPO taxes although someone said otherwise.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-17 12:11 | Report Abuse

rlch,
GST and CPO taxes? That has no impact whatsoever. GST is old news, so is CPO. No change to the quarterly report from these. Even ringgit depreciation is now fully absorbed by the economy as can be seen by the strong expansion of GDP and exports. Try read more before you make simplistic comments.
Try pakatan? It has been tried. The result is not pretty. Huge budget deficit in selangor, all Khalid done is being reversed. Same in penang. And how about Tun M? Why you don't comment on that? We have tried Tun M, no need to test again.
If you don't like PM so much, who do you think should be next PM? DPM? Someone else? Think about it.
Have you read that Swak Report's Brown showed that money that PM so called 'received' is handed back to the sender? Did you read that part? If you have not, why don't you do so.

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2017-11-17 12:14 | Report Abuse

rlch, can you explain why LKS and LGE is still holding power in DAP? Someone told me that DAP constitution has term limits. Why don't DAPs try other people as leaders? Try lah, since you like to say try.

Posted by Michael Wong Yew Kong > 2017-11-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

So many punter take profit, hard to gap up.

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2017-11-17 15:52 | Report Abuse

Everyday I must eat sugar and cooking oil sure FGV gains.