Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-31 17:42 | Report Abuse

KLCI returned 10.3% in 2012. My investment returned 17.2%. What is yours?

102 comment(s). Last comment by aunloke 2013-01-04 14:32

bryan_su

645 posts

Posted by bryan_su > 2012-12-31 17:44 | Report Abuse

20% so far...

kahfiehlai

677 posts

Posted by kahfiehlai > 2012-12-31 18:00 | Report Abuse

TKW
So looking forwar can share u portfolio in 2013. Bolehkah?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 08:57 | Report Abuse

The purpose here is not to see who is the best performer for 2012, rather to find out what is the general performance of retail investors in the equity market in the past one year. Anyway how well the performance cannot be just judged by a year's return, rather how good one is in the long-term; 3 years, 5 years, 10 years. bryan's 20% is excellent as his return is twice the market return. TKW's 10% is not bad as it is in accordance to the market return. I am sure it is better than the average of unit trust by at least 3% as TKW didn't have to pay for many costs of investing in unit trusts. In my opinion, one good judgement whether one does better or not is the risk premium earned. In TKW's case, he earned 6.5% over the MGS rate of 3.5%. This risk premium earned is the upper reach of the historical risk premium.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 09:07 | Report Abuse

Malaysian Government Security. Treasury Bond rate

ktrader

1,846 posts

Posted by ktrader > 2013-01-01 09:09 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, what will happen to the conversion price of any call warrant whenever the underlying stock is adjusted due to special dividend? Will it be adjusted accordingly by the respective IB? tq..

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-01-01 10:28 | Report Abuse

Wah Tan, i think it is good return you get you know. if you invest 500K you get 50K, if you invest 1mil you get 100K. 100k annual income, some more tax free, dream of a lot of working class !! you retiring soon if you keeping up with this pace..

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-01-01 10:44 | Report Abuse

return of investment refers realized gain or unrealized gain?

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-01-01 10:59 | Report Abuse

Guess should be realized gain.

Assume mr A make 100k (return of 10%) and mr B make 10k (return of 30%). In reality , who actually can survive more comfortably ?

of course the percentage is important, but cash is still the king I think for those believe in cash flow, I can be wrong huh.

fankim

139 posts

Posted by fankim > 2013-01-01 10:59 | Report Abuse

realized gain - 5%
unrealized gain - 8%

11,113 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-01 11:00 |

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 11:04 | Report Abuse

tptan45, All realized or unrealized (paper) gain/loss are included. dividends must also include. For example roughly:
Money invested beginning of year RM100000
Dividends RM2000
Profit realized from buying and selling =20000
Paper gain/loss of existing shares= -10000
Gain = 2000+20000-10000 = 12000
Return= 12000/100000 = 12%

Anybody has a better way of measuring?

fankim

139 posts

Posted by fankim > 2013-01-01 11:17 | Report Abuse

ya .. Fat Cat Tim Buddy ... i followed your formula

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-01 11:31 | Report Abuse

im abit blurred moment ago, so i delete my previous comment, just in case i missing something, i doesnt want to blur someone else too..

so below is the formula...

(total unrealized and realized gain ) - ( total unrealized and realized loss ) = balance

(balance/total investment cost)*100 = your total investment gain or loss %

*dividends should be add into realized gain.

im not really sure of this, in case i missing somethings, please correct me, hopefully cpteh wont charge me on that lol...

Posted by littleshark > 2013-01-01 11:45 | Report Abuse

Im happy with what i hv achieved in year 2012. Aft calculating my portfolio unrealized net gain is ard 30%. Hv shift sm to Australia market for medium to long term investment. Yr 2013 will be a sensitive year for us facing coming election. Nd to monitor closely our bursa market.

Happy New Year everyone. Let this year be a blessing & joyful year fo all of us!

drsre

9 posts

Posted by drsre > 2013-01-01 11:51 | Report Abuse

33.4%;)) Safe trading and have a prosperous Happy New Year folks, Cheers.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 11:57 | Report Abuse

littleshark well done, you are better than Warren Buffet, just for one year. The trick is to do it consistently for say 3 years, 5 years, 10 years. Warren did it for more than 20 years. He is a superman though. But seriously you did very well. Can share how did you do it? Your process of investment, trading etc.
Nor forgetting fankim. You lost 13%. As I said your prowess in investing shouldn't be determined by just one year loss. Maybe your investment needs time to realize its potential. But did you do something wrong? Learn any lesson? Could you share with us? Learning lessons on making money and losing money in investment, to me, is equally important, if not more important for the later.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 12:04 | Report Abuse

33.4%! wow drsre! Another Warren, or may be John Paulson, Soros, Peter Lynch or may be Al Brooks. Could you share with us how did you do it?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-01 13:31 | Report Abuse

hmm.. after calculated all the number, my return is actually -6% , and im not ashamed of it, or not dare to speak it loud. lol..

i may.. sound like im in the market long time ago, but nope, i actually only have 1-2 years experience.

after experiencing and testing all kind of investing method, long story short, i found out that TA Chart predicting is pure bullsh!t.

the only steady way to gain in stock market ( in my observation ) is to spot a undervalue, promising future , dividend paying company, and then buy it as low as possible.

my biggest realized gain is from jcy, biggest realized loss is from Chua soi lek...

currently biggest unrealized gain is power roots , biggest unrealized loss is padini. hahaha..

so far this is my story and what i learned, how bout yours? :D

esegaban

1,311 posts

Posted by esegaban > 2013-01-01 13:40 | Report Abuse

Loss 30%....hope this year can gain some profit...still learning...

esegaban

1,311 posts

Posted by esegaban > 2013-01-01 13:41 | Report Abuse

Loss major in ingenco and nicorp....;(

Ryan Ng

7 posts

Posted by Ryan Ng > 2013-01-01 13:41 | Report Abuse

10.8% ROI for 2012. mostly from dividends except for a few trades.

reyes430

204 posts

Posted by reyes430 > 2013-01-01 13:43 | Report Abuse

I have started my investment with small capital whereas i have -4% of losses. I punt on few counters according to TA chart which number of lose is more than wins. Those left in my portfolio is having a small percentage of unrealized gain which is fundamentally sound. Would really like to learn from you guys to at least hit 10% gain on next year hehe

aryan

59 posts

Posted by aryan > 2013-01-01 13:58 | Report Abuse

If u have an unrealized gain of say 20% for stock A (non dividend stock)for year 2012 and stock A has an unrealized gain of say 10% for year 2013 and that's the only stock u are holding.How would u interpret your gain for end 2013? Don't mind sharing.

rich kueh

1,419 posts

Posted by rich kueh > 2013-01-01 14:05 | Report Abuse

10% returns. If not for over trade , it could be 30%. The few mega ipo save it all

reyes430

204 posts

Posted by reyes430 > 2013-01-01 14:07 | Report Abuse

Yea i have the same query as aryan, someone mind to share? thanks!

rich kueh

1,419 posts

Posted by rich kueh > 2013-01-01 14:08 | Report Abuse

For 2013, stick to Telco, oil and gas and small cap growth stocks

rich kueh

1,419 posts

Posted by rich kueh > 2013-01-01 14:08 | Report Abuse

For 2013, stick to Telco, oil and gas and small cap growth stocks

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-01 14:15 | Report Abuse

make 2 calculation?

1. initiate investment gain/loss %

2. yearly gain/loss%

but dont get yourself too confuse, i guess.. just keep it simple.

aryan

59 posts

Posted by aryan > 2013-01-01 14:18 | Report Abuse

In other words , should be a loss of 10% for 2013? Thanks anyway Fat Cat.

11,113 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-01 15:02 |

Posted by littleshark > 2013-01-01 15:27 | Report Abuse

Well 2012 is certainly an adventure for me being an amateur investor. Actually on earlier 1st half year i did suffer lost due to my inexperience&naive behaviour. Aft reading sm of investment books i hv learn the importance of sm investment tactics which i would lk to share here:
1) Always do research on the stock you are buying. Frankly speaking im a FA person so reading financial results esp quarterly financial report (EPS,,cash flow, debt ratio, dividend, NA, % of shh)
2) Buy speculative stock only when they are vy low price. U nd to study their volatility bcoz this type of stock normally hv a trend when they increase & decrease. So sorry to hear frm Esegaban that u suffer lost frm Ingenco. For ingenco i did mk quite a big gain as i bought quite a big quantity during their lowest time frm 0.04 to 0.09. Timing is important factor here.
3) Set a cut lost target & dont be afraid to cut lost. My mistake earlier on is due to my fear of cutting lost. It hurts to cut lost but it hurts more if u completely lost everythg. Safety cut lost margin is ard 10-20% depending on ur comfortability.

Actually im quite a risk taker as i prefer to buy growth ,undervalue &speculative stock. My portfolio consists of:
1) Undervalue & growth stock is meant for medium term. Potential stock with gd financial records&dividend payout,, acquisition plans for expansion, high chances of securing major contracts.
2) speculative is for short term trading when i can buy in big bulk when it is vy low price&kp selling once the price hike. I will sell part by part until 80% of the stock. Will juz keep only the remaining 20% as my realized gain is normally way more than that.

Hope i will be able to mk profit this year as well. To be able to mk profit consecutively is a long way to go. Let us share our knowledge hr&learn frm one another.

investor77

754 posts

Posted by investor77 > 2013-01-01 16:05 | Report Abuse

For 2012, I think I made some losses, maybe around 10 % from playing call warrants after the mother shares dropped .eg. Genting and Bursa, and not having the courage to cut losses, e.g. Fajar, Tong Herr, Digistar, YTL-Power, etc. Thus I became a long term investor !!

However, after attending T3B System, learnt the importance of cut loss to preserve capital. From the points given by Mr OOi, I think the advice given is very profound and useful, especially No 7. After using FA with TA, then only get some small gains, e.g. buying Air Asia at low before break peak, Prlexus and selling when TA shows overbought.

At this Forum, I think should be good if we mention specific stocks, like undervalued, growth stocks. Using RHB recognia system, many shares are deemed undervalued and have returns of over 100%, but they hardly moved, like Coastal, WTK, etc.

2013 would be more challenging as there are more uncertainties, but as most analysts mention, O & G, Telcos and Construction should be considred, especially those really at rock bottom due to election risk,e.g. IJM-wc at all time low and Gamuda -WD. Just my opinion.

As for speculative stocks, can try abit only, like Luster and Priva. Any comments.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-01-01 18:00 | Report Abuse

Around 45% , realized and unrealized.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 19:28 | Report Abuse

fat cat, lost 6%? Nothing to be ashamed of. I am sure you have learned valuable lessons from your mistakes. Knowing your mistakes will definitely improve your future endeavor. In fact I can see your results now; Power Roots, I am sure you have gained a lot. I still remember your strong recommendation when we talked about Apollo. Should have listened to you. Your the other holding in Padini should do well too in the future.

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-01-01 19:39 | Report Abuse

my first year in stock investing. taking into account realized loss and dividends, I'm still 10% under breakeven level. haha

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 19:41 | Report Abuse

esagaban, reyes430, don't get disappointed of your losses. Most knowledge and experience needs to pay tuition fees one. I am sure you know why you lose money by now and should change your way of investing. I lost money when I first went in the share market, listening to rumors, simply buy, following hot stocks etc. A good way to restart is to follow what Ooi says in the post as follows:
1.Buy good FA stocks and keep for at least 1 year - Winner
2.Buy small cap good FA stocks and walk away - Big Winner
3.Buy speculative stocks on Contra - Big loser until bankrupt
4.Buy stocks in margin account, never cut loss - Big loser
5.Buy stocks in margin account, take profit fast, cut loss slow - loser
6.Buy stocks strictly on TA - Small winner
7.Buy stocks base on FA, use TA to enter and exit - Big winner
8.Buy stocks and keep for a long period - Winner
9.Buy Blue chips and keep for a long period - Big Winner
10.Buy stocks fast, cut loss slow - Big loser
11.Buy FA or blue chips during bear market only - Big winner

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-01-01 19:45 | Report Abuse

However, I'm pretty certain that my portfolio are made up of good company stocks. just that the corresponding industries are not doing well at the moment

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 19:53 | Report Abuse

Posted by aryan > Jan 1, 2013 01:58 PM | Report Abuse
If u have an unrealized gain of say 20% for stock A (non dividend stock)for year 2012 and stock A has an unrealized gain of say 10% for year 2013 and that's the only stock u are holding.How would u interpret your gain for end 2013? Don't mind sharing.

For example investment in stock A RM10000
Gain in stock A in 2012=20%*10000=2000
Investment beginning in 2013=RM12000
If your gain in 2013 is 10% of the original investment of 10000,
Gain =10%*10000=1000
% gain in 2013=1000/12000=8.3%

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 19:54 | Report Abuse

Posted by rich kueh > Jan 1, 2013 02:05 PM | Report Abuse
10% returns. If not for over trade , it could be 30%.

Isn't there a good lesson to learn from above?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 20:02 | Report Abuse

Oop, something wrong with the calculation. Corrections here.
Gain end of 2012=2000
Value of stock beginning of 2013=12000
Value of stock end of 2013=10000+1000=11000
Lost in 2013=12000-11000=1000
Loss in 2013=1000/12000=8.3%

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 20:06 | Report Abuse

little shark and investor77, thanks for sharing your strategy. Good to follow. tptan, you got fantastic return. can share your strategy?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-01 20:08 | Report Abuse

fattytan, yah if you invest in good stocks, don't worry too much of short-term loss. Investing is a long-term endeavor.

aryan

59 posts

Posted by aryan > 2013-01-01 20:31 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, thanks for the explanation. looks like hv to work harder to spot good stocks.

albertlim

281 posts

Posted by albertlim > 2013-01-01 20:45 | Report Abuse

all in i just calculated 28% gain. Not bad... but certainly can do better.

11,113 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-01 21:09 |

albertlim

281 posts

Posted by albertlim > 2013-01-01 21:22 | Report Abuse

TQ sir,

OTB, honestly this is the first time I made above 20% ROI. I consider myself lucky. My plan worked well for me & certainly market bulls help too.

That person is promoting his tratle group here always. & he will never stop. i3 is his place for cari makan.... feel sorry for those who pay & watch him trade & as well listen to his analysis.

TQ again OTB.

Posted by optimuslyk > 2013-01-01 21:25 | Report Abuse

Hi all, thanks for all the sharing hrere. Certainly can learn something here. It Would be fantastic if all sifus here could also give some idea of the specific stocks to keep as watchlist.
Given the opportunity i.e time and price is right which are the top 5 stocks you would pick in these categories :
1) Blue chips
2) Small caps
3) Speculative
4) Undervalued but with promising future
5) Dividend paying

This would be a great start for all of us especially newbies like me having the opportunity to better our investment this year :)

investor77

754 posts

Posted by investor77 > 2013-01-01 21:39 | Report Abuse

Albert Lim, if you dont mind, can you please share with us, what strategy did you take that you got a fantastic return. What was your initial capital ?

Even Kenanga Growth Fund, a top performer, only gained ard 4%, as I bought some Unit Trust from them.

As an investor playing shares from 1980's and seeing ups and downs, it is definitely not easy to be consistent in making profits. Often times we hope to get Ang Pow, but the market takes the Ang Pows from you!! The mistake that I made is not cutting on losses, and selling too early good shares.
i. blue chips - Maybank
ii small caps - Pantech/ supermax ( glove sector good )
iii speculative - Luster, Priva
iv undervalued - Coastal, WTK ( thousand acres concession)
v Dividend Paying --Wellcall, MSNiaga. ( I feel better DY around FD rate of 3%, but with growth compared to high DY, but little growth, e.g JTI.Better is PresBhd- O & G sector )

11,113 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-01 22:01 |