Cathay's profits soar to HK$347m

Publish date: Wed, 13 Aug 2014, 11:51 PM

HONG KONG: Cathay Pacific said yesterday that its first-half net profit soared to HK$347 million (RM142.7 million) on higher passenger demand, but the Hong Kong flag carrier warned of a "challenging" outlook as surging competition held down fares.

The figure for the six months ending June 30 compared with a net profit of HK$24 million in the same period last year. Revenue in the reported period jumped 4.6 per cent to HK$50.84 billion.

But despite its upbeat performance, the blue-chip airline faces several challenges including persistently high jet fuel prices, said group chairman John Slosar.

"The operating environment for the Cathay Pacific group remains challenging," Slosar said in a filing to the Hong Kong Stock Exchange.

"On the plus side, we continue to strengthen our passenger network and the connections available through Hong Kong," he said.

Aviation analyst Daniel Tsang said the huge rise in net profits was on account of the airline's improving passenger operations, which contributed to a jump in revenues.

The airline's passenger revenue in the reported period was up 4.4 per cent to HK$36.52 billion, compared with the previous year, helped by the introduction of new long-haul routes to destinations such as Doha and Newark.

However, he said the airline will need to improve its passenger yields, a key measure of airlines' profitability, to maintain this earnings trend. AFP

Be the first to like this. Showing 3 of 3 comments

samira

hi dear,
how are you doing? i am samira,i saw your profile today
and it touches me to seek for your
hands in friendship, if only you
don't mind.
remember that in a true
relationship,nothing can obstruct
it. i am a honest girl and i wish to
have a sincere relationship with
you.
for more information and more
photo sharing,please contact
directly to my email address
(sjamal88@yahoo.com)
thanks for accepting to be my
friend.
expecting your respond!
from yours sincere friend...
samira..

2014-08-14 00:58

OtakGila

funny

2014-08-14 00:59

ykloh

mas should buy over cathay pac and/or sia to solve its problems, bcos these 2 airlines how to do the airline business.

2014-08-14 01:08