EPF dividend rate above par performance - Maybank

Publish date: Sun, 11 Feb 2018, 08:26 PM

KUALA LUMPUR: The dividend rate declared yesterday by the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) is an above par performance, especially considering that global interest rates are still below what is considered to be a "normal" interest rate environment, Maybank Group said.

Its Group President & Chief Executive Officer, Datuk Abdul Farid Alias described it as a very encouraging performance by the EPF to give a dividend rate higher than their target of two per cent above the inflation rate of 3.7 per cent last year.

Maybank group president & chief executive officer, Datuk Abdul Farid Alias. NSTP file pic/FARIZ ISWADI ISMAIL

"While we note the difference in dividend rate between the conventional and syariah accounts, we believe that with time and the availability of more Syariah-compliant investment instruments, the EPF will be able to achieve some level of parity in the returns for these accounts," he said in a statement today.

The EPF declared a dividend rate of 6.90 per cent for conventional accounts for 2017, with a payout amounting to RM44.15 billion and 6.40 per cent for Simpanan Shariah for 2017, with payout amounting to RM3.98 billion. - BERNAMA

Be the first to like this. Showing 10 of 10 comments

epf sold penny stocks to pay the dividend and let the bursa retailers suffer

2018-02-11 21:29

no wonder keep selling

2018-02-12 08:44

This year election year.
This is the election dividend.
Won't be surprise next year dividend be at 4%.
(4 + 6.9)/2 = 5.45% that is the more realistic figure for 2017 and 2018 payout.

You will be seeing EPF is going to 'explain' why dividend declare for 2018 be 4%.
Already paid in advance 1.45% ma.........

2018-02-12 09:11

GoodCompanies

You all saw it, yet nobody want to accept it? Stop thinking of negative things all the time.
Stocks and all has appreciated for the entire 2017. DJIA was up almost 30%. To me, EPF can pay more than 6.9% because of their oversized profit.
Next year is next year's story (i mean this year). Let's see how market performs this year and find out. Don't blame politics this and that so easily.

2018-02-13 11:41

sf chin

ROI 7.3%. Payout 6.9%. Who songlap 0.4%? Considering it is long term forced investment, one would be better off investing in mutual funds. Over 10% annual returns over 10 years period is my personal experience.

2018-02-13 16:50

apprentice

sf chin, No one 'songlap' the 0.4%. No company pays out 100% of their profit. Would you be giving 100% of what you earn to your wife and children every month or year?

Mutual funds giving returns of over 10% annually for 10 years? Most will increase the units held but the price will be adjusted accordingly. Calculate the nett worth and not the number of units and you get the true figure. Most mutual funds are dead before 10 years is up.

2018-02-13 19:16

miker

6.9 peanut only, dulu2 pernah cecah 8.5 lor
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/about-epf/investment-highlights/dividend-rates

Ini sume, auta saje

2018-02-13 19:30

apprentice

Dulu2 faedah pinjaman kereta 10%, personal loan 8%, FD 6.5%, bolehlah bayar 8.5% dividend.

2018-02-13 19:37

miker

Sikalang epf ada cakap invest sana luar nigara, manyak2, patut 9% lar. Haiyaaakkk.

2018-02-13 19:40

i really wonder, how come epf can give high %

2018-02-13 20:38