Stock: 
Price Target: 
Price Call: 
SELL
Last Price: 
Upside/Downside: 
-1.16 (81.12%)

Tuesday, 18 July 2017 | MYT 8:43 AM

KUALA LUMPUR: Affin Hwang Capital Research has downgraded AirAsia X to Sell with a target price of 27 sen as it lowers its earnings forecast due to higher jet fuel prices, stiffer competition, rising operating expenses and weaker ringgit.

It said on Tuesday the market had reacted negatively in view of the disappointing 1Q17 results.

Its 12-month target price is revised downward to 27 sen, from 57 sen, pegging the same target price-to-earnings ratio (PER) of eight times to its reduced 2018E EPS forecast. 

“Downside risks: aggressive fare cuts due to stiffer competition, higher crude oil prices and lower passenger travel demand. Upside risks: decline in crude oil prices, ringgit strengthening,” it said.

Affin Hwang Research said AirAsia X remains positive on the group’s earnings performance in 2H17. 

“But we are more cautious due to its disappointing first quarter results,” it said. It cut its earnings forecasts by 32%-66% in FY17-19E. 

The research house pointed out average base fare decreased by 4% on-year (from RM566 in 1Q16 to RM544 in 1Q17) due to the airlines’ effort to increase its capacity on core existing routes in order to grow market share and therefore pressuring yields. 

The airline is also planning to add new routes to China and Korea by the end of this year, following the healthy response to its newly-launched KL-Osaka-Honolulu route. 

“While we expect revenue to grow by 11.6% on-year in 2017E and 9.1% on-year in 2018E, we have lowered our net profit forecasts for 2017E and 2018E by 65.6% and 56.4% respectively due to higher operating expenses. This note marks a transfer of analyst coverage.  

“The airline has raised its employees’ wages. Retaining talent is crucial, especially with the current shortage of pilots. As such, staff cost increased by 40.3% on-year in 1Q17. 

Aircraft fuel expenses and aircraft operating lease expenses were also up 55.4% and 17.7% on-year respectively in 1Q17, resulting in an increase of 29.4% in overall operating expenses in 1Q17. 

“AirAsia X has successfully trimmed 9% off the CASK (cost of available seat-kilometre) ex-fuel cost in 1Q17 by increasing operational efficiency through higher aircraft utilisation. 

“However, this also indicates that there will be less room for CASK improvement in the near future as the current utilisation rate of its aircraft is 16 hours a day,” it said.

CASK is a common unit of measurement used to compare the efficiency of various airlines. It is obtained by dividing the operating costs of an airline by available seat km (ASK). Generally, the lower the CASK, the more profitable and efficient the airline. 

Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/07/18/affin-hwang-research-downgrades-airasia-x-to-sell/ 

Be the first to like this. Showing 2 of 2 comments

GoodCompanies

My comment:
The Affin analysis is very flawed in my opinion.

Cost increase, for example, is a lot due to other factors, such as selling off planes..then lease them back. The cost is transferred from the bal sheet to the income statements. The net effect that you will see is that net gearing would come down, and this is exactly what happened. I wonder why Affin Hwang did not mention this?

Declining ringgit? Ringgit was already low since 2015 and 2016, in fact ringgit has appreciated and was best performing this year. Therefore this factor is a mute factor, or perhaps it is an opposite factor, one which can make more money for AAX.

Higher jet fuel prices? This is a very mute factor as most of AAX fuel is hedged. And oil price is not going anywhere anytime soon. So this is clearly a mute factor.

Stiffer competition? This has always been there. Didn't they and everyone else always mentioned stiffer competition?

Overall, my assessment is that AAX will be fairly valued at more than 50 cents. And i think the quarter result will keep on improving. Even if AAX do not make more profits, most important is it is still making profits. I am ok for the company to continue with expansion, and invest money there. So my most important metric is none other than, "Number of passengers flown".

2017-07-19 10:05

Ammar Roshidy

Well well well, Affin Hwang Capital Research downgraded AirAsia X to Sell with a target price of 27 sen! What is the reason for it to go so low? No facts.... to back it up.

2017-08-14 10:10