KLSE (MYR): SPTOTO (1562)
+0.10 (7.69%)
1.29 - 1.40
A price target is an analyst's projection of a share's future price.
Average Target Price, Price Call and Upside/Downside here are derived from Price Targets in the past 6 months.
Avg Target Price
Upside/Downside
+0.59 (42.14%)Price Call
SELL
HOLD
BUY
Date | Open Price | Target Price | Upside/Downside | Price Call | Firm | View | Action |
---|
https://www.thestar.com.my/starpicks/2023/01/14/what-happens-when-you-buy-illegal-4d-in-malaysia - examples of issues from illegal gambling. Not only is it bigger than legal gambling, there's also the loss of tax revenues too. Making something illegal, other things equal, is more likely to attract associated illegal activities. The average person who earn RM5,000 a month and bet RM10 in Sport Toto isn't going to then steal things because that is just entertainment, probably no different than spending on a packet of cigarettes. Or are we banning this too?
2023-02-19 11:16
Extreme state's decisions like this is what's spooking overseas investors. Outcome is eventual total Bursa under-valuation, not just limited to legal gambling stocks. Why invest in extremist states?
2023-02-19 11:19
Bilis are born to feed sharks.
Bilis mother when looking at baby says, I give birth to this bilis to feed sharks.
Gambling outlets tend to cluster together for security ie magnum, dai ma cai and toto.
I go to this retail outlet nearby to them occasionally.
My observations is that those people going into these 3 gambling outlets on surface looks like the lowest of the low in society.
Very poorly dressed, usually shorts and dirty crumpled clothing in tatters and holes and cheap toilet slippers almost worn out to ground, long hair uncombed.
They tend to shuffle or limp slowly in and out with a face of parents, wife and child just died.
the difference is very obvious
coz other retail outlets customers all well dressed in starched ironed long sleeves, long pants, sometimes with tie, leather shoes, neat hair just done at A Cut Above type of standards and walk properly.
Always gives me the shivers just looking at them, thats why I decline to buy these type of gambling counters shares.
2023-02-19 11:31
i3lurker - I'm somewhat like you. I have a conscience. That's why I don't touch Genting. It could wipe out fortunes in a matter of minutes.
However Sports Toto is a different kettle of fish. It's gives the lower rung of society an excitement of sorts for a small sum. A chance for them to strike it big for as little as a ringgit. What can anyone get for 1 ringgit these days? Nobody's forcing. The Co afterall pays a massive yearly amount (close to 800m) to the Fed Govt in the form of gaming taxes. The name of Sports Toto predecessor "Social Welfare" aptly sums up its role.
So go ahead and invest without guilt. There's a fine line between investment and betting. I've lost a lot (and made a lot) betting on stocks (or is it investing?)
2023-02-20 16:08
KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 21): Sports Toto Bhd’s net profit grew 21.77% to RM64.86 million in the second quarter ended Dec 31, 2022 (2QFY2023) from RM53.26 million in the same period last year, primarily due to improved results by its principal subsidiary company STM Lottery Sdn Bhd.
The group's quarterly revenue rose 13.07% to RM1.41 billion from RM1.25 billion. It declared a second interim dividend of 2.5 sen per share amounting to RM33.74 million, to be paid on April 21.
2023-02-21 22:19
Sports Toto Berhad
SPTOTO
Share Price 7 Day 1 Year
1.52 -0.7% -20.0%
Second quarter 2023 earnings released: EPS: RM0.048 (vs RM0.04 in 2Q 2022)
Second quarter 2023 results:
EPS: RM0.048 (up from RM0.04 in 2Q 2022).
Revenue: RM1.41b (up 13% from 2Q 2022).
Net income: RM64.9m (up 22% from 2Q 2022).
Profit margin: 4.6% (up from 4.3% in 2Q 2022). The increase in margin was driven by higher revenue.
Revenue is forecast to grow 2.5% p.a. on average during the next 3 years, compared to a 11% growth forecast for the Hospitality industry in Malaysia.
Over the last 3 years on average, earnings per share has increased by 28% per year but the company’s share price has fallen by 16% per year, which means it is significantly lagging earnings.
2023-02-23 08:45
Insaflah
Australia has the most significant losses per capita in the world due to gambling; it also causes
significant economic and social harm to the gamblers, their families, and the local communities. Wesley
Financial Literacy Program tries to adjust people’s relationship with money and educate and empower
them to make better decisions with their money, hoping to limit gambling harm in the future.
Financial literacy is the ability to understand and effectively use financial skills, including personal
management, budgeting, and investing.
2023-02-28 12:09
Good123 - insaflah Afghanistan has even more losses per capita or was it Yemen, yet both these countries have no gambling.
So maybe gambling is good for the economy!
2023-02-28 13:30
tak baik
Gambling is a significant public health issue in Australia; estimates suggest that Australians lost
approximately $25 Billion on legal forms of gambling in 2018-2019, the largest per capita loss globally.
Since 2009, NSW has seen an increase from $8 Billion to $10 Billion in total expenditure and losses
(Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2021). While the industry claims that it is beneficial as it
supports economic growth and generates revenue, it also causes significant economic and social harm
to gamblers, families, and local communities (Paterson, M, Taylor, M, & Gray, M, 2020). Problem
Gambling is any behaviour that inhibits and impact relationships, family, finances, employment and loss
of control and addiction (Lifeline, 2021). People can gamble on electronic gaming machines, the lotto,
scratch lotto tickets, card games, racing and other types of betting. The average problem gambler in
Australia:
• Loses approximately $21,000 per year
• Six times more likely to get divorced
• Four times more likely to suffer from alcohol abuse
• Children of problem gamblers are ten times more likely to become gamblers
• Whilst gambling was not found to increase intimate partner violence directly; it does intensify the
severity and frequency of violence against women and increase the economic abuse of women
in violent relationships (Australian Gambling Research Centre, 2020).
Anything in excess is bad. Eating in excess is bad because it leads to diabetes, heart problems, weight problems etc but are we going to ban food?
Excess spending on consumer goods like cars and clothes will lead to bankruptcy and family violence and breakdown but are we going to ban vendors from selling and people from buying?
Also you should understand economics. Having a lot of money in your bank account will not help the economy grow. You've to spend it - get it circulating & that transforms into GDP. I hope you're not planning on a career in our Ministry of Finance because your views are shallow and will indeed destroy this country.
BTW you keep picking on Australia. It's a well-run country without your advice. In fact a lot of Malaysians (Malays, Chinese & others) want to get into Australia. Nobody's fighting to get into Afghanistan & Yemen where gambling's absent - are you?
The key point is foreign investors already unload 20% of the funds in Malaysia as our government is chasing them away
I've never seen maybank's analysis of stocks, realized in the stock market. So it's all rubbish. If sptoto can fall again, you buy more. dividen yield 2 times with FD rate
Just when I think it cannot get any lower!
100% track record of losing every deal but what the heck, it's part of the game.
Hi , below is my little thought on toto, feel free to give comments.
https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/investmentknowledge/2023-03-26-story-h-275171373-analysis_of_Berjaya_Sports_Toto_Berhad
Regards,
Raymond Lim, CFA
Gaming industries are shaky as conservative political parties won more votes in the last general election. An additional state, Kedah has banned all legal 4D outlets in the State. Investors are cautious about what will the future be for gaming industries in the country. Genting Bhd, for example, has aggressively planned its casino business expansion to overseas, including the bidding for a new casino in New York.
https://klse.i3investor.com/web/pricetarget/research/66944
Gaming - Good Old Days Are Returning
Date: 2023-03-29
KENANGA
We maintain OVERWEIGHT on the gaming sector as leisure travel normalises post the pandemic. Tourism Malaysia projects 16.1m tourist arrivals in Malaysia in 2023, up 60% from 10.1m in 2022. Over the causeway, the Singapore Tourism Board expects a big jump in visitor arrivals to the island republic of 12m-14m this year over 4.7m recorded last year, underpinned by the return of international tourists, especially those from China. This should benefit casino operators GENM (OP; TP: RM3.56) and GENS (Not Rated), as well as their parent company GENTING (OP: TP: RM5.86). Meanwhile, we project ticket sales of number forecast operators (NFOs) to return to 90% of pre-pandemic levels by end-2023. Largely domestically-driven, their earnings are less directly exposed to external headwinds. Our top picks for the sector are GENTING, being a proxy to the recovery of tourism in both Malaysia and Singapore, and SPTOTO (OP; TP: RM1.95) given its double-digit dividend yields.
NFOs - Recovery in ticket sales on track.
• There is a business continuity concern for operations of NFOs in Selangor, Penang and Negri Sembilan in the event of a change in the state government post the state election, widely expected to be held in Jun 2023 (NFO operations have already been banned three other states due for the state election, i.e., Kelantan, Terengganu and Kedah). There is also concern over sustained high inflation eating into consumer disposable income affecting spending on betting games.
• The good news is that NFO ticket sales are mainly domestically-driven and therefore less directly exposed to external headwinds. We expect the ticket sales recovery to plateau at 80%-85% of pre-pandemic levels before slowly picking up to the 90% level by end-2023. We expect SPTOTO to have a stronger recovery path with ticket sales returning to 87% of pre-pandemic level by FY23 (FYE: June) and 90% by FY24, given the potential boost from a spike in ticket sales of lotto games in the event their jackpots snowball, while MAGNUM (OP; TP: RM1.39) may only see its ticket sales recovering to 78%/80% of the pre-pandemic level by FY23/FY24 as we expect the return of its customers, predominantly in the older-age group, to be gradual. Overall, we prefer SPTOTO to MAGNUM for the former’s stronger recovery of ticket sales and hence superior earnings.
Regulatory risk. Meanwhile, we rate the risk of casino and NFO licenses being revoked in Malaysia as low following the formation of a “unity” government led by a moderate Pakatan Harapan coalition.
SPTOTO | Sports Toto Berhad
Upcoming dividend of RM0.025 per share at 8.3% yield (March 28)
Eligible shareholders must have bought the stock before 04 April 2023.
Payment date: 21 April 2023.
Payout ratio is a comfortable 49% and this is well supported by cash flows.
Trailing yield: 8.3%.
Within top quartile of Malaysian dividend payers (5.4%).
Higher than average of industry peers (5.3%).
Anyone ever in your whole life, go to TOTO shop and can buy ,hutang or on credit?
How come TOTO has almost $1.3BILLIONS of loan when it is doing purely cash business?
I dont understand why.
Anyone can explain?
Create articificial winners among its ppl n suck all winnings / cash from the coffers... VT is a sneaky busthird...
Tom Yam, the long term dividend yield of SPTOTO has probably dropped from the old days of paying 4 sen dividend 4 times a year or 16 sen per year. The lowest yearly dividend is 7 sen which is in 2022. The last 4 Quarter dividend sum is 9.5 sen. If SPTOTO can pay back dividends 4 times per year at 2.5 sen, total is 10 sen.
At RM1.43:
- 10 sen dividend yield = 10/143 = 6.99% or nearly 7%. That's quite decent.
- 7 sen minimum historical dividend yield = 7/143 = 4.90% which still beats FD.
This assumes SPTOTO share price is near bottom, and it probably is based on its 20 year share price history.
Market questions if SPTOTO could go back to its glory days. One doesn't buy SPTOTO in order to break-it up as its NAV is only 72 sen, lower than current price. One owns SPTOTO because of its dividend paying ability, it's business and license to generate profits consistently. However, in past 3 years, its ability to generate consistent dividend is questionable, its future outlook less certain than 5 years ago. Nevertheless, the lower price compensates for that less certain outlook. IF it can relive its glory days, then, current price is a good investment. IF not, then, it should still beat FD rates although slightly less clear (still majority odds) it should edge out EPF returns.
The ability to pay dividends for the last 3 years have to take in to account on the MCO lockdown which caused them to pause operations for a long time. There's already a recovery on the payout since last year. Only thing is whether when are they gonna fully recover to its pre-pandemic levels. IMHO.
i always feel that buy sptoto better than u buy lottery tickets of toto right , do u all agreed?
The govt should nurture this goose that lays golden eggs instead of listening to certain religious quarters who claim that it's evil yet willing to turn a blind eye to egregious corruption.
If it's evil, the solution is simple - don't play the game & don't enjoy the revenue generated.
If Sanusi rule the country we will.be like Pakistan fully Islamic and no foreigners are allowed
Let's hear Sanusi's WORKABLE ideas to generate revenue not harebrained ones that produces only excuses as to why it failed after costing a bomb
Let's ponder over the question of what is the possibility of change of govts in Selangor, Penang, and Negeri Sembilan? Maybank IB seem to have jumped the gun to signal that these states will fall and downgraded Sports Toto's rating to SELL.
Selangor and Penang still PH`s strong state. Negeri sembilan 50% 50%. Thus PN states are black market 4D heaven now.
At this price RM1.27, I am slowly adding. If price goes lower, will keep adding until I get a full position. Keep each stock a small % of your dividend portfolio and if you are wrong, it won't hurt you. If it pays 2 sen dividend every quarter, 8 sen per year, 8 / 1.27 = 6.3% which beats EPF already. Be patient.
Value is dependent on the outcome of the 6 PRN
Looks like status quo remains but with heavy inroad by PN....
States that do not allow outlets should not get their share of Federal money since they were responsible for reducing gaming revenue or else it amounts to taking gaming taxes from other states. It's haram. The ever wise omnipresent Man up there knows it and they know that he knows it.
The easy part is asking for handouts. The hard part is earning it.
13 hours ago
Correct. Exclude these so called hardcore minister. They should learn about economics growth
12 hours ago
DividendGuy67
""With this addiction, there is often involvement in criminal activities such as theft and robbery, which can lead to further mental health problems.""
Wow - is there even any scientific, statistical or even any academic research evidence that shows that Sports Toto players are involved in theft, robbery which then led to mental health problems? Or is this done to encourage more illegal, underground gambling?
2023-02-19 11:05