MANULIFE HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MANULFE (1058)

1.92 - 1.93

Meeting

Ann. Date Date Time Type Venue View
2 people like this. Showing 35 of 35 comments

petracot

Manulife is the only pure Life insurance listed company in Malaysia, with a relatively small paid up capital of 200 odd million shares. The ultimate controlling shareholder is the Manulife Canada - a very reputable and one of the leading insurer in Canada and North America. Currently, they hold close to 58% Manulife Malaysia, but they are buying from the open market every day; they have the option to buy up to the maximum of 70% permitted by Bank Negara.

The 2011 result is pending, earning may hit more than 0.30 and dividend may exceed 18%. I am predicting a price of more 3.50 in the next few months

2012-02-27 11:51

petracot

Manulife has recently released the 2011 results: earning of 33.29 sen per share with dividend yet to be declared, expected to be more than 18 sen gross.

The insurer's earning could be on the rising trend as a result of insurance distribution tie-up with OSK which has 50+ branches through out the country. Manulife's asset management division can be a potential money spinner as return of the unit trust is among the highest, in excess of 10%.

2012-02-27 19:57

petracot

Manulife has just released 1Q2012 results. Earning improves from 6.52 sen to 8.48 sen per share. That is a decent increase of 30%. This counter is not very exciting because the growth is very gradual. However, if you are looking for some sound and safe investment, Manulife may just be the right choice. The controlling shareholder owns slightly under 60% and they are buying in the open market,practically everyday.

2012-05-16 22:44

reachabbler

time to collect some :)

2012-10-31 09:37

reachabbler

time to collect

2013-03-15 08:42

reachabbler

declare 15 sen dividend.

2013-03-21 08:40

selinelow

0.15? where the source from?

2013-03-21 09:01

reachabbler

Lets see how PRS business going to boost the company performance.

2013-04-26 10:29

reachabbler

Metlife, Manulife said to bid for Malaysia AMMB life insurance unit
http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/05/09/malaysia-ammb-idUSL3N0DQ0XA20130509

2013-05-10 00:07

reachabbler

TP RM4.00

2013-05-14 14:01

June Ng

what is the intrinsic value?

2013-07-23 11:03

newbiestock

mnrb BETTER

2013-07-23 11:04

Kian Leong Lim

Asset growth tallies with liability growth and roe is down. This shows the company has not been very effective in improving efficiency. the other reason may be the company has too much competition in the local market. Asset management is a good field but how to enlarge the company's market share in the insurance business posses a big challenge for the company. As for the lending business, I am neutral on this area.

2014-11-18 12:33

Kian Leong Lim

(1) They have to buy things that people don't want, (2) Make Improvement On It, (3) Use more market ways to grow their business.

2014-11-18 12:38

retnam

This Co is a puzzle. The management has succeeded in driving profits (quarterly) to less than a third despite acquiring asset management business. Asset management is a fee-based activity where the asset manager i.e. Manulife gets income irrespective of which direction the market goes.

I hope the head office sees the absence of quality among the top management & gets rid of them. They know how to make impressive statements in the annual report which is a mere Public Relations nonsense to hoodwink the shareholders. We want to see them earn their keep by sustaining & improving profits.

2014-12-21 05:51

retnam

Get rid of them before it's too late!!

2014-12-21 05:52

retnam

Extracts from the latest quarterly :-

"A holistic customer-centric approach will be taken in our forward thinking solutions designed to help our customers’ most significant financial decisions. We will offer a range of innovative ...blah, blah, blah" - Sounds like hogwash to me

"Barring any unforeseen circumstances and the change in MGS yields, the Directors expect the
Group’s performance to remain satisfactory in the current financial year ending 31 December 2014" - Huh? Did I miss out something? Seems out of whack when profits compared to corresponding previous quarter fell more than 73%!!

2014-12-21 06:00

retnam

Share price is tanking. Investors have spoken.

Will the parent co just sit by the sidelines & watch the co slide? or
Will it take the bull by the horns & implement major changes to halt the decline?

2015-01-12 09:30

gungho92

i think they are underwriting losses... their source of income from investments is the reason they still can survive... oh no....

2015-04-22 15:23

sheldon

The latest quarterly results show no top-line growth. The net profit however increased not because of management capability but due to luck. The large increase in MGS yield caused a reduction in contingent liabilities.

In summary, the management is inept and the major shareholders seem to allow it to drift into oblivion. How long do they want to wait before taking any action? Take the bull by the horns - do something!!

2015-08-25 10:29

sheldon

Another pathetic performance. It's on the long slide downwards. Dividends are dwindling. What I'll do is that I'll boost up my yield with the door gifts and free food at the AGM haha

2016-02-25 10:50

ivan9511

hi guys , someone still at manulife, can I know why I cannot see any dividend info ?
on 24/02/2016 manulife declare 9 sen dividend right ?
still havent proceed or cancel dividend ?
please help guys
thanks

2016-04-08 03:12

sheldon

Look at the announcement titled "Others".
Note that dividend is only contingent upon approval at the AGM by shareholders.

2016-04-08 09:14

ivan9511

thanks sheldon , I understand already , need to wait AGM declare now still under proceed ?

2016-04-08 21:19

sheldon

At the recent AGM, the chairman was impatient & was trying to bulldoze the accounts deliberation. That's not right as shareholders only has a once a year opportunity to grill the board.

Shareholders are concerned over several issues including the declining share price & dividends. The fact that the investment was written down soon after acquisition which smells a rat.

MSWG raised the issue that one of the directors did not attend 3 out of 5 board meets and was not present at the AGM was seeking re-election. A few of us was put our hands up opposing to his re-election. However there were several old folks who were just pleased to be treated nicely in a pleasant surrounding, with an umbrella as a door gift and a spread of food who blindly like zombies supported his re-election. MSWG also noted that there was a director who did not attend the past 2 AGMs as well as the current. It gives me the impression that their presence in the company was merely to carry the title "director", collect fees and eat popiah at meetings. I hope that the parent company notices these red flags & do something about it.

2016-05-22 10:02

shareinvestor88

Sell this TP 50c

2019-07-10 23:43

Jeffreyteck

Regulator simply approved directors including lazy director? Anyway, many directors are there just to collect easy $.
First time drop by here, wonder it is the right entry point now. Will consider at around 2.20.

2019-10-01 11:20

Jeffreyteck

In case you or family members had bought investment linked insurance products, always ask the insurance company or its agent (better in black and white) on the annual premium that you need to pay at various stage, eg. at age of 55, 60, 65 etc, then you can know how much to pay when you are old and judge whether you still can afford then before it is too late. Wish no body is mislead.

2019-10-01 11:21

shareinvestor88

Poor rezults sell TP 50C

2019-12-01 15:16

kereta

Macam ppl want insuran for covid

2021-02-23 19:46

investortrader88

Got some tickets this morning.good luck guys.

2021-09-09 11:04

investortrader88

I will continue hopd my tickets average price RM2.40.good luck guys

2022-05-31 20:13

Najib Zamry

for those who has missed out MNRB, Manulife is trading even at huge discount against NTA with p/e less than 5
The dividend yield around 3.25 %.