MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

10.42 - 10.54

38 people like this. Showing 50 of 23,120 comments

stkoay

It's....

Gaya.......Mutu......Keunggulan

stkoay

Meow Meow Meow

jeffchan1901

Wow, Majority of Bank stocks jumped up today. Harimau up at 3.3%, Sotong up 4.1% while PBB up 5.8% and RHB up 3.1%. Main street expecting very positive QR reporting by Banks this month?

stkoay

Yes, MBB needs to report a good QR, if only so so, then I think it will drop from here.
So so QR with PE 13+ times is quite expensive.

Drop back to about 10 for bargain hunter to get on board may not be a bad thing :)

Ayong21

RM 20 incoming. Time to up car to the moon gogoogo.

jeffchan1901

I hardly believe it will reach 20 anytime soon. I remember reading somewhere TP was ard 11.5

jeffchan1901

I believe that the recent positive GDP reading showed that the economy is at a better than expected level. With production increase in the countrt means more consumption of its product - an indication of a healthy consumption by the population together with recent lower unemployment, all roads points to a stable economy. Banks will benefit as they benefit from sustain funds at stable rates. With local funds like EPF shifting to 'Buy Malaysia ' it's a win for all of us local retail investors as well.

Note to self: luckily didn't listen to pundits who ask us to buy Plantation or Tech stocks oh

newbie2019

10.6! all time high!
Let’s sell some at 11.0 and 12.0 (only if it can goes this high in short time lol)

nhbeen

@jeffchan1901. I believe the upcoming Maybank quarterly result announcement should be positive judging from the performaces of other banks that have announced their report cards. Hopefully the upcoming dividend not dissappointing as well.

samadk

when is the announcement date?

jeff7777

Earning report on 28 Aug

sell

Cslee1215

Institutions expecting good earning this coming quarter. Get ready to catch low hangin meat.

newbie2019

que to sell at 11.00, 11.50 and 12.00 😝

Balian de Ibelin

so you sell it at more than 50% discount to forward market price of RM24.00?

Thanks man😁

newbie2019

too chim

Ahboy96

not going to sell... continue to buy in after dividend issue

Mabel

Maybank is a gems...

Maybank will report the next QR on the 28th of August. Time for benchmarking Maybank with Temasek Largest Banks

Singapore Banks’ Revenue:
DBS: Increased by 0.4% YoY to SGD 3,399 million
OCBC: Increased by 1.8% YoY to SGD 2,380 million
UOB: Decreased by 0.6% YoY to SGD 2,394 million

Dividends Declared by Singapore Banks for 1H 2024:
DBS:
1Q 2024: SGD 0.42 per share
2Q 2024: SGD 0.48 per share
Total for 1H 2024: SGD 0.90 per share.
OCBC: 1H 2024: SGD 0.40 per share.
UOB: 1H 2024: SGD 0.85 per share.

Expected Dividends by Malaysian Banks for 1H 2024:
Maybank:
First Interim Dividend: RM 0.29 per share in March 2024.
Second Interim Dividend: RM 0.31 per share in March 2024.
Total for 1H 2024: RM 0.60 per share.
CIMB:
Special Dividend: 7.00 sen per share declared in March 2024.
Second Interim Dividend: 18.50 sen per share declared in March 2024.
BIMB:
Second Interim Dividend: 4.22 sen per share declared in March 20245

It will be interesting to see how they compare when the results are announced next week.

To Our Success !

Meow

stkoay

Tomorrow down another 10 sen please

stkoay

My wish come true, so must add a little...

....another 10 sen, another little :)

skybursa

stkoay, let meet up and bring out the trading app as proves. I'm not young. I'm just retired old man. I don't like scammer

stkoay

@skybursa how to scam ppl by making comments in forum?
If you read anything you don't like, just ignore.
This is a free forum, anyone can post anything, to me, as long as it's not fake news and it's not personal, I am alright.
Nobody is here to please anyone .

stkoay

...and by the way, I fear meeting ppl I don't know....esp ppl who track my investment/posting.

I value my privacy and security.

Ahboy96

any special dividend since increase that much?

stkoay

No, dividend is based on profit and not on share price.
Dividend will likely be about 30 sen.

KClow

stkoay

Some ppl, bcos they "no have", then they become hater of the rich.

stkoay

But I don't understand why he wants to reveal to other people that he is a "no have"

KClow

stkoay

"no have" people is really stopit....when you want to attack ppl that you hate, at least say something which is more believable or more logical then it will not show the level of your stoopitdity

jeffchan1901

@stkoay as mentioned before.. just ignore them.. let them sing until blue. We will just sit back and enjoy our pinacoladas. We get it is what's more important. Trolls are everywhere in cyber world.. keyboard warriors if you will

Dow Jones

Dow Jones Industrial Average

0.43%

Nasdaq

NASDAQ Composite

1.67%

stkoay

Smart people spending time creating wealth while some "no have" spending time hating the "smart" posting silly comments and got deleted by admin.

stkoay

@jeffchan1901, agree and thanks for advice.

You are correct, we should ignore these trolls and not bring ourselves to their level.

Steven Chan

Best not to flex your wealth or humiliate others. Nobody is king only God is king

stkoay

Bullying and Harassment
I3investor does not tolerate bullying or harassment. We allow users to speak freely on matters and people of public interest, but take action on all reports of abusive behavior directed at private individuals. Repeatedly targeting other users with offensive comments or messages is a form of harassment.

stkoay

One of the reason for red flag 👆

stkoay

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/723971

Aug 23): Equities in Indonesia and Malaysia are standing out as bright spots in Asia this month as global investors trim their exposure to almost every other market in the region.

India, which has been a darling of emerging-market investors in recent years, has seen an equity outflow of US$1.8 billion — the biggest in the region. Japan and Taiwan are next in terms of withdrawals.

“India is expensive, China’s economy is faltering, but Indonesia and Malaysia don’t have those problems,” said Nirgunan Tiruchelvam, an analyst at Aletheia Capital. “They may get even more attention in the coming quarters,” especially Malaysia, given the bets on its data centre boom, he said

Indonesia is benefiting from its fiscal discipline and economic growth, while Malaysia is riding the artificial-intelligence wave after wooing billions of dollars in data centre investments. The ringgit and the rupiah are the top performers against the dollar this month in a basket of 23 emerging-market currencies as overseas funds are boosting holdings of the nations’ bonds too.

KClow

I have written directy to i3 regarding a person asking for personal information of i3 individuals.
Personal info such as banks and how many shares they have..

KClow

What important to me is protecting all in this forum.
Never disclose ur details to anyone ever. ITS A PUBLIC FORUM

Balian de Ibelin

dun be greedy
Never join any social media investment group

KClow

I have been here since 2013
I3 can ban me for all i care
But when i see something suspiciuos i got to.inform
😁

stkoay

Harimau kuat pagi,
Petang, sotong lebih hebat :)

Have a great stress free weekend...
...next week is dividend info week...
Cheers......

MinisoPenguin

Aiyah looks like I bought too expensive at 10.58. Should wait today 10.44 only buy.

stkoay

Federal Reserve Chair Jerome Powell laid the groundwork Friday for interest rate cuts ahead, though he declined to provide exact indications on timing or extent.

“The time has come for policy to adjust,” the central bank leader said in his much-awaited keynote address at the Fed’s annual retreat in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. “The direction of travel is clear, and the timing and pace of rate cuts will depend on incoming data, the evolving outlook, and the balance of risks.”

However, he did note the progress on inflation and said the Fed can now turn its focus equally to other side of its dual mandate, namely to make sure the economy stays around full employment.

“Inflation has declined significantly. The labor market is no longer overheated, and conditions are now less tight than those that prevailed before the pandemic,” Powell said. “Supply constraints have normalized. And the balance of the risks to our two mandates has changed.”

stkoay

Fed Chair Powell indicates interest rate cuts ahead: ‘The time has come for policy to adjust’

Ny036

Rate cut positive n good for maybank?

stkoay

"The long wait is over," said Ryan Detrick, chief market strategist at Carson Group in Omaha, Nebraska. "This was the dovish shift that market participants have been waiting for."

"The Fed is clearly turning to the dovish camp and Powell has made it crystal clear that September will be the start of multiple rate cuts coming the remainder of this year,"

"Financials are at an all-time high, with a huge surge from regional banks,"

Markets are betting the Fed's policy rate will be in the 3.00%-3.25% range by the end of 2025, more than two percentage points below where it is now.

14 hours ago

stkoay

US treasuries yield have dropped below 4% for 2yr , 5yr and 10yr.

14 hours ago

stkoay

The big question now is.

Will foreign fund come in big?

If they do, then FF favorite - Top Large Cap Blue Chip - should perform very well.

14 hours ago