116 comment(s). Last comment by faberlicious 2013-11-09 07:44

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 17:20 | Report Abuse

Status Report (After 2 weeks of Trading)

Of the 26 contestants, 21 have made gains whilst only 4 are in the red. One participant has yet to perform any transactions. Currently topping the list is Rich which is way ahead of 2nd placed SKC61103 with OoiTB a place behind. At the bottom of the table is Musang Foxking with a heavy loss of more than 7K. As for the direct challenge between Hafiz and Saturn, interestingly both are incurring losses with the former just one position above the latter.

Well, that's the position as of now. Still a long way to go - happy trading !

Contestant - Gain/(Loss) in RM
Rich - 19,562
SKC761103 - 9,373
OoiTeikBee - 7,715
Tjhldg - 6,183
Iching - 5,804
Jenny6088 - 5,615
Potenxa10 - 4,219
Imoogi99 - 3,890
Back2biz - 3,852
Hjey - 3,141
Mfed12 -2,785
Zuliana - 2,747
TKW - 2,652
Vincent Wong - 2,434
Faberlicious - 2,268
Bruce88 - 2,069
CFattLoong - 1,911
CKLeow79 - 1,370
Morivae - 1,012
Liguo92 - 449
Chang0509 - 287
Gooooooooo - (225)
Hafiz Milip - (258)
Saturn - (1,784)
Musang Foxking - (7,356)
Thundercat - 0

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 17:32 | Report Abuse

KWTan, my pleasure. I like numbers !

heavyth

848 posts

Posted by heavyth > 2013-09-13 17:35 | Report Abuse

May i know what is Rich portfolios ?

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 17:42 | Report Abuse

heavyth, I suggest that you do not read too much into the report as this is just a friendly challenge. The contestants all have different ways of investing / trading - some go for long term, some medium term and some short term. Some go for fundamentally sound companies, some go for speculative counters. Thus it is advisable to do your own study and analysis rather than just simply be a follower.

11,126 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-13 18:24 | Report Abuse

Rich - 19,562
SKC761103 - 9,373

Congra to both Rich and SKC761103.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-13 18:39 | Report Abuse

inwest88, what about me me me? I bought RM100,000 worth of Datasonic on 2nd September and made RM15774.

"I would take this as my only stock for the challenge going on now. "

Datasonic thread
Posted by kcchongnz > Sep 2, 2013 12:28 PM | Report Abuse X

Datasonic, A Rule breaker for risk takers.

Below is the financials for Datasonic for the last few years.

Year 2010 2011 2012 1st half 2013
Revenue, m 39.6 78.4 178.7 118.3
Net profit, m 7.6 15.9 28.1 35.6
EPS 8.4 17.6 36.85 39.6

What do you see?

Assuming an annualized EPS of 80 sen,at 3.36 now, isn't it cheap? Yeah I know. Its price has shot up by 65% from RM2.00 since 4 months ago.

Datasonic has 10m copies Mycard to issue for 2013. It is also awarded 5 year contract to supply 10m polycarbonate passport. Think about that. there is very strong earnings visibility. Most of all, it is not expensive.

I would take this as my only stock for the challenge going on now.

11,126 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-13 18:43 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan and inwest88,

Please add Kcchongnz into competition list. You had missed him out.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 18:47 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, the reason why I did not include you is that your name is not inside the list of 26 people appearing in the stock pick challenge.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-13 18:52 | Report Abuse

inwest, I was just kidding. Just to give some cheering to the contestants. No worry.

When I posted the stock Datasonic on 2nd September, I actually had the intention of joining in the fun. But later when you guys summarize the contestants, my name was not included and I did not pursue it. But more important is I actually bought it, not with RM100,000, but just 10,000 shares. That is more important, isn't it?

Thanks anyway, inwest88.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 18:57 | Report Abuse

From what I understand (correct me if I am wrong,
1)Datasonic is one of the 11 counters in the stock pick challenge 2H which you and OTBee are the only participants after FCTB withdrew.
2) There was no mention from you to KW Tan that you would be taking in the contest for the i3 members
3) And lastly Datasonic only forms 10% of your portfolio of 11 counters.

Anyway I am not the organiser but just chip in to provide some observations. You need to obtain KW Tan's approval to be included in the
contest. Thanks.

11,126 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-13 18:59 |

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 19:04 | Report Abuse

OoiTB, the status report is only after 2 weeks and everyone still has a chance to be the ultimate winner. It is indeed an eye opener to see the different strategies used by different people in that :-
1) the leader Rich mainly goes for speculative penny stocks, buying in high volume. Thus a one sen rise can generate massive profits
2) SKC761103 only put in all his money on one counter
3) you utilizes TA to pick your counters but did not invest the full amount
4) thundercat has yet to make any purchases. Probably he is waiting for a sharp correction.

Thus it would be interesting to see what strategy the ultimate winner uses.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 19:07 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, Phew !luckily you are only joking. But I am glad that you actually invested into this counter and making profits. Good for you and congratulations !

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 19:16 | Report Abuse

KW Tan, please refer my earlier posting below :-

Posted by inwest88 > Sep 7, 2013 04:16 PM
KW Tan, I think you are mistaken. OTB actually has 3 portfolios namely
(1) one which have 10 selections made in late July / early August together with kcchongnz
(2) one which is organized by you for i3 members in which he has so far purchased 2 counters which are LBS WA and Puncak WA where trading is allowed.
(3) and the latest one which he picked 10 counters, similar to (1) above with 100K allocation where weighting is assigned to the different stocks. I reckon there will be no trades as he wants to know the final performance at the end of the year. (Am I right OTB ?)

I would suggest that you set up a similar simulation for kcchongnz as per (3) below where he has apportioned 100K into 11 stocks based on closing prices at 2 September (as this is the date which he picked his last counter Datasonic). This would be a direct comparison with OoiTB. Of course there is another one where both had 10 counters selected in late July / early August but without values invested.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 19:20 | Report Abuse

OTBee, just notice that Rich is selling Priva just after one day and pocketed 3K. An aggressive trader !

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-13 19:20 | Report Abuse

Invest n kcchong

I actually bght dsonic 30 lots after reading yr qtr2 eps.

Many thanks again.

"Datasonic, A Rule breaker for risk takers"
Sure it was a risk, it still is.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 19:21 | Report Abuse

Congrats to you too, tony ! You ought to buy kcchongnz beer ! LOL

11,126 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-13 19:26 | Report Abuse

What beer only !!
Big candle night dinner at least !! Congra Tonylim !! Thank you.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-13 19:28 | Report Abuse

Yeah lah, this tony fellow asked me so many things and make so much money, but never even offer to buy me a drink. Still inwest88 is more gentleman.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 19:52 | Report Abuse

kcchong and otb, honestly although I am very impressed with your stock picks using FA and TA respectively, I have never actually purchased any of the counters until yesterday when I entered
1) 15,000 units of Fibon at 36 sen
2) 5,000 units of KFima at 1.98
3) 10,000 units of LBS-WA at 77 sen

Probably the timing may not be quite right in view of the FOMC meeting next week but who knows !

Of course don't worry, there will be no blame whatsoever even in the worst scenario where all the prices dropped by 90%.

11,126 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-09-13 19:59 |

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 20:05 | Report Abuse

Thanks Otb, for KFima it will be held on a long term basis but for the other two, I will be contented with 10% (better if more) profits.

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-13 20:07 | Report Abuse

Kcchong, how's the ship farm. Oops.. sheep. The last I heard you need a new iron. How? I dont play golf. Dsonic not profit yet la.

When coming back to boleh land. Arrghh what about French dinner in Akaroa.

Otb candle light dinner? LOL

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-13 20:13 | Report Abuse

I prefer a dinner in Euro at the Princess Wharf in Auckland. 30 lots of Dsonic already paper gain of 50000 bucks

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 20:13 | Report Abuse

tony, may I ask just for curiosity - is your 30 lots 3,000 units or 30,000 units. Years back 1 lot = 1,000 units but when KLSE allowed trading to be done in 100 units 1 lot becomes 100 units. In fact many remisiers still have to re-confirm with their clients on this issue.

heavyth

848 posts

Posted by heavyth > 2013-09-13 20:21 | Report Abuse

Thanks Tan KW & invest88 for your kind info :)

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-13 20:35 | Report Abuse

Invest .. lol
Old hecks still talking 1000 shares = 1 lot

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 20:37 | Report Abuse

You are right tony, I am indeed old. I am in the market for about 30 years already !

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-13 20:38 | Report Abuse

Kcchong, jokes aside, gimme a shout when you are back here.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 20:43 | Report Abuse

kcchong, just to clarify the difference between the reference price and today's closing is 43 sen (3.89 - 346). Thus 30 lots (if 1 lot = 1,000 units) would only yield a profit of 14,700 ! (correct me if I am wrong)

Posted by houseofordos > 2013-09-13 20:55 | Report Abuse

kc, thanks for your datasonic recommendation.... make money frm your picks again...haha

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 20:56 | Report Abuse

kcchong, looks like you have to make a trip back as a lot of dinner treats are awaiting your presence !

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-13 21:46 | Report Abuse

Wow invest.. I suspect I am a shade longer than you. My first ipo strike was rasa sayang as a student. *tongue in cheek*

Are you a maths freak? You seems very good in figures n quick postings. Good for you keeping Alzheimer and parkinson at bay

Posted by tonylim > 2013-09-13 21:52 | Report Abuse

Ya la. Kcchong how come you blow up my paper profits.
Anyway to irresistible.. 2 qtrs reporting 39 sen eps.

In my earlier postings I mentioned I did not strike any shares putting in 400k application.

One guy I like in dsonic is tan sri hashim as chairman.. a very humble man still eating capati tiger jit in jln san peng. Seen him a few times there.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-13 22:49 | Report Abuse

tony, wow Rasa Sayang, really a long long time. So I can assume you are my senior. Ya, can say I am very interested in maths and analysis of numbers. My mental maths is still quick and strong and I tackle Sudoku everyday.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-14 14:46 | Report Abuse

Thanks KW, I assume that you are agreeable to include kcchongnz in the i3 members stock challenge !

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-14 16:01 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, is it alright that to include you in the stock challenge contest for 13 members ? You will be the 27th participant.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-09-14 16:55 | Report Abuse

inwest88, as i have said I was just kidding. The list has been finalized and I knew about that. Imagine if Dsonic were have gone down below the price I shouted, do you think I still tell you that I have the intention to join in the competition, although initially I did have that intention?

So you carry on the fun without me. I am watching.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-09-14 17:27 | Report Abuse

I understand, kc. I am also watching !

Alvian

334 posts

Posted by Alvian > 2013-09-19 09:26 | Report Abuse

@Tan KW, how to create my own portfolio like yours (having 100.000 capital)?

Alvian

334 posts

Posted by Alvian > 2013-09-19 11:39 | Report Abuse

@Tan KW, thanks

Avocado_C

129 posts

Posted by Avocado_C > 2013-09-19 17:46 | Report Abuse

Congrats TKW on HAPSENG-WA, a star performer. I am just curious if the target price of 1.89 as per OTB stock pick challenge is achievable or not and by when? Cos he said if 0.54 resistance broken convincingly, the sky is limit :-)

Posted by faberlicious > 2013-09-24 07:32 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan,u did not record my sales yesterday.

Posted by betulbetulcakap > 2013-10-11 11:06 | Report Abuse

betulbetulcakap: mr tan ,tempat number 1 rlth di u punya stock pick challenge , main tak betul , u patut disqualified dia , bukan real investor cuma siok sendiri , jatuh stock pick challenge punya standard . malu

JENNY6088

611 posts

Posted by JENNY6088 > 2013-10-13 14:44 | Report Abuse

dear mr tan
to keep the house in order , may i suggest, that can u pls disqualified rlch or let all the contestant take a vote to suspend on this so call smart contestant ?

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2013-10-14 01:34 | Report Abuse

hehee .. calm down jenny , no big deal , we know who we r what we doing .. enough already .. happy trading .

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2013-10-14 01:46 | Report Abuse

and i like these .. DIGNITY , INTEGRITY and HONOUR ( real honour ) .. the three words that make us a better person ... so man ! haha

11,126 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-14 09:20 | Report Abuse

Jenny6088 earns my respect. Keep up good work !! Like to learn from you.

Posted by betulbetulcakap > 2013-10-14 12:40 | Report Abuse

cakap betul betul : sekarang punya perempuan lagi steady .

Posted by faberlicious > 2013-11-09 07:44 | Report Abuse

Yo Mr Tan KW,Good Morning.I bought something yesterday.Please update my portfolio ok. Thanks.