137 comment(s). Last comment by paperplane 2019-12-16 19:25

Posted by VenFx > 2019-01-01 10:07 | Report Abuse

Sop the only pick for plantation play ?

Posted by VenFx > 2019-01-01 10:11 | Report Abuse

Would petronm continue deliver given the o&g volatility ?
Looks like choivo has high faith to petronm & rcecap.

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2019-01-01 15:03 | Report Abuse

Sop drop so much, i also surprise. Maybe plantation sector. Really bad

Posted by VenFx > 2019-01-01 15:08 | Report Abuse

Posted by paperplane > Jan 1, 2019 03:03 PM | Report Abuse 

Sop drop so much, i also surprise. Maybe plantation sector. Really bad

ME : SOP is nothing without Former Taib CM.
SOP almost semua mau in a low population state in Sarawak.
Sop should go out and lead Sarawak to win a bigger and better playground.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-01 15:24 | Report Abuse

Yeah, i bought like 2% of fund in SOP some time bac. Now that one drop 50% lol.

I think its one of the cheapest oil palm in malaysia, with decent capital structure and decent management.

See lah, i dont think oil palm is going to be usurped by any other kind of food oil anytime soon.

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-01 15:26 | Report Abuse

East msian stocks very weird one.....

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-01 15:27 | Report Abuse

Very political

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2019-01-01 15:43 | Report Abuse

Ya. I notice also. Wtk even good result also wont move. Dont waste my money there

lazycat

899 posts

Posted by lazycat > 2019-01-03 14:19 | Report Abuse

Choivo Capital , why u go big on rcecap and petronm?

dnlt

131 posts

Posted by dnlt > 2019-01-03 14:23 | Report Abuse

AEONCR appears to have higher valuations than RCECAP but better reach. Any reasons why you choose RCECAP (25%) over AEONCR (5%) ?

godhand

1,919 posts

Posted by godhand > 2019-01-03 14:52 | Report Abuse

I would choose aeoncr anytime over rcecap business wise. I think it’s a so so company.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-03 17:34 | Report Abuse

Simple, 40-50% discount.

Aeoncr is i think a somewhat better business. but at this price, i think i might prefer RCECAP.

It would not be wrong however, for one to prefer aeoncr valuation wise. Just depends on your perspective.

lazycat

899 posts

Posted by lazycat > 2019-01-03 17:39 | Report Abuse

why u think that petronm and rcecap is 50% discounted at current price?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 10:36 | Report Abuse

Hmm, id suggest you study for yourself. Its the fun part!

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-04 10:43 | Report Abuse

the language of choi is discounted...
the language of long numbers is premium I not scared if....

I am on the side of Mr Long

the so called discounted can be caught by a lot of nasty surprises......by being highly selective by knowing the company more....Mr Long will not be subject to so many nasty surprises....

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 15:47 | Report Abuse

As always your brain is muddled.

one can very well know a company very well and buy only if it was at a discount to fair value.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-04 15:49 | Report Abuse

a discount to fair value.
=========

does it work?

or just believing in fairy tales?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 16:46 | Report Abuse

It does not, all who do value investment go to holland.

Its my greatest wish, that everyone but me in the KLSE market, thinks that.

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 16:48 | Report Abuse

Ah Jon better spend some time to study KB system if u wanna make some fast money

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 16:50 | Report Abuse

Haha charlest,

I've never felt inclined to make money quickly, but if it does happen, i wont protest. Haha

I do some speculation via options when i feel that the odds are very very firmly in my favor, but this does not happen often.

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 16:53 | Report Abuse

No point to spend all yr time n effort studying mat salleh's book theories

U r in Bursa n why dont u study KB which has proven track records for the past 6 years?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 16:55 | Report Abuse

Mat Salleh book theories, proven track record since 1930.

And if we consider John Keynes to be a value investor, it goes back to 1920.

having said that, that means but little to me.

The most important thing, is that Value investing make sense to me. The rest dont.

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 16:56 | Report Abuse

The ultimate goal of staying in stock mkt is to make money consistently in long run...

So far I only see one system managed to do so in the past 6 years

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 16:57 | Report Abuse

Uncle gave u kind advice ah...cut short yr learning time in BUrsa

14,475 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-01-04 17:02 | Report Abuse

i think...even KC had modified his investment thesis using..KB's near future visible growth criteria...

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the advise uncle.

But if does not make sense, i cannot use it, and my home does not just consist of BURSA, but the rest of the world.

If value investing does not work in BURSA, Neoh Soon kean would be a bankrupt today, But he is not.

The philosophy is as follows.

1) Identify the intrinsic value of the investment,
2) Purchase when prices are far below the intrinsic value and sell when its close or above it.

If this does not make sense logically, theres nothing to more to say haha.

Good luck with currymee. I wish i bought 1-2% when calvin promoted it, but i didnt. At this price, i dont know how to buy.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:05 | Report Abuse

haha trading around the market forces of mr koon and mr ooi is probably smart.

If you know you're gambling and not investing.

Maybe i should, but i still cannot finish studying investing, and am a long way away from reading all the annual reports in SGX, HKEX, Shanghai, Shenzen, Nikkei, KOSPI, Vietnam.

Or basically every exchange in the world.

I think that will keep me busy till im forty at least.

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:05 | Report Abuse

Jon after few more years of so so results in Bursa then u may have to change.....

Dont tell me yrs is better than FD blah blah like TTB

Kaki kong kaki song

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:07 | Report Abuse

After spending so much of time n effort no point to look for 1 or 2 percent return higher than FD

I better go sell keropok goreng like CPTeh...can make much higher return then

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:07 | Report Abuse

CharlesT,

If after a few years, and i cant get good returns, well, i need to find a new source of investment.

I'll probably throw most into index funds of various countries, and speculate a little with the rest via options.

14,475 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-01-04 17:08 | Report Abuse

simple reason...no FA research can give prediction of earnings after another 2 years...with sufficient bargain price...

if the methodology somehow - predicts fairly accurately with available data...there's probably not much meat left...

its almost impossible to have both in your favor...predictability & bargain

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:11 | Report Abuse

Dear Probability,

You probably have not read Warren Buffet's FA report.

Though, he does not talk in time periods of 2 years, but a decade minimum.

Scion Capital, Peter lynch, the few value investors who made their research known, after reading it, you can see the next 10 years pretty clearly.

And the uncertainty? Well, thats why we have margin of safety.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:15 | Report Abuse

OTB record is his record.

If i try to do like OTB, ill probably have all the loss and little of the gains.

Why become a poor version of OTB, when i can be a rich version of choivo capital. Hahahaha

He is a trader, i'm an investor, too different d.

I tried his style, but i just cant stand buying rubbish. Tbf, this year, his competition picks, not that many give me heart attack, because prices are so low now. And we did agree on a few companies, although for very different reasons.

But his miss universe list at late 2017, give me heart attack.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-04 17:15 | Report Abuse

Who's KB?

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:16 | Report Abuse

Jon u hv to know how KB works...not seeing n believing his TPs

His TPs mostly tak boleh pakai one

14,475 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-01-04 17:17 | Report Abuse

a lot investment books seemingly have evolved from U.S...

why have we not seen these from U.K, Germany, France?

it would have been nice if two unconnected person from different countries...derive the same thesis independently...

like say when Newton discovered apple fell because of gravity...another man china discovered the same independently..

but that not the case isn't it?

i think what happened in U.S stock market..is simply because the competitive advantage U.S had over the rest of the world for all its business to thrive...

any theory produced there is not universally applicable

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:22 | Report Abuse

Kb is Koon Bee system.

The system consist of Mr Ooi recommending, and Mr Koon, through sheer force of his buying frying it up.

And if the next 2-3 q results are as per Mr Ooi, the frying goes absolutely crazy.

14,475 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-01-04 17:22 | Report Abuse

its the same scenario to this...

there could have many WB in India, China and Africa...all did not even manage to print a book...or form a thesis..

Posted by Alex™ > Jan 4, 2019 12:04 PM | Report Abuse

hindsight ma, easy to comment how he hoot certain stock and huat.

Those underperformed stock hide somewhere lo.

Survivorship bias also. Only those who survive got the chance to give the lecture. Those who died using the same method hooting other stocks aren't here anymore to give comments.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-04 17:24 | Report Abuse

Like a doctor, I think I finally figure out Jon's style

It is called "fear of paper loss syndrome "

All stocks he picks must be so safe until very little chance of paper loss

Most of us are different. We tolerate our portfolio goes on a wild swing as long as it doesn't kill us, and hopefully pot of Golf at end of rainbow

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-04 17:25 | Report Abuse

To cut it short, whatever jon call himself, it is Blue chip investing

We are small and mid cap investing

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:28 | Report Abuse

Probability,

Its proven to work anywhere, through many research. KLSE and SGX? well you have yeoman bearing the flag proudly. Pangolin Investments etc

Japan? The market with 30 year stagflation, value investing still works there. Haruhiro Nakano, founder and president of Saison Asset Management Co

HK? ValueAsia, David Webb, 20% per annum using value investing in HK small caps.

France? Jean Marie Evillard. Fantastic record.

India? Monish Pabrai, Vishal Navishak etc etc

If i fair to get better than index returns over the next 10 years, the fault lies in my incompetence, not the failure of the philosophy.

====
Posted by probability > Jan 4, 2019 05:17 PM | Report Abuse

a lot investment books seemingly have evolved from U.S...

why have we not seen these from U.K, Germany, France?

it would have been nice if two unconnected person from different countries...derive the same thesis independently...

like say when Newton discovered apple fell because of gravity...another man china discovered the same independently..

but that not the case isn't it?

i think what happened in U.S stock market..is simply because the competitive advantage U.S had over the rest of the world for all its business to thrive...

any theory produced there is not universally applicable

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:34 | Report Abuse

But if yr ultimate goal here is to look for waterfish to do fund management service (like CPTeh who is tyring to do tuition biz since 2013) then i will save my time to bird u

Posted by Flintstones > 2019-01-04 17:35 | Report Abuse

Hahaha. Maybe one day Jon boy will come out with his own keropok business story

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-04 17:35 | Report Abuse

Our England not powderful

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:37 | Report Abuse

Dont evolve to become CPTeh No 2...I am old oredi dont have so much energy to bird so many of u here....

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:38 | Report Abuse

pity for me ah TQ....

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-04 17:43 | Report Abuse

hi everybody

can I join the conversation ?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:43 | Report Abuse

Icon,

That is inaccurate.

75% of my portfolio is in companies with market caps of 2bil or less. Currently, the largest of that 25% is airasia and timecom. The rest are very small.

I dont fear paper loss or volatility . I fear permanent loss of capital.

Lets say UZMA, from OTB , this one i cannot agree at all. The moment i buy, even if it goes or up, or does not move. In my head, i've already made a loss d, i just haven't paid for it yet.

Because i do not think its worth that at all. If i make money, i consider it to be because i was saved by a greater fool than me.

And when it drops even 1 sen, i damn scared, because i know its not worth that to me at all, even if some fool might consider it so. However, i am not in the business of relying on fools.

On the other hand, the stocks in this portfolio, when i buy, i'm very relaxed, because i know the profit is made the moment the bargain is purchased.

Lets say, My initial cost for petronm is RM7.8

When it drop, i feel so happy, just average down non stop. Give me even more paper loss!!

KSL i bought a small position at RM1, drop to RM0.7. Just top up, no fear at all. Ill be perfectly relaxed if it fell to RM0.5

For a short time in 2017, i heard rumours that OTB was buying AYS, i thought it was rubbish, but i was greedy, i bought abit. The more it go up, the more my heart jump, because i have no idea how to balance my greed and fear, i know its rubbish i hold.

When it drop 1 sen, i almost die. Whole day cannot look away from the screen.

I sold it in 2 days, and moved away. Its not for me.

I made a small amount of money on JAKS with the koon bee system, but i doubt i can ever make much, as i dont dare to put alot, since im gambling.

My investments on the other hand, when im confident, will be alot more than 5% of my entire netowrth, much less portfolio ;)

================
Posted by Icon8888 > Jan 4, 2019 05:24 PM | Report Abuse

Like a doctor, I think I finally figure out Jon's style

It is called "fear of paper loss syndrome "

All stocks he picks must be so safe until very little chance of paper loss

Most of us are different. We tolerate our portfolio goes on a wild swing as long as it doesn't kill us, and hopefully pot of Golf at end of rainbow

Posted by Icon8888 > Jan 4, 2019 05:25 PM | Report Abuse

To cut it short, whatever jon call himself, it is Blue chip investing

We are small and mid cap investing

14,757 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-04 17:44 | Report Abuse

U have to wait for Jon's approval in writing first...may take 2 days

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-04 17:44 | Report Abuse

hahaha icon making me paisehhhh.

Now my face on 15,000 post across i3, hahahaha