Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-31 09:24 | Report Abuse

This thread for general discussions on various topics.

18 comment(s). Last comment by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ 2023-09-12 15:40

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-31 09:25 | Report Abuse

Oil Prices Slip As Fears Of A U.S. Default Return
By Irina Slav - May 30, 2023, 2:55 AM CDT
Crude oil prices retreated in Asian trade on Tuesday, with WTI falling toward $72 and Brent trading below $76.50.
Reports have emerged that Republican hardliners in Congress might derail the debt ceiling deal that President Biden and Kevin McCarthy had agreed upon.
Uncertainty over a debt ceiling deal combined with mixed messages from OPEC+ has set oil markets on edge this week.

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/Oil-Prices-Slip-As-Fears-Of-A-US-Default-Return.html

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-31 09:28 | Report Abuse

WHY HAS THE RINGGIT WEAKENED AGAINST THE SINGDOLLAR?
Economists and foreign exchange experts said that the drop in the ringgit’s value against the Singapore dollar is due to two main reasons: The strengthening of the United States dollar and the weakness of China's economy.

Maybank’s chief forex strategist Saktiandi Supaat said that both the Singapore dollar and the Malaysian ringgit have weakened against the US dollar over the past week, but the Singapore dollar has been "more resilient".

Given that Singapore has an exchange rate policy rather than an interest rate policy, there is less pressure in terms of yield differentials on the Singapore dollar compared to the Malaysian ringgit.

This means that because Singapore focuses more on controlling the value of its currency through the exchange rate, and not so much through interest rates, there is less pressure or urgency for people to choose the Singapore dollar over the Malaysian ringgit if they want to make more money from their investments.

"We see that the Singapore dollar is more resilient in times of currency volatility," Mr Saktiandi said.

He added that the weakness in commodity prices, such as those of palm oil and crude oil, has also affected the sentiments for the ringgit.

OCBC bank’s head of treasury research and strategy Selena Ling said that the "China factor" is another reason for the fall in the ringgit’s value against the Singapore dollar.

One major contributor is the depreciation of the Chinese yuan, alongside the dampening of optimism in China's reopening.

This is because Malaysia has a large trade exposure to China, so its currency relies heavily on China's economic recovery.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/malaysian-ringgit-record-low-singdollar-exchange-rate-2180071#:~:text=WHY%20HAS%20THE%20RINGGIT%20WEAKENED,the%20weakness%20of%20China's%20economy.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-31 09:33 | Report Abuse

Ringgit continues to depreciate vs US dollar
By Bernama - February 17, 2023 @ 11:14am
At 9 am, the ringgit fell to 4.4245/4290 versus the greenback from Thursday’s closing of 4.4020/4060.
KUALA LUMPUR: The ringgit has continued to weaken against the US dollar this morning as buying interest for the greenback increased.

Analysts said the greenback had strengthened on the back of the improved United States (US) Producer Price Index (PPI) and renewed speculations that the US Federal Reserve will tighten interest rates growth faster than expected.

At 9 am, the ringgit fell to 4.4245/4290 versus the greenback from Thursday's closing of 4.4020/4060.

According to reports, the US PPI -- which measures what suppliers are charging businesses -- rose by six per cent year-on-year in January 2023.

SPI Asset Management managing director Stephen Innes said Thursday's PPI scorcher confirmed 'higher for longer' interest rates.

"Consequently, the 10-year US Treasury yields are climbing, putting further pressure on longer-duration assets. The constant back and forth between higher inflation and fears of more US Federal Reserve (Fed) hikes have US stocks wavering under recessionary storm clouds.

"While this environment is typically positive for the US dollar with yields elevated and stocks lower, the path forward also depends on how the Fed reacts to this recent data string.

"But if recession fears start to build in earnest, I suspect the US dollar's days in the sun could be numbered. In the meantime, it is tricky to fight this uptrend," said Innes to Bernama.

Back home, the Finance Ministry (MoF) said amid the speculation, the ringgit has reversed its downtrend and appreciated by 10 per cent from Nov 1, 2022-Feb 8, 2023 to hit RM4.2983 against the US dollar.

As global investor risk sentiment improved, the ringgit had also strengthened against the currencies of Malaysia's main trading partners, as reflected by the ringgit's nominal effective exchange rate (NEER) which increased by 3.2 per cent during the same period, the MoF said in a statement yesterday.

Meanwhile, the ringgit was traded lower against a basket of major currencies, except versus the British pound where it improved to 5.2921/2975 from 5.3075/3123 at Thursday's close.

The local unit eased against the Japanese yen to 3.2962/2998 from 3.2883/2915 yesterday, fell vis-a-vis the Singapore dollar to 3.3070/3109 from 3.2989/3024 and weakened versus the euro to 4.7165/7213 from 4.7101/7144 previously.

-- BERNAMA

6,035 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2023-05-31 11:13 | Report Abuse

JOHOR BARU, May 29 — Johor PKR’s Hassan Abdul Karim reminded Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) today of its duty to give an honest assessment to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on the current depreciation of the ringgit.

Pak Har Son can make an excellent economy minister for us ?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-05-31 16:44 | Report Abuse

Of the 499 companies latest quarterly results as of 31.3.2023 available in i3 investor forum:

QoQ
246 reported a lower quarterly EPS compared with previous quarter.
253 reported a higher quarterly EPS compared with previous quarter.

YoY
255 reported quarterly earnings lower than the previous year corresponding quarter
244 reported quarterly earnings higher than the previous year corresponding quarter

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2023-06-02 21:17 | Report Abuse

Yes buy buy & buy loh!
Bargain hunting mah!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-06-15 09:11 | Report Abuse

Many of these spam posts recently in this forum. Hoping our admin will look into this. Thanks.

>>>>
Abu Dhabi Escorts [O58993O4O2] Escorts In Abu Dhabi

pewap27323 Abu Dhabi Escorts [O58993O4O2] Escorts In Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Escorts [O58993O...

7 hours ago

General
Abu Dhabi Escorts Entertainment <<@>> O56486O4O9 Call #Girls In Abu Dhabi @@@

pewap27323 Abu Dhabi Escorts Entertainment <<@>> O56486O4O9 Call #Girls In Ab...

7 hours ago

General
Abu Dhabi Escorts O5O943OO17 Escorts in Abu Dhabi

pewap27323 Abu Dhabi Escorts O5O943OO17 Escorts in Abu Dhabi
>>>>

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-15 09:15 | Report Abuse

Repost:

@Mikecyc
Johnchew5 Hoho see the one said will leave .. still thick thick skin ???
14/06/2023 9:44 AM

KenLee60 Stock: [ARMADA]: BUMI ARMADA BERHAD
9 hours ago | Report Abuse
Hoho is Konartist le is leaving?
15/06/2023 2:48 AM

Johnchew5 Hoho thanks to Lee for issued this Blog .. more konn , actor n blower are here n to be exposed… hahahaha
15/06/2023 5:19 AM

Johnchew5
2023-06-15 05:04:48
Hoho wow Mike vs so many konn in different forums at same time , being abused then retaliated easily get flag report until suspended. Recalled Callvin 3rd Jail is due to doing promotion of a Stock in over 20 forums … I don’t even had a chance to see the post oredi being flag report to post removed n being Suspended. So desperate loh , Win or Lose ? Manpower is a critical factor , better not same name in all the debating forums … Haha n Hoho team manpower Shl be increasing loh … hohohoho Since the kunn seems grouping

Mikecyc please stop it. I know you are the same coward hiding behind your above multiple ID to harass and mocking me in my blog and even mocking i3Admin Terms and Conditions of Use and Community Standard.

Posted by Johnchew5 > Jun 14, 2023 12:00 PM | Report Abuse
Hoho sslleee what is suspended and banned ???

I respect i3investor house rule on suspension for an offender/abuser
Mikecys: Due to repeated abuse posts, this account has been suspended from posting to the i3investor portal until 08/08/2023. Please refer to the Terms and Conditions of Use and Community Standards of this portal

Suspension is a cool off period for offender/abuser to do self-reflection and repent (your abusive twist and turn other i3commentators word into insult and cyber sexual harassment)

Some offender/abuser did reflect and repent and return as a useful contributor to i3community or enjoying lepak/chit chat/friendly banter (teasing/joking) with many friends in i3community.

But sadly Mikecyc you do not have the capacity for self-reflection and repent, hence I will write a letter to I3Admin this weekend on the need to amend i3investor house rule on those repeat/un-repented offender/abuser from using multiple ID to continues abusing/mocking i3investor Terms and Conditions of Use and Community Standards

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-15 09:22 | Report Abuse

Dear 3iii,
I will also bring out your concerns on Escort services spam post to i3admin this weekend

Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥
11589 posts
Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Jun 15, 2023 9:11 AM | Report Abuse

Many of these spam posts recently in this forum. Hoping our admin will look into this. Thanks.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-06-22 18:41 | Report Abuse

Another day passed. Are you wiser than yesterday participating in i3 today?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-04 11:57 | Report Abuse

A very quiet kopitiam. Counted only 44 new posts from 6am to now 12 noon. Yawn. :-)

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-08-14 08:30 | Report Abuse

PRN is over. The results 3-3.

PH can now move forward less hindered to implement their manifesto and reforms. Hopefully, by the next election, PRU 16, PH has gained the trust of a portion of the majority to be re-elected into government again.

Irrespective, the various reforms will remain even should the government changes; and these will be for the greater good of ALL Malaysians. Just like the anti-hopping law, misbehaving politicians are put in their places to respect their masters: the people who elected them.

The fight against corruption should continue and relentlessly too. The might of the law should be applied onto those who are proven corrupt to stop this destructive activity which has festered for too long. Imprisonment should be imposed on those found guilty of corruption.

Hopefully, with new measures and political will, the GDP will grow in a healthy way to benefit ALL Malaysians.

C+G + I + (X-I) = GDP

Leakages from the economy due to corruption and wastages (L) can be represented thus in this formula:

C+G+I+(X-I) - L = GDP

By reducing L, the Malaysian economy will be for the better. Given a more stable government and with four and half year with no political tests ahead, this means political stability. With political stability, Hopefully Malaysia can attract more FDI as elucidated by PM Anwar Ibrahim.

Malaysian can look forward to 4.5 years of economic growth and political calm.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2023-08-15 13:00 | Report Abuse

Rubbish analysis loh!
Actually both PH & BN did not manage to arrest the green wave conservative narrative loh!

The election shows 50% support the unity Govt & 50% support PN loh!

This is a nice position to work on loh.....as Anwar still have more than 4 yrs to tackle the issue loh!

Just simply throwing money to jakim, tahfiz and mosques will not help loh....bcos PAS is entrenched in their islamic narratives mah!

Thus should start with the islamic madani concept instead.....make it a concept for all islamic education from schools, university, madrasah and all muslim teachers must know it, bcos this is a very progressive islamic concept that islamic world had achieve incredible success over 400 yrs in fact has become super power during this era loh!

"History of Madani & its Success " should be proud of by all muslim in the world loh!

During this period the muslim had gain so much success where it became a world super power and its religion spread all over the world and in fact many people wanted to be muslim, bcos they like & trust this madani progressive islamic government loh!

And Anwar rightfully adopted this " Madani concept" but the govt must educate its Ummah! l

Coming back to Anwar.....he is actually not popular with the conservative malays....he manage only to pull about 20% to 30% malay support loh!

He should start working on his unpopularity among the malays loh....start with the low hanging fruits " Permatang Puah".......win back his fortress loh!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-09-07 10:40 | Report Abuse

Peter Lynch said that if you spent 10 minutes analysing the macro-economy, you had wasted 10 minutes which you could have spent productively investigating a company and its stock. I agree.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-09-12 15:40 | Report Abuse

If you wish to bounce some ideas on your stock pick, you may wish to post them here for sharing.