10 people like this.

411 comment(s). Last comment by bsngpg 2013-11-01 19:54

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-01 09:32 | Report Abuse

Tan KW, you are great. I did the computation a little differently and I got approximately the same figure as you do. My is slightly lower at 8.09% compared to you computation of 8.37% as appended below. I used the original prices when the portfolio was first put up and the allocation as suggested later when inwest88 asked me to do so.

8.1% return in 2 months. Not bad yah? This is way beyond my original expectation. No lah, part of it is due to luck also. As you know I only started to talk about the return of my portfolio when a couple of characters kept on attacking me of bullshitting, copy and paste, long story like roti canai, conning people etc. Sometimes I have to their mouths, don't you think so? No intention of bragging or whatever.

But seriously when one invest based on some sound principles, I believe the return would be ok.

Company Industry % holding Return Wt return
Pintaras Construction 15% 17.4% 2.62%
Kfima Trading/Services 20% -2.9% -0.58%
MFCB Trading/Services 5% 7.6% 0.38%
Haio Consumer 10% 0.4% 0.04%
Fibon Industrial 5% 24.2% 1.21%
CBIP Industrial 5% -2.8% -0.14%
Tien Wah Industrial 10% -0.9% -0.09%
Homeritz Consumer 5% 2.3% 0.12%
Willow Technology 5% -4.7% -0.24%
Daiman Property 10% 7.5% 0.75%
Datasonic Technology 10% 40.3% 4.03%
100% 8.09%

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-10-01 09:36 | Report Abuse

As I mentioned, the figures speak for themselves. From the list, I made some money on Fibon and still keeping KFima (which is definitely for long term). Thanks kc ! The others I am considering are MFCB and Daiman.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-10-01 09:59 | Report Abuse

inwest88, I always appreciate your good words though often I don't respond because I don't want others to think that I am showing off or whatever. Thank you.

Glad you make some money in Fibon. But again fundamental investing is about investing in good companies at a reasonable price. It is very seldom that price shoots up in short time. It is a long-term endeavor.

“You can't produce a baby in one month by getting nine women pregnant.”
― Warren Buffett

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-10-01 10:05 | Report Abuse

Fully understand kc. If you to run through my postings, althoughI am rather conservative but I still like to trade for fun. My portfolio includes stocks that have been for years, some for medium term, some short term and some even intra-day or 2 /3 days. I respect and admire your thorough analysis of the stock picks which even fund managers fdo nor provide in such great details! Thanks again.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-11-01 17:46 | Report Abuse

Exactly three months have passed since we first started our portfolios. May be we should review the performance of our portfolios now.

In this two months, KLCI has risen from 1773 to 1810, or 2.1%. but how have our portfolios performed?

kcchongnz's portfolio has gained an average of 26.3% in the last three months. That means the portfolio has returned an alpha of 24.2% using the KLCI as a benchmark. Ten of the eleven stocks made positive return with more than half of them in double digit percentage. They are Datasonic (92.2%), Fibon (81.8%), Pintaras (27.9%), Homeritz (26.7%), Willowglen (21.7%) and Daiman (16.2%). There is no loser with the worst performer, Kumpulan Fima which breaks even. Details of the return of the portfolio is shown in the link appended below.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/19386.jsp

What about Ooi Teik Bee's portfolio return?

Ooi Teik Bee's portfolio returned a respectable 14.4%, or an alpha of 12.3%. There are 7 winners and 3 losers. Its big gainers are all warrants, some leveraged instruments. They are Hap Seng warrant (63.5%), LBS W (62.2%), Punchak warrant (42.4%). It has some double digit losers through Lii Hen and Triple, both at a loss of 18.9% .

The performance of both the portfolios exceeds the return of the broad market by a wide double digit margin in the last three months. The performance of each portfolio may not be comparable as one portfolio was constructed using fundamental analysis for long term investing, whereas the other used technical analysis and may involve frequent trading.

Appendix: kcchongnz portfolio
xxxx Ref date Now xxxx xxxx xxxx
New 1/08/2013 1/11/2013 xxxx xxxx xxxx
Pintaras 4.990 6.380 0.000 1.390 27.9%
Kfima 2.060 1.980 0.080 0.000 0.00%
MFCB 1.700 1.830 0.030 0.160 9.41%
Haio 2.670 2.780 0.000 0.110 4.12%
Fibon 0.330 0.600 0.000 0.270 81.8%
CBIP 2.830 2.950 0.000 0.120 4.24%
Tien Wah 2.510 2.550 0.077 0.117 4.68%
Homeritz 0.430 0.535 0.010 0.115 26.7%
Willow 0.530 0.645 0.000 0.115 21.7%
Daiman 2.530 2.940 0.000 0.410 16.2%
Datasonic 3.350 6.440 0.000 3.090 92.2%

Average xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx 26.3%
KLSE 1773 1810 xxxx 37.0 2.09%
Alpha xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx 24.2%

coolio

620 posts

Posted by coolio > 2013-11-01 17:58 | Report Abuse

you are the best!

waiming

Posted by waiming > 2013-11-01 18:05 | Report Abuse

TQ kcchongnz. Any more recommendations? Really appreciate your generosity in sharing.

waiming

Posted by waiming > 2013-11-01 18:07 | Report Abuse

TQ to OTB too!

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-11-01 19:14 | Report Abuse

你是最好的你知道嗎?(少林足球)

11,176 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-11-01 19:21 | Report Abuse

Thank you Kcchongnz, you are great. I am a bit disappointed with my selection.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2013-11-01 19:54 | Report Abuse

14.4% in 3 months, "beh hiam liao lah", if you claim as number #3, who dare to claim number#2. Congratulation!!!!你也是最好的你知道嗎?(少林足球)