24 people like this.

57 comment(s). Last comment by kcchongnz 2016-01-09 19:25

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-01-06 07:39 | Report Abuse

Great work icon8888

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-01-06 07:54 | Report Abuse

Icon article is very fun to read, easy to understand, back by details/statistic, very practical and useful, his contribution in i3 is by far the greatest. Don't forget he is so old already (from his photo) but still so hardworking to cover so many companies. Great JOB !!!!

feimah

907 posts

Posted by feimah > 2016-01-06 08:07 | Report Abuse

Great article.

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-06 08:22 | Report Abuse

Superb.

fayeTan

Posted by fayeTan > 2016-01-06 08:25 | Report Abuse

good article, keep it up... I believe there are 7 counters poised for good earnings growth in 2016 and these include KMLOONG, APOLLO, WTK, TAANN, TSH and FIBON

Posted by murali > 2016-01-06 08:27 | Report Abuse

Koon Koon is one of my favourite blogger..must give a like for sure

Posted by murali > 2016-01-06 08:29 | Report Abuse

Bro Icon8888, i presumed u are retired oredi,,,glad to see u have found a new life in I3....happy blogging, happy cooking sea cucumber and most importantly happy making $$$$

master_tan

690 posts

Posted by master_tan > 2016-01-06 08:32 | Report Abuse

Uncle Icon, good work. I would suggest you include AEMULUS in your list of coverage. My analysis show that this company has potential to shine in year 2016.

noobnnew

973 posts

Posted by noobnnew > 2016-01-06 08:39 | Report Abuse

Sifu Icon, uncle koon Jaya Tiasa rise a lot recently.

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2016-01-06 08:42 | Report Abuse

I guess it was not to be.... the one that I followed you closely was Rex Industry... fate la... or maybe it was done during your early days...

But this is 2016 now... I will follow you and see... Icon8888... the Great Filter

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-06 08:42 | Report Abuse

Icon, good effort for this summarize...good job

khingjoo

11 posts

Posted by khingjoo > 2016-01-06 08:45 | Report Abuse

He is the one who is able to differentiate the truth. Will be following closely his articles.

samgross

229 posts

Posted by samgross > 2016-01-06 08:47 | Report Abuse

Comcorp will hit rm0.90 above by today

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2016-01-06 08:50 | Report Abuse

Icon just my opinion. As everyone is aware, you are a value guy. When you do those stocks writeup, those list of stocks are generally 'cheap' & has 'low expectation' if not undervalued, because I do not study all of them. To use your list of stocks to proof the theory that 'profit increase lead to share increase', and as we all know, it is a positive correlation. It proof the theory applies to reality.

But if you use that theory and applies to a bunch of high PEs stocks, that is when the theory is very likely to generate a very different outcome in real life and fall apart.

And now to people that just take KYY golden rule at face value, they dont really look at all these, they will think 'oh topglove will grow, public bank will grow, lets buy it' So it become indiscriminate that what people call 'buy at any price, as long profit is growing'. And I say it many times, public bank profit will grow whether you buy it at RM1 or RM100, but your investment return on one end is beggar and another end is millionaire. That is the problem with this golden rule.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-06 09:33 | Report Abuse

Your point is valid. I think Uncke Koon is aware of the issue too. I can see he inserted the wording "preferably with reasonable PER". It wasn't there in the 2014 version

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2016-01-06 09:45 | Report Abuse

well writen.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-01-06 09:50 | Report Abuse

there is no wining formula. even warren buffee was wrong in investing Amerian Airlines. there are times you are spot on the counter but due to reasons beyong your control timing is off. even a long term investor ( 3-5 )years may not see the result. we mere mortals holding period are even shorter. Envron is a classic example where too big too fail. Lehman bros is another classic case. Coming closer to home is Peter lim (Singapore) invested 1 Million Shares ( SGD ) in Wilmar 1996. sold off the block for 1.5 BIllion . that one is a lucky shot. happy trading

Posted by murali > 2016-01-06 09:58 | Report Abuse

There is no 100% winning formula..

But still there are winning formulas...if 7-8 out of 10 of yr picks (from yr winning formula) could make money then u are very very geng oredi...

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2016-01-06 10:01 | Report Abuse

Icon, well written n analysed.
Keep it up.

kenz

181 posts

Posted by kenz > 2016-01-06 10:47 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, great article. Well written. Great job.

Posted by giftformother > 2016-01-06 11:25 | Report Abuse

Thank you Icon kor-kor.You are 68 and I am 67.I started learning to trade shares at 40.My most memorable trading experience was buying SIN HENG CHAN at RM12 and selling at RM60 in 1993.Like you I also hope to leave behind a legacy for my children.WISHING ALL A HUAT,HUAT YEAR OF 2016.

11,041 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-01-06 11:28 | Report Abuse

No point criticize any writer in I3, just learn good and valuable strategies from the writer and we perfect it. It can be used to improve our performance in KLSE.
I learn a lot from all sifu in I3.

Jeffbkt

130 posts

Posted by Jeffbkt > 2016-01-06 11:40 | Report Abuse

Dear All,
In i3, We are here to help the investment community by sharing the investment knowledge and not to curse each other. No one is GOD here. For those who recommend stock in i3, please also has the courage to admit mistake if the stock is not performing as expected and move on. For those who follow the buy call, please always remember that you are the one who are responsible for your decision. Do not blame others. It is not easy to recommend a buy call as there are so many factor that can impact the share price which is beyond our control.

AhSook AhKou

1,296 posts

Posted by AhSook AhKou > 2016-01-06 11:47 | Report Abuse

Couldn't disagreed with Sifu OTB ....... indeed just like how we teach our children - "remember the good and forget the bad" !! We r no perfect n how can we hv "perfection" !!! Is much easy to shoot at the back than in the front ............ so let's carry on to learn together n hopefully for some it will make a diff for other gahhhh !!! Happy & Healthy & Prosperous 2016 . Happy trading too

Posted by sahamewah128 > 2016-01-06 11:53 | Report Abuse

I just subscribed to I3 last month and find your article informative, interesting and valuable for small retail investors like me. sifu Koon's theory works generally well if the reported numbers are not exaggerated or falsified. I had fallen victim to companies like Transmile and NamFatt which reported fictitious revenue and profits. Since then, I am vary of companies whose directors I have lack of confidence, especially China companies listed in Bursa such as Xinquan, CSL etc. thank you for sharing your experience and knowledge of companies listed in the Exchange

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2016-01-06 11:54 | Report Abuse

Oh my. This is such a good read. Clash of The Titans series are wonderful bro Icon8888. Great job and I wish you success with your kindness in sharing those knowledge bombs.

Thanks!

AhSook AhKou

1,296 posts

Posted by AhSook AhKou > 2016-01-06 11:58 | Report Abuse

Thru reliable sources say few "top 30" holders for XingQua had begun to offload batch by batch ????

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2016-01-06 12:04 | Report Abuse

Well some of the observation/comments is correct/good especially on hexza while some is base on assumptions
Hexza is a good company , net cash company with ample cash - somebody already writing on it , and discovered this gem.
It was insider Asia stock feature and also written by another blogger
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/86642.jsp

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2016-01-06 12:09 | Report Abuse

Mr OTB, fully agree with u.

Earth

88 posts

Posted by Earth > 2016-01-06 12:40 | Report Abuse

I really learn and gain knowledge every time i read your articles. Thank you very much Icon8888.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-06 12:43 | Report Abuse

Its called conviction when right and win big
also called stubborn when wrong and lose big

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-01-06 12:51 | Report Abuse

Many people said investment forum very dangerous, so far i3 is the best and most updates and most honest forum to all.

Tapi, there is no free lunch!!!can't 100% people here with good intention more than 50% is bad intention. Happyly to see the good one to kick out the bad one.

Learn from all people. The thing quote from koon I think good and learn from him is:

Rule number 1: The profit for this quarter must more than last quarter. More ? 1m ?2 m30m ?100m? Consider more? Yourself decide.

Posted by goreng_goreng > 2016-01-06 12:59 | Report Abuse

I give a like to the old man picture bro Icon8888.

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2016-01-06 13:01 | Report Abuse

Icon is the old man in the picture

12,804 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-06 13:32 |

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-01-06 18:10 | Report Abuse

Great article, Thumb up ...

zefftan

173 posts

Posted by zefftan > 2016-01-06 18:35 | Report Abuse

satu like untuk icon8888 sifu

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-06 23:56 | Report Abuse

Chin cai write....simply write

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-06 23:58 | Report Abuse

Busy masturxxxting

GODinvest

377 posts

Posted by GODinvest > 2016-01-07 00:17 | Report Abuse

Media prima profit growth 133%? Hmm

Posted by William Fredericks > 2016-01-07 01:03 | Report Abuse

Good

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-07 01:11 | Report Abuse

Its called conviction when right and win big
also called stubborn when wrong and lose big

Final results are based on strategy and stock picking skills.
First, most people really got no strategy one.
Secondly, on stock pickings, and buying and selling decisions,
the losers says Yes too often.
the winners rarely says Yes

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-01-07 10:42 | Report Abuse

timing is the key to success...good stock wrong timing also cannot up

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-07 10:46 | Report Abuse

that's why it is called stock picking skills, not just good stocks.
of course if you got great marketing departments like i3, it helps.

<Posted by i4investor > Jan 7, 2016 10:42 AM | Report Abuse

timing is the key to success...good stock wrong timing also cannot up>

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2016-01-07 14:20 | Report Abuse

some believe its almost impossible to reliably time mkt over the long term, they believe the key is to stay almost or fully invested in growth/value stocks at all times.

but so long one is happy, making $$ and harm nobody...no right or wrong method.

Good luck everybody!

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-01-07 14:26 | Report Abuse

nobody is perfect. whatever we do keep it professional. share our ideas and thoughts. at this forum. there are good vibes and bad vibes. just filter out the bad vibes and keep the good vibes. happy trading

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-07 17:44 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon's Obsession... He has the track record and the skill set to handle it.

Now, every small time investor also want to be Uncle Goon ....the rage is on, it has even spread to the investment community in the analysts community. Nobody wants to miss the game.

When the market turns , everybody don't know what to do The analysts community just write reports, it is not their money. And they don't have the skill set to handle it.

To cut a long story short, there is no single rule...if there is it would be quickly arbitraged away and next time, somebody will invent another magic formula for short cuts. hahahaha

Posted by Pakcik Saham > 2016-01-07 18:41 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, good afford to research & analysis. I can study further to select above stock.

xncziyi44

124 posts

Posted by xncziyi44 > 2016-01-07 21:31 | Report Abuse

fair comments well analysed report n researched done n covered enough.all good intentions and hard work given on research n diligent,little luck has a part in mans play.

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2016-01-08 00:34 | Report Abuse

Hey Icon8888, mind to share how we could get info that you used in appendix?