14 people like this.

33 comment(s). Last comment by dnn78 2016-01-24 21:20

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-22 12:14 | Report Abuse

Thanks Icon. I'm really need this book. Thanks.

youlee

762 posts

Posted by youlee > 2016-01-22 12:24 | Report Abuse

Why don't u write stocks that may tanked soon. Let's see how interesting it is.

2,820 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2016-01-22 12:35 | Report Abuse

thumb up

fayeTan

Posted by fayeTan > 2016-01-22 12:37 | Report Abuse

Good article

Probability

14,426 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-22 12:45 | Report Abuse

Icon...excellent article.

Our education system (including the whole world) is truly lacking these.
-how to be emotionally strong?
-fundamental reason why one cannot be racist?
-fundamental reason why one cannot be sexist?
-how to respect opposite sex and understand them- this one is very useful for your married life (especially if you are in boys school and do not have girl siblings - like me!)

I would like to add...instead of religion as for moral base formation...do not influence/impose them with religious teaching till they are adults.

What we need to teach is basic rules of life...
I would like to start with the documentaries of wild life - the ultimate truth which applies to human too.

And how the same species help each other mutually.

and education cannot end without understanding of Economics - the Money Cycle & and the Financial Statements.

(even engineers like me had been cracking the head for ages...how the whole world works...imagine all the less educated in a city - heavily populated industrious life....they as good as animals in the wild!..wont be able to form any principles..or ethics...will easily resolve to criminal activities..if they cant figure out why they are so poor and others are so rich..for them its a clear injustice)

Posted by Paper Yong > 2016-01-22 13:23 | Report Abuse

Hello

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2016-01-22 14:17 | Report Abuse

Instructions from God are all stated in the bible as it sums up the its main principle 'Love your neighbours as yourselves'.With this principle we can give the best to everyone around us as we treat others as ourselves.

YOLOOOO

1,676 posts

Posted by YOLOOOO > 2016-01-22 14:53 | Report Abuse

HAHAHA, why there is an id call paper yong one, beebee lai hor

21,613 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-22 14:53 | Report Abuse

give your children Comcorp, bintai, all these lousy stocks

Posted by Paper Yong > 2016-01-22 14:54 |

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-22 15:51 | Report Abuse

icon,

Good article.

May I add that one should also give them the proper lessons in personal finance which is not taught in school. They could easily be misled without the proper guidance.

Some of the important lessons are:

1) Work hard to earn a living. Nothing falls from sky.
2) Live within his mean
3) save and invest
4) Understand the magic of compounding
5) Beware of and avoid all the scams
6) Know how much the others are paid or benefit when giving you advice
7) Only involve in good debts, and avoid bad debts like a plague

ahpc

5 posts

Posted by ahpc > 2016-01-22 16:31 | Report Abuse

Great article Icon, keep it up!

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-01-22 16:34 | Report Abuse

Thank you Icon, for the meaningful article.
Will take some time to read the book "How To Stop Worrying and Start Living" during free time.
As a fellow investor, I would also like to recommend a book to you. It's called "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" by Robert Kiyosaki. Try it out!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-22 16:44 | Report Abuse

Thanks Ezra

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2016-01-22 17:01 | Report Abuse

Everyday, we should all stop thinking about money for a moment (esp for i3 members)and start thinking about what makes us happy. You will be surprised that what really makes us happy has got nothing to do with money...like a run in a windy park or a smile from a loved one. After all, life is about being happy.

Posted by murali > 2016-01-22 17:38 | Report Abuse

If no money yr loved one will hardly smile to u...

mycksaw

5 posts

Posted by mycksaw > 2016-01-22 17:59 | Report Abuse

I get what you mean. Thanks. Great gift for me as well.

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-22 20:25 | Report Abuse

Haha. Koon bee get Bain tday damn funny. Dont understand why icon so close with that nonsense guy. Same pattern as salted fish even though they are enemy

21,613 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-22 22:04 | Report Abuse

I tot lesson is teach kids to goreng shrs like you

62 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-01-22 22:07 |

Caveman

387 posts

Posted by Caveman > 2016-01-22 22:13 | Report Abuse

chyokh is right....I believe teaching your children just the opposite would be best. Money equals slavery in any way shape or form. Created in a bank, with interest, only to forever return to the bank, with interest. You should be teaching your children truth about money and becoming free and not a slave. Whether you would admit it or not, money is like a drug feeding addiction and corruption. What children need is shelter, clean food, clean water, clean environment, clean purpose etc..... We are all ONE! Same needs, maybe different wants.... Think of what life would be like if you were not chasing your slavery addiction to money. You would have more time with what matters most FAMILY.....we are all FAMILY.....think about IT do not believe THINK

Probability

14,426 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-22 22:25 | Report Abuse

caveman....you are partly right...but money did serve the same objective, it was only a medium of exchange of 'work done by someone'.
Barter for food or any resources. Money represents this resource produced.

the problem started when Capitalist influenced the Politician and eventually the Public to his own agenda....that's is - growth in profit, i.e GDP in the name of PROGRESS.

frankly I do not see humans have developed (progressed) any better than the chimpanzee in the wild....

infact the factory workers , operators and lorry drivers, labourers...are worst like slaves...throughout their whole life.

only 5% have good life (capitals work for them)...remaining 95% poor's life story had already been written when they were born to study and work all their life for the interest /dividend earnings of another capitalist.

Probability

14,426 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-22 22:29 | Report Abuse

In short 95% of the people had become like the chickens reared in Poultry farm....breeding for the sake of production. And humans breeding encouraged for the sake of demand (consumption) for business profits.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-23 09:11 | Report Abuse

To be honest I get a little burn by the fire
Now I need to lick my wound

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-23 09:14 | Report Abuse

I don't like to read book
But some documentary video will do a good job

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-23 09:56 | Report Abuse

a very important topic.
and a neglected topic.

rambocy

Posted by rambocy > 2016-01-23 14:54 |

Posted by harvestent > 2016-01-24 00:37 | Report Abuse

thumb up for this topic !!

Posted by harvestent > 2016-01-24 00:42 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing !

sharktank

805 posts

Posted by sharktank > 2016-01-24 10:41 | Report Abuse

A great book to read this weekend. : )

21,613 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-24 21:17 | Report Abuse

General advise to all before follow his advise. He is top 5 in competition. Counting from last. Fina decision are yours. Good luck.

dnn78

1,593 posts

Posted by dnn78 > 2016-01-24 21:20 | Report Abuse

Paperplane, not follow icon then follow u mehh. Ur paper flight will only lead ppl to longkang