108 comment(s). Last comment by Icon8888 2016-03-08 19:43

987 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-03-06 19:35 | Report Abuse

Kcchong is the best!! You are my new sifu now

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 20:05 | Report Abuse

All the best Financial ratios are buying shares at their 10 year highs.
No escaping that fact.

The best buys are buying shares as a contrarian plus inside knowledge or at least deep undiscovered gems.

There is no value in buying shares whose values are obvious to every analyst......even obvious to an analyst living in NZ....can you imagine that?

alibabacoming

3,466 posts

Posted by alibabacoming > 2016-03-06 20:07 | Report Abuse

Another otb? Hope you are not

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 20:10 | Report Abuse

There are a handful of oil and gas counters every analyst in town have concluded they are bankrupt companies with no future.

Well....at least one or two or these fallen angels will be the stars of 2016....... But you wouldn't be able to shift the wheat from the chaff by looking at the accounts.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 20:14 | Report Abuse

The counter balance of risk and rewards, the counter balance of public and inside information,
Of value traps and value propositions......when the share don't go up, it is called a value trap, if the share managed to go up, it is called a value proposition.....after hindsight becomes clear.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 20:31 | Report Abuse

In the haste to make money, internet sifus rated a share a best buy or a worse buy based on 1 or 2 quarter results.

But every accountant worth his salt knows that even announced results are full of judgmental values, accounting policies, non repeating items, uncertainties of business, seasonal factors, ......and the smaller the company , the bigger the quarterly and yearly variations.

You want to tell me you can understand the company without knowing the directors personally? By just looking at the accounts of the small and mid caps?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 20:45 | Report Abuse

And most of the time, the directors themselves do not know why their shares go up and down more than the market averages.

They are so familiar with the company fundamentals they don't understand why all of a sudden , their company is worth much more or worth much less just because of 1 quarter results...or some world events some where or some theme play some where.

Finally . It boils down to instincts......either you got it, or you don't.

Either you are with the trend or you are against the trend.

And how much to buy? To sell?

It's all your own instinct, I can't help you.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 20:56 | Report Abuse

Share prices always overshoots on the upside as well as the downside.

The trick is to make money and avoid losses.

I can't help you. It is called instincts

George Soros calls it the Theory of Reflexibility.

FAs ....10 ratios and 20 tests are not going to help you.

Instincts will......help you.

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-03-06 21:06 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, who is Desa now?
I'm confused

987 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-03-06 21:08 | Report Abuse

Wah...i 3 week didnt check in i3...so many changes? DESA already pass away?

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-03-06 21:09 | Report Abuse

Ok Icon8888, thanks.
Why keep changing. Sigh.

987 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-03-06 21:09 | Report Abuse

So darling la this Desa

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 21:11 | Report Abuse

Building portfolios....as an outsider

I will buy a portfolio of opposites. A completely diversified portfolio because 2016 is going to be a tough year. No easy money.

Bornoil, AAX, Tguan, VS, KESM, RHB, Scientex

It's got every thing, ....fast vs slow, growth vs value, focused vs diversified, currency plays vs anti trend, oil price up vs down......assets vs earnings......a portfolio of opposites

Icon....if you know investment theories and alpha and beta, delta, and standard deviations, of risk and returns.......you can construct the perfect portfolio from the immortal 7 above.......you just need to do your own allocations based on your budgets.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-03-06 21:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by Koon Bee > Mar 6, 2016 07:35 PM | Report Abuse

Kcchong is the best!! You are my new sifu now

Wah, serious man. Compliment from Koon Bee?

Not sure it is genuine or not.

When separated, they hate me. But when come together, they praise me?

Betul tidak?

crystal168

1,663 posts

Posted by crystal168 > 2016-03-06 21:19 | Report Abuse

:)

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-03-06 21:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Mar 6, 2016 09:10 PM | Report Abuse

These few weeks uncle Koon not doing well, Desa immediately stopped PLP him, so realistic

一个没有原则人

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-03-06 21:24 | Report Abuse

Well said Icon8888, when u diversified he shout here and there now he knows la.
Why he won't gain respect.
Told him theme play changed , don't believe. Hahahah.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 21:29 | Report Abuse

Some one posted.....lousy minds like icon talks about people.
Great minds like Desa, Stockmanmy and Powerup talks about ideas.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 21:33 | Report Abuse

See....no one can challenge stockman my, power up , desa ideas.....

Every small head in i3 wants to talk about stockman my, power up and desa.

All small men with no ideas.

lux88

148 posts

Posted by lux88 > 2016-03-06 21:36 | Report Abuse

KC, what your stock performance for 2016?
U not even dare to compete for the i3 stock pick competition.
Even though OTB portfolio is doing weak now, at least he dare to take part and dare to admit mistake.
OTB i believe will be stronger and wiser now.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 21:36 | Report Abuse

In my few months in i3....... KYY remains the one with the best ideas, the selfless, smart, independent, creative, ideas......

Good independent ideas.

And a man doing big charities and big CSR.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 21:39 | Report Abuse

KC don't bother to participate, next year many people won't, including me

This competition generated too much controversies. It has been abused, u r right to stay away

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 21:41 | Report Abuse

Business man instincts......

The key ingredient for success in the stock market.

Desire to win is more important than desire to be right.

Desire to win means a person can beg borrow and steal and take margin accounts to win big when the opportunity presents itself.

Desire to be right leads a person to talk 3 talk 4,

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-03-06 21:42 | Report Abuse

Well said Icon8888; competition is just a game.
I'm sure most of us already changed our portfolio from time to time.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-03-06 21:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by lux88 > Mar 6, 2016 09:36 PM | Report Abuse

KC, what your stock performance for 2016?
U not even dare to compete for the i3 stock pick competition.
Even though OTB portfolio is doing weak now, at least he dare to take part and dare to admit mistake.
OTB i believe will be stronger and wiser now.

I am doing very well with my 2016 portfolio. Thank you.

Oh yeah, do you mean that everyone must compete in the 2016 stock pick competition? Why? What is the benefit? What have you learn from it? Why do you think it is so great to compete? For what purpose?

Do you compete? If yes, do you think your contribution in i3investor is more than me?

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-03-06 21:43 | Report Abuse

Desa, your idol bought Jtiasa at Rm2.75; sure bo?
Now only Rm1.38.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 21:48 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow will be a bloodbath for export stocks

Uncle Koon will be busy

lux88

148 posts

Posted by lux88 > 2016-03-06 21:51 | Report Abuse

Kchong,u no ball to compete, OTB better than u.
No need to talk big here.
How well? Ur Coastal also drop 50%.

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-03-06 21:52 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, here is the thread for live trading of ringgit against USD, it's 24/7, http://www.exchangerates.org.uk/Dollars-to-Malaysian-Ringgit-currency-conversion-page.html For your info, ringgit is now at 6-month high against USD

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 21:53 | Report Abuse

Thanks

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 21:53 | Report Abuse

Still trading today ? I thought Sunday everybody close ?

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-03-06 21:57 | Report Abuse

All exports stocks once the darlings of Sifus will be given cold treatments.

Chinwel
Tguan
Tecguan
Kesm
WTK
Geshen
Kimhin
Fibon
Kobay
LCTH
Sam
Tienwah
Genetec
Pohuat
Superln
Latitude
Liihen
VS
Hevea
SHH
MPI
Unisem

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-03-06 21:59 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, yes ringgit trading is 24/7, but volatility is minimal during weekends. You can see spikes up and down from Monday-Friday 24/7.

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-03-06 22:01 | Report Abuse

Here is the tread for crude oil live http://www.exchangerates.org.uk/commodities/live-oil-prices/OIL-USD.html

This is 24/5, trading of crude oil is from Monday to Friday 24/5

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:06 | Report Abuse

I not convinced that export theme is dead

U.S. rate hike is lurking at the back ground

I stick to my theory that strong Usd will last for few years

Anyway, cannon behind horse, I have cleared a lot of export stocks . Now left Tguan (too good I not sampai hati to sell) and Comcorp

EG is one of my favorite, but not exactly export play as significant usd based raw material input

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:06 | Report Abuse

Anyway, nobody can foresee future. Play by ear, keep mind open and be flexible

That is what I told myself

Posted by zbaikitree2 > 2016-03-06 22:07 | Report Abuse

SKL. STFU

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:09 | Report Abuse

Ghis night optimus

Posted by zbaikitree2 > 2016-03-06 22:10 | Report Abuse

icon, SMC.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-03-06 22:11 | Report Abuse

Posted by lux88 > Mar 6, 2016 09:51 PM | Report Abuse
Kchong,u no ball to compete, OTB better than u.
No need to talk big here.
How well? Ur Coastal also drop 50%.

Really kah, don’t put in some stocks means no balls? What logic? You haven't answered my previous questions yet.

Listen to me. Learn some fundamental investing. Don’t treat investing in a stock as if it is a competition, or a game. Good to play some games, but don’t treat it so seriously. Don’t look at stock prices every day and shout here shout there. Stock prices changes every day and you have no control over it.

You put in some stocks in the competition, when prices go up in two months, or go down. That doesn’t mean anything. Even it is up in a year, or down in a year, it also doesn’t mean anything. Investing is a long term endeavor.

If you really want to learn about stock picks, read and understand these articles. Seriously.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/90970.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/90900.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/90072.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/87546.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/86545.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/86127.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/85828.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/85800.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/85405.jsp
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/85379.jsp
etc.

But of course you have your own choice to shout here and shout there too.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 22:13 | Report Abuse

Coastal used to be every broker houses hot favorite at $5

Wins every award that can be won.....including FA award from KPMG....

Now, it is less than $2..... But no stockbroker has visited them for some time.

Maybe....this is the best time to visit them.....but don't go there with your ratios, they won't look good.

Posted by zbaikitree2 > 2016-03-06 22:13 | Report Abuse

laughdiemeliao.blogspot.my

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:20 | Report Abuse

Not keen on malaysia oil gas stocks, they all service providers

They will only benefit if oil turn super bullish again, which won't happen for long time

If want to play, I prefer oil producers, shell , BP, etc that gain directly whenever oil price strengthen

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:25 | Report Abuse

Anyway, word of caution - be careful of u turn

Last year I lured in by oil rebounced, but later when oil retrace, get caught

I have some pantech WA at 40 sen cost because of that

Always stick to uncle Koon formula - buy something that you think next year can make more profit than this year

If doesn't fulfil that criteria no deal for me

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 22:26 | Report Abuse

Who says to morrow will be a disaster for exports stocks?

When stocks have dropped so much......there are more likely to go up tomorrow on bad news than to drop tomorrow on bad news.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:29 | Report Abuse

Errrr not sure about that, I don't think the Friday night RM strengthening has been fully priced in

It would be nice if RM weakens tomorrow, otherwise the already fragile sentiment will become Avalanche

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-06 22:39 | Report Abuse

You are talking about all good shares with viable businesses.

After the first 20% drop! there will be lots of divergences from here.

Selling will dry up irrespective of daily ringgit movements. Or oil movements.

It is every man for himself and every stock is different.

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-03-06 22:39 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing, Mr Chong. It is always great to see good article for some of us to chew on it.

But kids prefer something else.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-06 22:41 | Report Abuse

Let's see how