18 comment(s). Last comment by stockmanmy 2016-05-07 11:53

Lk036

929 posts

Posted by Lk036 > 2016-05-05 23:29 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you expect market to crush? From now onward? If it come true, then better to keep all in cash and buy good rebound stock when market hit bottom.

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-05 23:43 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you expect market to crush? From now onward? If it come true, then better to keep all in cash and buy good rebound stock when market hit bottom.

Yes,

I expected market to crash just like Tan Teng Boo.

The difference between TTB & Calvin is this.

TTB keeps cash while Calvin looks for defensive yield.

Like buying houses with 6% to 10% monthly rental yield.
Buying defensive stocks with dividend plus candidate to be taken private like Super Enterprize, Kulim, TMakmur & others on the way to be privatized due to deep deep value

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-05-06 01:15 | Report Abuse

Omg, calvin bro! You also have tht kind of feeling liao? I am selling most shares tomorrow!
Switch to gold. And keep some high div yield stocks

CKInvest

162 posts

Posted by CKInvest > 2016-05-06 09:50 | Report Abuse

In 1995-1998, Singaporeans push up Johor properties sky high - Senibong, Taman Sutera, Taman Pelangi....and till today, those who bought these developments has not break even.....

Right now 2014-2015, Iskandar gone crazy from mainland China investors and Singaporean again. JB now has alot of ghost developments...completed unoccupied units all over. I will rather keep Klang Valley / Penang instead and sell JB if .....JB is going to repeat 1998 scenario....depressed for years to come.

Mohd Iqbal

266 posts

Posted by Mohd Iqbal > 2016-05-06 11:35 | Report Abuse

when will the stock crash? TTB has been predicting crash since 2014.

Posted by Hiu Chee Keong > 2016-05-06 13:00 | Report Abuse

Let crash, then the price will go down, otherwise - Barang Naik non-stop.

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-06 15:34 | Report Abuse

paperplane2016 Omg, calvin bro! You also have tht kind of feeling liao? I am selling most shares tomorrow!
Switch to gold. And keep some high div yield stocks
06/05/2016 01:15

Yes,

Highly defensive stocks paying dividend is the way to go.

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-06 15:35 | Report Abuse

Mohd Iqbal when will the stock crash? TTB has been predicting crash since 2014.
06/05/2016 11:35

Wish I know when. Since future is yet unknown it is better to be defensive

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-06 15:36 | Report Abuse

Hiu Chee Keong Let crash, then the price will go down, otherwise - Barang Naik non-stop.
06/05/2016 13:00

It won't be good for those fully invested with leverage.
Those who keep a cash buffer will do well

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-06 15:40 | Report Abuse

CKInvest In 1995-1998, Singaporeans push up Johor properties sky high - Senibong, Taman Sutera, Taman Pelangi....and till today, those who bought these developments has not break even.....

Right now 2014-2015, Iskandar gone crazy from mainland China investors and Singaporean again. JB now has alot of ghost developments...completed unoccupied units all over. I will rather keep Klang Valley / Penang instead and sell JB if .....JB is going to repeat 1998 scenario....depressed for years to come.
06/05/2016 09:50

Calvin replies,

The Johor of today is totally different from the Johor before the Asian Financial Crisis.

Now Iskandar is a totally different ball game just like Shenzhen before year 1980. In the 1970s Shenzhen was a sleepy fishing village with only 30,000 people

When it became the First Economic Zone of China things have totally changed

Now Shenzhen has over 21 million people.

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-06 15:41 | Report Abuse

The Economy of Shenzhen might even rise up to match the Total Output of Entire China one day.

Investments in Iskandar will reach Rm1 Trillions some day.

Junichiro

2,037 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-05-06 18:53 | Report Abuse

For the stockmart to crash, u need to have a big event like 1997/1998, Subprime crisis etc. Have u found one?

53,347 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-05-07 09:42 | Report Abuse

Junichiro For the stockmart to crash, u need to have a big event like 1997/1998, Subprime crisis etc. Have u found one?
06/05/2016 18:53

Junichiro,

I found one very colossal bubble. When go burst I don't know.
It is the Biggest Crash in all history when it arrives. The Bubble of Debt Built Up in China. For the last 3o over years China is inflating & inflating like no tomorrow. When it implodes the world will witness a really big one.

The Worst Stock Market Crash was Oct 29th 1929 When Dow Collaped and ushering in a 10 year depression of the 1930s.

It was the Free Wheeling & Dealing GoGo Care Free Years of the ROARING TWENTIES That Amplified The Slump & Depression Years of the 1930s.

Hope all are prepared. Those who didn't will be wiped out.

Junichiro

2,037 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-05-07 10:49 | Report Abuse

Thanks Calvin for yr insights!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-05-07 10:54 | Report Abuse

two things wrong about that view
1. I agree with Tan Teng Boo that people underestimates China.
2. that the central bankers today including the FED is far more knowledgeable than in 1929.

====================================================
I found one very colossal bubble.

Junichiro

2,037 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-05-07 11:36 | Report Abuse

I am a subscriber of icapital n I have read Tan's views. I would also like to hear what others have to say. It is great to have an exchange of views.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-05-07 11:45 | Report Abuse

I too am a subscriber , attended the last AGM even.

He has done well for himself, I agree with his views on China ( but not on his views of the FED)

and I absolutely hate it when he used up everyone's time to attack the 4 PM ( Dr M ) right in the middle of the 1 MDB scandal.

he's got guts to attack 4 PM but no guts to attack the 6 PM.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-05-07 11:53 | Report Abuse

on China, you got to take your hats off to Warren Buffett / Charlie Munger when questioned on China,
CM says, your got to respect a country and its people who can develop the country and infrastructures using only internal savings when the country was so damned poor.