Posted by John Lu > 2016-12-03 16:48 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-03 16:50 | Report Abuse

KYY success overstated / overrated

he made one round in 2015 on furniture stocks, after that lost his pants at geshen, focus lumber, johotin, etc. Not to mention his pre 2015 fiascos involving mudajaya, jayatiasa, xinquan, etc

as I mentioned before, his concept is correct, but the devil is in the details

his inability to predict coming year earning is his biggest weakness, causing him to lose money one case after another after a lucky 2015. This is made worse by the blind belief in the elusive "business sense" that has no scientific basis.

Won one year lost 2 years, what business sense ?

nonsense

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-03 16:55 | Report Abuse

I like Forest Gump investing.....dumb dumb make money.
Focus on one thing and got it right.
Live a blessed life.
Happy life
Do charity.

KYY investing and KYY history is Malaysia Forest Gump.

And icon.......from what I know, you have misrepresented his abilities.

Posted by probability > 2016-12-03 16:58 | Report Abuse

actually by right...people like him are the ones who should have access to high level business information....if he had provided these itself (without himself getting involved-buy/sell the stocks) ...the forumers would have cherished.

After helicopter ride with Antos also still no business sense..

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-03 17:01 | Report Abuse

Icon

Mistakes did not kill the old man
Make huge killings when right.

That is the way of the blessed life.

You better learn how to get a blessed life

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2016-12-03 17:09 | Report Abuse

I think FA or whatever A, all can not be applied to the small and medium size companies in Malaysia, the not-so-rich bosses can not be trusted, they tend to drill holes at the drawers.

My long investment target are those big companies owned and managed by the very rich families.

Posted by cheoky > 2016-12-03 17:17 | Report Abuse

Small fish like me more incline to icon method than gungho stockmanmy. All methods participate in the environment contains element of uncertainty. Even with stockmanmy, win big 1st can also lost big next time. Small fish apply your method jump off the bridge alrdy. No method 100% la.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-03 17:28 | Report Abuse

I agree with you , gambler

But there are 2 kinds of people....the skeptical prevention people and the trusting promotion people optimistic people.

Know what? Only the promotion focus people get to be rich from the stock market....not blind faith, but confidence and promotion focused.

To lead a blessed life, one first have to be confident.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-03 17:33 | Report Abuse

Cheeky

A good buy is a good business, good people and good numbers in that order.

Many FA experts focus so much on the numbers, they never even discuses the business and the people.

I like forest Gump......focus on one thing and dumb dumb make money.....but he never ever focus of the numbers like the FA experts.

Jay

Posted by Jay > 2016-12-03 17:42 | Report Abuse

I met kyy once, a bit bossy but doesn't strike me as arrogant. it is good for him to share his thoughts but his tone is his blog posts certainly is not the nicest. and as many forumers have pointed out, his track record is a bit shady. if he has invested equal amount in all the stocks he promoted, most likely he's still in a net loss position

limml

30 posts

Posted by limml > 2016-12-03 17:48 | Report Abuse

Follow the smart money/insiders into or out-of leading stocks in the sector. They buy you buy.They sell you sell. Make sure the company have low possibility of PN17ed within 3 years.

Posted by SimpleInvestor > 2016-12-03 18:01 | Report Abuse

Actually i am just here to make money. Watever that works....works. some fa works on some stocks. Other stocks a keen sense of smell is needed to strike big.

There is no right or wrong. Arguing who is better is senseless.....

We leave that to god .....

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-03 18:08 | Report Abuse

KYY can only flourish if he can find a good analyst to advise him. His concept is right, but stock market is more than just leadership, vision or guts. It is about numbers. Get the future EPS wrong, you are fxck, irregardless whether you are 80 years old or 18 years old

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-03 18:10 | Report Abuse

Raider don know why Icon and kyy have disagreement about ?
They should best of pals...their investment tech are exactly similiar mah...!!

Then why they act like enemies ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-03 18:19 | Report Abuse

I like his concept but doesn't like the havoc he wreaked

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-03 18:21 | Report Abuse

Anyway, I am just stating it as a matter of fact. I give credit to him when it is due, but slap him when he talks nonsense. He could be ten feet tall in real life, but that has got nothing to do with me. I don't get a single sens from him, why do I need to butter him ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-03 18:24 | Report Abuse

The question stockraider should ask is "why are others not behaving like Icon ?", "Why do they need to be so deferential to KYY ?". Did they ever get a single sen of benefit from him ?

When you look at things from this point of view, then you realise Icon is the normal, not the freaks

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-03 18:31 | Report Abuse

icon is the populist, The Donald trump.?

ted by Icon8888 > Dec 3, 2016 06:24 PM | Report Abuse

The question stockraider should ask is "why are others not behaving like Icon ?", "Why do they need to be so deferential to KYY ?". Did they ever get a single sen of benefit from him ?

When you look at things from this point of view, then you realise Icon is the normal, not the freaks

Posted by probability > 2016-12-03 18:32 | Report Abuse

alamak...now Icon have taken the Superinvestor - Stock god throne from KYY!

The old lion had been overthrown...:(

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-03 18:48 | Report Abuse

I just hope for little bit of return lah.... Stock God is a meanjngless title

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2016-12-03 18:48 | Report Abuse

No paper plane meh you look on him arh he is one of the sifu also lo

Posted by probability > 2016-12-03 18:51 | Report Abuse

Oh ya...paperplane! I forgot...

if next year he is in top 5 also...he definitely deserve this title - Donald Trump of Malaysia! :)

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-03 22:45 | Report Abuse

icon

you are no better no worse than KYY.

Should you apologise to those who lost money on Tek Seng? Refund to losers? $ 1.20 now, 70 sen looking at bankruptcy? almost 50% lost.

Tek Seng....$90 million stock they cannot push. $ 180 million bank borrowings....they are looking at bankrupcy and you may read about it in coming months.

No, it is not just a bad quarter....Tek Seng is looking at bankrupcy.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-12-16 12:20 | Report Abuse

Perception of a stock is changing everyday. Even the best sifus kungfu is no guarantee of 100% success. But I learn at least something from all the sifu out there. Tq.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2016-12-16 12:35 | Report Abuse

DKS jumps 50% from 23/8/16 to 20/10/16. Smart investors sold out. No need to find out reason or cry over spill milk. I will not blame anybody or sifus.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-16 13:16 | Report Abuse

Buy up trending stocks provided they have good profit growth prospect and selling at low P/E ratio

simple as ABC....it works like magic for the gifted ones.

12,701 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-16 13:25 | Report Abuse

For the 90% who lost money in stocks over the long term, it is only fair that they stop trading or investing, and spend some time to re-examine whatever philosophy or methods they were using.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-16 13:51 | Report Abuse

for the not gifted ones, sorry, can't help you.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-16 13:54 | Report Abuse

for the not gifted ones, should stick to high NTA stocks and value investing and the forgotten stocks with no volume....that way, will not be be killed , will not be eaten by sharks.

No need to jump down.

uncle

399 posts

Posted by uncle > 2016-12-16 13:54 | Report Abuse

Master debate competition needed

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-16 13:58 | Report Abuse

those seeking margin of safety will get safety but no profits.

You can't have both.

12,701 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-16 17:43 | Report Abuse

Big margin of safety = Big returns. Low risk, high returns strategy of Ben Graham & Buffett. Stockmanmy will benefit by subscribing to KCChong's online course. :-)

12,701 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-19 08:46 | Report Abuse

<<<Posted by stockmanmy > Dec 16, 2016 01:58 PM | Report Abuse

those seeking margin of safety will get safety but no profits.

You can't have both.>>>

This statement is so stupid. Do you understand margin of safety? Do you understand investing at all?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-19 08:53 | Report Abuse

yes, I understand margin of safety...it means put your money in FD.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-19 08:54 | Report Abuse

there is no margin of safety in jargons ...all an illusion.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-19 09:02 | Report Abuse

this forum has far too many people posting far too much about margin of safety which turns out to be an illusion.

Better to have a better helicopter view of the possibilities around you and to make a difference via the stock market.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-09-19 10:28 | Report Abuse

anybody like to revisit??

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2019-09-19 10:34 | Report Abuse

Nice to see 2016 post discussing about KYY. Now that it is 2019, does that change at all? Just a question.