120 comment(s). Last comment by moneySIFU 2016-12-27 10:57

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2016-12-25 16:23 | Report Abuse

I think the rule is fair. It prevents someone to cheat using real money to manipulate entry/exit prices during the year.

Trust me, everybody thinks you will do it if the rule is changed! That's the part you really need to rethink.

As one start fresh, i believe there was talent, there was passion and a great heart behind it. As more success comes by, one slowly losing the pure heart (赤子之心 if i might say). "I am rich so i must be right!" In fact you just do not know how big the world is and how smart can people be.

jonbravo

428 posts

Posted by jonbravo > 2016-12-25 16:30 | Report Abuse

check my portfolio. 17% gain

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-25 16:40 | Report Abuse

I think the organizer’s computer system is not powerful enough to keep track with all the buying and selling of shares by participants. I am willing to consider to offer you some financial help, in case you need.I trust the organizer will change the rule so that participants can use their skill instead of depending just on luck to win.

Me: This is such a good offer from KYY, strongly suggest i3 Admin shud seriously consider KYY offer.
But, could there any others conditions tie with rhe offers ?

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-25 16:44 | Report Abuse

I see this is a genuine offer for i3 and community investors .

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 16:52 | Report Abuse

its just a game with monopoly money....for heaven's sake.

I didn't join last year because I didn't like the restrictions.

If I will to join this year, I will put all the money in the down beaten stocks of 2016., not a single sen in the winners of 2016.

Eg...OG stocks and Mudajaya looks best bets, under existing rules.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2016-12-25 17:09 | Report Abuse

Dear KCChoon,
If you had read Mr. Koon Yew Yin blog: “ Let’s find a solution” on 3 Dec 2016 where Mr. Koon had make a first move to make up to you for his previous blog and you accepted his apology full heartedly on your blog: “Thank you Mr. Koon and hello my “student” Buddyinvest on 4 Dec2016.
Your Blog: “Confidence, optimism and critical thinking in the stock market” on 23 De 23 2016 is inappropriate with unnecessary negative attack which you might unintentionally wrote it to stress your points but it is offensive.
This had provoked Mr. Koon an angry and strong worded respond: “KC Chong and KYY Must Show Proof of Marking Profit” dated 24 Dec 2016. Today he posts another Blog: “I3 investor Annual Competition Rule Must Change” He sounds a little bit sorry that he should have listen to his wife advice. Anyhow whatever done is done and now he is angry of those senseless comments on the I3 Investor Annual Competition Rule. He is definitely right. In war no-body will just standstill and become a sitting ducks or in everyday driving you just DO NOT drive straight. In life we need to maneuver the up and down, the curve and straight the traffic light stop and go in order to safely arrive at your destination. (I recommend everybody read the cnb.cx link.)

Dear Mr. KC Chong,
I think you are wrong this time, your Market blog: “Confidence, optimism and critical thinking in stock market” dated 23 Dec 2014 had hurt Mr. Koon feeling and will you been magnanimous and kind to make a first move to make up with Mr. Koon.
Both of you are Great SIFU in i3investor many people are looking up on you don’t let them down.
Merry Christmas to all.

2,941 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2016-12-25 17:11 | Report Abuse

1 year holding stocks is still considered as short to middle term trader. We are not speculators. I think the rules are fair.

lachai2004

589 posts

Posted by lachai2004 > 2016-12-25 17:29 | Report Abuse

i strongly fell that this competition should allow the participants to cut loss or take profit or even switch counters as long as he is utilising the allocated fund within a year ie from 1 Jan 17-31 Jan 17. In real life investment that we don't buy and wait for a year but smetime when a counter is performing, we even keep it for more than a year to let the profit growth.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-25 17:39 | Report Abuse

Make it a real time investment experience, wow ! That's will be the greater joy.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-25 17:42 | Report Abuse

It is fair...

paperplane and OTB picked their stocks carefully so they generated good return in 2016

For example : Air Asia, Gkent and KESM

Those stocks were picked because they foresaw stronger earnings ahead.

It was due to wisdom and foresight

KYY chose export stocks at their peak for his 2016 portfolio. He lost money for that. This reflects lack of skills , wisdom and foresight . Even if he is allowed to sell, those export stocks would still have caused him to lose money. No difference

The rule of the game has allowed competent contestants to win, and wrong picks to lose

Why unfair ?

timetokoon

305 posts

Posted by timetokoon > 2016-12-25 17:48 | Report Abuse

Ah Koon is right...rules must change for him to remain winner not only 2016 but 2017 too...admin must change too...very bias

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-25 17:48 | Report Abuse

the same set of rules apply to everybody

Paperplane and OTB also are not allowed to sell and buy during portfolio period, but they still generated good return

Why can they do that and KYY cannot do that ? It is the same set of rule, and yet paperplane and OTB were not handicapped by it

If that is the case, how can you say the rule is flawed ?

timetokoon

305 posts

Posted by timetokoon > 2016-12-25 17:51 | Report Abuse

Listen to Ah Koon...admin must read "How to win friends and influence people Ah Koon style"....change you life or Ah Koon will change admin

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-25 17:51 | Report Abuse

Can go for self managed porfolio .

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-25 17:54 | Report Abuse

I would like to take this opportunity to point out to KYY how the 2016 failure demonstrates his shortcomings and limitation

To win, you need to get the future EPS correct. All these so called business sense, conviction, confidence, etc won't work

Those things work in business world. They don't work in stock market.

Stock market only cares about one thing : Future EPS

Get that right, you will succeed. Otherwise, you will fail

I actually learned this concept from KYY through his Golden Rule. It is ironic that now I need to remind him about that

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-25 17:57 | Report Abuse

JHM is a good example, I learned it from icon888 bro.

timetokoon

305 posts

Posted by timetokoon > 2016-12-25 17:58 | Report Abuse

Admin has failed Ah Koon....so rules must change...or change admin...Ah Koon must be made winner of 2016..is that so hard to please him?

Ramada

655 posts

Posted by Ramada > 2016-12-25 18:04 | Report Abuse

Talk always is very easy. Appreciate the work admin had done, please.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-25 18:07 | Report Abuse

i3 has been always a User friendly platform.
Big like to i3 team.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2016-12-25 18:09 | Report Abuse

pick 1 usually untraded stock and last min u buy 100 share to push it up and u win the competition.

yeekarwai 95

3,967 posts

Posted by yeekarwai 95 > 2016-12-25 18:12 | Report Abuse

Mr kyy,can i ask the incentive for 2016 competition top10 winners still existing for reward their efforts?

Posted by Koonshoepolisher > 2016-12-25 18:12 | Report Abuse

I am new here and totally agree with KYY that i3investor rule must change...as taiko or sifu of i3ivestor, the admin must take his views seriously or else you are risking upsetting him.

IBanker

159 posts

Posted by IBanker > 2016-12-25 18:14 | Report Abuse

Hi icon8888, come across that you believe export stocks like Pohuat would perform. I bought Pohuat-WB given its low premium after reading ur article. In ur opinion, what do u think the intrinsic value of POHUAT? Is POHUAT WB a better deal? TQ!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 18:21 | Report Abuse

icon

if rules do not reflect reality, end results do not reflect reality.

what is there to debate?

I know some of you will continue to choose the best stocks you can find, the stocks with the most margin of safety and put it in the competition.

for me.....I am a firm believer in risk = reward, then no risk = no rewards.

if you select the stocks with the least risks, with the greatest moat / margin of safety, you get zero reward. Great performers for 2016 are highly highly unlikely to be great performers for 2017.....just as great performers in 2015 did not make it in 2016.

as this is playing with monopoly money.....contestants are advised to think outside the box.

if you cannot take risk with monopoly money, how are you going to take risk with real money?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 18:33 | Report Abuse

And I have one more prediction.

I predict that OTB 2017 portfolio will be the bottom half in 2017. His FA and TA will throw up the same old stocks and he will be in the bottom half.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-25 18:37 | Report Abuse

Rubbish loh...this KYY...if he picked FLB & it turn out losing...what makes u think....he can sell & buy a better stock leh ??

If u cannot make monies in the mid & longer term, what makes u think...u can make alot of monies, just trading leh ??

Don give excuse loh....if u r a loser...u really a loser mah....!!
Don change the rules to suit u for the sake of perceiving that the 13 rules preventing u from winning loh....!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 18:38 | Report Abuse

if you cannot take risk with monopoly money, how are you going to take risk with real money?

remember...that this is only a game with monopoly money.

with real money, you are not going to let somebody else stop you from trading when you need to trade.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-25 18:43 | Report Abuse

It is not monopoly monies....it is education of investing...it is not child's play loh....!!

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-25 18:48 | Report Abuse

Maybe...u can call...trading competition loh....!!

Buy something...cheap...cheap like Rm 0.01 to Rm 0.03....very illiquid securities..push it up 300% b4...on 30-12-2016 u have a guaranteed winner loh....!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 18:49 | Report Abuse

for me, it is monopoly money because it does not reflect reality.

stockraider > Dec 25, 2016 06:43 PM | Report Abuse

It is not monopoly monies....it is education of investing...it is not child's play loh....!!

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-25 18:55 | Report Abuse

If reality competition....go for KYY-Rhb proposal....go and put real monies of Rm 100k each participants loh....!!

Where is KYY so-called KYY Rm 1 million sponsored prize monies leh ??

Raider notice this kyy like to talk alot, end of the day never deliver loh....!!

For example, KYY want to sponsor millions to TAR college & university education, what happen leh ??

This fellow talk alot to shiok people alot...but cannot deliver loh....!!

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2016-12-25 19:05 | Report Abuse

"To win in this competition you need a lot of luck." - a contestant that is allowed to trade doesnt alter the fact that luck still play a huge role annual return. This sentence is enough to make the whole thing irrelevant

4,278 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-12-25 19:08 | Report Abuse

Now you only know. Last year, he did propose to sponsor 10k first the top 3 winners for competition 2016 but nothing happen lor. haha

Posted by stockraider > Dec 25, 2016 06:55 PM | Report Abuse

If reality competition....go for KYY-Rhb proposal....go and put real monies of Rm 100k each participants loh....!!

Where is KYY so-called KYY Rm 1 million sponsored prize monies leh ??

Raider notice this kyy like to talk alot, end of the day never deliver loh....!!

For example, KYY want to sponsor millions to TAR college & university education, what happen leh ??

This fellow talk alot to shiok people alot...but cannot deliver loh....!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 19:11 | Report Abuse

its just a game with monopoly money....for heaven's sake.

I didn't join last year because I didn't like the restrictions.

If I will to join this year, I will put all the money in the down beaten stocks of 2016., not a single sen in the winners of 2016.

Eg...OG stocks ...the Hibiscus and Reach and SKPetrol, not the OSVs, and Mudajaya looks best bets, under existing rules.

timetokoon

305 posts

Posted by timetokoon > 2016-12-25 19:16 | Report Abuse

Like Ah Koon..you need a lot of luck to win 2016 stock contest and it so happen Ah Koon is the luckiest participant, based on luck alone, Ah Koon declares winner in 2017 too.

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-12-25 19:19 | Report Abuse

Calvin wishes all

MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR OF 2017

An evening with Jim Reeves the velvet voiced singer

Let's tune in now:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIAJpQR3nus

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-25 19:20 | Report Abuse

This mammy talk alot & try to carry KYY balls loh..!!....but it is never a monopoly..!! In Kyy eye loh...!!

Thats why being a sore loser....KYY wants to change the rule...try to divert attention away from his short coming loh....!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 19:34 | Report Abuse

this mammy talks facts.

as this is playing with monopoly money.....contestants are advised to think outside the box.

go for high risk high returns portfolio in this game of monopoly money.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-25 19:35 | Report Abuse

Even change rules....it is still monopoly monies mah....!!
U r not playin with real monies loh...!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 19:37 | Report Abuse

true....change rules still monopoly money but at least more realistic minus the emotional context.

klee

2,929 posts

Posted by klee > 2016-12-25 19:51 | Report Abuse

And so manmy the puppy keep licking her master KYY b*lls day in day out.Hohohohoho.

klee

2,929 posts

Posted by klee > 2016-12-25 19:52 | Report Abuse

Yet master KYY did not even throw her a single bone.

Enteh32

Posted by Enteh32 > 2016-12-25 19:55 | Report Abuse

klee, the more you talk, the dumber you sound...tin kosong

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 20:01 | Report Abuse

klee cannot improve. Impervious to improvements in his life.

Enteh32

Posted by Enteh32 > 2016-12-25 20:09 | Report Abuse

Exactly. Klee alredy 50yrs but still act like cry baby blaming KYY.You need ppl to baby sit you?Grow up la.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-25 20:19 | Report Abuse

There is a word I will use to describe KYY postings.

I choose the word, authenticity.

Its authentic.

No PCness, no need PCness, camouflage, not even fake thank yous.

I like that.

Its authentic.

11,007 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-12-25 20:58 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-25 21:03 | Report Abuse

OTB is real sifu. From huge negative at the beginning of year, he ended with 22% gain.

Luck ? Nope.

This is skill and wisdom.

stockmanmy, just look at OTB stock pick and you will agree with me.

OTB got real substance

11,007 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-12-25 21:04 | Report Abuse

Posted by Up_down > Dec 25, 2016 07:08 PM | Report Abuse

Now you only know. Last year, he did propose to sponsor 10k first the top 3 winners for competition 2016 but nothing happen lor. haha

Ans : Mr Koon wanted to sponsor RM 20k. The committee did not want to accept cash prize. We turn down his offer.

klee

2,929 posts

Posted by klee > 2016-12-25 21:08 |