7 people like this.

122 comment(s). Last comment by poorkid 2017-05-05 03:46

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 02:24 | Report Abuse

I tell you what, kc

To make money needs guts, self esteem and being right, of course.

No guts no point one.

Should stick to diversification rules aka CFA rules.

As I state in Vitrox forum,

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/0097.jsp

stockmanmy there is no such thing as a guarantee stock or home run stock

but stock market will reward people for risks well taken with X factors and later proven correct.

must read whole AR, not just the audited accounts.

20 formulas and 50 ratios, what I call CPA rules, will not help you to make money if no guts and only read audited accounts.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 02:35 | Report Abuse

KYY golden rules not bad one actually....the best catalyst he has found is increasing eps ....this year eps must be more than last year eps.....

simple and elegant like E = MC squared.

just as powerful.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 08:36 | Report Abuse

warnings and disaster stories sell.

Don't believe me? Ask the journalists and why newspapers full of bad news and disaster stories.

But want to make money , has to have guts and success stories to model.

Posted by 没怎么读到书的市集人 > 2017-04-30 08:37 | Report Abuse

I wonder sometimes what this stockmanmy tried to twist? what's wrong with value investing? While value investment method has been proven useful & successful in many ways for more than decades, if not a century, it may not be the only one out there, for example are chart & technical & so on, but definitely thousands miles better than KYY's rules & idiot dynamic investing.

KYY's 2016 stock picks are still negative return of 12% even as at today. 2017 stock picks are just so so only, what's good to proud of? Too much talking & too little delivering. Same goes to stockmanmy.

5,745 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2017-04-30 08:53 | Report Abuse

relax..today is sunday... do some farming to get 10 % return

Posted by 没怎么读到书的市集人 > 2017-04-30 09:02 | Report Abuse

One more thing, KYY's rule is actually small part of value investing, why keep promoting the small branch of a big tree & condemning the tree useless? Oh, if a small branch of a mango tree can grow up itself as a tree, it will become jack fruit tree instead? What a joke on you, stockmanmy!

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-30 09:22 | Report Abuse

Let me be diplomatic today, both stockmanmy and kc git hus point.
INTEGRITY matter the most xp

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 10:57 | Report Abuse

没怎么读到书的市集人

How do you do learning ?

learning is always best done by contrast.

black vs white
top vs bottom
empty vs full

Value investing? I have never heard people saying they are doing valueless investing.

20 formulas and 50 ratios....that is not value investing. That is physics envy. That is hanging pig head sell dog meat.

Giving the impression of certainty where none exists.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-30 11:03 | Report Abuse

Who say don't have ... everybody knowing what behind JJPTR
But, manmy is right this time. ..no one will claim their investing a scam.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 11:12 | Report Abuse

not every thing that can be counted counts.

so how do we know what counts and doesn't?

too complex, therefore not knowing, how to find the guts?

no guts, the professors have some thing suitable for you, it is called diversification.

I think tycoons and mavericks have found a way they can sailang. Make a difference.

They have a talent a gift to simplify things in their minds. I call it the secret of success.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-30 11:16 | Report Abuse

I use my right brain more, really dummy on what my left brain can reach.

boonwei98

87 posts

Posted by boonwei98 > 2017-04-30 11:36 | Report Abuse

Arguing here has no merits. Statistic will prove which theory works. How many investor who sailang makes it big and how many value investor makes it big will shows us which method is more superior right? A big sweep winner will tell you just follow him buys toto, sailang all the way will do after all he is the living proof but how many who follow this method actually ends up with nothing?

11,106 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-04-30 11:45 | Report Abuse

The below are stockmanmy's pick and Ooi Teik Bee's pick based on the closing price on 29/4/2016.

Let us check the performance on 30/12/2016.

Bornoil 0.15 X 14,000 = 2100
CBIP - 2.25 X 900 = 2025
Ekovest - 1.42 X 1500 = 2130
Ecoworld - 1.29 X 1500 = 1935
Taan - 4.79 X 200 = 958
Jtiasa - 1.35 x 700 = 945
Total capital = 10093

Actual performance on 30/12/2016
Bornoil 0.18 X 14,000 = 2520
CBIP - 1.97 X 900 = 1773
Ekovest - 2.38 X 1500 = 3570
Ecoworld - 1.34 X 1500 = 2010
Taan - 3.95 X 240 = 948 (1 for 5 BI)
Jtiasa - 1.34 x 700 = 938
Total capital = 11759
Total gain = +1666 or +16.50%

My pick
Gamuda-WE - 0.995 X 4,000 = 3,980
Gadang - 2.08 X 600 = 1,248
Gkent - 1.71 X 800 = 1,368
Kimlun-WA - 0.705 X 1,600 = 1,128
Pohuat-WB - 0.675 X 2,000 = 1,350
WTK - 1.20 X 1,000 = 1,200
Total capital = 10,274

Actual performance on 30/12/2016
Gamuda-WE - 1.21 X 4,000 = 4,840
Gadang - 1.05 X 1500 = 1,575 (1 split into 2 and 1 for 4 BI)
Gadang-WB - 0.42 x 300 = 126 (Free WB)
Gkent - 3.04 X 1000 = 3,040 (1 for 4 BI)
Kimlun-WA - 0.67 X 1,600 = 1,072
Pohuat-WB - 0.775 X 2,000 = 1,550
WTK - 0.995 X 1,000 = 995
Total capital = 13,198
Total gain = +2,924 or +28.46%

Summary
stockmanmy gain +1666 or +16.50%
OTB - Gain +2,924 or +28.46%

I wish to post this record here for reference to avoid future argument.

I used the below magic formulae to select stocks to beat stockmanmy.
I used Margin Of Safety > 30%
I used EV/EBIT < 8
I used (22.5*EPS*Total Equity/share)^0.5
I used IV= (EPS*(7.5+1.5g)*4.4)/Y
I used Discounted Cash Flows Calculator
I used ROIC (Equity) > 12%
I used ROE > 10%
I also used the followings :-
CFFO > 50% Net Profit
Price to CFFO <= 15
Free Cash Flow > 30% Net Profit
Price to Free Cash Flow <=20
Cash Yield > 4%
Earnings Yield > 12%
Price / Book Value < 1.5
Interest Coverage > 9

I am not an accountant, I want to talk on facts and figures only.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-30 11:50 | Report Abuse

Jialak, manmy

U got to come out with your whole new Stock pick to prove your porfolio can beat OTB.
Come on , u do have some hidden porfolio. Show it to us ....

11,106 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-04-30 12:10 |

21,549 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-04-30 12:11 | Report Abuse

OTB. Prestar is something you shall not miss.

21,549 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-04-30 12:11 | Report Abuse

Steel play in tact. Most steel making tons and tons of money. Let's share the money and joy

11,106 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-04-30 12:13 | Report Abuse

paperplane2016,
Prestar is inside my watchlist. TA is bullish and FA is also very good.

Blacksails

762 posts

Posted by Blacksails > 2017-04-30 12:22 | Report Abuse

hmm............

21,549 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-04-30 12:24 | Report Abuse

Yes. It shall be superb. Stock god recommend it. I will buy it and make it my biggest exposure soon. His recommend, normally at least 100% upside

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 12:42 | Report Abuse

But OTB will not tell me what happened to the bet between his Gamuda Warrant and my Econpile........hahaha.

anyway...the more rules, the more restrictive the rules and accounting formulas/ ratios.....the higher the likelihood a portfolio full of shares with the same characteristics.....breaking a fundamental rule of portfolio theory.

There are a lot of valid reasons for portfolio theory too besides the tycoon approach to investing.

But, at least sailang, you know what you are doing, where you going.

OTB...why don't you update those portfolios above to latest current prices...you probably do not want to bring it up again......lol.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 12:45 | Report Abuse

It is also too simplistic to look at total returns ...sophisticated investors measure performance on the basis of returns per unit of risk ( variations).

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-30 13:19 | Report Abuse

manmy,
pls reveal your porfolio.
to prove you are the best ... hehe

11,106 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-04-30 14:10 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Apr 30, 2017 12:42 PM | Report Abuse

OTB...why don't you update those portfolios above to latest current prices...you probably do not want to bring it up again......lol.

Answer here

The below are stockmanmy's pick and Ooi Teik Bee's pick based on the closing price on 29/4/2016.

Let us check the performance on 28/4/2017.

Bornoil 0.15 X 14,000 = 2100
CBIP - 2.25 X 900 = 2025
Ekovest - 1.42 X 1500 = 2130
Ecoworld - 1.29 X 1500 = 1935
Taan - 4.79 X 200 = 958
Jtiasa - 1.35 x 700 = 945
Total capital = 10093

Actual performance on 28/4/2017
Bornoil 0.185 X 14,000 = 2590
CBIP - 2.06 X 900 = 1854
Ekovest - 1.42 X 1500 x 5/2 = 5325 (2 for 5 split)
Ecoworld - 1.52 X 1500 = 2280
Taan - 3.74 X 240 = 897.6 (1 for 5 BI)
Jtiasa - 1.17 x 700 = 819
Total capital = 13765.6
Total gain = +3672.6 or +36.38%

My pick
Gamuda-WE - 0.995 X 4,000 = 3,980
Gadang - 2.08 X 600 = 1,248
Gkent - 1.71 X 800 = 1,368
Kimlun-WA - 0.705 X 1,600 = 1,128
Pohuat-WB - 0.675 X 2,000 = 1,350
WTK - 1.20 X 1,000 = 1,200
Total capital = 10,274

Actual performance on 28/4/2017
Gamuda-WE - 1.37 X 4,000 = 5,480
Gadang - 1.28 X 1500 = 1,920 (1 split into 2 and 1 for 4 BI)
Gadang-WB - 0.635 x 300 = 190.5 (Free WB)
Gkent - 4.33 X 1000 = 4,330 (1 for 4 BI)
Kimlun-WA - 0.77 X 1,600 = 1,232
Pohuat-WB - 0.83 X 2,000 = 1,660
WTK - 0.995 X 1,000 = 995
Total capital = 15,807.5
Total gain = +5,533.5 or +53.85%

Summary
stockmanmy gain +3672.6 or +36.38%
OTB - Gain +5,533.5 or +53.85%

I wish to post this record here for reference to avoid future argument.

I told you, stockmanmy did not do his homework and simply bullshit his way through.
I take 28/4/2017 closing, I am still the winner.

3,126 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2017-04-30 15:27 | Report Abuse

Luck! Well said! I have to agree with you Mr Chong, that's why we can see many stocks in KYY and Stockman the like not performing. Occasionally luck is on anybody side but most other time, probably not.

Posted by probability > 2017-04-30 15:33 | Report Abuse

its so strange that so many of these successful businessman suicide..guess they are being kiasu (in the sense that one can't accept defeat or meager returns) ..guess this plays a very important factor in being 'very' successful.

hmm...shall i just aim to fall slightly better than the normal bell curve (mean)...no need to aim for the extraordinary? Something to ponder..

i think the recent article from Ricky made us able to quantify how to value high risk high return investment decisions...it really has to do with how sure you are on the direction it will go on top of the magnitude of the direction.

This 'sure factor' only belongs to those who have an edge over the others - all boils down to competitive edge.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 15:38 | Report Abuse

There is a difference between you and me....

I really don't bother much with monopoly money games and model portfolios where I cannot trade.

You seem to spend a lot of time referring to your monopoly money portfolios.....I am more interested in real money.

11,106 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-04-30 16:06 |

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-04-30 16:12 | Report Abuse

yeah teach people here how to make 1 mil not a few k only not enough to makan also. everyday wanna eat restaurant not economy rice so a few k not enough....haha

rchi

20,923 posts

Posted by rchi > 2017-04-30 16:13 | Report Abuse

Although this stockman dude seems to 'plp' someone a lot,i see his performance really not too bad.He has mfcb n vitrox,2 of the best performers.

All he need is a bit more humility.

rchi

20,923 posts

Posted by rchi > 2017-04-30 16:15 | Report Abuse

Even me dun challenge the legendary KC n OTB.You may win a bit more money than them in the short run,but it is long term performance that counts.

limch

2,963 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-04-30 16:23 | Report Abuse

Difference between us and OTB is he is remiser whereas myself, stockmanmy, KC or whoever are not so KYY cannot approach us. In fact I beat OTB in 2013 TKW stock competition using id rlch but why he never mentioned at all.

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Apr 30, 2017 04:06 PM | Report Abuse

stockmanmy,

I am very sure you cannot beat me in term of money made from stock market. This is a fact here, no matter how you twist the story.

Please do your homework before you talk, twist and turn will not earn your respect from readers in I3. I will look down on you if you do not talk with facts and figures especially you bullshit on your strategy.

If you are so good, someone will approach you to help him to make money.

I stop here, no more comment from me.

Yours sincerely,

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-04-30 16:25 | Report Abuse

Myself only a kampung boy unlike city folks who must boast day and night.

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-04-30 16:26 | Report Abuse

In this bull market, hardly people will lose in stock market, if you are able to win in bear market, then I will salute to you, Mr. stockmammy!

Posted by MrBean_in_Malaysia > 2017-04-30 16:27 | Report Abuse

surely stockmanmy outspoken than OTB, stockmanmy talk rubbish non stop, OTB count money non stop.

Posted by probability > 2017-04-30 16:42 | Report Abuse

good one Mr. Bean..he he..

i hope at least the satisfaction he (stockman) gets by doing so...matches to OTB's...

coz perhaps at the end thats what counts...who knows

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-04-30 16:49 | Report Abuse

Those who not aware about myself please refer to attached link. I was first winner of TKW stock competition in 2013. Nowadays I prefer to use my own name id limch.
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_challenge_2013_2h/36046.jsp

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-04-30 16:51 | Report Abuse

who say bull market cannot lose? many old timers such as my insurance agent told me to buy magnum at 3.16 2 years ago,told me dividend 20cts now he lost over 70k, 100,000 units he bought. I told him don't buy this stock cos many illegal 4d shops mushrooming. he also told me to buy one all mati, country view at 3.00, bjtoto at 3.30, cepat at 1.03, he told me all those are dividend paying counters

Posted by probability > 2017-04-30 16:52 | Report Abuse

limch..after that you stop participating in the yearly competition? why?

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2017-04-30 16:53 | Report Abuse

Agree. Magnum still lose. So is glove stocks at the moment.

Posted by Apollo Ang > Apr 30, 2017 04:51 PM | Report Abuse
who say bull market cannot lose? many old timers such as my insurance agent told me to buy magnum at 3.16

limch

2,963 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-04-30 16:58 | Report Abuse

The format change. Unlike 2013 1 not allowed to trade(meaning must own the stocks from 1st Jan until Dec 31st) from 2014 onwards. You can refer to KYY complain about this as well.

Posted by probability > Apr 30, 2017 04:52 PM | Report Abuse
limch..after that you stop participating in the yearly competition? why?

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-04-30 16:59 | Report Abuse

those who bought sin stocks,oil stocks,properties and many loss making PN17 counters lost. in 2007 I bought kinsteel at 1.50 200,000 units sold at 56cts only in 2009 now after 10 years if no sell all gone....haha

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-04-30 17:04 | Report Abuse

1 of my old buddy bought mems,akn tech lost over RM 2mil then saw the director when waiting for his appeal at starbucks thought wanna punch him cos swindle all his money now he's broke

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-04-30 17:27 | Report Abuse

Apollo Ang, I'm so sorry to hear all the sad stories, maybe I am lucky last year and this year. Anyway, hope you will win back all your losses in this year, cheers!

Surewin123

12,591 posts

Posted by Surewin123 > 2017-04-30 18:50 | Report Abuse

I'm sorry to hear about your loss, Apollo. You seem to go through slot. And truly need people like you at i3 to warn and educate youngsters like me to trade carefully.

I hope you are getting better in return now.

Surewin123

12,591 posts

Posted by Surewin123 > 2017-04-30 18:51 | Report Abuse

'alot'

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-04-30 18:55 | Report Abuse

in fact I spend more than I lost....hahaha.just that now slowdown I just cut down expenses.no regrets lah cos never work b4 and spend like king for so long.i even lost to 4d more than u people lost in stocks.....)

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-04-30 18:56 | Report Abuse

if given more money to me also is spend all only.....haha

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-30 19:09 | Report Abuse

good stocks ( strong Balance Sheet) at low prices (low PE, high NTA)......I hope they don't get anymore Red Chips in Bursa.

good stocks ( strong Balance Sheet) at low prices (low PE, high NTA)......in the majority of cases, they are trading at low PEs, high NTA for a reason......sunset industries, too small and no track record, untrustworthy, not tested, Red chips in Bursa

what about turnarounds? banks? technology stocks? themes? blue chips? growth stocks? ....all these will fall out of OTB radar......

what about the basic requirement of a diversified portfolio with negatively co related characteristics?

what about business, people then only prices?

how about reading the whole Annual Report instead of just the audited accounts?

you really want that kind of radar? really really want that kind of radar?