91 comment(s). Last comment by 3iii 2019-10-02 09:24

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 14:26 | Report Abuse

I remember one fellow i3 forumer called ks55 said

EKRAN SHARES FELL 7 TIMES LIMIT DOWN AND THEN GONE BANKRUPT FINALLY.

This was worst than IFCA,s 3 LIMIT DOWNS FROM RM1.87 to below 40 sen.

How many sleepless nights

Many thousands suffered margin calls in the grip of agony and got their shares forced sold due to margin calls.

Some got heart attacks while not a few committed suicide.

Fortunes flew away. Families broke apart.

ALL BETTER WAKE UP!!

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-08 14:33 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you know when I read Graham on the Intelligent Investor, he also cited the disastrous result of the 1929 depression. The company's PE dropped from a high 20x to single digit...some even 0.5 PE (no joke!)

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-08 14:34 | Report Abuse

and Graham that time in early 1930 still playing margin. He was warned by a 93-year-old veteran, but he did not heed the advice. Result? 50% wiped off the fund portfolio he manages for the college.

When the time recovers, he manage to climb back and did better after that.

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 14:44 | Report Abuse

Alex Foo Calvin, you know when I read Graham on the Intelligent Investor, he also cited the disastrous result of the 1929 depression. The company's PE dropped from a high 20x to single digit...some even 0.5 PE (no joke!)
08/08/2017 14:33

yes it was a terrible thing to live through THE GREAT DEPRESSION.

NO BODY WHO OWNED STOCKS THEN ESCAPED.

EVEN THE GREAT ECONOMIST JOHN MAYNARD KEYNES ALSO GOT CAUGHT INSIDE

BUT JOHN KEYNES SURVIVED AND EVEN DID WELL BY SWITCHING TO DIVIDEND PAYING UTILITY STOCKS

I HAVE PICKED OPCOM AND PBA FOR THIS YEAR'S STOCK CHALLENGE

SO FAR THEY DIDN'T PERFORM

I AM PREPARING FOR OCTOBER 2017 - IF WE CAN SURVIVE THIS CRUCIAL MONTH AND YEAR

THE CRISIS MONTH OF 1929 WAS OCTOBER 29 1929

AND THESE WERE THE CRISIS YEAR

1987 WHEN DOW CRASHED BY 25% IN ONE DAY
1997 ASIAN FINANCIAL CRISIS
2007 LEHMAN BROTHERS. CRISIS
2017? WILL WE ESCAPE?

BUT THIS IS NOTHING COMPARED TO THE TULIP BUBBLE BURST OF HOLLAND

ENTIRE FAMILY FORTUNES WIPED OUT. MANY FELL FROM AFFLUENT TO ABJECT POVERTY

THE HOLLAND PEOPLE HAVE BEEN A LAUGHING STOCK FOR FEW CENTURIES ALREADY.

STRANGE THING NOW IS

THE ONLY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD THAT HATE GAMBLING TO THE CORE IS THE DUTCH TODAY

SPECULATION IS NOT FOUND SO MUCH IN HOLLAND TODAY AS ELSEWHERE IN THE WHOLE WORLD

THEY HAD LEARNT THEIR LESSON WELL

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-08 14:46 | Report Abuse

yeah....also good to highlight that, after crisis, there bounds to be a recovery. After depression, the market recovered.
After Asian financial crisis, the market recovered.
After sub-prime, the market stabilized

2017? After crash, the market will (i hope) recover.

I suppose we can see sign from

1) cryptocurrency fall
2) dow jones
3) hang seng
4) the rest =)

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-08 14:46 | Report Abuse

also good to check

gold price, to see how many flee there as a gauge

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 14:48 | Report Abuse

1) don't buy inflated stocks
2) don't buy untraded stocks

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 14:49 | Report Abuse

YES

DURING ASIAN FINANCIAL CRISIS PUBLIC BANK FELL TO 80 SEN AND EVEN NESTLE FELL BELOW RM12.00

THAT SHOWS THAT MILO AND MAGGIE MEE BEING NECESSITIES SURVIVED WELL.

PUBLIC BANK GOT HIT BECAUSE OF MANY BUSINESS FAILURES AND FEW QUALIFIED FOR NEW LOANS. BUSINESSES DARE NOT START OR EXPAND THEN AND NPL GOES UP.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 14:53 | Report Abuse

2 of my frens kena hit hard by ekran, mr huam lost over 1 mil and mr loo. mr loo bought 100,000 units of ekran at 3.50,wif margin of 250k from amfinance. it went up to over RM 30.00 but he didn't sell until down to penny stocks and owe amfinance over 250k and went broke

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 14:54 | Report Abuse

SURPRISINGLY At its very bottom of 262 points for klse one man turned very bullish

IT WAS DR. NEOH SOON KEAN WHO CALLED FOR A BUY BECAUSE HE SAID

KLSE AT 262 WAS "THE BARGAIN OF THE CENTURY"

HE ALSO SAID THAT AT 262 POINTS SHARES CANNOT GO DOWN MUCH FURTHER

HE SAID THAT IF YOU COMPRESS IRON SPRING MORE AND MORE IT WON'T GO DOWN MUCH AS IT IS ALREADY PRESSED DOWN SO MUCH

THAT"S HOW CALVIN CREATES A MOTTO

"HE THAT IS LOW NEEDS FEAR NO FALL"

TAKEN FROM GRAND MASTER CHAMPION SIFU DR NEOH SOON KEAN TIMELESS ADVISE!!

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 14:56 | Report Abuse

mr huam lost a few million in stocks on ekran,eden,wong engineering,north borneo timber(now dunno change name to what)

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 14:57 | Report Abuse

apolloang 1) don't buy inflated stocks
2) don't buy untraded stocks
08/08/2017 14:48

calvin agrees 50% - don't buy inflated stocks. this is correct!

don't buy untraded stocks?

SIFU WARREN BUFFET SAID HE LIKES TO BUY A STOCK EVEN IF THE STOCK IS SUSPENDED WITHOUT TRADING FOR THE NEXT 10 YEARS - HE IS STILL FINE WITH IT.

EXAMPLES ARE WALMART, COCA COLA, McDONALD & WRIGLEY CHEWING GUM

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-08 14:59 | Report Abuse

Sochai talking number 1 but stock pick 0% profit after 7 months 7 days...rank 224. I am doubt his real life suck like a chicken

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-08 15:00 | Report Abuse

Whoaaa...at this type of market my hibiscus still up 11%...haha...my hibiscus alone can beat your 10 years stock pick. Lol

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:01 | Report Abuse

untraded stocks if market crash cannot sell,mati....buy a lot only can sell 100 share.....hahaha

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:02 | Report Abuse

apolloang 2 of my frens kena hit hard by ekran, mr huam lost over 1 mil and mr loo. mr loo bought 100,000 units of ekran at 3.50,wif margin of 250k from amfinance. it went up to over RM 30.00 but he didn't sell until down to penny stocks and owe amfinance over 250k and went broke
08/08/2017 14:53

WOW! TERRRIBLE!

I REMEMBER MR N OF BATU PAHAT

HE LOST RM5 MILLIONS

AND HE WENT BANKRUPT

HE USED 6 RELATIVES TO BORROW RM200,000 EACH FROM 6 BANKS

ALL RM1.2 MILLIONS GONE

6 OF HIS RELATIVES ALSO GONE BANK RUPT.

MR. N BORROWED FROM LOAN SHARKS

WHILE BANKS SUED HIM BANKRUPT AH LONGS WANT TO BEAT HIM UP

SO HE RAN TO THAI BORDER AND SMUGGLE RICE FROM THAILAND AND SMUGGLE PETROL FROM MALAYSIA TO THAILAND. SO PITIFUL

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:04 | Report Abuse

I remember trachoma kena coma cannot sell in 2007 lehman bro crash. also kena kramat tin bought at 55.00 sold at 10.00 only in 1997. tipu this kramat tin also announce a 10 for 1 bonus issue.in the end bonus also pun tak ada

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-08 15:11 | Report Abuse

pls share more....newbie alex is listening

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:11 | Report Abuse

yes trachoma is really a lousy name.

sounds like glaucoma

and ends in a coma

surely there are better name that that?

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:13 | Report Abuse

YES SULTAN APOLLO HAS VAST EXPERIENCE

PLEASE SHARE YOUR VALUABLE EXPERIENCES TO ALL HERE

I WAS MOSTLY OUT OF THE MARKET IN 1997/8 THEN

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:15 | Report Abuse

kyy also bought tracoma before

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:17 | Report Abuse

kyy bought tracoma?

i heard he bought worldwide and kena there (johor sifu told me)

never learn his lesson and still dabble in jaks?

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:18 | Report Abuse

not vast experience....from a-z apa saham pun tahu and memorized in my brain....haha

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:21 | Report Abuse

remember datuk keramat and Georgetown kena PN 17 mana kena teruk but I made a lot from both of these stocks.....hahaha

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:23 | Report Abuse

once I bought ekran 87cts 2 days went up till 1.50 didn't sell, then drop to 1.07 sold off make about 20k,that were the times.....haha

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:24 | Report Abuse

haha!

at least better than me lah

i missed the 1993 bull run so i also escaped the carnage later

those who made easy money in 1993 lost all and everything later

I got one guy called Mark to whom I supply cars at wholesale prices in year 1992.

He disappeared in year 1993 for the whole year and resurfaced later.

After few years absence he came to see me again for used cars

He said he made Rm800,000 in year 1993

Making money in aircond room was so easy - why sell cars under hot sun?

Then he overstayed the market as it corrected. He lost all his Rm800,000 profits later. Then he lost his own capital to the tune of Rm1.2 millions

In total Rm2 millions were gone in just 2 years!

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:28 | Report Abuse

my fren mr khaw make 3.7mil in 1993 lost all in 1997. he bought idris 30cts and sold at 7.80,he bought granite 2.28 and sold at 12.00. in 1996 he bought prime-w at 10.00 become zero,apland at 3.00 sold at privatize price at 45cts

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:29 | Report Abuse

haha!

I tendered and bought over 150 cars in 1992.

I had no time for stocks as I was busily selling those Stationwagons in year 1993

My men and brokers would sent the cars for their friends to see & decide.

They called back to say, "Wait until 5 pm"

I said, "Why wait until 5 pm for the answer?"

He replied, "If their shares go up that day they will pay booking fees for the car."

Ha! Times were very good. I sold cars most of the time as shares mostly up in year 1993.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:33 | Report Abuse

I know a fren he lost the worst over 10 mil.he is mr lee. he bought phileo allied bank, ammb-warrant,sriwani and over a list of about 100 counters. in 1997 alone he lost more than 10 mil including margin from phileo allied,ambank and maybank only he owe 4.5 mil and his bunglow kena caveat

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:35 | Report Abuse

in 1987 crash I saw OCBC crash 1 day from 10.00 to 6.00. last time no limit down one

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:36 | Report Abuse

haha!

I didn't buy shares of company but i bought many of their co cars

1) sime darby, telekom, l&g, mui group, mbf group, southern bank branch manager cars (mostly cheap protons), spanco govt cars, bandaraya cars, repo cars, genting cars & many others.

one co I bought all their jeeps - called Espirit
When I bought the last M Pajero I saw Espirit shares went LIMIT UP THAT DAY

I was excited. But the Boss of Espirit told me they are going bankrupt & so don't touch Espirit. It came true later & Espirit was delisted

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:37 | Report Abuse

I avoid all the crash only that the worst pm cause me lost a lot is that bodohwi. his time is the worst,kena many like tracoma,saag,hwa tai and many more

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:39 | Report Abuse

From Telekom I discovered that this is one of the Most Honest Company. Even staff lost their bids to me. Everything done by Telekom was transparent And Above Board.

That's why I think OPCOM has good chance even though it is owned by Muhkriz.

Telekom puts Business above politics

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:42 | Report Abuse

apolloang I avoid all the crash only that the worst pm cause me lost a lot is that bodohwi. his time is the worst,kena many like tracoma,saag,hwa tai and many more
08/08/2017 15:37

BODOHWI?

HE WAS SLEEPING DURING THAT ELECTION YEAR WHEN HE FAILED TO SUPPORT THE STOCK MARKET. SO AFTER UMNO LOST 2/3 MAJORITY KLSE CRASHED 100 POINTS & ALARM WAS TRIGGERED. TRADING STOPPED FOR ONE HOUR. I THINK PM NAJIB IS NOT SO BODOH

THAT'S WHY HE SUPPORTED DRB & OTHER GOVT LINKED STOCKS

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 15:47 | Report Abuse

the worst pm in msia history is bodohwi

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 15:49 | Report Abuse

Posted by apolloang > Aug 8, 2017 03:47 PM | Report Abuse

worst for stock market because he failed to support it during election year but he did one thing good. after dr. m prodded him he launched 9mp

and i made a lot from all cement companies then, also from long steel stocks

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-08 16:28 |

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 19:15 | Report Abuse

3iii calvintaneng You have the general idea of investing. You have the general idea of value investing and its concept of margin of safety. However, Grahamian type value investing is only profitable if you can find great companies trading at a discount to its intrinsic value. For those who forage among the down and trodden lousy companies hoping to uncover a gem, in most instances, they ended with lousy companies.

If calvintaneng can reframe his thinking. Instead of being attracted to the lesser quality companies, and he focus on the high quality great companies, he may do much better.

This is just my observation. Perhaps, he is doing very well too using his present method. I would not know.
08/08/2017 16:09

Thks. What you wrote have already been said by my Johor Sifu. He wants stable good companies that give 20% to 30% growth yearly. See, he has at least Rm50 millions to Rm100 millions or more. So it is ok for him.

I told him since he has so much he could seek for above average returns. And for me to chase up I must look for spectacular returns. In any case I am still experimenting. Only 5% of my capital is in the stock market for now.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-08 19:16 | Report Abuse

224) calvintaneng -1.0% 98958.01 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/71329.jsp
23% PBA 1.280+0.0225 1.150 17300|22% DUTALND 0.440 0.400 49800|20% OPCOM 0.585 0.600 33200|20% BJCORP 0.330 0.340 58600|16% BPURI 0.340 0.435 45800 (98777.25:180.76|237.24)

Wakakakakaa...result speak everything

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-08 19:18 | Report Abuse

224) calvintaneng -1.0% 98958.01 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/71329.jsp
23% PBA 1.280+0.0225 1.150 17300|22% DUTALND 0.440 0.400 49800|20% OPCOM 0.585 0.600 33200|20% BJCORP 0.330 0.340 58600|16% BPURI 0.340 0.435 45800 (98777.25:180.76|237.24)

Thinking hard now how to telling lie again? Haha...low life

I project calvin sochai end with -2% by dec 2017. Rank bottom 10. LOL

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-08 19:33 | Report Abuse

Tsunami now at -1% now...how? All people making profit but only this sochai making loss...hahahaha

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 19:36 | Report Abuse

Haha John Lu,
Result will be official on Dec 31st 2017.
So there is still
Sept
October
November
December.

Wait till then all will know.
Why the hurry?
Come back in 4 months' time then see Mau Sang Wang durian fully ripe.

Only when fully ripe Malaysian durian will give off the best aroma.

If you cannot wait then you must be eating lousy thai durian?
Hohoho!!

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-08 19:38 | Report Abuse

LOL...stupid u. Another 4 months u sure bottom 10....haha...lousy pick at the beginning sure holland like u now...naked in front of us stil wanna act nothing? Diu

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 21:12 | Report Abuse

Didn't you hear the statement..

HE WHO LAUGH LAST LAUGH THE LOUDEST.

SO WAIT AND ALL WILL SEE.

FOR NOW LET'S RECOUNT

1. MADE. MORE THAN 100% FROM DRB PRICE RISE AT 92 SEN TO RM1.87

2. MADE 200% FROM DRB C30 As PRICE ROSE FROM 12 SEN TO 36 SEN

3. MADE ANOTHER 100% FROM MAJULAH PERAK WHEN PRICE ROSE FROM 31.5 SEN TO 60 SEN

SO?

JUST THESE 3 GARNERED 400% ALREADY!!

sell

2,448 posts

Posted by sell > 2017-08-08 21:21 | Report Abuse

I made a lot of money from KPS and BJ Corp when Badawi was PM so not a bad PM. NajXX should be worst PM if GE 13 result show. If now hold GE doubt he can gain more more votes with weak stock market and GST.

Posted by apolloang > Aug 8, 2017 03:47 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 21:42 | Report Abuse

last time where got limit down.....even dow jones can crash 30% in a single day in 1987. now US got circuit breakers.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 21:45 | Report Abuse

wif the introduction of 100 share,if got crash u think so easy to buy or sell? when crash the untraded stocks mostly done 100 share to make it down a lot,how to sell like that?

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-08 21:49 | Report Abuse

as of my fren mr lee now in heaven,he lost until bank lelong his house and he have to go to old folks home to stay until he passed away.he lost so much that time cos he bought too many counters and hard for him to sell,also that time he know many of the bank managers which keep delaying the margin call.he kena forced sell all his stocks at the lowest,and some becomes zero.at that time also many kena PN17

54,925 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-08-08 21:50 | Report Abuse

Sell,

How come so coincidental?

You made a lot from Bj Corp and Kps?

Wow? These were the 2 ten baggar stocks then

KPS ROSE FROM 39.5 SEN TO RM3.94

And BJ CORP JUMPED FROM 12 SEN TO OVER RM1.50

BOTH JOHOR SIFU AND I MADE SO MUCH FROM THESE 2 COUNTERS.

VERY MEMORABLE

johnyeoyeo

311 posts

Posted by johnyeoyeo > 2017-08-08 21:52 | Report Abuse

apolloang you remind me those days when bought in transmile with limit down