16 comment(s). Last comment by qqq3 2018-06-02 14:20

5,534 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-06-02 08:25 | Report Abuse

Dear Jon Choivo,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on investment, I appreciate your writing a lot.
Malaysia needs people like you (generation Y) to make Malaysia great again. Wish you a Happy and Enlightenment investment.

AlfredHui

11 posts

Posted by AlfredHui > 2018-06-02 08:35 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the article keep up the good work

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-06-02 09:40 | Report Abuse

why comparing your performance aganst ACE index? you can used FBMEMAS as a benchmark, more reflective of your portfolio i guess

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:12 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:23 |

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-06-02 10:26 | Report Abuse

PHLX Semiconductor Sector was up 2.34% on Friday.

Semiconductor rally is coming.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:40 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:51 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:52 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:58 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 10:59 | Report Abuse

Stock: [HENGYUAN]: HENGYUAN REFINING CO BHD

Aug 13, 2017 12:05 AM | Report Abuse

Don't use PE ratio

EPS is easy to manipulate.

EPS says nothing about the quality of the profits.

EPS may not resemble true cash profits.

EPS may be based on profits that are unsustainably high or temporarily low. (This means that the PE ratio could be misleadingly low # or high. This is a particular problem for cyclical companies.)

# like Hengyuan. The low PE maybe misleading due to the unsustainably and/or temporarily high profits.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-06-02 11:02 | Report Abuse

Stock: [HENGYUAN]: HENGYUAN REFINING CO BHD

Aug 14, 2017 10:36 PM | Report Abuse

>>>Eh? Calvintaneng still alive? I tot you already run road because chasing by ALONG due to your big lose in

Bjcorp
Mulpha
Mui
Pmcorp
Alam
Perisai
Kbunai
Etc

Alamak. Low life<<<

Can I attempt at guessing Calvintaneng's investing philosophy?

He is a follower of Graham's deep value investing.

From my understanding of Graham's teaching, I am not sure if he would have bought into these stocks at all.

Here is a
Ben Graham Checklist for Finding Undervalued Stocks

Criterias

Risk
1. Earnings to price (the inverse of P/E) is double the high-grade corporate bond yield. If the high-grade bond yields 7%, then earnings to price should be 14%.
2. P/E ratio that is 0.4 times the highest average P/E achieved in the last 5 years.
3. Dividend yield is 2/3 the high-grade bond yield.
4. Stock price of 2/3 the tangible book value per share.
5. Stock price of 2/3 the net current asset value.

Financial strength
6. Total debt is lower than tangible book value.
7. Current ratio (current assets/current liabilities) is greater than 2.
8. Total debt is no more than liquidation value.

Earnings stability
9. Earnings have doubled in most recent 10 years.
10. Earnings have declined no more than 5% in 2 of the past 10 years.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-06-02 13:29 | Report Abuse

This is very true. About 60% of my portfolio is great companies. 24% is good companies at fair price, about 28% is great company at cheap price.

====================================================================================
4. Yet rather surprisingly, Benjamin Graham made a lot of money not from this strategy which he preached and held widely. His gains from one stock (GEICO) overshadowed and exceeded all the gains from all his other above transactions by a wide margin. For GEICO, he bought a company with great business and potential at a fair or undervalued price and he held this for a long term, enjoying the gains derived from its growing earning power. Warren Buffett was using Graham strategy in the first 20 years of his investing and changed to the Philip Fisher / Charlie Munger / Graham's GEICO strategy subsequently. For those with the right temperament, philosophy and strategy, the latter in my opinion is a better strategy to grow long term wealth ... steadily, confidently and with a high degree of probability of a good outcome.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-02 13:42 | Report Abuse

And for those who want more diversification than KYY, you can read about my portfolio and how to built a portfolio by reading my posts here.

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600157964.jsp

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-02 14:20 |