CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): CIMB (1023)

+0.04 (0.51%)

7.84 - 7.97

21 people like this.

18,453 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 4 hours ago

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-14 14:12 | Report Abuse

Hehe...Why so rush... Wait until CIMB strong Hammered only jump In....
I belive Nazir wont let his cimb drop too much ~!!!

annmix

1,521 posts

Posted by annmix > 2015-08-14 17:33 | Report Abuse

How much more bursa can go down? Another 100 point? Or more?

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-14 20:43 | Report Abuse

Index drop 270 point..
Cimb still at 4.97.... should drop to 4.60++

ImCK

3,086 posts

Posted by ImCK > 2015-08-14 20:55 | Report Abuse

monday another drag down because of petronas net profit drop too much

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-14 21:00 | Report Abuse

YES..Alot counter will drop alot !!!
But those counter have potential , strong cash flow.....
Insider will keep support the counter...
For example : look at "KULIM"

Posted by raymondanoh > 2015-08-15 01:41 | Report Abuse

Come Monday cheap getting cheaper.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2015-08-15 10:35 | Report Abuse

broke 5.00 level. next level is 4.20

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-15 13:31 | Report Abuse

If 4.20 ~ Index should be 1200 ! :D

Posted by alex_theking > 2015-08-15 19:40 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/225483.jsp

Nine banks agree to pay US$2 billion to settle forex rigging suit
Publish date: Fri, 14 Aug 2015, 08:25 PM
NEW YORK: Nine major banks accused of foreign-exchange rigging have agreed to pay more than US$2 billion to investors in settlements, a law firm involved in the process said Thursday.

Plaintiffs have "reached settlements totalling more than US$2 billion with Bank of America, Barclays, BNP Paribas, Citi, Goldman Sachs, HSBC, JPMorgan, RBS and UBS," legal firm Hausfeld said in a statement published after a hearing in New York.

Hausfeld, which represented investors, gave no indication how the sum would be divided between the banks and said that the agreements were preliminary and must still be approved by US District Judge Lorna Schofield.

In June, sources close to the situation reported that Barclays would pay US$375 million, HSBC US$285 million, BNP Paribas nearly US$100 million and Goldman Sachs about US$130 million. But they also specified that the amounts were subject to change.

None of the banks responded immediately when contacted by AFP.

Some of the banks in Thursday's announcement had already agreed to specific sums.

US banking giant JPMorgan Chase agreed to pay US$99.5 million in January, followed by Bank of America at US$180 million, Citigroup at US$394 million and Swiss UBS at US$135 million.

"In addition to the billions of dollars in compensation, these settling banks have agreed to cooperate with investors in their continuing litigation" against other institutions, Hausfeld said.

Thursday's agreements are distinct from proceedings led by US and British regulators, which in May ordered US$6 billion in fines on six major banks - Barclays, JPMorgan Chase, Citigroup, Royal Bank of Scotland, UBS and Bank of America - for rigging foreign exchange market and Libor interest rates.

Barclays, JPMorgan Chase, Citigroup and the Royal Bank of Scotland all pleaded guilty to US Justice Department charges of conspiring to manipulate the massive currency market.

"While the recoveries here are tremendous, they are just the beginning," said Hausfeld chairman Michael Hausfeld.

"Investors around the world should take note of the significant recoveries secured in the United States and recognize that these settlements cover a fraction of the world's largest financial market," he said.

The firm also noted that it was considering "concerted action" in London. -- AFP
15/08/2015 19:36

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2015-08-16 16:45 | Report Abuse

EPF and Mitsubishi buying. Why drop? Contra player selling?
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annchsh/1023.jsp

595 posts

Posted by 891088 > 2015-08-16 19:05 | Report Abuse

Contra player not hv buying power anymore. They ran away only left selipar Jepun and balance 50sen to tapau nasi lemak.

sasopi87

641 posts

Posted by sasopi87 > 2015-08-16 19:17 | Report Abuse

Zahid: Plotter of topple govt will meet PM today
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015/08/16/zahid-hamidi-plotter-of-topple-govt-to-meet-najib

kleboy

292 posts

Posted by kleboy > 2015-08-17 11:12 | Report Abuse

TA TEAM ... today is CIMB lowest price RM 4.89 in 5 years. TA team are you still asking investor to reduce our wealth.

kleboy

292 posts

Posted by kleboy > 2015-08-17 11:17 | Report Abuse

The price should be about RM 4.59 with this type of index. Down 12%.

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2015-08-17 15:58 | Report Abuse

I m waiting it at rm 2.5~3.0

Posted by CIMB CimbGuaNenNen > 2015-08-17 19:02 | Report Abuse

Wow, my kiss bank or cimb bank is giving discount but I scare becos cimb bank ask for comMitments, not only giving free kisses only .

kleboy

292 posts

Posted by kleboy > 2015-08-18 14:43 | Report Abuse

wait another wave will bring down this week

pilato

236 posts

Posted by pilato > 2015-08-18 17:19 | Report Abuse

Yes can buy more at cheap price

595 posts

Posted by 891088 > 2015-08-19 08:00 | Report Abuse

4.94 still can buy nasi lemak ayam berempah+included get.since last year faced so many trouble.

595 posts

Posted by 891088 > 2015-08-19 08:00 | Report Abuse

*Gst

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-19 16:41 | Report Abuse

Pattern Of CIMB..Bearish Shooting star

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-20 00:07 | Report Abuse

Not to spook anyone but I am betting KLCI might touch 1550 in near term...and if its bad enough, 1500.
Why?
1. Depreciation of RM, making imports much more expensive. Foreign selling RM bonds.
2. China economy shrinking, thus, government devalue yuen (3rd time now)sparking a currency war to boost its export. Many companies are selling goods to China, but with yuen decreasing, china will lose its buying power.
3. Shanghai index volatility. drop 5% today buy government backing bring it up to 2% increase.
4. Oil price hovering at 6 years low and expected to trend lower. Malaysia is primarily a O&G country, PETRONAS contribute RM8 bil as tax to government yearly. This time, we are seeing only RM4 bil (USD100 per barrel becomes USD45 per barrel). Blue chips counters in O&G will weight
5. Political instability.
6. Commodities are trading low prices. Copper, oil, due to devalue of Yuen, making China buying power to decrease.

All the best guys !

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-20 01:29 | Report Abuse

Agree with you ! But the list you mention...
Already drag down the klci from 1800 to 1577....
Just my 2 cent. ..If have extra bullet. ..can grab some and hold...
Prepare another bullet to average. . That's is what stock market is...
Buy low sell high... don't predict market

rich_

221 posts

Posted by rich_ > 2015-08-20 05:18 | Report Abuse

"The Committee concluded that, although it had seen further progress, the economic conditions warranting an increase in the target range for the federal funds rate had not yet been met," bank officials noted in the minutes released Wednesday. Most traders now expect the Fed to raise rates in December, which investment bank Goldman Sachs has said would be better timing than September.

http://www.thestreet.com/story/13247653/1/beware-gazing-into-central-banks-crystal-ball-can-befuddle-as-well-as-benefit.html?puc=yahoo&cm_ven=YAHOO

yong8888

390 posts

Posted by yong8888 > 2015-08-20 06:05 | Report Abuse

can cimb be 4.50000 today

happy trading

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-20 10:35 | Report Abuse

Another Strong support at RM4.90 ~ Wish today close above RM5.00 !!!

supernova

1,923 posts

Posted by supernova > 2015-08-20 10:36 | Report Abuse

4.5 looks possible

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-20 10:53 | Report Abuse

Base on the Index...If Hit RM4.50 ~ The index should be 1500+ or below

BuLLRam

1,104 posts

Posted by BuLLRam > 2015-08-20 11:09 | Report Abuse

UALA LUMPUR (Aug 19): CIMB Group Holdings Bhd chairman Datuk Seri Nazir Razak has warned that it will be difficult times for the banking and financial markets over the next one to two years.

On its part, the banking group is bracing itself for the economic and political headwinds ahead. The group has done well over the years and grown fast to be where it is today, he pointed out.

"But now it is time to take stock on where we are today because of the new environment and because the environment changes," Nazir told a packed conference room at the "Bumiputera of Tomorrow" programme here today.

alanleeky

430 posts

Posted by alanleeky > 2015-08-20 17:11 | Report Abuse

as long interest rate not hike is okay otherwise.. no eyes see...

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-20 23:12 | Report Abuse

Vin Cullen,

I understand how you feel and I believe you invested in CIMB

NOw, CIMB is different from Maybank or Public Bank. Those 2 are solid.
Cimb Q12015 earnings, Net profit is 590mil .... Q1 2014 is RM1 bil. down 40%. That is QoQ comparison.
Now, lets compare Q to Q net profit result:
Q2 2014: 960 mil
Q3 2014: 902 mil
Q4 2014: 225 mil
Q1 2015: 590 mil.

Q2 2013: 1 bil
Q3 2013: 1 bil
Q4 2013: 1 bil
Q1 2014: 1 bil

this is just a glance on its very surface financial report. I did not deep dive, so I cant really say what is wrong with the numbers shown but the fact is its net profit is dwindling, unlike Maybank or Public bank

Cheers ~~

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-21 01:47 | Report Abuse

Yeah ~~But If the earning same as Maybank & Public bank ~
You wont see the price at the current level which is below RM5...
Myself not a contra guy...I will buy and hold for 1-2 years....
I prepare another 60% to average below RM4.50 ~ I believe the quater for CIMB...will be decrease too... (as long as still declare dividend)
Gd Luck ! :D

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-21 14:12 | Report Abuse

Another Hammered at RM4.90 !!!

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-21 14:42 | Report Abuse

All the best Cullen, we have different views but definitely respect your decision. I got hammered the worst when I average down on a falling stock, maybe because I am not willing to hold for 1-2 years if I continue to experience losses.
Take care and have a great weekend !

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-08-21 16:31 | Report Abuse

CIMB is one of the Msia GLC icon. Khazanah Nasional Berhad will never allow it to fail. If you believe Trading price can move to RM6.50 in 1-2 years(or earlier) and track record of paying yearly divd , don't see why not- to hold at today's price of RM5 to " sit it out"

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-21 17:22 | Report Abuse

ABERDEEN ASSET MANAGEMENT PLC AND ITS ASSOCIATES
Acquired 458,842,910 ~~
Wanna take over CIMB ?? LOL !!

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-21 18:15 | Report Abuse

Haha...they increase stake? Good news too...if really can hold, then should be good...but like I say, most people think they are long term investor to buy and keep for years, but often bail out after a few months. Many `~

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-21 18:30 | Report Abuse

Depend on which strategy they use...
Myself don't like to cut loss...
I only like to average. ... but ofcourse just only for blue chip..

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-22 00:04 | Report Abuse

Have to be very careful of that because Cut Loss is one of the key discipline in stock market. I admit I not willing to use it because usually people wont want to admit they are wrong to invest in that stock.
I bite the bullet and cut loss HH group, wiping out my 3 years of profit and thrown me into net loss. But manage to recover to slight profit again by buying KLSE Put warrant...give me a low 5 figure within 3 days.
If I didn't cut loss, I wont have the bullet to trade put warrant, and I will still be holding the loss instead of small profit right now. And Yes, I intend to buy back HH group after the next rout next week. I believe next week is going to be bloody....Very surprisingly KLSE held up today but I strongly believe next week is a rout. Finger cross :)
By the way, where you from?

vanessa

22 posts

Posted by vanessa > 2015-08-24 09:57 | Report Abuse

drop to 4.78..should buy more?

supernova

1,923 posts

Posted by supernova > 2015-08-24 09:59 | Report Abuse

waiting rm4.00, after Bersih 4.0 looks possible. tumble of najib

kenlee123

143 posts

Posted by kenlee123 > 2015-08-24 10:54 | Report Abuse

after bersih 4.0, stock market will fall again...

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-24 13:43 | Report Abuse

Vin Cullen kakshi ~ I agree with you ~
In stock market Must "Stop loss" when downtrend..
(Adam Khoo advice that too ) But the above you mention all are penny stock...
Seriously I dont invest in penny counter..penny stock just for Hit & Run...or those will get burn .. I also will cut loss in penny stock too..
But For Blue Chip stock...I only will average .. wont stop loss...
Blue chip = follow Index... And I have Invest for 4 years now..I have face some small crisis .. May of 2010 / 2013
and 2015 <--This is the worst crisis I facing now... But I believe I can handle It too... :)

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-24 19:18 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing Vin...nonetheless, I still believe cut loss is applicable for any stock including blue chip. I am badly hit by this 2015 crisis too, but I cut loss and go into put warrant. Everything is perfect right now.
All the best to you ya

Vin Cullen

1,547 posts

Posted by Vin Cullen > 2015-08-24 22:30 | Report Abuse

Yeah ! Good Luck !! Lets FighT for Crisis !!! :D
Cheers again when everythings settle !^^

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2015-08-24 22:32 | Report Abuse

Larry Summers warns of ‘dangerous consequences’ if Fed hikes in September
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/larry-summers-warns-of-dangerous-consequences-if-fed-hikes-in-september-2015-08-24?siteid=yhoof2

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2015-08-24 22:39 | Report Abuse

@kakashi cut loss does not mean u hve to get out of yr favorite blue chip. Work on the assumption, u bought CIMB @ RM5.00 last Friday, cut loss today @ RM4.60 and buy back tomorrow @ RM4.40. This works better than averaging down if yr guts feeling telling u the mkt is not going to be good tomorrow.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-24 22:52 | Report Abuse

iphone4, yes, you are right. Cut loss does not mean you give up on the company. Nope. It means you take out the risk, and buy in again when its low. Example I bought MPI at RM3, when it hits RM6.5 and starts to drop, I cut loss (or take profit in this manner). Then buy in again when its low, which I bought in at RM5, make sell off again at RM7.
so Cut loss and Take profit is very important...but don't mistaken it for day trade or trading. Nope...we are still investing in the company but if there is unfavourable event such as the current situation, we can cut loss (or take profit) and go away...and come back again once things are more stable / reasonable.
For CIMB, if the support is broken, usually it signals cut loss..or in your case, you average down...which I had set a very very stern rule to myself. Do Not average down....that's for me :)

Posted by Time_to_buy > 2015-08-25 10:16 | Report Abuse

Bought RM 4.50-4.55 today.

vanessa

22 posts

Posted by vanessa > 2015-08-25 12:16 | Report Abuse

wow lucky you!!!