MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.02 (0.20%)

9.77 - 9.84

38 people like this.

22,685 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 20 hours ago

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-07 09:35 | Report Abuse

What tf is wrong with KLCI index? Cannot even hold at 1600

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-03-07 10:04 | Report Abuse

already say maybank will drop

Cslee1215

428 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-03-07 10:36 | Report Abuse

Not the time yet.

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-03-07 10:45 | Report Abuse

see US market tonight, red or green

Posted by Stockgeek > 2022-03-07 10:59 | Report Abuse

Normally near exdate, price will go up

jeffchan1901

1,325 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-07 12:03 | Report Abuse

to be expected, no surprises there. this morning when I saw Wall Street drop before Bursa open, knew Bursa would also very likely drop as well. most stock market will follow/track regional stock market or wall street and Bursa is no different. also we know that profit taking is normal for day traders especially there is a very high increase.

Saw a video on Warren Buffet and the take away is this.. he was asked which stocks to invest in. he replied that he buys businesses that are good meaning that have a GOOD future and STRONG management. invest in the business that you (really) KNOW and not follow or time the market (trend) and don't buy value stocks (or 'soggy cigars' with one puff left as he calls them) bcos they are cheap as gains are short term. buy for the forward potential of the company business. and if you can see yourself holding on the stock for 10 years, then buy it. meanwhile just sit back and don't have any knee jerk reactions to shake your belief in that company stock. sounds like a plan if you ask me

jeffchan1901

1,325 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-07 12:07 | Report Abuse

@stockgeek not necessarily the case especially lately due to the uncertainty. IGBReit failed to go up prior to ex-date even thought dividend also back to pre-C19 and it has been falling almost ever since. the mall is packed by the way. but the believe that rental assistance to retailers are still there so this affects too

jeffchan1901

1,325 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-07 12:09 | Report Abuse

@Choysun Tenaga fell below 9.00, last at 8.97, be careful ya. as Admiral Ackbar says.. 'It's A Trap!'

stkoay

5,892 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-07 12:21 | Report Abuse

Jeffchan1901......Yes, agree, buy the business not the "share price".

This business is more than 60 years old....making good money years after years...

....now making 70 sen, assets 722 sen, every year pay you about 60 sen for an investment of 880 sen......what a good business to invest in for long long term.

jeffchan1901

1,325 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-07 12:29 | Report Abuse

Yes bro, agreed. Also MBB management is very experience and capable, like PBB's management, so no need to worry on it being a going concern. if both falls, I am more worried on the country's future instead

stkoay

5,892 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-07 12:43 | Report Abuse

jeff.....look at the performance of RHB for the past few years.....

.....this CEO will be taking over at MBB....

Posted by Tigertiger > 2022-03-07 13:38 | Report Abuse

Hopefully election, war, surge of COVID cases will bring down the price more so we can get a chance to top up again

jeffchan1901

1,325 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-07 13:56 | Report Abuse

@stkoay yes, the 'new' guy was actually from MBB Indonesia before and now rejoin MBB. Interestingly he joined RHB in 2014 and promoted to GMD and GCEO in 2015. The bank performance started to improve from year 2015 after a poor performance from previous years. certainly good news. Am sure MBB would have the blessing from BNM for the appointment too. A lot is at stake for the biggest banking group in Malaysia

bzimmy

4 posts

Posted by bzimmy > 2022-03-07 14:33 | Report Abuse

Hi I hope someone can educate me here.. Why is the latest dividend anoucement on 3march 2022 called "interim" dividend and not "Final" dividend?

LossAversion

1,685 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2022-03-07 14:36 | Report Abuse

@bzimmy , Good lah, Meaning there is another round of Final Dividend

LossAversion

1,685 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2022-03-07 14:41 | Report Abuse

Or Interim dividends CAN be revoked, Final Dividend cannoot be revoked, LOL

bzimmy

4 posts

Posted by bzimmy > 2022-03-07 15:49 | Report Abuse

OK i did a simple search and found my answer.

"The interim dividend is usually paid out ahead of a firm's annual general meeting and the release of the final version of its financial statements.

Final dividends are paid out after the release of the final version of a company's financial statements.
As a result, final dividends are paid from current earnings, and interim dividends are paid from retained earnings."

So as this dividend payout is announced before the AGM , it is therefore called INTERIM dividend

stkoay

5,892 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-07 17:02 | Report Abuse

@bzimmy.....new lesson to me also :)

stkoay

5,892 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-07 17:03 | Report Abuse

No wonder this year they do it very fast......improvement over last year.

stkoay

5,892 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-07 17:04 | Report Abuse

Waiting to put the divvy back to work :)

pooter

72 posts

Posted by pooter > 2022-03-07 21:32 | Report Abuse

how many dividends there will be this year then

choysun

4,253 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-03-08 08:13 | Report Abuse

Bargain hunting day? Hmm

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2022-03-08 08:14 |

siaokar

1,410 posts

Posted by siaokar > 2022-03-08 08:15 | Report Abuse

below 7 baru call bargain lah tiu

LossAversion

1,685 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2022-03-08 08:34 | Report Abuse

@ siaokar , Like the Chinese always said, eat lots of "big-head vegetable" (dai tau choy), then dream big

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-03-08 10:29 | Report Abuse

Go back my original price5. 00.yahoo

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2022-03-08 14:27 | Report Abuse

Take dividend and buy after ex date

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2022-03-08 14:29 | Report Abuse

Hi Stkoay

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2022-03-08 14:29 | Report Abuse

This share is going to go up shortly

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2022-03-08 14:35 | Report Abuse

Will be over 9.20 by August

stkoay

5,892 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-08 15:30 | Report Abuse

@Jaya, yes, will be putting the dividend back to work.

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-03-08 16:14 | Report Abuse

War becoming worst. Russia cutting gas supply to Europe. Chaos in financial market.

DickyMe3

658 posts

Posted by DickyMe3 > 2022-03-08 16:15 |

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-03-08 19:29 | Report Abuse

War conditions not good for stock market

God123

29 posts

Posted by God123 > 2022-03-08 20:33 | Report Abuse

that fat juicy divvy is yummy =) tqvm

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-03-09 11:11 | Report Abuse

It's going down the mountain going down. Hippy ya ya 5.00 coming

wynwyn

136 posts

Posted by wynwyn > 2022-03-09 11:54 | Report Abuse

Let's enjoy the big fat divi for holders. If it drops more buy. Soon it'll will be 10 when the economy recovers...thanks to the naysayers...the more they curse, the higher the price!

EAGLE

375 posts

Posted by EAGLE > 2022-03-09 13:34 | Report Abuse

Punctured

stevee

168 posts

Posted by stevee > 2022-03-09 14:08 | Report Abuse

Just stay put wait for the tiger drop 5.00 with all the war going on, surging of Omicron ,financial slump n recession in world economies.

Posted by CEyeInvestment > 2022-03-09 16:14 | Report Abuse

anybody know the website link for the news regarding when do the bank negara / government will announce the winner of the digital currency license in Malaysia??? Thank you in advance.

Posted by Stayhomemum > 2022-03-09 19:06 | Report Abuse

luckily last year I listen to the Sifus here and bought maybank around 8.00, now earthquake or war, this counter didnt get impact much.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-03-09 21:13 | Report Abuse

European markets and US futures are up strongly. Should hit RM9 again tomorrow.

choysun

4,253 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-03-10 05:48 | Report Abuse

RM9 with ease. We look at RM10 now :)

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-03-10 07:29 | Report Abuse

Malaysia will reopen its borders to international travellers on April 1, says PM
By JOSEPH KAOS
Tuesday, 08 Mar 2022 5:44 PM MYT

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2022/03/08/malaysia-will-reopen-its-borders-to-international-travellers-on-april-1-says-pm

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia will reopen its borders to international travellers starting April 1, says Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob on Tuesday (March 8).
The Prime Minister said visitors, as well as Malaysian returnees, who are fully vaccinated are not required to undergo quarantine upon arrival.
They, however, must undergo a RT-PCR test two days before departure and a rapid test (RTK) upon arrival.
As for travellers who have not been fully vaccinated, Ismail Sabri said the entry procedures will be explained by Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin on Wednesday (March 9).
?As part of our ?Transitioning to Endemicity? phase, the government has decided to reopen the country?s borders from April 1.
?This move will revive the country?s economy, especially the tourism industry that has been heavily affected by the pandemic.
?The decision is made based on science and current facts related to Covid-19, as well as the reopening of borders in other countries...

xxxx

1,349 posts

Posted by xxxx > 2022-03-10 08:29 | Report Abuse

So many stray dogs baying for 5.00. Hope they succeed to buy at 5.00 so that they will stop their baying.

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2022-03-10 08:31 |

stevee

168 posts

Posted by stevee > 2022-03-10 10:02 | Report Abuse

@Zxvvbn Agree with you 100%. i wonder if it could happen again because its a reality n a fact. I bought it @5.00 only just less then 10 years ago.

Cslee1215

428 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-03-10 10:08 | Report Abuse

Hahaha... naik balik ooo.
@xxxx, those barking 5.00 when little bit dropped are those with multi centuries experiences, they gone thru up down up down up down. Dont play play...
They will not think and just tembak a price.
@Zxvvbn, if 5.00, do you really think you hv the fund to go for? Obviously the whole world in bad shape, imagine u hv 1 mil in bank now, when 5.00, u might only hv 600k or lesser or maybe u in debt alredy. Common sense la bro...

wynwyn

136 posts

Posted by wynwyn > 2022-03-10 10:38 | Report Abuse

Yay..Tiger Bank is roaring back to life! Chiong to the sky!

EEEEEEEEH

136 posts

Posted by EEEEEEEEH > 2022-03-10 10:51 | Report Abuse

@Maverickeking where do you gets the 5 target from? Your tiny brain filled with shits. Hahaha