MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

-0.03 (0.31%)

9.74 - 9.81

38 people like this.

22,637 comment(s). Last comment by i3gambler 1 hour ago

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-27 15:16 | Report Abuse

They hold substantial stake in Banks and Plantation....which should be better compared to last year.

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-27 19:10 | Report Abuse

bro, that's excellent prediction. hopefully that is so but afraid as PNB invested a lot in Sapura as well.. so let's see

Abrahmi

59 posts

Posted by Abrahmi > 2022-03-27 19:54 | Report Abuse

Maybank reinvestment documents are out. How much discount per share?

derricksyl

502 posts

Posted by derricksyl > 2022-03-27 20:19 | Report Abuse

10%

Posted by geniusraider > 2022-03-27 20:43 | Report Abuse

10% discount to market price is not that atractive.

derricksyl

502 posts

Posted by derricksyl > 2022-03-27 22:04 | Report Abuse

8.28 .....

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-28 07:31 | Report Abuse

A lot of the early investors for MBB here have entry price way below the 8.28, so it is not a problem

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-28 07:47 | Report Abuse

Good morning peeps!... I am curious as whether the amount of investment in a stock will correlate to an investor being loyal to that stock. Could you share if your level of investment in MBB falls under which the following:

1. Below RM50K;
2. RM50K-RM100K;
3. RM100K-RMRM500K;
4.above RM500K.

Just curious and intended to be a fun fact discovery and nothing more.

Hostage1

11 posts

Posted by Hostage1 > 2022-03-28 08:27 | Report Abuse

Posted by sreemani1316 > 2022-03-28 09:06 | Report Abuse

LossAversion

1,684 posts

Posted by LossAversion > 2022-03-28 09:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by sreemani1316 > 2022-03-28 09:09 | Report Abuse

Will be holding it, as entry cost 8.28 , unless can see capital appreciation of 25% or more before letting go. Not in the near future

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-28 09:49 | Report Abuse

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-28 09:50 | Report Abuse

even if it shoots up to 10, I'll still hold it as my DY will be much much higher

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-28 12:07 | Report Abuse

@stock...you will get your dividend if you sell after the ex dividend date, which was on 16th March........your dividend will be paid on 14th April.

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-28 12:08 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan..... 5 :p

Sierra

7 posts

Posted by Sierra > 2022-03-28 13:48 | Report Abuse

@derricksyl... do you mean that MBB stock price offer today will be adjusted down 10% discount...? How about those who are keen to buy now..?

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-28 15:21 | Report Abuse

@stkoay bro sifu, I knew u had a lot but no. 5? lol... like that win liao hehe

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-28 17:08 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901.....say also no one will believe....haha :p

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-03-29 15:19 | Report Abuse

I believe stkoay owning \- 2-3mil worth of share

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-29 17:02 | Report Abuse

actually sifu already told us before how much he invested lor... he was joking when he said 5, it's actually only 4. ;-)

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-29 17:30 | Report Abuse

@stkoay Sifu, check out Warren Buffet's theory on investing and what he thinks on diversification. He advocates investing 75% portfolio on only 3 good businesses whilst his friend Charlie Munger says 6 good businesses. I can settle for 3 but so far I have only found 2 in my portfolio. Which do you agree and have you achieve your goal of achieving the total number?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-XKPoxAGlU

choysun

4,246 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-03-29 20:50 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901 Which are your two? Tiger

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-29 21:21 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901 it depends on your age and your investment target....if it's for low risk retirement investment, high on this tiger plus a little on two or three higher beta stocks is good enuf...

....I hold a few banks (heavy on this tiger) plus a little Genting and about 40% cash in ASM.

choysun

4,246 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-03-29 21:29 | Report Abuse

@stkoay A little Genting only? I hammer 50% of my portfolio on Genting :p

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-29 21:31 | Report Abuse

I sold some at about 4.90 last July and switched to this tiger :)

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 02:26 | Report Abuse

@stkoay am like you a little bit mature so yeah invest heavier on safe businesses like Harimau (if only can hari hari mau haha) and the other is PBB atm. My ratio in bank stocks as follows.... PBB:MBB is 20:80. My equity portfolio atm consists of approximately 70% in Bank stocks, 25% in other high yield stocks and remaining 5% standby cash for opportunity buys. I invested heavily in Bank stocks as it is recovery play and due to the defensive stocks as this will be my nest egg portfolio. the remaining 30% opportunity buys will be rotated depend on value stocks or dividend stocks at the time of buying opportunity.

I used to be heavy in Genting (approximately 50%) but sold all of my GenT (5.06) and GenM (3.07) stocks to lock in the profits during the high price volatility and have since diversify all my stock holdings from both shares last year and bought Harimau.

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 02:54 | Report Abuse

My ex-banker brother told me to look at banks like Harimau (as an example of good businesses - he is a Warren Buffet fan too!) and I had then noticed Harimau dividend very stable over the last decade (usually around rm 0.5x) and have just started investing into Banking stocks in preparation of the improving C19 situation and eventual reopening of the economy - manage to bought my first PBB share at its lowest pre-Bonus issue price @ RM14.96 (or RM2.992 post BI price). Also I noticed that MBB is a very defensive stock with price stable at 7.95 - 8.05 during last year. of course sharing your thoughts on this stock helped sealed the deal for me - I invested a little at MBB at 8.08-8.10 and then dispose all my Tenaga portfolio and bid my time (waiting for 'fire sale' opportunity) before putting 'all in' into Harimau and managed to buy a lifetime opportunity at the brief time price at rm7.99 on 29 Nov 2021 (which was the lowest it ever got before it shot up and never reach that price again) dollar cost averaging my MBB portfolio - FYI I had parked my 7.99 order into queue for 30 days which was at the time priced around rm8.08 - 8.10. after around 1.5 weeks, my orders went thru. I was confident in our banking system and that price will go up as dividend announcement for Q4 will eventually come bringing good news for the country's biggest financial institution. usually before the price goes up prior to the quarterly reports, IBs will shake the durian tree to get stocks from weak retailers who will panic and sell. thats the time to mop up all the shares at the price you want. the rest as they say is history.

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 03:12 | Report Abuse

sorry for the long rant. it's 3.00am and fatherhood keeping me up at night

choysun

4,246 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-03-30 08:08 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901 Fatherhood kept you up so late? Doesn't sound like you are at the age to invest in low beta stocks wor :p
Just 2 counters and both with banks not really diversified leh. Pick more :)

xxxx

1,349 posts

Posted by xxxx > 2022-03-30 08:30 | Report Abuse

Shaking the durian tree will bring you unripe durians.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-03-30 09:18 | Report Abuse

Next wave of price increases coming in April. Could this wave bring MBB to 9.xx?

Posted by investmalaysia618 > 2022-03-30 10:31 | Report Abuse

jeffchan's portfolio is very stable. hardly will see drop in 10% haha

Posted by geniusraider > 2022-03-30 11:43 | Report Abuse

@Jeff chan1901 Thank you brother for your interesting account of your investment strategy. Hopefully more members here will follow his sincere story. What fatherhood you talking about. Your children are still babies?

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-30 14:46 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan ....4 sen only, slightly lower than expected

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-30 14:47 | Report Abuse

Invest in Harimau better, but need to keep some cash :(

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-30 14:49 | Report Abuse

@Cslee1215....yes I think Harimau is taking a rest and into consolidation phase now...which is good and healthy.

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 15:44 | Report Abuse

@ choysun, @geniusraider I married late and am now in early 50s. took a break from working to focus on family and first child - 13 months baby boy due to difficulty in hiring reliable nanny. hopefully can go back to work for that last leg of the rat race before i kick the bucket :-)

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 15:51 | Report Abuse

@stkoay 4 sen since last year, which is bad. I noticed that PNB does not give priority to non ASB funds and dividend always lower than ASB. maybe this is my cue to liquidate my ASM funds (perhaps sell to my sibling) and focus on equities or even plow to EPF for higher returns

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 15:57 | Report Abuse

@geniusraider that strategy may differ for everyone and i have my fair share of being burned. guess experience is not cheap. whatever the strategy, best advice i can share is to always keep aside some spare cash in your trading account to grab fire sale stocks and to be on the look out for opportunity. to be honest I am currently also eyeing opportunity to go into 1 or 2 tech stocks when it goes down lower again. future opportunities for a slice of the PV and EV business is indeed seductive

Posted by investmalaysia618 > 2022-03-30 16:19 | Report Abuse

tech is a must have in portfolio. allocation depends on individual. i was in greatech before this. sold last week. and now in frontken

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-30 16:53 | Report Abuse

@investmalaysia618 me too, had traded in both before. for now keeping an eye out for Greatech again but hope to get below rm4, the other is Inari which is the fan favourite. others in my sights are also Atech. but all too high atm if u ask me.

you might also want to look at IGBReit... and see who's buying them. not only EPF buy their management is mopping up the shares.. so it is worth taking a look before next QR which should be +ve

Posted by unicornbird > 2022-03-30 17:46 | Report Abuse

Warren buffet's father is government. so he has more insider than others
Diversify more, because the info you got is way lesser than what Warren can get

Posted by investmalaysia618 > 2022-03-30 20:58 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan, yeap. bought it at 1.41 hehe.

Posted by geniusraider > 2022-03-30 22:36 | Report Abuse

Jeffchan1901 In 50 s age is not tat late.they say life starts at 40.You must be having a wonderful. N high flying life then. yes getting a good maid is a problem these days We are paying the current maid 3 K but looking for a better one. With your huge investments you can retire now .No need join the race. What's youremail? Perhaps we can chat more there.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-03-31 08:49 | Report Abuse

April fool tomorrow.

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-31 15:43 | Report Abuse

@stkoay wow, Maxis, lowest price reached today 3.89, worth checking out? also managed to sell down half of my IGBReit to rebalance my portfolio

jeffchan1901

1,320 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-03-31 15:49 | Report Abuse

@choysun ever considered Magnum over GenT / GenM as alternative Gaming stock? good defensive stock and high dividend stock too

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-03-31 16:57 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901.....Maxis not on my radar.......The sifu says only invest in the business that you understand....haha :)