PUBLIC BANK BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBBANK (1295)

-0.03 (0.65%)

4.53 - 4.58

20 people like this.

15,490 comment(s). Last comment by lawkaw 13 hours ago

newbie2019

1,822 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2019-03-29 11:04 | Report Abuse

Sell if fall below 23?

MoneyUp888

842 posts

Posted by MoneyUp888 > 2019-03-29 11:08 | Report Abuse

It will rebound heavily like last time

Ccf2020

87 posts

Posted by Ccf2020 > 2019-03-29 17:09 | Report Abuse

Why only ppb bank dropping?
Other banks starting up

AhHuat50

73 posts

Posted by AhHuat50 > 2019-03-29 17:48 | Report Abuse

Purposely force you all to sell cheap

AhHuat50

73 posts

Posted by AhHuat50 > 2019-03-30 08:45 | Report Abuse

Choivo Capital:

Ok, that’s interesting, lets start with Public Bank.

This company is one that I've studied for some time, and I consider it one of the best bank in South East Asia.

I always find it very funny whenever people state that it has the worst IT system, while admiring its profitability.

Seemingly failing to understand that, it’s always about returns on incremental capital.

When it comes to banking, an extremely high-tech system is not needed for high returns, nor will it provide one.

Its all about not wasting money, and not doing stupid things, despite how much incentives bankers have to do stupid things.

What’s your perspective on the company?

Ex-Banker:

Well back in the day, when margin loans were first introduced. Lim Tee Keong and his eldest sister were some of the biggest users of it. And every single bank had to borrow money to him for fear of insulting Genting Group. Everyone wanted Genting’s business.

Everybody thought that the two siblings are backed by their father Lim Goh Tong, nobody expected that Lim Goh Tong would let his eldest son go bankrupt.

Only one bank stayed away. Public Bank. That should tell you a lot about this company.

If you have ever noticed, every bank usually releases their annual report after Public Bank.

Why?

They want to see what they disclose this year and what is their performance, to try and make themselves look better.

They are also the only bank in Malaysia to use a system of Gratuity upon retirement.

Some of my friends who were branch managers, when they retired, they receive RM2-4 million in gratuity payment.

Since they encourage employees to stay with them forever, this incentivizes them to be responsible as it its their own money, and don’t do stupid things.

These days most banks focus on NIM. Everyone wants a fat NIM. But do note, NIM does not include provisions. Public Bank give out loans not with a focus on NIM but minimizing the provisions, and thus focusing on the real bottom line.

Even their loan book profile is different. It consists mainly of vehicle hire purchase, residential, property and shoplots. Very little of it is from corporate borrowings. I can count with my hands the number of listed companies in Malaysia they borrow to.

So, you don’t have credit risk concentrated in just a few accounts, you also don’t have these kinds of scenario where PNB needs to bail out Maybank by buying up the entire right issue of SAPURA.

When they borrow for property, the bank valuation is the lowest among the banks.

And if you notice, when they borrow for hire purchase, the don’t do proton etc at all.

Why? Because resale value is how you ensure people pay back their loans. Yes, loans in Malaysia are recourse, but good luck chasing these small loans down.

In addition, the real money in Hire Purchase Loans, is not in the rate, its in the penalty payable for early repayment. The cars they do hire purchase for, Japanese and Continental. These are the people with money and are most likely to change car every 4-5 years.

There is a rule in Malaysian loans, cannot get loan from Public Bank? Go get it from Maybank etc. They have the best loan book in the country now. Although these days Hong Leong is catching up.

21,644 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2019-03-30 09:00 | Report Abuse

Pbbank and hong Leong stingy pld chinapek. If dont want to loan, wait for windfall tax loh. Now LGE referring to wbo i know already

21,644 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2019-03-30 09:03 | Report Abuse

Must charge banks windfall tax ma, genting kena higher casino tax, bigger cssino in babk treasury no kena tax, wjere got fair to genting shareholders.

safewinner

746 posts

Posted by safewinner > 2019-03-30 12:38 | Report Abuse

Chinapek old man stock, invest in PBB n HL bank can sleep well NO worries

masterus

3,597 posts

Posted by masterus > 2019-04-01 07:46 | Report Abuse

The dollar hasn't lost its king status but its influence is surely wearing off. De-dollarization has already been in action for quite some time now as the global geopolitical space is divided into two camps, one who supports US currency as a global reserve tool and other ones are those that have turned their backs on the greenback.

Countries like China, Russia, Iran, India, and Turkey among others have taken steps towards ending the US dollar monopoly.

Now the dollar’s share in global central bank reserve is also taking a hit as it slumped to the lowest level since 2013 while Chinese yuan share has risen significantly.

According to the IMF’s Currency Composition of Official Foreign Exchange Reserves (COFER) for Q4 2018 report, the US currency’s share went down from 61.9% to 61.7% in the fourth quarter, marking the tenth decline in the past 12 quarters. Meanwhile, euro, yen, and yuan each gained the share in allocated reserves.

Wyko

64 posts

Posted by Wyko > 2019-04-01 09:38 | Report Abuse

apa sudah jadi.... drop lagi ?

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2019-04-01 09:45 | Report Abuse

good la for epf taking profit is good. Plus they might forsee next quarter or years going to see stagnant growth.

MoneyUp888

842 posts

Posted by MoneyUp888 > 2019-04-01 09:45 | Report Abuse

Very stupid government and irresponsible BNM

newbie2019

1,822 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2019-04-01 09:59 | Report Abuse

What a drop...more drops to come?

zhen wei & JP

1,173 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2019-04-01 10:06 | Report Abuse

War act .. uhh big boys . Ding ding fight x

110 posts

Posted by 1711 > 2019-04-01 10:14 | Report Abuse

No worry...Have confidence in PBB. It will rise

nckcm

2,726 posts

Posted by nckcm > 2019-04-01 10:15 | Report Abuse

No.. it will go below 20.00, over priced currently

zerocool7199

1,236 posts

Posted by zerocool7199 > 2019-04-01 10:38 | Report Abuse

Other banking still steady..why only publicbank??

newages00

641 posts

Posted by newages00 > 2019-04-01 10:45 | Report Abuse

200 MA at 22.40. should rebound here if not GG liao.

newages00

641 posts

Posted by newages00 > 2019-04-01 10:47 | Report Abuse

Drop 16% from top liao. enough for normal correction.

Posted by GreatDreamer > 2019-04-01 10:51 | Report Abuse

Down on Expensive valuation. At RM23, PBB value at 2.1X P/B. PBB Only big income driver nowaday is Unit Trust income, which always tie to share market performance. Latest QR show UTI growth story has gone.

newbie8080

2,761 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2019-04-01 10:53 | Report Abuse

Overvalued already as compared to other banks.

tehka

1,928 posts

Posted by tehka > 2019-04-01 11:13 | Report Abuse

everywhere in asia share index all hit new highs, some > 2%. Meanwhile KLCI is drop really GG

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-04-01 11:53 | Report Abuse

Time to buy ?

bktay123

189 posts

Posted by bktay123 > 2019-04-01 11:55 | Report Abuse

Playing catch up with other banks in downtrend _ like cimb maybank

newbie2019

1,822 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2019-04-01 12:29 | Report Abuse

OMG stucked pula

Posted by Keat Soon Ong > 2019-04-01 13:15 | Report Abuse

Stupid government shre market die, ph government dead also

sato

310 posts

Posted by sato > 2019-04-01 14:15 | Report Abuse

I hate this Finance Minister (previous Penang CM)

he make me lost big in 2008 (PBA)
again in 2018 (GENM)
and now, the whole banking are down trend because of him

better replace him with Rafizi

ViWizard

780 posts

Posted by ViWizard > 2019-04-01 15:25 | Report Abuse

y drop so much today

tehka

1,928 posts

Posted by tehka > 2019-04-01 16:07 | Report Abuse

what the telor just happend to klci?

25 posts

Posted by 3311 > 2019-04-01 16:10 | Report Abuse

I think foreign fund was frighten by windfall tax since then it has dropped so much !!!

NESARAJAH1

398 posts

Posted by NESARAJAH1 > 2019-04-01 16:24 | Report Abuse

Also lower loan growth

zhangliang

728 posts

Posted by zhangliang > 2019-04-01 16:25 | Report Abuse

collect on weaknessss

Posted by ckkhor0722 > 2019-04-01 17:52 | Report Abuse

yeap, but it is good time for us to collect more share

spectre007

1,408 posts

Posted by spectre007 > 2019-04-01 17:54 | Report Abuse

Good chance to create your own epf stock... Otherwise no chance to own a PBB share... For me..

Posted by Keat Soon Ong > 2019-04-01 20:48 | Report Abuse

Epf is dumping hopefully they can collect at Low price. I think as soon as epf stop dumping the share price will shoot up.

kuaTAKtahu

1,479 posts

Posted by kuaTAKtahu > 2019-04-01 22:35 | Report Abuse

Good buy at current level, RM 22.30- 22.50

Posted by Keat Soon Ong > 2019-04-01 23:25 | Report Abuse

Look see first, never catch a falling knife, dunno this epf will dump till when, watching epf play movie.

Kawkaw

858 posts

Posted by Kawkaw > 2019-04-02 00:07 | Report Abuse

Epf dump because pbb have problem..
I am still 19

Posted by apolloang > 2019-04-02 00:14 | Report Abuse

still very overvalued

Wukong

224 posts

Posted by Wukong > 2019-04-02 13:15 | Report Abuse

我要买,还是卖?

110 posts

Posted by 1711 > 2019-04-02 15:27 | Report Abuse

@Jessica1, Unlikely to head up north lor.....

Trapps

520 posts

Posted by Trapps > 2019-04-03 10:45 | Report Abuse

It headed to north ..haha..this is the chances,it won’t go down

Posted by mybearmarket > 2019-04-04 10:43 | Report Abuse

EPF keep acquiring, takut apa? Just buy!

888newbie

180 posts

Posted by 888newbie > 2019-04-04 11:11 | Report Abuse

Good time to top up.

Meowoof

Posted by Meowoof > 2019-04-05 18:07 | Report Abuse

What's the news, Krosineling? Please share. Thank you.

Kawkaw

858 posts

Posted by Kawkaw > 2019-04-08 23:18 | Report Abuse

I am waiting the like you..
19..no get.. No woman ...no cry

Posted by mangotree > 2019-04-09 20:28 | Report Abuse

AhHuat50, everytime you tell people to buy the stock will fall like crazy. Are you a fund manager trying to manipulate?

AhHuat50

73 posts

Posted by AhHuat50 > 2019-04-09 21:50 | Report Abuse

@mangotree, if you afraid, I will buy more

Posted by mangotree > 2019-04-09 22:18 | Report Abuse

@AhHuat50 sure if you will actually do what you say

zhen wei & JP

1,173 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2019-04-10 02:17 | Report Abuse

Pbb Foreigners share holdings approx 15 billion left.
Make your bet :-)