ALCOM GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ALCOM (2674)

-0.025 (3.25%)

0.745 - 0.75

5,602 comment(s). Last comment by Robert Waters 2023-05-23 22:32

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-08 22:16 | Report Abuse

Hi iphone4, you interested in ALCOM?

gnail

343 posts

Posted by gnail > 2014-09-09 10:55 | Report Abuse

the managing director just resigned, good news or bad news?

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-09 12:21 | Report Abuse

Hopefully the new replacement can make it happen.

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-09 12:22 | Report Abuse

Share price not moving

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2014-09-09 12:24 | Report Abuse

@yongyou, hi Yes I have put some money in it. I am a dividend player and got a good deal. Frm the dividend recd in Aug I wrote off 2 sen on my holding cost. @ gnail, hi that guy got a promotion to VP, specialty sales Asia region – take him as Corporate fixer and that his short stay as job well done and next move to develop Asia regional sales.

Danny Kc

214 posts

Posted by Danny Kc > 2014-09-09 16:14 | Report Abuse

i didnt jump ship to Pmetal.. my buying price is 1.1.. now still thinking of cut loss or not..
the new MD came in alry trying to cut the loss and generate more revenue, now going again, is not a good sign..

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-10 11:01 | Report Abuse

Hi Danny KC, that is the most painful decision. When u look at their financial result, that is very poor. To me, i will drop off and move to other counter.

Danny Kc

214 posts

Posted by Danny Kc > 2014-09-10 15:10 | Report Abuse

@yongyou, cut loss at 0.85 just now..jump la..seriously i visited the plant, talking to the MD, he is a quite good person, bought the shares, and now he cabut, i also cabut la..buy some penny stock to cover my injury..

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-11 07:40 | Report Abuse

Hi Danny KC, woooow !!! you went there to meet the MD? penny stock hard to chase and follow....too many.....up/down must follow closely.

gnail

343 posts

Posted by gnail > 2014-09-11 14:02 | Report Abuse

@iphone4 ya the managing director got promoted, but don't know whether the new replacement is good or not. @Danny Kc i also sell all my alcom shares already after the AGM, cause i not confident with the managing director, and now he resigned, lol.

mikeann

825 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2014-09-11 17:21 | Report Abuse

You guys, Any idea why tjhis stock came down so much ?

thanks !

iphone4

132 posts

Posted by iphone4 > 2014-09-11 17:53 | Report Abuse

Hi gnail, If you believe MNC has the best work culture so whoever the MD is non-issue –Right?
Alcom Msia Price/Sales ratio is good , then why is the P&L so shitty. Past 5 years sales were flat @RM200+k and being in the specialty biz the products shld command a premium (price) – the P&L shown otherwise – so the cause is the margin. Two ways to go – sales growth or better margin. So, appointing a new VP to look into Asia Specialty Sales (growth or margin) is the right direction for the Malaysian/Korean operations – you don’t hve to agree. BTW I am just like you guys, trying to make some money, and sharing my thought. Stock trading/investing is all complicated, today’s right may be tomorrow’s wrong. So, the higher you set the benchmark (buy today, price must go up tomorrow) you will add more frustration to your life. In life it all about choices we make – you cut loss, the other side collects (accumulate).
@mikeann – there are a lot of cut loss kaki

mikeann

825 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2014-09-11 18:00 | Report Abuse

Share is grossly oversold.

Strong rebound imminent.

gnail

343 posts

Posted by gnail > 2014-09-13 11:29 | Report Abuse

@iphone4 but i think this aluminium business is not easy to do, too many competitor, and i am not convinced with this company's future planning at the moment, anyway i need to monitor and see until there is a good sign in this company then i'll buy back the shares.

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-17 11:22 | Report Abuse

today goes up

mikeann

825 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2014-09-17 15:38 | Report Abuse

next resistance 88 sen

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-17 15:47 | Report Abuse

errmmm , a bit risky to buy this counter.

WINGS998

80 posts

Posted by WINGS998 > 2014-09-18 15:11 | Report Abuse

ALCOM IS COMING ............
UP!UP !]

Posted by Thomas Hing > 2014-09-18 18:00 | Report Abuse

Finally...

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-18 20:27 | Report Abuse

Hi mikeann, almost there....

"mikeann next resistance 88 sen
17/09/2014 15:38"

mikeann

825 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2014-09-18 23:43 | Report Abuse

ya, My guess is share will go up and stabilise at 88 sen level for a while before heading up

yongyou

4,676 posts

Posted by yongyou > 2014-09-19 07:21 | Report Abuse

Hi mikeann, the company performance does not look good. What makes its share goes up again? Few weeks ago, it shot up out of sudden until ppl believed it. Thereafter, went down badly.

mikeann

825 posts

Posted by mikeann > 2014-09-19 10:23 | Report Abuse

What goes down much will rebound technically. Simple logic.

gnail

343 posts

Posted by gnail > 2014-09-19 10:37 | Report Abuse

@yongyou yes yongyou, i agree with you, we don't know what is going on, there is no official announcement of any good news

xncziyi44

124 posts

Posted by xncziyi44 > 2014-09-24 17:19 | Report Abuse

losing money again ceo/md transtered.what going on here lbalum looks ok.funny co. can turn black this year?some pls comment.tq.

Danny Kc

214 posts

Posted by Danny Kc > 2014-09-24 21:46 | Report Abuse

sold 2 weeks ago, come back have a look...still at low price, i think only can support at this price...mikeann, what goes down much maybe rebound, or staying down there for some times..

Posted by Wayne X Siong > 2014-10-05 10:57 | Report Abuse

Quarter report loss money...fundamental not strong susah mahu naik punya.....jangan kena tipu ...

Posted by 200363 > 2015-02-17 13:57 | Report Abuse

Same old story year in year out for this company. Used to be blue chip back in the 80's. Closed down the extrusion division as they cannot compete even with the new local players like PMetal and LB. Sold the land that now sits Jaya 33.

Posted by 200363 > 2015-02-17 14:05 | Report Abuse

Now left with the Bukit Raja plant but making loss despite monopoly in Malaysia. Will continue to bleed with poor sales with lack of leadership in sales dept.

Posted by 200363 > 2015-03-29 11:38 | Report Abuse

Wonder if the sales management from Alcom realize that the more they sell the more they lose in profit. Revenue is up but running into huge loss. With no significant investment and operating cost remain the same, these guys must be selling below cost. Either irresponsible or sleeping.

Angielim9955

2,049 posts

Posted by Angielim9955 > 2016-02-22 01:01 | Report Abuse

Hi team,
Do you guys know why this company losing money,
however still can offer high dividend
5% per year, losing money also can pay high dividend ?

can explain abit ah ?

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2016-03-25 15:38 | Report Abuse

Cash rich zero debt with improving results. I like! Bought some @ 75c.

Posted by Celine Loo > 2016-08-28 10:52 | Report Abuse

OTHERS ALUMINIUM COMPANY OF MALAYSIA BERHAD ("ALCOM" OR "THE COMPANY") PROPOSED SHARE ACQUISITION; AND PROPOSED TAKE-OVER OFFER (COLLECTIVELY REFERRED TO AS THE PROPOSALS)
ALUMINIUM COMPANY OF MALAYSIA BERHAD

Type Announcement
Subject OTHERS
Description ALUMINIUM COMPANY OF MALAYSIA BERHAD ("ALCOM" OR "THE COMPANY")
PROPOSED SHARE ACQUISITION; AND
PROPOSED TAKE-OVER OFFER
(COLLECTIVELY REFERRED TO AS THE PROPOSALS)
(For consistency purposes, the abbreviations and definitions used throughout this announcement shall have the same meanings as those previously defined in the announcement dated 18 August 2016 in relation to the Proposals.)

Reference is made to the Company’s announcement dated 18 August 2016 in relation to the Proposals.

Upon the sale and purchase agreement in relation to the Proposed Share Acquisition becoming unconditional, Towerpack will be required to extend a mandatory take-over offer to acquire the remaining voting shares of Alcom not already owned by Towerpack and persons acting in concert with it (“Offer Shares”) at RM0.61 per Alcom Share (“Offer”).

In accordance with Paragraph 3.06 of the Rules, the Board has resolved to appoint Mercury Securities Sdn Bhd as the Independent Adviser on the Offer.

This announcement is dated 25 August 2016.

Posted by barubelajaq > 2016-09-26 15:35 | Report Abuse

CAN ANYONE ADVISE TP FOR THIS STOCK? TQ

kbccone

Posted by kbccone > 2016-10-10 17:27 | Report Abuse

dividend for this year???

mcheat

60 posts

Posted by mcheat > 2016-10-12 10:57 | Report Abuse

They must be crazy with the offer price. Anyone who would take up the MGO offer? LOL

Posted by stockraider > 2016-10-12 11:19 | Report Abuse

Raider heard the deal is Rm 1.01.
The new owner just paid balance rm 0.40 off market in an oversea in an oversea account loh...!!
Thus do not accept the GO rm 0.61, in fact they should GO at Rm 1.01 mah.....!!

stkong123

44 posts

Posted by stkong123 > 2016-10-16 13:09 | Report Abuse

U r dam right stocktrader ! Why wld a controlling shareholder sell out a company unless there are full of shit in it ? For Alcom you need not go further.. just study the acquirer's modus operandi in previous takeover that Kian Joo case ....to accumulate cash to buy over a company they need to pump up BOTH acquirer and acquiree share prices .... for Alcom is no brainer that price will go up at least 1.5x to 2.0x from its takeover price of $0.61

stkong123

44 posts

Posted by stkong123 > 2016-10-16 13:15 | Report Abuse

So barubelajap ... my rough guesstimate is that TP will be in this range $0.61 to $1.22 .... good luck !

csan

436 posts

Posted by csan > 2017-03-02 22:55 | Report Abuse

alcom is worth at least RM1.30. check out how aluminium prices are moving.

mamipoko

98 posts

Posted by mamipoko > 2017-04-11 15:30 | Report Abuse

TP $1.60

Posted by MilkyTrich Chia > 2017-04-12 10:42 | Report Abuse

up up up....

26,790 posts

Posted by speakup > 2017-04-12 10:42 | Report Abuse

ALCOM
PA
PMETAL
LBALUM

semua best best aluminium company

Posted by Yeap Kar Chun > 2017-04-12 20:29 | Report Abuse

On behalf of the Board of Directors of Alcom (“Board”), AmInvestment Bank Berhad (“AmInvestment Bank”) wishes to announce that Alcom proposes to undertake a proposed capital reduction and repayment to the shareholders of Alcom of up to RM42,985,871.36 on the basis of RM0.32 for each ordinary share in Alcom (“Alcom Share” or “Share”) held, via a reduction of the share capital of Alcom pursuant to Section 116 of the Companies Act, 2016 (“Act”) (“Proposed Capital Repayment”).

OMG RM0.32 distribution! 25% special dividends, guys!

lchee

Posted by lchee > 2017-04-12 20:53 | Report Abuse

Up!

jlee14

Posted by jlee14 > 2017-04-12 21:24 | Report Abuse

this corporate action should benefit its shareholders with lower PE, higher ROA, ROE, optimal capital structure..

Jay

Posted by Jay > 2017-04-12 22:53 | Report Abuse

yes the beauty with dividend or capital repayment is after the payment, operating earnings potential remains the same (excluding interest income). so returning excess cash back to shareholder will adjust the market price and make the PE, ROE and other ratios much more attractive