"I have seen times in my 36 years in Shell where upstream has delivered far more cash than the downstream (but) we are seeing a reverse at the moment," Abbott said.
What is the main selling point of PetronM? Is it any better than its competitors like Petdag, Shell, Bhp, Caltex, etc.? Woah.....so many competitors in Malaysia retail pump stations. Not too saturated meh?
as usual 逍遥子 like an angel delivered to us the most sweetest news one can have! Thanks 逍遥子!
Strong margins were seen across three key refined products, fuel oil, jet fuel and diesel which make up about 40 to 70 percent of a refinery's output.
"Fuel oil is often treated like a by-product but recently it became the same price or higher than Dubai crude, which means there is no reason to keep run rates low unless you have a planned maintenance," said a trader with a Japanese refinery who declined to be named as he was not authorised to speak with media.
I think its safe now to whack the CC - by the time results out.. Instant $$$$$!!!!
Knew you wrote to Petronm for some clarifications which were addressed in recent AGM, would you mind share the written reply by Petronm on your queries here ?
General view will be that the falling oil price will result in stock loss. However, the impact on the profitability is expected to be quite minimal. Should the refinery and retail businesses do well in q2 which I think will surely be (due to improved crack margins and larger market share etc), the once off stock loss can be easily offset with eventual net increment of NPBT.
Hence, the concern on weak oil price is fairly redundant and not a good reason to let go this strong cash generating stock !
Generally the impact of lower pump prices is mitigated or compensated by lower crude prices.
Of course in a downward spiral the stock of crude acquired at a higher price have to be processed and sold based on lower crude prices. Maybe there's enough thickness in the margins; maybe they have been hedged away. There's just too many variables for any outsider to analyse the impact.
So the best thing to do is to pray that the management is doing the right thing and enjoy the ride.
The drop in crude oil price today has no effect at all on the Petronm and Hengyuan refinery performance.And rightly so. The market has finally realised the crack spread effect and high ESP and low PE on both counters vis a vis Petdag share price at $24. More to come !
now all the uncertainty i had is being cleared completely. JET FUEL margins is at 12 USD/brl!!
"On Thursday the refining margin climbed to its highest in nearly five months at $12.43 a barrel, Reuters data showed. - South Korean and Japanese refiners are running their plants at near-maximum capacity to cash in on the profit margins, industry sources told"
This explains why HRC can have margins exceeding 9 USD/brl (relative to Brent).
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
skyea
285 posts
Posted by skyea > 2017-07-06 00:34 | Report Abuse
u guys are so screwed.