Petron has 602mil inventories. Final Ron 95 closing is 1.89. from a high of 2.30previous quarter. Anybody wanna guess the percentage loss in inventory from last quarter. Say bye bye to your 108m net profit
Petron inventory holding is only 14 days....if price move down 2 sen...the exposure on inventory is about 2wks only mah...!!
Anyhow...no impairment on inventory...bcos the profit margin now is much more than 2 sen per litre...just that going fwd make less when refined product sold until complete stock turn loh...!!
The impact is less than Rm 10m ...in term of one time margin loh...!!
Why must you talk bad about the company, nah kena hantam ?
Advise you to look at others if you dun like it here, would you
Posted by skyea > Jun 28, 2017 10:25 PM | Report Abuse
Petron has 602mil inventories. Final Ron 95 closing is 1.89. from a high of 2.30previous quarter. Anybody wanna guess the percentage loss in inventory from last quarter. Say bye bye to your 108m net profit
600mil stock doesnt stuck there and go in one short in last week of june. still half year to go. even based on your short sighted logic, if july oil go up to usd52, there that bye bye 108m profit come back? so still want chicken little here ar? all masters are here le.
@stockraider, u know how accounting works ah? what 2 weeks inventory. get facts right. go see annual report, and even then that is hitting gross margin. totally different from inventory loss adjustment which is from last balance sheet that is 31 March, not your 2 weeks.
@cheoky who said anything about 600m getting stuck till the end of the quarter. the magnitude of products stored is consistent from month to month, like that also need to explain ah? and what half year to go? its adjusted quarter to quarter, otherwise whats the point of balance sheet "AS OF 30 JUNE" for? that change will hit P&L lah...obviously?
And then nevermind u said JULY oil will go to 52, nonsensical as it was, if your logic of 108 profit coming back is so "masterful", then petron would not drop from rm 7 to 3.50 during ron 95 dropped from 2.30 to 1.70 in 2016. now that ron 95 dropped from 2.30 to 1.89 still want to repeat the same mistake. you think people in 2016 didnt think and argue the same things ah? so go ahead and make that lame argument again just like all of them last year. apparently being masterful to you is just that.
knowing how to crunch numbers is good and the determination shown is impressive. but thinking that is enough to navigate the share market and share prices and making extraordinary portfolio returns is ridiculous. all i see u guys do is only talking about 1 single piece of the puzzle (even that u all dont know the correct multiplier to get gasoline crack, and u are clueless about their degree of hedging, and so u count and count while the portfolio self destructs). with the dow jones in bubblish territory and at risk of a flash crash, you come in with your twinkle shoes and talk about LONG TERM?! last i remember long term is when market is at a trough. not when KLCI is at 1800 and DJIA 21500. misused strategies.
whats more doing this right in front of an impending, OPEC nov meeting, and General election when BN could lose very badly and send the ringgit spiralling. real smart u guys! even if BN dont lose, they'd stick the ron 95 so low and so long just to win votes, ur gross margins and your portfolio is going to cry.
hello masters, f u even know the basics, there is value to be discounted. not just your FCF and thats it. look outside your calculator box for godsakes.
If petrol price drop from high to low price, petrol inventory loss is expected from refinery petrol storage to retail sector petrol storage. The higher the petrol drop per weekly basis the higher the loss incur in petrol inventory. Vice versa . Retail profit will be impacted too.
The degree of impact depend on the degree of petrol price drop per weekly basis. The worst case will be it drop all the way from high to low price persistently from week to week all the way to form monthly drop.
Yes, stock loss is unavoidable when oil drop. But has the oil price fallen below 42usd so far ? In fact it stays around 45usd on average the last 3 weeks, right ?
Still the earnings can be decent if not better based on the "rough" derivations by Grandmaster probability's illustrsation earlier using 42USD/brl :
"Net gross margin = - 24M + 97M + 105M = 178M (EPS is more than 32 Cents)
say instead if on 30Jun17, the crude drops by another 3USD to 42USD/brl, the stock loss is extra by another 10M.
now the total gross profit becomes: = 178 - 10 = 168 M (EPS is more than 29 cents)"
Probability, currently Brent oil price around USD48. Is it mean stock loan can be much reduced from our earlier calculation? What is the reference oil price of stock loss/gain calculation?
This stock is going to be very volatile. Investors have very short memory. In february 2016, petron announced a poor quarterly result and the stock price crashed from RM 7 to RM 3.5 in a span of months. What i see here is many experts trying to be experts in predicting the next quarterly result in an expert way. What has happened will happen again. If petron announce a RM 10 million profit next quarter, this stock is going to crash 40%. If petron can announce a consistent RM 100 million every quarter, congratulations, we have got a winner.
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Alex Foo
12,594 posts
Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-06-28 09:49 | Report Abuse
i already say. PE < 3 market gila liao. today market wake up lol