4.28 - 4.35

10 people like this.

19,330 comment(s). Last comment by mf 5 days ago

Posted by antoniomc27 > 2019-06-02 20:16 | Report Abuse

I do not understand RHB analyst https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/50792.jsp

He rates the company as if it was a refining company. Not a word about the Petron Kedai shops (PetronM owns like half of them, and Petron stations have been in the rise and total 640 across Malaysia).

While refining margins might be soft for the remainder of the year, this revenue stream is growing healthily and should sustain PetronM profits on the quarters to come.

Posted by antoniomc27 > 2019-06-02 20:18 | Report Abuse

Another question: what PE is PetronM worth in your opinion?

PETDAG is trading at PE 28, but 1. it is a blue chip and a local fund darling and 2. is not exposed to the volatile refining segment.

What are other petrol retail companies' PE around the globe?

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-06-02 21:07 | Report Abuse

Petron is one Co that generally makes impressive earnings but share price is not reflective of it. The fact that the Co pays a far less dividends compared to earnings simply means that this co is retaining a lot of profits which should cause the share price to rise. Instead it's just limp.

Many companies make a fraction of the earnings but the share price seem to leap here & there. Strange, very strange indeed!!

chshzhd

1,908 posts

Posted by chshzhd > 2019-06-03 22:50 | Report Abuse

keep

wotvr

841 posts

Posted by wotvr > 2019-06-09 15:59 | Report Abuse

Yeap they only pay less than a quarters earnings when they could have easily paid out much more

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-06-10 10:49 | Report Abuse

Did you not notice their capex requirements to meet new regulation standards?

Or the fact that there will be some cashflow constraints arising from the petrol subsidies repayment?

Or the capex done to expand the business, which makes a higher return on equity than you can get?

====
wotvr Yeap they only pay less than a quarters earnings when they could have easily paid out much more
09/06/2019 3:59 PM

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-06-10 13:27 | Report Abuse

Petron's NP Margin is dangerously low

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-06-12 09:58 | Report Abuse

Its in line with PETDAG (very close actually), albeit lower in 2018 and 2019 due to refinery not contributing as much.

They dont do segment analysis, but if they did, i wont be surprised if its higher than petdag.

Maybe i should buy PFI accounts to use as a benchmark.

ongkkh

220 posts

Posted by ongkkh > 2019-06-12 20:52 | Report Abuse

Choivo what is PFI?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-06-14 21:26 | Report Abuse

petron fuel international sdn bhd

Its another company held by petron corp in phillipines based in msia, it holds about 40% of the petron stations in msia.

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-06-15 11:15 | Report Abuse

Choivo you wrote - Maybe i should buy PFI accounts to use as a benchmark.

You can't because it's 100% owned by Petron Philippines

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-06-17 11:38 | Report Abuse

Annual audited Accounts.

its filed with SSM yearly. RM35 per copy.

not the stock.

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-06-17 14:25 | Report Abuse

Choivo - oh I see - apologies. If you ever get a hold of the PFI accounts, I hope you can share with us the dividends declared in 2019 and 2018.

I asked several questions but did not get to ask this. Thanks.

Posted by Dr Jho Low 42 billion > 2019-06-18 10:29 | Report Abuse

lond lond lond london london

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-06-18 20:48 | Report Abuse

So Choivo boy, what makes you think you’re not getting ‘RCE’d here as well?

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-06-19 16:11 | Report Abuse

Haha, if selling for a profit is being "RCE'ed", im more than happy to be RCE'ed here.

Well, there's little to no political connections.

Political businesses add a whole new level of complexity.

RCE could very well end up doing very well for itself, i just don't see have enough confidence given what i know.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-06-21 00:01 | Report Abuse

Getting RCE'd means not knowing what you don't know. Im sure your cost of Petron is much higher than the price now.

Kawkaw

858 posts

Posted by Kawkaw > 2019-06-21 14:31 | Report Abuse

Good report for next Q

Posted by Dr Jho Low 42 billion > 2019-06-24 15:31 | Report Abuse

sailang margin all in here, sell house sell car, profit from econpile all coming to petron now!!!

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-06-26 14:29 | Report Abuse

By definition, you always don't know what you don't know.

That's why you get a margin of safety, and constantly search for information that conflicts with your own understanding.

Its a 17% position. My net cost is 7 flat. So i'm down 11% on it, or 1.65% overall.

=====
Posted by Outliar > Jun 21, 2019 12:01 AM | Report Abuse

Getting RCE'd means not knowing what you don't know. Im sure your cost of Petron is much higher than the price now.

Posted by Mr Jho Sailang Petron & GCB > 2019-06-27 10:57 | Report Abuse

it's okay Mr Jho coming to support Choivo Capitan! Anyway, sailang sailang next QR profit 70 million ++

Kawkaw

858 posts

Posted by Kawkaw > 2019-07-02 02:06 | Report Abuse

Just support no needs. You buy loll.. or both of you have no money.. only talk...

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-07-03 19:32 | Report Abuse

Given the rather steep drop in brent from mid-May to early Jun but uptrends from early April to mid-May & early Jun to end . Also the narrowing refining margins due to oversupply of refinery services .....

Do you think that Petron - can register a profit for the 2nd quarter? Let's get some opinions.

Hidup_Anwar

1,010 posts

Posted by Hidup_Anwar > 2019-07-05 14:57 | Report Abuse

Can Ron 95 drop 10-20 sen after Anwar become PM no 8?

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-07-07 15:56 | Report Abuse

In my 5sen opinion, PETRONM is simple. Buy when double-bottom occurs, when price touches RM6.01. Things can only get better after a lackluster year.

Posted by Mr Jho Sailang Petron & GCB > 2019-07-07 16:05 | Report Abuse

rm 8.50 by august month end i said it

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-07-07 16:09 | Report Abuse

wei...415 M outflow of cash just to maintain complying spec Euro 5 ...is not a concern for you guys?

14,490 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-07-07 16:11 | Report Abuse

cash keep flowing out for upgrade and maintenance...bila mahu really grow?

Posted by Mr Jho Sailang Petron & GCB > 2019-07-07 16:46 | Report Abuse

no lah steady one this one, as long as Tun remain PM, nothing to worry about

Akagami

1,183 posts

Posted by Akagami > 2019-07-08 09:44 | Report Abuse

hmmm... petron now so enticing...

Posted by David_share > 2019-07-08 18:53 | Report Abuse

How refining margin is affected by crack spread?
Could sifu share u opinion ? Thanks

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-07-10 03:36 | Report Abuse

David_share - refining margin is currently affected by oversupply of giant refineries in Korea and Petronas muscling in. Crack spread is affected by sharp drops in inventory values caused by sharp drops in Brent crude and other similar benchmarks.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-07-10 22:45 | Report Abuse

Is this company net cash?

Posted by Carson Teor > 2019-07-16 14:00 | Report Abuse

not really but net debt is very low

Posted by David_share > 2019-07-18 14:08 | Report Abuse

Yes debt is very low
Now waiting for momentum to come

dnlt

131 posts

Posted by dnlt > 2019-07-18 16:25 | Report Abuse

Crack spread up lately.

Posted by David_share > 2019-07-18 18:55 | Report Abuse

What Web page that can view live crack spread?

Wai Yoong

91 posts

Posted by Wai Yoong > 2019-07-22 17:22 | Report Abuse

Why would there be a sharp drop today? I thought it was supposed to go up but the price is getting lower and lower and I’m starting to feel scared about it

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-07-28 02:27 | Report Abuse

scared? what's your purchase price? has PETRONM deviated from your initial hopes for it? is there any other stock which you have in mind which may have a better potential return than PETRONM?

I'm not an expert in stocks. But I'm very sure that succumbing to emotions will affect accuracy of decision-making of investors.

ivanlau

1,381 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2019-07-28 21:04 | Report Abuse

Petronm fair value around 9 PE , be confident.......

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2019-08-02 11:04 | Report Abuse

Rip , this is black swan

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-08-02 11:38 | Report Abuse

Brent price based on Bloomberg ticker tape, fell $7!!

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-08-07 11:14 | Report Abuse

Looks like RHB prediction is becoming true

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-08-15 08:56 | Report Abuse

Today sure will trade below 5.50

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-08-15 09:01 | Report Abuse

Any guesses on 30 June quarter results?

A. Big profit (>50m)
B. Small profit (0 to +50m)
C. Small loss (0 to -50m)
D. Big loss (> -50m)

My prediction (& let me warn you that it's usually wrong) is B

boy2ts

215 posts

Posted by boy2ts > 2019-08-15 11:45 | Report Abuse

purchase price 11.. omg..

john0909

219 posts

Posted by john0909 > 2019-08-16 10:21 | Report Abuse

@sheldon, likely A... EPS should be around between 20-23cents...

sheldon

1,419 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-08-16 12:06 | Report Abuse

john0909 @sheldon, likely A... EPS should be around between 20-23cents...

So it's A for you - I hope so.

Posted by enigmatic [Breaker of Speculative Investing] > 2019-08-16 12:23 | Report Abuse

I don't get it... with EPS of >80, PE of <7, dividends of 20sen/year, PETRONM beats many other stocks hands down. Why is it still downtrending? Declining oil prices? Foreign funds disposing? Sharks pressing the prices low?