LAND & GENERAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): L&G (3174)

0.125 - 0.13

32 people like this.

11,240 comment(s). Last comment by Faiza 6 days ago

Invest123

1,602 posts

Posted by Invest123 > 2015-08-14 20:16 | Report Abuse

No bottom hole

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-08-16 13:09 | Report Abuse

I agree with both @Eric Fong and @xcu843 - the essence of their comments. This counter is worth following, regardless of the present market conditions, currency, political issues etc. The price is getting more and more attractive. And tempting. But the more prudent thing is to stick to what xcu843 said: "Wait and see".

If one can't stand seeing the attractive price and not doing anything, there's one option - buy, but use only part of the intended capital. Maybe a quarter or a third(?) This way you're covered both ways - if it continues to slide...well, you still have three-quarter of the intended allocation left. If it recovers, at least you do have some position.

There will be good opportunities in uncertain times like this. It's a question of spotting them, being brave enough to buy when the time comes, and then having the stamina to hold on and wait for things to turn around.

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-17 11:36 | Report Abuse

Hold it first.....it will drop again...

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2015-08-17 17:20 | Report Abuse

noticed that share price has dropped to below the net cash level.

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-18 09:02 | Report Abuse

Bought L&G at 36sen

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-18 09:23 | Report Abuse

Bought more L&G at 35.5sen

sarariman

267 posts

Posted by sarariman > 2015-08-18 09:48 | Report Abuse

yeayyy dividend! nice! :)

sarariman

267 posts

Posted by sarariman > 2015-08-18 10:00 | Report Abuse

i also topped up today :)

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-18 10:15 | Report Abuse

Sold back at 36.5sen

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-18 11:02 | Report Abuse

Wait...See...

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-18 11:06 | Report Abuse

Bought back at 36sen

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-08-18 12:54 | Report Abuse

Annual Results announced today. Revenue is lower but profit is higher.
EPS at 0.12 is the same as last year. Quite decent actually.
But NTA has gone down from 0.76 to 0.58.

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/4830965

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-08-18 13:07 | Report Abuse

Oh, forgot to add - a 2 sen dividend.

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 13:24 | Report Abuse

NTA and EPS is due to diluted share of ICULS...hope company have share buy back soon...

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-08-18 13:48 | Report Abuse

@Eric Fong - Thanks for the explanation. The ICULS will expire in 2018. But a lot of it has been redeemed already.

The Education division's results are very good: RM5 million profit from RM13 million in revenue. I wonder what they are charging parents at the Sri Bestari school:-) Just a small contribution to the bottomline but any kind of profit is a good thing.

I'm starting to like this company. But I wonder what plans they have for the assets in the Lembah Beringin area. Sad to see all those nice, almost completed houses left just like that. The location may be a bit far from KL but still tolerable I guess...if you don't have to drive to KL every day. I had driven off the Lembah Beringin exit and taken the route to Kerling, past the sentry. If this is part of L&G's assets, then great.

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 14:32 | Report Abuse

Lembah Beringin area is badly affected due to 1998 financial crisis.
They force to stop develop it due to financial reason at that time.
They will start their rebuilt in that area next year.
Please check the link for more information. http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1177366

But there is more important development in KL & Seremban area which will increase their revenue too.
They are looking for long term recurrent income that would be a consistent income in future.
That is a good news for shareholders as the income would be consistent and predicable.

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 14:35 | Report Abuse

New Land Acquisition. http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1455937

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-08-18 14:58 | Report Abuse

Based on the previous annual reports, it looks like the company has recovered from the 1998 financial crisis. It used to be one of the most active counters in the late 80s, 90s. I remember the `normal' range was 2.00-plus at a time when the par value was 0.50. Famous as "Wan Azmi Hamzah's company". If I'm not mistaken, he was on Tengku Razaleigh's side during the Umno fight against Mahathir.

Anyway, there was talk about KLIA being located around that area. And we saw how companies like Talam jumped the gun with their massive developments at Bukit Beruntung. And then it was decided Sepang would be the spot. Many speculators got burnt.

Anyway, these are all in the past. It's now and the future that we're interested in. L&G looks to be in good hands - at least better than before. Property is a good business but only if the management executes thing well. So far, based on the performance, I'd say they are doing fine.

sarariman

267 posts

Posted by sarariman > 2015-08-18 15:23 | Report Abuse

Patient stockholders who have faith in the business they are doing will be rewarded :) I'm happily awaiting my dividends

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 15:31 | Report Abuse

Company - Good
Management - Excellent
Earning - Good
Future - Good

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 15:32 | Report Abuse

This company had been largest shareholders to BUMI ARMADA BERHAD in past time but same reason due to financial crisis they let go their share to get some cash for pay debts.
Their share price in past time is about RM9 in that time...

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 15:34 | Report Abuse

Now they targets to concentrate on property business and strike to be Big-Capital property company in bursa malaysia in future.

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-18 15:34 | Report Abuse

Hope they will success in future and hope they will have share buy back in future too as share based is too large now and will effect EPS...

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-19 09:33 | Report Abuse

Sold off L&G at 37sen, realize 1 sen contra profit

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-19 10:30 | Report Abuse

Hng33 what u what show here. If u r that great then u already very Rich in Bursa and no need keep buy n sell here

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-19 10:42 | Report Abuse

Temporary rebound only. don't get trap.

Posted by Hoong Ling > 2015-08-19 10:46 | Report Abuse

I met one of the management team of L&G somewhere end of 2014 and start noticing this counter. I was doubtful at first but by the time the share shot up, I lost the opportunity already. 0.36 all the way to 0.68 was almost 90% increase. As the share is now back to end of 2014 price, I am definitely not going to miss it again. Following their news for the past one year has boost my confidence in this company
- cash balance
- very good, humble management
- lots of upside potential and launches
- collection of land banks continued

I collected some shares at 0.36 yesterday - this is a steal! :)

sarariman

267 posts

Posted by sarariman > 2015-08-19 13:46 | Report Abuse

agreed! :) collect low then sell high later. if not dividends and appreciation of share price steadily is also good enough for me :)

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-19 14:38 | Report Abuse

Eric Fong

hahaha, you think only poor people can buy and sell in Bursa !!?? what nuisance person.....

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-19 14:54 | Report Abuse

Highly alert....This year is not a property year.

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-19 14:58 | Report Abuse

after quarterly result out, it will drop a lot. Still ok to sell now.....

Mat Cendana

2,335 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-08-19 17:37 | Report Abuse

It was from reading the comments here by @Eric Fong etc. from some days ago that I started to become interested. Went to check on the technical charts of its previous price movements. There seems to be a pattern of up-down... it'd go from the low 0.30s and to around 0.50 or so. Then it would slide. Late last month, an uptrend had appeared. But this counter couldn't escape the depressed mood after foreign investors started with their heavy selling, and the price went down again. However, it's a good opportunity for new investors to come in.

One good thing about L&G is that it shouldn't be affected by what foreign investors do. True, there are some foreign investment funds among the Top 30 shareholders but their holdings aren't huge. And, as far as I know, they didn't sell.

Incidentally, the latest Annual Report came out a couple of days ago. That offered a great resource to assess this company. At this price level, I believe the risk of a slide is rather minimal. Not impossible (nothing is with the stock market), but I'd fancy my chances regardless of how the market may be right now. I agree with the assessment by Eric Fong and @Hoong Ling, among others, on the potentials. L&G is a risk worth taking.

ExCFO

278 posts

Posted by ExCFO > 2015-08-21 17:29 | Report Abuse

If the CFO of L&G is of any good, He/she would have recommended to the board to buy back some of their own shares to enhance the value of the shareholders. That was what I did when I was the CFO of an overseas listed property company.

ExCFO

278 posts

Posted by ExCFO > 2015-08-21 17:35 | Report Abuse

In case the CFO of L&G is reading this, If no resolution was passed at the last AGM for the share buy back, I suggest that a share buy back resolution be put to the shareholders at the up coming AGM. The current share price is well under its net tangible asset. It could possibly be a takeover target.

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-21 19:56 | Report Abuse

Totally agree with ExCFO, share buy back resolution be put to the shareholders at the up coming AGM

vaentec

142 posts

Posted by vaentec > 2015-08-23 10:09 | Report Abuse

I have raised this issue to the CFO personally when it was trading at 0.50. Reply? They will not do it. They rather invest the cash in new projects. The cash they have is also somewhat immobile as I know. I suspect this management doesn't care about minority shareholders ,their priority is first, equity growth, then market cap growth. Buying back their own share doesn't make the market cap grow, even if it benefits the shareholders. The problem here is majority of the management is not the shareholder, growth in equity & market cap makes them look better. That said, the management is quite good in the operation side, just that they are not financial wizards & a bit degil lo. I expect the next quarterly result to be disappointing as there are no big ongoing projects. That might send the share price further down. Maybe the one after this will be better. I am in this for the long term, been a shareholder since 2013.

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-23 16:09 | Report Abuse

Try suggest share buy back in coming AGM

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-24 16:26 | Report Abuse

Bought at 36-36.5sen

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-24 17:35 | Report Abuse

Estimates the result is lower due to gst and start launching of project at first quarter of this year report. But who knows the managing is capable to get more Sales past few months.
Other influence included currency and imdb issue. Hope solve it urgently or else market getting worst. Wish our bank negara come out solution for it soon.

Invest123

1,602 posts

Posted by Invest123 > 2015-08-24 21:16 | Report Abuse

Chain reactions

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-25 09:19 | Report Abuse

Bought more L&G at 35.5sen

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-25 11:00 | Report Abuse

Sold back at 36.5sen

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-25 22:30 | Report Abuse

Better chao tomorrow

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-26 11:24 | Report Abuse

Why chao while i can hold it long time..

hng33

20,165 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2015-08-26 17:24 | Report Abuse

Sold off all remain at 37sen, realize all contra gain

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-26 20:25 | Report Abuse

2016 1Q Result Out...as estimated..low profit compare previous but this is normal as new project is delay. Start accumulating this quarter and will have better result in next quarter.

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-26 20:57 | Report Abuse

Will continue drop again. Good luck those buy before

Eric Fong

1,193 posts

Posted by Eric Fong > 2015-08-26 23:56 | Report Abuse

This quarter lower due to their delay in launching project. Next quarter will better.
At least next month will have few hundred dividend...

xcu843

1,043 posts

Posted by xcu843 > 2015-08-27 11:16 | Report Abuse

I wont see is a good year for property market. In Penang, a lot of new project stuck liao.