HONG LEONG INDUSTRIES BHD

KLSE (MYR): HLIND (3301)

-0.02 (0.19%)

10.56 - 10.72

7 people like this.

2,553 comment(s). Last comment by lionel messi 2 days ago

Seanyew

147 posts

Posted by Seanyew > 2021-07-07 12:03 | Report Abuse

RM7 soon

Johnzhang

2,955 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-07-15 21:10 | Report Abuse

I am in this stock now. Buy on dip . I think its fundamental and high dividend yield cannot go wrong.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-07-26 10:52 | Report Abuse

When it reopen for business?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-08-12 14:57 | Report Abuse

Negative side of this stock is that its profit is hit by the lockdown. Positive side of this stock is that it is not going to loose the market share (future sales) because it generates most of the income from domestic market. It will survive this pandemic, may distribute less dividend this year but EPS should be able to recover in next Fiscal year. If you're holding this share, your investment should be safe but may have to expect less dividend this year.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-08-12 14:59 | Report Abuse

Base on sales figure, next quarter report EPS should be higher y-o-y but achieving less q-o-q.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-08-12 15:01 | Report Abuse

This fiscal year should be able to achieve EPS RM 0.90 +/-.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-12 16:30 |

remus

110 posts

Posted by remus > 2021-08-16 12:37 | Report Abuse

the CFO only joined in Jan this year, why suddenly resign?

Posted by Musangkingfarmer > 2021-08-31 07:25 | Report Abuse

CFO resigned, maybe because he refused to keep the huge cash in HL Bank and get almost no interest? He don't want to be accused of accepting bribes to do so.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-09-01 09:40 | Report Abuse

I guess this time EPS very low. Maybe 0 to 5 sen

KevinL

7 posts

Posted by KevinL > 2021-09-03 08:39 | Report Abuse

They are suppose to release their Q4 results before September right?

leecuteguy

475 posts

Posted by leecuteguy > 2021-09-11 13:33 | Report Abuse

why delay......

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2021-09-20 23:26 | Report Abuse

Not many people can last in Hong Leong Group. You have to kill others to survive. Bad culture but Tan Sri has his ways to make money

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2021-09-21 09:45 | Report Abuse

Q4 quite bad

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-09-21 17:48 | Report Abuse

12 sen + is still good because one month + lockdown. As I said, the market is here in Malaysia and is not running away from Yamaha. No worry. This is just a winding path to return to EPS RM 0.90 - RM 1.00 annually (excluding Q1 2022). Therefore, good opportunity to collect at current price or till early December before the next good news is out.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-10-15 16:31 | Report Abuse

The darkest days are about to pass. The golden age of motorcycle industry in Malaysia is coming.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-10-28 12:35 | Report Abuse

Yamaha 125cc sold out everywhere

ykloh

508 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2021-10-28 16:19 | Report Abuse

motorcycle manufacturing is a sunset business.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-10-29 15:56 | Report Abuse

Let the data speak. Next quarter result will be poor but it will come back strongly after that.

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2021-10-31 19:03 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow bursa will shake the whole world

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2021-10-31 22:21 | Report Abuse

All motorcycle tomorow masuk longkang

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2021-10-31 22:21 | Report Abuse

Holland industries

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-13 12:59 | Report Abuse

Hiring 100 operators and expanding...

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2021-11-18 13:32 | Report Abuse

Hli is going to Holland liao

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-19 15:53 | Report Abuse

My forecast for HLIND Q1 result: -10 sen :)

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-19 16:00 | Report Abuse

It is unreasonable for the market to price HLIND at least RM 2 lower than its fair value just because of this expected -10 sen quarter EPS as a result of MCO. The money is yours to grab, as much as you need, to buy at current price and wait for 15 to 20% appreciation in 4 months time.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-19 16:03 | Report Abuse

Look around other stocks of matured business which could fetch EPS more than RM 1 annually, their share price is around RM 14. So it is quite conservative to predict HLIND to achieve RM 11 or higher when its EPS normalizes to RM 1 or higher annually.

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2021-11-22 18:28 | Report Abuse

holland results liao, tomorow all motor masuk longkang

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-22 21:09 | Report Abuse

I beg to be differ. This 2022 Q1 result is far better than what I predicted. With this result I'm a lot more confident that HLIND will achieve RM 0.90 to RM 1.00 annual EPS for FY 2022. If this is real share price will have very good chance to go up to RM 11.00 or higher by end of FY 2022.

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-11-22 22:36 | Report Abuse

different opinions .... let's see tomorrow how the market judge it :D

kywoo

90 posts

Posted by kywoo > 2021-11-22 23:17 | Report Abuse

The fact that the company continues to declare a 17 sens interim dividend for the poor 1st quarter results only means one thing. Management believes that the next three quarters will produce good results. If the coming two quarters show good results, the final dividend may be maintained despite the setback in the first quarter. We are talking of 52 sens for 2022 financial tear. In the next three quarters, there will be higher sales and profits because the company will be in full production and demand for its products will pick up. The uncertainty now is that we do not know how Yamaha Vietnam will be doing in the next three quarters. This quarter is the first time they are making losses instead of contributing profit to the group. The other good news is that the group is still cash rich and maintaining good dividend payout despite lower profitability is not a problem.

alexnada

33 posts

Posted by alexnada > 2021-11-23 09:40 | Report Abuse

Vietnam side should be better now as previously, they were in full lockdown for at least 4 months. The lockdown has been lifted and things are starting to move again. Definitely going to be better in the coming months.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-23 09:41 | Report Abuse

Very likely result is already good in Oct and Nov so that the management made a statement where "barring any further MCO, result for FY 2022 will be satisfactory". Furthermore, in general, Malaysian's income has reduced in the past two years and many M40 has now fallen into B40. These people are then motivated to opt for a cheaper mode of transportation which is motorcycle instead of car, due to affordability and the need to rebuild their emergency fund. Lesser disposable income will also encourage them to save recurring fuel and maintenance expenses which can only be feasibly achieved by choosing motorcycles.

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-11-23 09:44 | Report Abuse

LOL .... only market speaks the truth :D

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-23 09:48 | Report Abuse

80% of the profit comes from market in Malaysia. Contribution from Vietnam is only 20%.

Spread of Covid-19 and MCOs etc. will change the timing of motorcycle production and therefore the transaction but not reducing the demand (the demand should be increasing instead). Therefore recovery would be strong and quick.

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2021-11-23 17:46 | Report Abuse

@Sardin - Thanks for the information. Looking at the steep decline in revenue, I was apprehensive about the future of the stock.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-24 09:39 | Report Abuse

@Thirai - What you feel is very normal if you just look at the surface of the number alone that happened 5 to 2 months ago because it is not a nice figure. However, to see beyond this or to be able to see the future, you need to digest this figure with OTHER INFORMATION. By checking the quarter result in MCO 1.0 and how the earning recovered after that would help you to understand. You may be able to observe that the company is now coping with MCO 3.0 in a lot more effective way to reduce the impact and also you may be able to see that the shock level to the shareholders is a lot less from how the share price curve changed.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-24 09:46 | Report Abuse

This share is a growth stock + turnaround (from temporary issues). Growth stock generally gives you long term return and turnaround gives you short term return. With these two combined, you can expect a medium return at low risk in within a year. I don't think there would be any buying opportunity for this stock if it is without temporary steep drop of revenue and profit due to MCO 3.0.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-11-24 09:50 | Report Abuse

If you are still worrying perhaps you should look for other stock that suits your profile better. It is not good to hold any share you do not feel safe about it.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-14 12:01 | Report Abuse

1. Guocera Holdings Sdn Bhd Group’s new strategy is to move away from
ceramics to focus on the mid to high-end market segments for porcelain
tiles, particularly those with distinctive product features and concept-
based selling. The immediate and long-term plans are to broaden and
deepen market penetration for both domestic and international channels.
(page 19 of Annual Report 2021(“AR2021”))
Apart from key international markets like Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore and
Australia where the Guocera brand is well-recognised, what are the
Group’s plans in terms of penetrating new international markets? What are
the other new international markets that the Group targets to penetrate?
Response:
For Guocera, besides the few countries mentioned in the question, we also export
to Europe, Middle East and America. With our focus on higher-end products, we
are now able to offer a better concept range of products via our existing network
of customers to improve the demand.
2. The Group’s revenue contributed by Singapore customers increased
significantly to RM34.1 million (2020: RM15.3 million) (Note 30, page 129 of
AR2021).
Which of the Group’s products attributed to the increase in revenue from
Singapore customers? What is the expected demand from Singapore
customers for the Group’s products, going forward?
Response:
The significant increase in the Group’s revenue from Singapore customers in
FY2021 as compared to FY2020 which was mainly contributed by Guocera
Group was because of shorter lock-down period in FY2021. We believe that our
higher-end products will also help to improve our sales from Singapore.
impairment losses are disclosed in Note 30 of the Financial Statements (page
121 of 2020 Annual Report).
3. The Group’s 1st quarter ended 30 September 2021 (“1QFY22”) recorded
57.6% drop in revenue to RM277 million (1st quarter ended 30 September

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-14 12:03 | Report Abuse

2020: RM652.66 million), while profit before taxation (“PBT”) declined to
RM6.2 million (1st quarter ended 30 September 2020: RM93.0 million). The
lower revenue and PBT was due to lower sales across all product segments
because of Movement Control Order (“MCO”), which caused the
curtailment of production for 2 months. (Quarterly Report for 1QFY22)
(a) With the gradual reopening and normalisation of economic activities, to-
date, how and to what extent has it impacted the orders for the Group’s
products?
(b) Has the Group’s current production level normalised?
Response:
(a) With gradual reopening and normalisation of economic activities, the orders
for the Group’s products have progressively improved towards the level prior
to the recent lock down.
(b) Although all our factories have resumed operation, there is continual
disruptions to our productions as a consequent of COVID-19, supply issues
and absence of workers due to quarantine.
4. The Group’s inventory has increased from RM212m in FY2020 to RM303m
in FY2021. What is the reason of the high inventory on 30 June FY2021.
(page 69, Statement of Financial Position)
Response:
The increase is mainly due to the increase in the CKD parts stocks in Yamaha
operations. As the CKD parts were ordered 3-4 months ahead, the stocks have
increased because of the continuous arrival of the CKD parts during FMCO
period while the production was curtailed.
5. Page 22 of AR states that "Earnings, capital expenditure requirements,
borrowings repayment, capital adequacy, dividend yield and other relevant
factors are considered by the Board in determining the actual dividend
payout."
As of June 2021, net cash plus money market fund was RM1.25 billion or
RM3.8 per share. The capex was only about RM50 million for FY2021.
As asked in previous AGMs, does the Group have any concrete plan to
substantially invest the excess cash in high return projects? Failing that,
can the Board set a date to return excess cash to shareholders? This will
help to increase the Return on Equity which has been declining.
Response:

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-14 12:03 | Report Abuse

The Group has been gradually declaring higher dividend payout over the years
with dividend yield around 5% at the current share price. The Group is likely to
continue to declare dividend on this basis.
6. The share of profit from Vietnam's associate has declined every year from
RM134 million in FY2017 to RM36 million in FY2021. Noted that the decline
has started before the pandemic. What are the root causes? What have the
Vietnamese management done to reverse the trend?
Response:
There was a strong competition on pricing in Vietnam market especially from the
major competitor. Yamaha Vietnam will be introducing a new scooter model and
this is expected to enhance the financial performance of Yamaha Vietnam.
7. HLI has exited the concrete roofing products and distribution of building
materials. The performance of the HLI in the future will be dependent solely
on the manufacturing and sale of consumer products comprising
motorcycles, spare parts and ceramic tiles.
With very strong balance sheet and strong cash reserves, can the
Board/Management provide some updates/guidance to shareholders on
expansion of current core business and potential new business that can
reduce its dependence on the motorcycle business in Malaysia and
Vietnam for its future growth.
Response:
Both ceramic tiles and motorcycles have great potential to grow their businesses.
The Group will continue to explore on new businesses, both in terms of organic
growth and inorganic growth. The Group will also continue to look for opportunity
for potential merger and acquisitions.
8. How is Vietnam e-bike to affect Vietnam’s motorcycle industry? Will it affect
Yamaha’s market share? Will Yamaha come out with e-bike in Vietnam?
Response:
E-bike market in Vietnam is still very early stage with only a few players involved,
this hence would not affect Yamaha’s market share for the time being.
Nonetheless, Yamaha Vietnam has included e-bike industry in its planning.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-14 12:11 | Report Abuse

Above QnA of latest HLIND AGM

observatory

1,018 posts

Posted by observatory > 2022-01-14 20:26 | Report Abuse

Sardin, thank you for sharing the Q&A.

The document link can be found here
http://www.hli.com.my/gm_current.php

I attended the AGM. There were many questions asked and answered during the AGM that couldn't be found in the published minutes or Q&A documents!

I've noted a few. For example, there were questions about the number of shifts for the Malaysian motorbike plants (mostly 2 shifts), utilization (80% of current capacity), downtime due to parts shortages (affecting overall production 10% to 15%). There was also a question about frequent changes of senior management in the past few years (they replied it's fine).

The person preparing the minutes is too lazy! It deprives important info from shareholders who couldn't attend the AGM.

He only did the bare minimum to comply with the listing requirement which dictates that listed companies must produce a "Summary of Key Matters Discussed" after their AGMs. Companies much smaller in size than Hong Leong Industries have done better!

I hope someone in the company senior management or the board will read this message.

If you can't do somethings like spending an extra 30 minutes to produce a more complete minutes, how could we shareholders expect you to protect our more important interests?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-21 12:29 | Report Abuse

Hi Observatory, I observed the same too. Actually there's one more thing about hiring of operators. Perhaps some of the info are sensitive to be disclosed. However I agree with you that they should at least give a proper explanation to us. Probably next time we can ask to change the share registrar company. According to the rule the minutes have to be signed by HLIND chairman before it can be published. Either the chairman has also not performed a good job at this or there are other problems we do not know.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-21 12:33 | Report Abuse

Or we can, in the next AGM ask them to explain why they didn't publish the complete Q&A for last AGM.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-21 12:52 | Report Abuse

Given the following situation:
1) 2 shift production (3 shift for certain models)
2) 10% to 15% downtime due to part shortage
3) hiring more operators
4) 80% capacity utilisation
I believe that:
1) demand of motorcycles is high and will remain high (new hiring won't happen just to fill back log)
2) critical part supply (could be chip) is hand to mouth situation due to tight supply and high demand at the same time
3) there's capacity to absorb increasing order and hiring more operators can then be making sense
All these together with other data, next quarter result will be very satisfying. I would be surprised if it is not.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-28 14:09 | Report Abuse

Hi ZZProzaz, it is from people who works in this industry. I'm not sure what was the capacity utilisation prior to Covid 19 but I guess there has been some expansion done and in progress.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-28 14:30 | Report Abuse

"With growing demand for Yamaha's products, HLYM's capacity expansion plans were expedited to fulfil the piling orders and to meet the future growth of the business. Several new facilities have been installed and mass production commented in FY2021 to increase supply output. A new assembly line and inspection facility, equipped with the latest motorcycle evaluation technology, were installed to produce motorcycles of the highest quality." AR 2021.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-01-28 14:37 | Report Abuse

I read from somewhere that Yamaha has been agressively increasing the number of motorcycle service centre in Malaysia but I couldn't recall the source of the information. Maybe someone else here could help.