HONG LEONG INDUSTRIES BHD

KLSE (MYR): HLIND (3301)

+0.04 (0.38%)

10.54 - 10.60

7 people like this.

2,553 comment(s). Last comment by lionel messi 3 days ago

Posted by SilverHawk > 2020-09-29 09:39 | Report Abuse

xgxgxh@ I personally prefer company to spin off all other non Yamaha business, and fully focus on Yamaha. If so, dividend payout maybe will come to nearing 100%. Valuation in single business and full profit payout will be completely different from now.
On acquisition, not so easy to get a good business.
HL group good performing sector is only on Banking, Yamaha, Semiconductor. The rest is performing very badly.

kywoo

90 posts

Posted by kywoo > 2020-09-29 20:38 | Report Abuse

Very well said SilverHawk. As far as Hong Leong Ind is concerned, just focus on the motorcycle business and dispose of all the building materials business. Too diversified a company is not necessary a good thing especially when company did not have a CEO for sometime. Furthermore be generous with dividend payout and the share price will fly.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-09-29 23:03 | Report Abuse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4Oarmtq3B0 (klci will be 0 soon)

Posted by PuppyKitten > 2020-09-30 18:08 | Report Abuse

I email Yamaha as shareholder and they reply me as customer. Below are the reply :

Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting Hong Leong Yamaha Motor Sdn. Bhd.

Our customer demand are higher than our expectation.

The manufacturing team are working their best to meet these demands and our production is also depending on the supplies from all of our authorized vendor.

The average waiting time could be up to 2 or 3 month, differs by the location as well as the customer waiting list for each shop. You probably could also check on the customer waiting list with a respective shop.

We appreciate and thank you for your interest towards Yamaha Product Range.

Thank you for your understanding.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-10-07 14:55 | Report Abuse

hli=holland industries, waiting to die company

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2020-10-13 17:44 | Report Abuse

In a way, poor management team

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-10-20 18:55 | Report Abuse

How is Yamaha motorcycle sales in Malaysia for Sep 2020? I'm expecting EPS 20 sen per share for Q3.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-10-20 19:02 | Report Abuse

I estimate it will be between 10 to 15 sen per share for Q3.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-10-22 18:31 | Report Abuse

How to join AGM this time?

paulthesotong

2,462 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2020-11-01 21:41 | Report Abuse

Well done record high 4 registered sales 30+ oct.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-11-02 13:38 | Report Abuse

Where u got the news Paul?

paulthesotong

2,462 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2020-11-02 16:25 | Report Abuse

Insider.....309xx units.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-11-02 18:52 | Report Abuse

Hi Paul, do you mean sales of motorcycles or shares?

paulthesotong

2,462 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2020-11-03 02:14 | Report Abuse

Jpj yamaha reg sales for oct 309XX units.

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-03 22:45 | Report Abuse

Meaning super millions profit is that it. Unfortunately the market doesn't think that way, still stuck in the swamp.

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2020-11-04 10:05 | Report Abuse

Though smaller businesses, tiles and fibre board losses will drag. Very weak management under the younger brother.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-11-04 10:08 | Report Abuse

Hi Paul, how about sales registered in Aug and Sep, do you have any figure?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-11-04 10:27 | Report Abuse

If 309xx unit in Oct it is almost double of average monthly sales in 2020. Actually I'm expecting Q3 2020 result to be about the same but slightly lower than Q3 2019.

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-06 13:24 | Report Abuse

Feeling retard la this counter

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-06 13:38 | Report Abuse

If it's not for the impending 17 cents dividend, so long this dude

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-10 13:13 | Report Abuse

Sigh....my dumb holding albeit small. Always decoupling mode. Hello....it's already midday, time to wake up lo.

paulthesotong

2,462 posts

Posted by paulthesotong > 2020-11-11 13:36 | Report Abuse

Sardin...yamaha reg 26k aug whereas sept 28k.

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-11 15:00 | Report Abuse

Wow, assuming TIV is 500k units this year then easily she commands >50% market share. That is good news if confirmed true

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-11 16:14 | Report Abuse

Hopefully another 17cents dividend coming in the next 2 weeks.

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2020-11-12 10:04 | Report Abuse

Looking at the price tag today, u know surely it's a super duper QR including dividend :)

Posted by Sohai Trader > 2020-11-12 10:25 | Report Abuse

Anyone attended the AGM ? Any highlights?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-11-12 11:55 | Report Abuse

is it the hong leong cap listing got relate with share price up 6%

rarely HLIND will have this kind of share price up 6%

Thelastone

275 posts

Posted by Thelastone > 2020-11-12 17:08 | Report Abuse

Hlind 1q21 results can be super duper good due to pent up demand in Vietnam but usually company only give biskut kecit 15sen 1q div

x3mg33

133 posts

Posted by x3mg33 > 2020-11-12 20:32 | Report Abuse

would be lucky if can even get 15sen aduh

akc008

54 posts

Posted by akc008 > 2020-11-17 21:09 | Report Abuse

Looks like something is coming.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-11-18 12:19 | Report Abuse

what pent up demand in Vietnam ??

there is not lock down in Vietnam

life as normal

u want buy motorbike in Vietnam? any time u can buy it

x3mg33

133 posts

Posted by x3mg33 > 2020-11-18 16:11 | Report Abuse

Have a look at production and sales report across ASEAN region
http://www.fami-motorcycle.org/databases/

MASAAM= Malaysia
VAMM= Vietnam

VAMM reported domestic sales of 677k units in Q3Sept20 vs 518k units in Q4Jun20, 31% jump in sales units.

The million dollar Q is, which motor make in VN takes the lead of the 677k units.

x3mg33

133 posts

Posted by x3mg33 > 2020-11-18 16:39 | Report Abuse

also to add, VN domestic sales (units) YOY Sept20 decreased by c.400 units (17%) from 2.3mil units from Sept 19. Considering a covid19 disruption, the decrease is well within acceptable terms.

Posted by LongTermInvestor8 > 2020-11-25 00:02 | Report Abuse

Will the market crash if budget 2021 cannot be passed this coming Thursday (26/10/2020)? These are the 4 possible scenarios:

1. Parliament will be dissolved and a snap election will be called
2. A state of Emergency in the whole country will be declared by YDPA
3. Muhyiddin will resign and YDPA will appoint an interim PM
4. YDPA will appoint a new PM who has majority MPs support. A new budget 2021 also will be tabled by the new appointed PM.

Will the market go down? Will it crash? Take profit now or wait?

Posted by PuppyKitten > 2020-11-25 19:37 | Report Abuse

50M profit for the quarter. Seems market rumours on production disruption is valid. Management also highlighted production disruption due to global supply chain is a concern.
I went for market visit days ago. About 40% of outlet have Yamaha ready stock now.
1. Production bqck to normal or company enlarged production capacity ?
2. The long waiting period is due to production disruption or over demand ?
3. Current ready stock and shorten waiting period is due to capacity expansion or demand softeness ?
4. Some customer swirched to Honda to avoid long waiting Q previously

On Vietnam, current quarter sales output is comparable to previous Q1 ( yoy ), just the profit was lower. We dunno y yamaha so successful previously but suddenly sank recently. Only what we know is Honda too dominant on most market.

For immediate future, Yamaha will still be underperforming in Vietnam. Just hope that situatuon will overturn in 6 to 12 months time under new CEO from india.

Moving forward, key things to expect from HLIND
1. Continue strengthen Malaysia Yamaha market.
2. Cost cutting measure on malaysia operation to boost profit ( we have seen good progress now )
3. Fjrther discontinue loss making unit.
4. Increase dividend payout ratio on big cash.

# i missed the agm. Can anyone pls provide input on agm details. Thks

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-11-26 19:59 | Report Abuse

Note captured in AGM:
1. Going to launch new models in both Malaysia and Vietnam market and improve after-sale service to compete in the market.
2. Setting up e-commerce
3. There is a surge of demand for motorcycles from delivery services and switching from public transport to riding.
4. The purpose of the surge of investment in property, plant and equipment is for capacity expansion and development of new models.

Posted by PuppyKitten > 2020-12-01 21:54 | Report Abuse

Thks Sardin

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2020-12-04 11:56 | Report Abuse

@Sardin

2. Setting up e-commerce

Can tell more on this? Thx

tan015679

Posted by tan015679 > 2020-12-08 12:04 | Report Abuse

Hi All, would like to know if i sell today. Will I still get the dividend?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2020-12-14 17:58 | Report Abuse

@Pinky, HLIND management didnt explain in details. But I dont think majority will buy online without seeing the physical samples be it tiles or bikes. Probably they will view physical samples then buy online to get cheaper price. So i dont think e commerce for these commodities will create more demand.

xgxgxg

4 posts

Posted by xgxgxg > 2021-01-02 21:02 | Report Abuse

https://shoponline.yamaha-motor.com.my/ they have started their online e-commerce store and they are not selling their motorcycles online because that will bring negative impact to their dealers. looking at their strategy, i think what they are focusing now is to make yamaha a lifestyle brand for bikers

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-01-11 23:01 | Report Abuse

In Oct, motorbike sales in Malaysia increases 14.5% by volume whereas production increases 17.6%. I think this strong demand will continue for coming months as people are trying to avoid public transport as the number of Covid 19 cases increases. A few months later when border re-open, there will be another spike of sales when suddenly many Malaysian worker in Singapore realize that their old bikes got lots of problem due to lack of maintenance in the past months.

Posted by heeman9696 > 2021-01-25 10:18 | Report Abuse

price going south

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-01-26 11:21 | Report Abuse

In Nov, motorbike sales in Malaysia increases 3.5% by volume y-o-y whereas production increases 2.0% (all manufacturers included). If Dec sales could be as good as last year then HLIND EPS has a good chance to recover to RM 0.20 in Q2 FY2021.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-01-26 11:23 | Report Abuse

Conservative way of calculating the net cash for HLIND: approx. RM 3.64 net cash per share.

Posted by PuppyKitten > 2021-02-09 15:24 | Report Abuse

Yamaha Vietnam not easy to turaround in short term.
Other than Honda as biggest competitor, Vietnam local electric vehicle producer,Vinfast gaining momentum by capturing more than 100K unit market share vs Yamaha 470K unit sold in 2020.

HLINd profit now is nearly fully depends on Malaysia Motorcycle sales.
Investing agenda now is with
1. Undervalued
2. Dividend play.

For growth prospect, need see how HLIND play the magic .

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2021-02-09 21:04 | Report Abuse

When the EPS recovers to >20 sen per share in next quarterly report the share price will touch RM 9. Let's see what happen by end of this month.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2021-02-10 23:57 | Report Abuse

nobody afford to buy VINFAST products